Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Zoom Freak 3

Add to Favourites
8.2
The Nike Zoom Freak 3 provides great support due to its strong combination of materials and fit.
based on 4 expert reviews
based on 4 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Good choice for players that enjoy a lightweight and minimal feeling shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 6 shops | Official Retail Price: $119.99
Buy Now
Foot Locker
See all 6 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
7.8
Cushion
7.8
Materials
8.0
Support
8.3
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
33%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
7/2021
Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
21 likes
Crimson Bliss / Dynamic Turquoise / Melon Tint / Thunder Blue
Crimson Bliss / Dynamic Turquoise / Melon Tint / Thunder Blue
from Nike
$120.00
13 likes
Black / Black / Light Photo Blue / White
Black / Black / Light Photo Blue / White
in 5 shops
$120.00

Nike Zoom Freak 3 Review

Pros:
Improved fit feels comfortable on foot
Lateral containment is on point
Cons:
Inconsistent traction
Cushion takes time to get used to

Performance of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

The traction of the Nike Zoom Freak 3 performed inconsistently across several reviewers. Some experienced no issues at all, while others experienced a bit of sliding. When it comes to cushioning on the Zoom Freak 3, the combination of Phylon and the Zoom pods in the forefoot proved to be inconsistent. Some reviewers felt bouncy and responsive, and others felt that the cushion was too stiff and the caged Zoom pods didn't have room to compress. Materials, although not premium, felt great on foot. It's also noted that they are more than capable of securing your feet on the court. That leads to support, which is propped up by the materials and fit of the shoe. Despite the midfoot strap not offering anything performance-wise, the other materials on the shoe perform well to contain your foot. Overall, the Nike Zoom Freak 3 is a solid performer for $120. Most reviewers even consider it to be an upgrade from the Zoom Freak 2.
See all 4 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

The 8.2 average overall rating ranks #134 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 10, 2021
The Nike Zoom Freak 3 provides a good amount of tech at an affordable price point. They're an upgrade both performance-wise and aesthetics-wise compared to previous models. The cushion feels great, the materials get the job done, and the traction performs well after breaking it in. These are definitely a shoe going into my rotation.
Watch the video
8.2
MARKCHES
July 20, 2021
The Nike Zoom Freak 3 is one of my favourite shoes to hoop in right now. The cushion is bouncy, the traction is one of my favourites on the market right now, and in my opinion, they look pretty darn good.
Watch the video
7.8
RicheeKim
August 10, 2021
The Zoom Freak 3 is a solid shoe at its current price point. The traction was inconsistent, but the materials, fit, and support make up for it. Overall, Nike did a good job of upgrading the shoe from the Zoom Freak 2.
Watch the video
7.6
The Sole Brothers
August 5, 2021
The Nike Zoom Freak 3 is a lightweight and minimal shoe. The traction was inconsistent for me, and I was disappointed in the cushion. However, I did like the materials, and the shoe has a great fit.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

The 7.8 average traction rating ranks #146 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 10, 2021
After a break-in period, the Zoom Freak 3 gripped the floor fairly well. They pick up a lot of dust as well.
Watch the video
9.0
MARKCHES
July 20, 2021
The shoe gripped nicely on all types of court surfaces. I think this is mostly due to the traction pattern.
Watch the video
7.0
RicheeKim
August 10, 2021
The traction was inconsistent regardless of court conditions. I experienced a bit of sliding but never actually slipped out.
Watch the video
6.0
The Sole Brothers
August 5, 2021
I'm disappointed in the traction. The bite is inconsistent despite dust not being an issue.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

The 7.8 average cushion rating ranks #144 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 10, 2021
The midsole is lightweight and bouncy. The two Zoom units in the forefoot also feel responsive, bouncy, and springy.
Watch the video
8.0
MARKCHES
July 20, 2021
In my opinion, the cushion in the Zoom Freak 3 is an upgrade. The shoe features a pair of forefoot Zoom pods that feel bouncy after breaking them in.
Watch the video
7.0
RicheeKim
August 10, 2021
The Phylon used in the shoe is stiff and provides little impact protection. At the forefoot of the shoe, the Zoom pods are caged and aren't as springy as I would've liked.
Watch the video
7.0
The Sole Brothers
August 5, 2021
There isn't much compression with the full-length Phylon. The bottom-loaded Zoom units in the forefoot also didn't offer much in terms of bounce. However, the cushion does provide decent responsiveness.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

The 8.0 average materials rating ranks #115 of 183 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 10, 2021
There is a combination of mesh and synthetics. It's not premium, but it gets the job done.
Watch the video
8.0
MARKCHES
July 20, 2021
The Freak 3 uses a mix of fuse and mesh that feels similar to the KD 14. They're well ventilated, and they're pretty good in terms of durability.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
August 10, 2021
The materials are thin but sturdy. They're more than capable of getting the job done.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
August 5, 2021
The quality of the materials feels nice when held in hand. On foot, they're comfortable and get the job done.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

The 8.3 average support rating ranks #115 of 183 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 10, 2021
The strap doesn't provide much for performance, but the laces perform well. The outrigger and padded heel also work well to provide support and lockdown.
Watch the video
8.0
MARKCHES
July 20, 2021
I experienced no heel slippage, and the lateral containment of the shoe really gets the job done. The wide base also helps to keep you on the footbed.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
August 10, 2021
I didn't have any issues with the support. There is plenty of heel padding to secure your heel. The materials also do a great job of containing your foot laterally.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
August 5, 2021
I had no issues with lateral containment or lateral stability as the shoe has a wide base.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

The 8.5 average fit rating ranks #71 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 10, 2021
They fit snug right out of the box, but they do stretch after a break-in period.
Watch the video
8.0
MARKCHES
July 20, 2021
There is more room in the toe box of the Freak 3, making for a better fit.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
August 10, 2021
The fit starts out snug but breaks in to fit nicely.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
August 5, 2021
They fit my foot perfectly.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 33.3% average outdoor rating ranks #94 of 183 shoes overall
fair
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 10, 2021
They held up decently when I hooped outdoors. I wouldn't recommend it for extended use though.
Watch the video
fair
MARKCHES
July 20, 2021
The rubber appears to be durable.
Watch the video
no
The Sole Brothers
August 5, 2021
The rubber is fairly soft and probably isn't the best when playing outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 10, 2021
The shoe fits a bit narrow at the front of the shoe.
Watch the video
regularly wide
MARKCHES
July 20, 2021
The shoe is more wide footer friendly than the previous Freak models as the mid and forefoot have more space.
Watch the video
regularly wide
RicheeKim
August 10, 2021
It is a bit narrow on the lateral side of the forefoot. Wide footers go up a half size, but everyone else should go true to size.
Watch the video
regularly wide
The Sole Brothers
August 5, 2021
Width-wise, these are pretty normal. The forefoot area does expand over time as well.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Zoom Freak 3:

true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 10, 2021
True to size worked for me.
Watch the video
true to size
MARKCHES
July 20, 2021
Regular footers can go true to size, but wide footers still might want to go half a size up.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
August 10, 2021
True to size fit for me as I only have a slightly wide foot.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
August 5, 2021
I went true to size and had no problems at all.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Crimson Bliss / Dynamic Turquoise / Melon Tint / Thunder Blue
Crimson Bliss / Dynamic Turquoise / Melon Tint / Thunder Blue
from Nike
$120.00
Black / Black / Light Photo Blue / White
Black / Black / Light Photo Blue / White
in 5 shops
$120.00
Crimson Bliss / Dynamic Turquoise / Melon Tint / Thunder Blue
$120.00
on Nike