Search Shoe

Under Armour Curry 5 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$129.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
4/2018
# of Reviews:
8
Traction
6.8
Cushion
7.3
Materials
8.4
Support
8.3
Fit
6.5
Outdoor
33%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Under Armour Curry 5:

Black / White / Neon Coral
Black / White / Neon Coral
No stores found
White / Multi-Color
White / Multi-Color
No stores found
White / Neon / Coral
White / Neon / Coral
No stores found
Grey / Gum
Grey / Gum
No stores found
Elemental / Ivory / Tokyo Lime
Elemental / Ivory / Tokyo Lime
No stores found
Black
Black
No stores found
Pierce / Pierce
Pierce / Pierce
No stores found
Black / White / Silver
Black / White / Silver
No stores found
White / Black
White / Black
No stores found
Black / Gold
Black / Gold
No stores found
White / Gold
White / Gold
No stores found
Blue
Blue
No stores found

PROS:

  • Very stable and supportive

CONS:

  • Very specific fit
  • Inconsistent traction

Summary of 8 Expert Reviews:

The reviews of the Under Armour Curry 5 are almost unanimously bad. The majority of reviewers complain about bad blisters on the medial side of their feet and a painful lacing system. The traction is also very inconsistent as the translucent traction pattern is a real dust collector and difficult to wipe. Cushioning is still very responsive with minimal impact protection like we are used to from the Curry line. Overall, the Under Armour Curry 5 is a big disappointment and probably the worst shoe of the Curry signature line.
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 5:

The 7.5 average overall rating ranks #113 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
PureKicks
July 16, 2018
Materials and fit are fantastic, the traction is pretty good, but the support and cushioning are a letdown.
Watch the video
7.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
June 12, 2018
The horrible blisters made me not want to hoop in the Curry 5.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
April 30, 2018
The Curry 5 is what I call a pretty average shoe with some minor flaws and poor dusty floor traction performance.
7.4
RicheeKim
April 24, 2018
The Curry 5 is the worst Curry model I have played in. Stay away from this shoe if you don't have narrow feet!
Watch the video
8.8
The Sole Brothers
April 17, 2018
I love playing in the Curry 5. This shoe excelled in every single category. Sole Brothers recommended, just not on dusty courts.
Watch the video
7.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 17, 2018
I am really confused how this shoe got by the initial testing phase. The fit of the Curry 5 is way too specific and doesn't work for me at all.
Watch the video
7.4
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
The Curry 5 is simply not a shoe I can recommend. Traction is very inconsistent, and the fit is horrendous.
6.6
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
I cannot recommend the Curry 5 to a player of any position or size.

Traction of the Under Armour Curry 5:

The 6.8 average traction rating ranks #110 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
PureKicks
July 16, 2018
Traction is decent, but the rubber picks up a lot of dust, so you will need to wipe a lot.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
June 12, 2018
The traction was pretty decent but attracts a lot of dust.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
April 30, 2018
On dusty floors though, wiping wasn’t just necessary, it was REQUIRED.
6.5
RicheeKim
April 24, 2018
Stay away from the Curry 5 if you play on dusty courts.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
April 17, 2018
Great on clean courts but the Curry 5 picks up dust like crazy. You have to wipe really hard to get off the dust too.
Watch the video
6.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 17, 2018
This is the worst traction I have ever experienced in a Curry model. This is a real dust collector.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Traction is very inconsistent.
5.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
The Curry 5 picked up every bit of dust and took it home.

Cushion of the Under Armour Curry 5:

The 7.3 average cushion rating ranks #106 of 116 shoes overall
6.0
PureKicks
July 16, 2018
The EVA cushioning provides very little impact protection and comfort. Only recommended, if you value court-feel and explosiveness above all else.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
June 12, 2018
The cushioning is much more comfortable than the rock-hard Curry 4.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
April 30, 2018
EVUA is back and is still boring like the Curry 4 set up although it feels slightly firmer and snoozier to me.
8.5
RicheeKim
April 24, 2018
Great court feel but very little impact protection.
Watch the video
7.0
The Sole Brothers
April 17, 2018
Cushioning is very minimal and responsive.
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 17, 2018
I was pleasantly surprised by the cushioning setup. More impact protection and a little bit of bounce-back.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Cushioning is minimal.
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Dense EVA foam gives no real feel of impact protection or energy feedback.

Materials of the Under Armour Curry 5:

The 8.4 average materials rating ranks #62 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
PureKicks
July 16, 2018
The materials are light, flexible and feel great on foot.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
April 30, 2018
Materials break in with play, but start out stiff.
8.5
RicheeKim
April 24, 2018
The one-bootie knit upper feels very nice, the rest of the materials are pretty basic.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
April 17, 2018
I love the materials!
Watch the video
7.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 17, 2018
The upper doesn't feel like Anafoam and wasn't very comfortable on the top of my feet.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Anafoam is a great material.
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Anafoam is back and feels great!

Support of the Under Armour Curry 5:

The 8.3 average support rating ranks #84 of 116 shoes overall
6.0
PureKicks
July 16, 2018
The upper support is very minimal - it almost seems as if this shoe was designed to be worn with an ankle brace.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
June 12, 2018
Slight heel slip, but otherwise I felt stable and nicely locked down.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
April 30, 2018
Compared to the Curry 4 this shoe is slightly more stable with similar support.
8.5
RicheeKim
April 24, 2018
No side-to-side movement and the heel is locked in place.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
April 17, 2018
Wide base, and good lockdown.
Watch the video
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 17, 2018
I never felt like I was in danger of rolling my feet.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Support is good.
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Good midfoot support but the heel slip was terrible.

Fit of the Under Armour Curry 5:

The 6.5 average fit rating ranks #114 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
PureKicks
July 16, 2018
Nice sock-like 1:1 fit.
Watch the video
6.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
June 12, 2018
Fuse overlays on the medial side caused painful irritation and blisters - and I am not the only one having this poblem!
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
April 30, 2018
I had slight issues with heel slip, no movement or sliding in the forefoot.
5.0
RicheeKim
April 24, 2018
The arch kept digging into my feet causing pain and blisters.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
April 17, 2018
The fit was very comfortable.
Watch the video
5.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 17, 2018
I had terrible blisters on the medial side of my arch.
Watch the video
5.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
The fit is horrendous. Painfully horrendous.
5.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Anafoam is too soft to keep your heels locked in and the lacing system hurts if you lace it too tight.

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 33% average outdoor rating ranks #55 of 116 shoes overall
no
PureKicks
July 16, 2018
Shallow grooves and translucent rubber won't last long outdoors.
Watch the video
fair
The Sole Brothers
April 17, 2018
Outdoor use you should be okay because the rubber is hard and the traction pattern is deep.
Watch the video
fair
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Outdoors? You may be okay for a while.

Width of the Under Armour Curry 5:

slightly narrow
PureKicks
July 16, 2018
The width is narrow to regular.
Watch the video
regularly wide
Schwollo
April 30, 2018
Regular and narrow footers can go true to size though.
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
April 24, 2018
If you have wide feet then the arch will dig into the medial side of your feet.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
April 17, 2018
Slightly narrow.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 17, 2018
The midfoot is slightly narrow. If you have a wide foot, pass on this shoe.
Watch the video
regularly wide
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Regular wide.

Size of the Under Armour Curry 5:

true to size
PureKicks
July 16, 2018
Go true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
June 12, 2018
The Curry 5 runs true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
Schwollo
April 30, 2018
As a wide-footer, I found half a size up more comfortable.
true to size
RicheeKim
April 24, 2018
Length-wise the Curry 5 runs true to size.
Watch the video
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
April 17, 2018
Runs slightly long but go true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 17, 2018
I went true to size and that was the right decision.
Watch the video
true to size
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Length-wise is true to size.