Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Under Armour Curry 3

Released 10/2016, Mid Top, Stephen Curry, 
Add to Favourites
8.6
EXPERT RATING
10 reviews
8.1
USER RATING
3 ratings
Firm cushioning, amazing traction and a lot of court feel for quick crossovers

Best Suitable For:

Perfect shoe for light and quick guards

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $139.99
StockX
from $116.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.9
Cushion
8.0
Materials
8.9
Support
8.6
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
30%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
15 likes
Red / Grey / White
Red / Grey / White
from StockX
$116.00
21 likes
Neptune / Sable / Metallic Gold​
Neptune / Sable / Metallic Gold​
from StockX
$135.00
27 likes
White / Metallic Silver / Aluminum
White / Metallic Silver / Aluminum
from StockX
$181.00
18 likes
Royal Blue / White / Yellow
Royal Blue / White / Yellow
from StockX
$199.00
24 likes
Grey Matter / Rhino Grey / Black
Grey Matter / Rhino Grey / Black
from StockX
$200.00
17 likes
White / Navy
White / Navy
from StockX
$260.00
18 likes
Systematic / White
Systematic / White
from StockX
$299.00
19 likes
Steel / Aluminum / Black
Steel / Aluminum / Black
from StockX
$326.00
21 likes
Artillery Green / Black / Radiate
Artillery Green / Black / Radiate
from StockX
$644.00
41 likes
Rocket Red / Aluminum / Black
Rocket Red / Aluminum / Black
No stores found
16 likes
Bolt Orange / Steel / Black
Bolt Orange / Steel / Black
No stores found
22 likes
White / Blue / Grey
White / Blue / Grey
No stores found
27 likes
White / Royal / Taxi
White / Royal / Taxi
No stores found
13 likes
Steel / Team Royal / Carolina Blue
Steel / Team Royal / Carolina Blue
No stores found
18 likes
Black / White
Black / White
No stores found
18 likes
Black / Carolina Blue
Black / Carolina Blue
No stores found
20 likes
Peacock Blue / Black
Peacock Blue / Black
No stores found

Under Armour Curry 3 Review

Pros:
Amazing traction
Nice materials
Cons:
Firm cushioning
Break-in time

Performance of the Under Armour Curry 3:

Under Armour is still relatively new to the basketball sneaker game but the Curry 3 is already seen as one of the most consistent and well-performing signature lines on the market. This shoe is optimized for Steph Curry's style of play and gives you amazing traction and court feel for quick crossovers and cuts to the hoop. As Steph is rather light and doesn't play above the rim, the cushioning is really firm and impact protection is minimal.
See all 10 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 3:

Expert Rating: 8.6 (ranks #79 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Curry 3 is a great shoe on-court. Especially speedy guards will enjoy their time in these. If you’re a fan of the Curry 1 and 2 then you’ll likely love the 3.
 More details
9.0
I rank the Curry 3 above the Curry 2 and the Curry 2.5 but only by a very slim margin. There are some improvements, but overall the shoe performs very similar.
 More details
8.8
January 29, 2018
Am I happy with how the shoe performed? Yes. Would I recommend it? Yes!
 More details
8.8
You get great traction, Charged cushioning, and great lockdown after a short break in. If you are looking for a quick response and death-grip sticky soles, look no further.
 More details
Steph obviously values traction and light-weight support and the Curry 3 gives you exactly that. The cushion setup is highly responsive but delivers only average impact protection. To me, the Curry 3 falls just short of being a top-tier on-court performer.
 More details
8.8
January 1, 2017
Overall, I really enjoyed the Curry 3 and hooped in them a lot. They definitely got the job done! I really expect a lot from Under Armour going forward!
 More details
8.6
January 1, 2017
The Curry 3 is a solid and smooth shoe that performs well in every category but nothing outstanding. Slightly softer cushioning than the Curry 2/2.5 and softer materials but not an upgrade overall.
 More details
8.2
January 1, 2017
I really enjoyed the shoe. The traction in dusty conditions was a little lackluster. Other than that, it's a really nice shoe with amazing materials, good support and decent cushioning.
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
The Curry 3 is a good performer on the court. I recommend these if you like firm and responsive cushioning.
 More details
Despite the great build quality and solid materials, the Curry 3 is a shoe that didn’t work for my play style. If you’re a fast-paced guard that loves court feel (like Steph Curry himself) you’ll probably enjoy this shoe. However, more explosive players and those who need more impact protection should probably look elsewhere.
 More details

User Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 3:

User Rating: 8.1 (ranks #157 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
April 11, 2022
The traction is amazing! I’ve had this shoe for a very long time. And, it still seems to have perfect traction. Comfort is not so great my foot after playing basketball has had blisters from the sides of the shoe where the laces go through. The fit is slightly small for me but other than that shoe is amazing.
 More details
7.4
January 4, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.8
January 10, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Under Armour Curry 3:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.9 (ranks #72 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 8.7 (ranks #106 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Herringbone is utilized once again, and like the Curry models that have come before the 3, traction is beastly.
 More details
8.0
The traction is really solid but takes a little to break in.
 More details
9.0
January 29, 2018
Even when the court is dusty, it still plays great with minimal wiping.
 More details
10.0
I was able to drive and cut and never slipped.
 More details
Under Armour has always been fantastic when it comes to traction, but it just took things to a whole other level with the Curry 3.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The traction performs just as well as the Curry 2 did.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Traction on clean floors is great. As dust accumulates just be ready to wipe.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Great traction on clean courts, but the fine grooves make it hard to wipe off dust.
 More details
8.5
December 27, 2017
I did not slip once!
 More details
The Curry 3 has a traction pattern that doesn’t feel great, but performs decently well.
 More details

Cushion of the Under Armour Curry 3:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #157 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #130 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The cushion is pretty firm and impact protection is minimal. Court feel is awesome.
 More details
8.0
The cushion is plush at first but bottoms out rather fast. Court feel is very responsive.
 More details
8.5
January 29, 2018
Charged cushion was used and can be felt in the heel area with a firmer Micro-G foam used throughout the rest of the midsole.
 More details
7.0
Charged Cushioning provides very little bounce or impact protection.
 More details
This time around the responsive foam cushioning is a little more forgiving.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The cushioning is on the firmer side and gives you great court feel.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Charged is back again and even though it’s the same name, it feels slightly softer than before especially in the heel.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
The Charged cushioning is nothing special. Very little impact protection and bounce but great court feel.
 More details
7.0
December 27, 2017
The Charged cushioning is a little firmer than in other Under Armour models. I would have liked a little more impact protection.
 More details
I was greeted with a firm ride that provided a lot of court feel.
 More details

Materials of the Under Armour Curry 3:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.9 (ranks #45 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 6.7 (ranks #172 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
Other than the traction, the materials are my favorite part of the shoe.
 More details
9.0
The materials are soft, lightweight and fairly supportive too.
 More details
8.5
January 29, 2018
There's nothing to complain about.
 More details
9.0
Under Armour has brought us Threadborne, its version of a woven upper material, and it’s nice.
 More details
Under Armour's new Threadborne material, fuse overlays and the fan-favorite Anafoam are a great mix of materials.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Materials could have been better. Too much fuse for my liking.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Threadborne is a nice, tightly wound textile upper that provides a pliable fit without being stretchy.
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
The materials are the strong point of the shoe. After breaking the shoe in the upper feels really soft and conforms to your feet.
 More details
The materials department is where I think the Curry 3 really shines.
 More details

Support of the Under Armour Curry 3:

Expert Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #91 of 205)
User Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #94 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
As long as the shoe fits you properly you shouldn’t have any issues with support.
 More details
8.0
For some strange reason, I felt rather wobbly in this shoe as the base is rather narrow.
 More details
9.0
The Curry 3 hits you smack in the face with support features.
 More details
If you’re a quick guard who needs a shoe that has a lot of support features but still has a lightweight feel, the Curry 3 will be exactly what you’re looking for.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Heel counter and carbon fiber mid-foot shank do a good job. Once you put your shoe on, you're locked in!
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The support of the Curry 3 worked well as I felt like my ankles were just propped up straight at all times.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Support is very good. My ankles felt safe at all times.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
No side-to-side movement and great lockdown of the heel.
 More details
As a whole, the support and lockdown on the Curry 3 would work really well for any type of player, big or small.
 More details

Fit of the Under Armour Curry 3:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #126 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #154 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The slight asymmetrical lacing system provides the midfoot with a wonderfully secure feel.
 More details
8.0
It's kind of stiff and snug when you first put them on. But after breaking them in the fit really well.
 More details
9.0
January 29, 2018
Asymmetrical lacing makes adjusting your laces pretty easily.
 More details
9.0
Lockdown in the heel is super solid and the midfoot lacing straps you down into the shoe.
 More details
The fit doesn’t really conform to your foot. I felt like my foot was sitting in the shoe as opposed to the shoe feeling like an extension of my foot.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Overall, the fit is great but worsens with play due to the laces loosening.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Doesn't fit as well as the previous Curry models. Too much toe room for me.
 More details
7.5
December 27, 2017
I didn't like the dead space in the toe box.
 More details
The tongue is nice and plush, and the top of the shoe provides a good amount of cushion when surrounding the ankle.
 More details

Durability of the Under Armour Curry 3:

User Durability Rating: 8.7 (ranks #81 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Under Armour Curry 3:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 30.0 (ranks #117 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 66.7 (ranks #74 of 205)
Good (100%)
1
Fair (50%)
5
Bad (0%)
2
The rubber used is pretty firm so the Curry 3 would be a viable option outdoors.
 More details
The rubber is not exactly outdoor-friendly so durability on concrete will be less than stellar.
 More details
I’ve heard mixed reviews on the Curry 3’s outdoor coverage but it worked just fine for me
 More details
fair
January 1, 2017
The rubber is hard but not very thick. Outdoor use should be okay.
 More details
no
December 27, 2017
I don't recommend playing outdoors in these.
 More details

Width of the Under Armour Curry 3:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
2
regular
4
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly narrow
Wide-footers, true to size should work okay, but Shrek-feet may want to roll on past.
 More details
slightly wide
January 1, 2017
Too much toe room for my liking.
 More details
regularly wide
December 27, 2017
The Curry 3 is regularly wide.
 More details
regularly wide
I went with my normal size and both the length and the width felt good.
 More details

Size of the Under Armour Curry 3:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
9
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
The Curry 3 fit me perfectly true to size.
 More details
true to size
The shoe runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 29, 2018
I suggest you get your usual size.
 More details
½ size large
Length-wise, if you want a super-snug fit, go down a half size and you will be great.
 More details
½ size large
I decided to go a half-size down and I’m 100% confident that was the right decision.
 More details
true to size
January 1, 2017
I went true to size with my normal 11.
 More details
true to size
January 1, 2017
Go true to size.
 More details
true to size
December 27, 2017
Definitely go true to size.
 More details
true to size
True to size is the way to go.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: