Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Zoom Freak 3

Released 7/2021, Low Top, Giannis Antetokounmpo, 
Add to Favourites
8.1
EXPERT RATING
7 reviews
8.7
USER RATING
29 ratings
The Nike Zoom Freak 3 provides great support due to its strong combination of materials and fit.

Best Suitable For:

Good choice for players that enjoy a lightweight and minimal feeling shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $119.99
Nike
$79.97
$120
Buy Now
Eastbay
$84.99
$120
Champs Sports
$84.99
$120
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.1
Cushion
7.9
Materials
8.0
Support
7.9
Fit
8.7
Outdoor
20%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
73 likes
Crimson Bliss / Dynamic Turquoise / Melon Tint / Thunder Blue
Crimson Bliss / Dynamic Turquoise / Melon Tint / Thunder Blue
from Nike
$79.97
$120
41 likes
Black / Black / Light Photo Blue / White
Black / Black / Light Photo Blue / White
in 7 shops
$79.97
$120
24 likes
Light Stone / Bright Crimson / Racer Blue / Green Strike
Light Stone / Bright Crimson / Racer Blue / Green Strike
in 5 shops
$79.97
$120
37 likes
Clear Jade / White / Black
Clear Jade / White / Black
in 6 shops
$79.97
$120
37 likes
White / Clear Emerald / Total Orange / Black
White / Clear Emerald / Total Orange / Black
in 7 shops
$79.97
$120
45 likes
Bright Crimson / Black / White
Bright Crimson / Black / White
in 6 shops
$79.97
$120
10 likes
Team Bright Crimson
Team Bright Crimson
in 4 shops
$79.97
$120
26 likes
Royal / White / Black
Royal / White / Black
in 5 shops
$79.97
$120
28 likes
Black / Grey
Black / Grey
in 7 shops
$79.97
$120
8 likes
Black / White / Red
Black / White / Red
in 7 shops
$104.97
$120
49 likes
Dutch Blue / Ghost / Dynamic Turquoise / Metallic Gold
Dutch Blue / Ghost / Dynamic Turquoise / Metallic Gold
in 7 shops
$120.00
23 likes
Iron Grey / Vivid Sulphur / Particle Grey / Black
Iron Grey / Vivid Sulphur / Particle Grey / Black
in 4 shops
$120.00
1 likes
"Grey Fog"
"Grey Fog"
in 5 shops
$120.00
15 likes
"UNO"
"UNO"
from StockX
$118.00
24 likes
"Antetokounbros"
"Antetokounbros"
No stores found

Nike Zoom Freak 3 Review

Pros:
Improved fit feels comfortable on foot
Lateral containment is on point
Cons:
Inconsistent traction
Cushion takes time to get used to

Performance of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

The traction of the Nike Zoom Freak 3 performed inconsistently across several reviewers. Some experienced no issues at all, while others experienced a bit of sliding. When it comes to cushioning on the Zoom Freak 3, the combination of Phylon and the Zoom pods in the forefoot proved to be inconsistent. Some reviewers felt bouncy and responsive, and others felt that the cushion was too stiff and the caged Zoom pods didn't have room to compress. Materials, although not premium, felt great on foot. It's also noted that they are more than capable of securing your feet on the court. That leads to support, which is propped up by the materials and fit of the shoe. Despite the midfoot strap not offering anything performance-wise, the other materials on the shoe perform well to contain your foot. Overall, the Nike Zoom Freak 3 is a solid performer for $120. Most reviewers even consider it to be an upgrade from the Zoom Freak 2.
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

Expert Rating: 8.1 (ranks #158 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The Nike Zoom Freak 3 provides a good amount of tech at an affordable price point. They're an upgrade both performance-wise and aesthetics-wise compared to previous models. The cushion feels great, the materials get the job done, and the traction performs well after breaking it in. These are definitely a shoe going into my rotation.
 More details
8.4
January 22, 2022
In my opinion, the Nike Zoom Freak 3 makes major improvements compared to the Zoom Freak 2. The traction is close to being a top-tier performer, and the cushion is nice and bouncy. I'd definitely recommend it.
 More details
8.2
July 20, 2021
The Nike Zoom Freak 3 is one of my favourite shoes to hoop in right now. The cushion is bouncy, the traction is one of my favourites on the market right now, and in my opinion, they look pretty darn good.
 More details
8.2
January 22, 2022
The Zoom Freak 3 is good, not great. The traction is inconsistent. There is good breathability for your foot and good support.
 More details
7.8
August 10, 2021
The Zoom Freak 3 is a solid shoe at its current price point. The traction was inconsistent, but the materials, fit, and support make up for it. Overall, Nike did a good job of upgrading the shoe from the Zoom Freak 2.
 More details
7.6
August 5, 2021
The Nike Zoom Freak 3 is a lightweight and minimal shoe. The traction was inconsistent for me, and I was disappointed in the cushion. However, I did like the materials, and the shoe has a great fit.
 More details
7.5
November 3, 2021
Overall, the Nike Zoom Freak 3 is a decent shoe if you have a similar playstyle to the Freak himself. The traction performs well, but the support of the shoe was a letdown.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

User Rating: 8.7 (ranks #83 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.4
December 31, 2021
Despite the lackluster reviews thus far, this shoe is a standout performer for me as a larger wing/forward. The traction does its job after breaking in, the cushion is awesome for me with a powerful bounce that makes me feel explosive. Though heel cushioning is minimal, it doesn't matter too much as the forefoot feels so good and propels you forward. I went from a 14 to 15 with this shoe and it fits well. It is nice and wide, materials are awesome and support is top tier. This shoe is a win.
 More details
9.3
March 12, 2022
This shoe is great but there could be lots of improvements like it could be more breathable, it could grip a little bit better and it could be a bit more comfortable. But on the upside it holds up very well after playing with it, it fits like a glove and you feel locked in when your hooping. So overall this shoe is great.
 More details
8.4
April 20, 2022
Been using it for a while and its been great as a guard. Grips very nicely to indoor surfaces and outdoor but the traction is a little bit inconsistent. The traction is pretty durable but can rip away after a while on an outdoor court, great with dust 1 wipe and it should be clean.
 More details
8.2
November 4, 2021
Great and comfortable shoe that is pretty responsive but the impact protection and comfortability could be better. Traction was good and I play on an outdoor court so the traction didnt ware off until a while and it is holding up pretty well.
 More details
10.0
April 30, 2022
Great shoes. Aren’t flat footed like kyries so it makes you a little more agile and faster. Also the shoe is not chunky and light. overall a great show and a must buy if you like attacking the rim and off ball movement.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.1 (ranks #140 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #113 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
14
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
After a break-in period, the Zoom Freak 3 gripped the floor fairly well. They pick up a lot of dust as well.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The traction has a good bite and stopping power that works in all directions. It's one of the gripper tractions to come out this year, but I'd put them just below the top tier because of occasional dust pickup.
 More details
9.0
July 20, 2021
The shoe gripped nicely on all types of court surfaces. I think this is mostly due to the traction pattern.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The traction can grip courts quite nicely, but it can be inconsistent. I don't have any complaints beyond that.
 More details
7.0
August 10, 2021
The traction was inconsistent regardless of court conditions. I experienced a bit of sliding but never actually slipped out.
 More details
6.0
August 5, 2021
I'm disappointed in the traction. The bite is inconsistent despite dust not being an issue.
 More details
8.4
November 3, 2021
For the most part, the traction does its job on clean courts. On a dusty court, they do start to pick up debris. The traction performs well but isn't the best that Nike has to offer.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.9 (ranks #158 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 8.7 (ranks #89 of 205)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The midsole is lightweight and bouncy. The two Zoom units in the forefoot also feel responsive, bouncy, and springy.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The full-length injected Phylon midsole is nice and soft, while the two giant Zoom pods in the forefoot feel bouncy.
 More details
8.0
July 20, 2021
In my opinion, the cushion in the Zoom Freak 3 is an upgrade. The shoe features a pair of forefoot Zoom pods that feel bouncy after breaking them in.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The cushioning on these is noticeably more comfortable than last year's model. This comfort comes from two Zoom Air pods included in the forefoot.
 More details
7.0
August 10, 2021
The Phylon used in the shoe is stiff and provides little impact protection. At the forefoot of the shoe, the Zoom pods are caged and aren't as springy as I would've liked.
 More details
7.0
August 5, 2021
There isn't much compression with the full-length Phylon. The bottom-loaded Zoom units in the forefoot also didn't offer much in terms of bounce. However, the cushion does provide decent responsiveness.
 More details
7.0
November 3, 2021
The Freak 3 features a Phylon midsole with two large Zoom pods in the forefoot. The heel is plush and feels good on feet. The forefoot Zoom doesn't quite offer the responsive feeling you've come to expect from Zoom Air.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #128 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 8.4 (ranks #95 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
There is a combination of mesh and synthetics. It's not premium, but it gets the job done.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The Zoom Freak 3 makes use of some pretty basic materials. It feels thin, but it gets the job done.
 More details
8.0
July 20, 2021
The Freak 3 uses a mix of fuse and mesh that feels similar to the KD 14. They're well ventilated, and they're pretty good in terms of durability.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The quality of the materials used could be better considering Giannis's use of the euro step.
 More details
8.0
August 10, 2021
The materials are thin but sturdy. They're more than capable of getting the job done.
 More details
8.0
August 5, 2021
The quality of the materials feels nice when held in hand. On foot, they're comfortable and get the job done.
 More details

Support of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

Expert Support Rating: 7.9 (ranks #173 of 205)
User Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #91 of 205)
10 - Amazing
9
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
15
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
The strap doesn't provide much for performance, but the laces perform well. The outrigger and padded heel also work well to provide support and lockdown.
 More details
7.0
January 22, 2022
The support is adequate. It does have a wide base and lateral outrigger that perform well. However, the strap is useless, and the torsional support can be a problem for those with plantar-related issues.
 More details
8.0
July 20, 2021
I experienced no heel slippage, and the lateral containment of the shoe really gets the job done. The wide base also helps to keep you on the footbed.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The materials and base of the shoe help provide solid support.
 More details
9.0
August 10, 2021
I didn't have any issues with the support. There is plenty of heel padding to secure your heel. The materials also do a great job of containing your foot laterally.
 More details
8.0
August 5, 2021
I had no issues with lateral containment or lateral stability as the shoe has a wide base.
 More details
7.2
November 3, 2021
The strap doesn't really offer much for lockdown. Most of that actually comes from the lacing and materials. There isn't much lateral support coming from this shoe though. It feels similar to the PG 4 where my foot rolls off the footbed sometimes.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.7 (ranks #55 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #67 of 205)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
16
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.0
They fit snug right out of the box, but they do stretch after a break-in period.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The upper is soft and forgiving to help it conform to your foot. The lacing system and padded rear of the shoe also help to keep you locked in.
 More details
8.0
July 20, 2021
There is more room in the toe box of the Freak 3, making for a better fit.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The narrow forefoot area makes the shoe fit snug. This snug fit can cause issues for players with wider feet.
 More details
8.0
August 10, 2021
The fit starts out snug but breaks in to fit nicely.
 More details
9.0
August 5, 2021
They fit my foot perfectly.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

User Durability Rating: 8.4 (ranks #106 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 20.0 (ranks #144 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 47.1 (ranks #117 of 205)
Good (100%)
4
Fair (50%)
10
Bad (0%)
8
fair
They held up decently when I hooped outdoors. I wouldn't recommend it for extended use though.
 More details
no
January 22, 2022
The rubber compound used is soft and likely won't hold up well outdoors.
 More details
fair
July 20, 2021
The rubber appears to be durable.
 More details
no
August 5, 2021
The rubber is fairly soft and probably isn't the best when playing outdoors.
 More details
no
November 3, 2021
I don't recommend using these outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
9
regular
20
slightly wide
5
very wide
0
slightly narrow
The shoe fits a bit narrow at the front of the shoe.
 More details
regularly wide
July 20, 2021
The shoe is more wide footer friendly than the previous Freak models as the mid and forefoot have more space.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 22, 2022
These definitely fit narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
August 10, 2021
It is a bit narrow on the lateral side of the forefoot. Wide footers go up a half size, but everyone else should go true to size.
 More details
regularly wide
August 5, 2021
Width-wise, these are pretty normal. The forefoot area does expand over time as well.
 More details
very narrow
November 3, 2021
Not wide foot friendly at all. They are very narrow.
 More details

Size of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

very small
0
slightly small
5
true to size
25
slightly long
6
very long
0
true to size
True to size worked for me.
 More details
true to size
January 22, 2022
I did go true to size, and it fits me perfectly well.
 More details
true to size
July 20, 2021
Regular footers can go true to size, but wide footers still might want to go half a size up.
 More details
true to size
January 22, 2022
I recommend going half size up or avoiding the shoe if you have wider feet.
 More details
true to size
August 10, 2021
True to size fit for me as I only have a slightly wide foot.
 More details
true to size
August 5, 2021
I went true to size and had no problems at all.
 More details
true to size
November 3, 2021
They fit true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: