Nike Zoom Freak 1

Released 7/2019, Low Top, Giannis Antetokounmpo, 
Add to Favourites
7.9
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
8.1
USER RATING
25 ratings
Giannis Antetokounmpo's first signature sneaker is a solid performer

Best Suitable For:

Very low-to-the-ground feeling with very firm forefoot-cushioning

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $119.99
GOAT
from $92.00
StockX
from $105.00
KicksCrew
from $105.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (8)
User Ratings (25)
Traction
7.5
Cushion
7.3
Materials
7.6
Support
8.6
Fit
8.8
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Zoom Freak 1
Nike Zoom Freak 1
Jordan Luka 2
Jordan Luka 2
Li-Ning Wade Shadow 5
Li-Ning Wade Shadow 5
Adidas D.O.N. Issue 5
Adidas D.O.N. Issue 5
Puma Court Rider
Puma Court Rider
Nike Precision 6
Nike Precision 6
Add shoe
Expert Rating7.98.3(0.4)8.0(0.1)8.1(0.2)8.2(0.3)7.9(0.0)
User Rating8.18.6(0.5)9.2(1.1)8.2(0.1)8.1(0.0)8.5(0.4)
Best Price$119.99
$70
$130
$119
$130
$56.99
$120
$59.97
$100
$55.97
$75
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight330g - 350g390g - 410gNANA410g - 420gNA
 Show More
61 likes
 Black / White / Game Royal / University Gold
Black / White / Game Royal / University Gold
from 3 Resellers
$92.00
77 likes
Black/White/Lucid Green/Black
Black/White/Lucid Green/Black
from 3 Resellers
$96.00
66 likes
Light Cream/ Fir / White / Pacific Blue
Light Cream/ Fir / White / Pacific Blue
from 3 Resellers
$103.00
56 likes
Metallic Gold/Black/White
Metallic Gold/Black/White
from 3 Resellers
$112.00
60 likes
Atmosphere Grey/Cool Grey/White/Oil Grey
Atmosphere Grey/Cool Grey/White/Oil Grey
from 3 Resellers
$132.00
86 likes
Total Orange/Midnight Navy/White/Photo Blue
Total Orange/Midnight Navy/White/Photo Blue
from 3 Resellers
$134.00
89 likes
White / Black / White
White / Black / White
from 3 Resellers
$148.00
91 likes
Black/Red Orbit/Opti Yellow/Black
Black/Red Orbit/Opti Yellow/Black
from 3 Resellers
$160.00
97 likes
Orange/Dynamic Yellow/Black
Orange/Dynamic Yellow/Black
from 3 Resellers
$172.00
65 likes
Noble Red/Bright Crimson/Bicycle Yellow/Blackened Blue
Noble Red/Bright Crimson/Bicycle Yellow/Blackened Blue
from 3 Resellers
$177.00
99 likes
Hyper Royal/Blue Hero/White/Metallic Gold
Hyper Royal/Blue Hero/White/Metallic Gold
from 3 Resellers
$182.00
158 likes
Black/Photo Blue/Metallic Dark Grey/Multi-Color
Black/Photo Blue/Metallic Dark Grey/Multi-Color
from 3 Resellers
$197.00
97 likes
White/University Red/Metallic Gold
White/University Red/Metallic Gold
from 3 Resellers
$198.00

Nike Zoom Freak 1 Review

Pros:
Great support and lockdown
Cons:
Inconsistent traction
Firm forefoot cushioning

Performance of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

Are Giannis Antetokounmpo's first signature sneakers MVP-worthy? Unfortunately, the traction is very inconsistent on dusty courts and requires a lot of (heavy) wiping. The cushioning is rather minimal and feels very responsive and low-to-the-ground but doesn't offer a lot of impact protection. Lockdown and support are great - your feet won't move at all in the Zoom Freak 1! The materials are very comfortable and fit well but could be a little more premium considering it's a $120 signature model. Overall, the Zoom Freak 1 is a solid performer, but traction and cushion are a little underwhelming. At $120, there are much better basketball shoes out there!
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

Expert Rating: 7.9 (ranks #261 of 305)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Zoom Freak 1 is a solid first signature sneaker for Giannis Antetokounmpo. Support and lockdown are great but cushioning and traction feel pretty standard and the quality of the upper materials could be better.
 More details
8.2
July 13, 2019
I enjoyed the Zoom Freak 1, but the cushioning and traction could be better. Unfortunately, this shoe is one tier below the top-performers and, at $120, a little too expensive for what you get.
 More details
8.0
A solid on-court performer. I' give it a B performance-wise, because there are better shoes out there that give you more bang-for-the-buck.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2019
The Nike Zoom Freak 1 has definitely a place in my sneaker rotation because it is super comfortable to play in.
 More details
The Nike Zoom Freak 1 is a good shoe, but not a great one. Court feel and one-to-one fit are great, but impact protection and traction are disappointing.
 More details
7.8
July 18, 2019
The Freak 1 does nothing outstandingly well but that’s okay because it does everything well enough.
 More details
7.8
May 7, 2021
The Nike Zoom Freak 1 is a very low-to-the-ground sneaker. It's lightweight and provides a good amount of court feel, but the cushion could have been better in the forefoot area of the shoe.
 More details
7.5
July 26, 2019
If you like Kobe models - you are probably going to enjoy the Zoom Freak 1. But for $120, there are better performers out there.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

User Rating: 8.1 (ranks #243 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
14
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
April 2, 2023
Depending on what you value in a shoe, you will love these or hate them. The support, lockdown, and court-feel are fanatic. These wrap around and support your feet as well any shoe I have ever played in. You feel secure and connected to the court. The design and materials are well thought out, and every single color-way tells a story. The cushioning and traction are where the shoe divides people. The cushioning in the forefoot provides great court-feel, but very little bounce/impact protection.
 More details
7.0
January 7, 2024
The translucent outsole didn't really work out for me; I was slipping on some plays. I definitely would've preferred a rubber outsole. Cushioning was okay; I would've preferred a forefoot zoom unit instead of a heel zoom unit. Materials were average, although they were comfortable. However I do tend to find a lot of moisture from my feet after games after wearing them so breathability is not the best. These are my favourite zoom freaks, I hope nike makes a protro version of this.
 More details
8.6
September 9, 2023
Very inconsistent shoe. Starting from traction which was not that great. I don't know if it was the colorway but the uppers ripped after a month. Good looking shoe though.
 More details
9.0
March 27, 2023
The durability on this shoe was amazing. I hooped every time I hooped in these for almost 2 years and I usually play 5 times a week (min was 3 a week).
 More details
8.0
May 16, 2023
A very good shoe that kinda reminds me of a pair of kds.It would fit better if you have long narrow feet.There are some nice colorways to
 More details

Traction of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.5 (ranks #274 of 305)
User Traction Rating: 8.0 (ranks #240 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
13
7 - Average
11
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
The traction is not the greatest, but it's not bad either. The outsole attracts a lot of dust. Overall, traction is solid, especially on clean courts.
 More details
7.0
July 13, 2019
Once there is a little dust, you will be wiping very, very often! Also, the dust is really hard to wipe off the translucent rubber part of the outsole.
 More details
8.0
The traction feels really solid and tacky. The translucent rubber gripped just as well as the solid rubber parts of the outsole.
 More details
7.0
August 18, 2019
The translucent rubber parts of the outsole attract a lot of dust. If you don't wipe you're going to slip.
 More details
The traction was very inconsistent, sometimes it was REALLY good, other times I had to wipe my outsoles a lot.
 More details
8.0
July 18, 2019
I was pleased that they stuck pretty well after the break-in period.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
On a clean court, the traction grips nicely. It does pick up dust on the transparent part of the traction though.
 More details
7.0
July 26, 2019
The traction wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. Worked well on clean courts, but on dusty courts you will not stop on a dime and slide just a little bit before you come to a stop.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.3 (ranks #279 of 305)
User Cushion Rating: 7.8 (ranks #236 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
15
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
The double-stacked Zoom in the heel is nice and the Phylon midsole is really responsive.
 More details
7.0
July 13, 2019
You feel very low-to-the-ground, that's about it.
 More details
7.0
The double-stacked Zoom in the heel feels plush and comfortable. But why is there no cushioning in the forefoot? The Phylon in the forefoot is okay but just can't compare to the heel.
 More details
7.0
August 18, 2019
The double-stacked Zoom unit surrounded by a very soft Phylon carrier in the heel does its job, but we would have preferred it to be in the forefoot.
 More details
No cushioning in the forefoot and double-stacked Zoom Air in the heel. Great court feel but not a well-balanced cushioning setup.
 More details
7.0
July 18, 2019
Cushioning is not ultra bouncy or exciting to play in.
 More details
7.0
May 7, 2021
The double-stacked Zoom in the heel makes impact protection solid. The Phylon in the forefoot is soft but could have been better. I wish they added an additional cushion to the forefoot.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2019
The cushioning feels very familiar from the Kobe signature line. The Phylon in the forefoot is not super hard and provides a little bit of comfort and impact protection, the Zoom unit in the heel feels nice.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.6 (ranks #262 of 305)
User Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #215 of 305)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
12
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
The quality of the materials feels a little below average. Feels pretty standard for a first signature shoe and gets the job done.
 More details
8.0
July 13, 2019
Materials are not super high-quality, but they look great and feel very comfortable.
 More details
9.0
August 18, 2019
Breathable, lightweight and really flexible. There is almost zero break-in time and the materials are very durable.
 More details
The materials are not premium, but require no break-in time and are very durable.
 More details
7.0
July 18, 2019
If you are looking fir premium-feeling or looking materials, this is not your shoe.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
A honeycomb-style mesh primarily makes up the upper. It's easily broken in.
 More details
7.0
July 26, 2019
The Mesh upper feels really rough and hard but breaks-in after a while. Overall, I think Giannis deserves better materials.
 More details

Support of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

Expert Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #124 of 305)
User Support Rating: 8.2 (ranks #222 of 305)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
8
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Lockdown works extremely well - my feet were not moving at all!
 More details
10.0
July 13, 2019
Support and lockdown are amazing.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2019
Feels like a Kobe with more support - perfect for an explosive player like Giannis.
 More details
The midsole sculpt keeps your foot on the footbed and the flat base and small outrigger provide lateral stability.
 More details
8.0
July 18, 2019
The heel counter and fit are so good that they feel supportive - but the omission of a midfoot shank could be a no-no for some.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
The shoe offers solid lateral containment due to the wing material found on the side of the shoe. The heel support and ankle lockdown are well cushioned and supportive.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2019
No side-to-side movement, no heel slippage, and a wide and stable base.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #52 of 305)
User Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #154 of 305)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
Once you tighten up the shoe, you're good to go. Not super comfortable, but not painful either.
 More details
9.0
July 13, 2019
Fits like a glove!
 More details
9.0
The soft upper and padding feel super comfortable.
 More details
9.0
August 18, 2019
The Nike Zoom Freak 1 feels really nice on-foot.
 More details
The Zoom Freak 1 started off really tight, but after breaking them in they fit like a glove.
 More details
9.0
July 18, 2019
Overall I had the right amount of toe space, zero side to side movement and an awesome heel fit.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

User Durability Rating: 8.2 (ranks #203 of 305)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
8
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #197 of 305)
User Outdoor Rating: 52.5 (ranks #161 of 305)
Good (100%)
4
Fair (50%)
14
Bad (0%)
4
fair
July 13, 2019
Thick and deep grooves, should work decently well outdoors.
 More details
no
May 7, 2021
I wouldn't recommend these for outdoor use.
 More details

Width of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
9
regular
19
slightly wide
1
very wide
1
slightly wide
The fit was a little loose.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 13, 2019
The fit is snug.
 More details
slightly narrow
Very snug.
 More details
regularly wide
July 18, 2019
The shoe isn’t ultra-narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 26, 2019
A little bit narrow in the forefoot.
 More details

Size of the Nike Zoom Freak 1:

very small
0
slightly small
6
true to size
24
slightly long
3
very long
0
true to size
I went true to size but I experienced a little dead space. I tried a half size down, but that was way too tight.
 More details
true to size
July 13, 2019
I went true to size and it fits like a glove.
 More details
true to size
Go true to size.
 More details
true to size
August 18, 2019
Go true to size.
 More details
½ size small
I went true to size but this shoe fits very snug.
 More details
true to size
July 18, 2019
True to size.
 More details
true to size
May 7, 2021
I would go true to your size unless you've played in Kobes. Use your Kobe size.
 More details
true to size
July 26, 2019
Runs true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: