Under Armour Curry 5

Released 4/2018, Mid Top, Stephen Curry, 
Add to Favourites
7.5
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
7.6
USER RATING
11 ratings
Inconsistent traction and problematic fit

Best Suitable For:

Only for the biggest Curry fans

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $129.99
GOAT
from $116.00
StockX
from $128.00
KicksCrew
from $165.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (8)
User Ratings (11)
Traction
6.8
Cushion
7.3
Materials
8.4
Support
8.3
Fit
6.5
Outdoor
33%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Under Armour Curry 5
Under Armour Curry 5
New Balance Kawhi 3
New Balance Kawhi 3
Adidas AE 1
Adidas AE 1
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Add shoe
Expert Rating7.58.2(0.7)8.7(1.2)8.1(0.6)7.9(0.4)7.7(0.2)
User Rating7.68.4(0.8)9.3(1.7)9.3(1.7)8.4(0.8)8.5(0.9)
Best Price$129.99
$159.99
$120
$102.97
$170
$59.99
$120
$56.99
$110
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
WeightNANANA330g - 350g360g - 380gNA
 Show More
9 likes
Blue
Blue
from 3 Resellers
$116.00
16 likes
Black / White / Silver
Black / White / Silver
from 3 Resellers
$128.00
18 likes
Black / White / Neon Coral
Black / White / Neon Coral
from 3 Resellers
$157.00
10 likes
Black / Gold
Black / Gold
from 3 Resellers
$190.00
11 likes
Grey / Gum
Grey / Gum
from 3 Resellers
$191.00
12 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from 3 Resellers
$219.00
16 likes
Pierce / Pierce
Pierce / Pierce
from 2 Resellers
$232.00
9 likes
Black
Black
from 2 Resellers
$254.00
19 likes
White / Gold
White / Gold
from 3 Resellers
$275.00
13 likes
Elemental / Ivory / Tokyo Lime
Elemental / Ivory / Tokyo Lime
from 2 Resellers
$344.00
10 likes
White / Neon / Coral
White / Neon / Coral
from 3 Resellers
$382.00
25 likes
White / Multi-Color
White / Multi-Color
from 2 Resellers
$409.00

Under Armour Curry 5 Review

Pros:
Very stable and supportive
Cons:
Very specific fit
Inconsistent traction

Performance of the Under Armour Curry 5:

The reviews of the Under Armour Curry 5 are almost unanimously bad. The majority of reviewers complain about bad blisters on the medial side of their feet and a painful lacing system. The traction is also very inconsistent as the translucent traction pattern is a real dust collector and difficult to wipe. Cushioning is still very responsive with minimal impact protection like we are used to from the Curry line. Overall, the Under Armour Curry 5 is a big disappointment and probably the worst shoe of the Curry signature line.
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 5:

Expert Rating: 7.5 (ranks #291 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.8
April 17, 2018
I love playing in the Curry 5. This shoe excelled in every single category. Sole Brothers recommended, just not on dusty courts.
 More details
8.0
April 30, 2018
The Curry 5 is what I call a pretty average shoe with some minor flaws and poor dusty floor traction performance.
 More details
The horrible blisters made me not want to hoop in the Curry 5.
 More details
The Curry 5 is simply not a shoe I can recommend. Traction is very inconsistent, and the fit is horrendous.
 More details
7.4
April 24, 2018
The Curry 5 is the worst Curry model I have played in. Stay away from this shoe if you don't have narrow feet!
 More details
7.0
April 17, 2018
I am really confused how this shoe got by the initial testing phase. The fit of the Curry 5 is way too specific and doesn't work for me at all.
 More details
7.0
July 16, 2018
Materials and fit are fantastic, the traction is pretty good, but the support and cushioning are a letdown.
 More details
I cannot recommend the Curry 5 to a player of any position or size.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 5:

User Rating: 7.6 (ranks #267 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.5
January 13, 2022
I loved the Curry 5’s! The traction, though not A tier, was definitely solid and I had no issues. The cushion is very stiff, but in turn gives a responsive and low feeling! The materials were GOATED and I loved every minute! Overall the Curry 5 is a shoe worth getting!
 More details
9.0
September 23, 2023
vc só desejaria tração e amortecimento , a tração só funciona em quadra pouco empoeirada , dura bastante mas não compensa usar em quadra externa mas fora isso o tênis me proporcionou bastante suporte e conforto
 More details
7.2
July 18, 2022
Bad for big mans but so good for small and fast people that dont jump so much and dont weight much
 More details
8.4
August 28, 2022
It's a good shoe with ok traction ok cushion nice materials good suport and good fit
 More details
6.0
December 23, 2021
This shoe is only for the biggest curry fans out there.
 More details

Traction of the Under Armour Curry 5:

Expert Traction Rating: 6.8 (ranks #293 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 7.5 (ranks #269 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
8
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
2
8.0
April 17, 2018
Great on clean courts but the Curry 5 picks up dust like crazy. You have to wipe really hard to get off the dust too.
 More details
8.0
April 30, 2018
On dusty floors though, wiping wasn’t just necessary, it was REQUIRED.
 More details
The traction was pretty decent but attracts a lot of dust.
 More details
Traction is very inconsistent.
 More details
6.5
April 24, 2018
Stay away from the Curry 5 if you play on dusty courts.
 More details
6.0
April 17, 2018
This is the worst traction I have ever experienced in a Curry model. This is a real dust collector.
 More details
7.0
July 16, 2018
Traction is decent, but the rubber picks up a lot of dust, so you will need to wipe a lot.
 More details
The Curry 5 picked up every bit of dust and took it home.
 More details

Cushion of the Under Armour Curry 5:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.3 (ranks #279 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 7.4 (ranks #253 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
8
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
0
7.0
April 17, 2018
Cushioning is very minimal and responsive.
 More details
7.0
April 30, 2018
EVUA is back and is still boring like the Curry 4 set up although it feels slightly firmer and snoozier to me.
 More details
The cushioning is much more comfortable than the rock-hard Curry 4.
 More details
Cushioning is minimal.
 More details
8.5
April 24, 2018
Great court feel but very little impact protection.
 More details
8.0
April 17, 2018
I was pleasantly surprised by the cushioning setup. More impact protection and a little bit of bounce-back.
 More details
6.0
July 16, 2018
The EVA cushioning provides very little impact protection and comfort. Only recommended, if you value court-feel and explosiveness above all else.
 More details
Dense EVA foam gives no real feel of impact protection or energy feedback.
 More details

Materials of the Under Armour Curry 5:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.4 (ranks #106 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 7.9 (ranks #232 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
April 17, 2018
I love the materials!
 More details
8.0
April 30, 2018
Materials break in with play, but start out stiff.
 More details
Anafoam is a great material.
 More details
8.5
April 24, 2018
The one-bootie knit upper feels very nice, the rest of the materials are pretty basic.
 More details
7.0
April 17, 2018
The upper doesn't feel like Anafoam and wasn't very comfortable on the top of my feet.
 More details
8.0
July 16, 2018
The materials are light, flexible and feel great on foot.
 More details
Anafoam is back and feels great!
 More details

Support of the Under Armour Curry 5:

Expert Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #200 of 303)
User Support Rating: 7.6 (ranks #261 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
0
10.0
April 17, 2018
Wide base, and good lockdown.
 More details
9.0
April 30, 2018
Compared to the Curry 4 this shoe is slightly more stable with similar support.
 More details
Slight heel slip, but otherwise I felt stable and nicely locked down.
 More details
Support is good.
 More details
8.5
April 24, 2018
No side-to-side movement and the heel is locked in place.
 More details
9.0
April 17, 2018
I never felt like I was in danger of rolling my feet.
 More details
6.0
July 16, 2018
The upper support is very minimal - it almost seems as if this shoe was designed to be worn with an ankle brace.
 More details
Good midfoot support but the heel slip was terrible.
 More details

Fit of the Under Armour Curry 5:

Expert Fit Rating: 6.5 (ranks #301 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 7.9 (ranks #247 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
4
10.0
April 17, 2018
The fit was very comfortable.
 More details
8.0
April 30, 2018
I had slight issues with heel slip, no movement or sliding in the forefoot.
 More details
Fuse overlays on the medial side caused painful irritation and blisters - and I am not the only one having this poblem!
 More details
The fit is horrendous. Painfully horrendous.
 More details
5.0
April 24, 2018
The arch kept digging into my feet causing pain and blisters.
 More details
5.0
April 17, 2018
I had terrible blisters on the medial side of my arch.
 More details
8.0
July 16, 2018
Nice sock-like 1:1 fit.
 More details
Anafoam is too soft to keep your heels locked in and the lacing system hurts if you lace it too tight.
 More details

Durability of the Under Armour Curry 5:

User Durability Rating: 8.2 (ranks #204 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Under Armour Curry 5:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 33.3 (ranks #167 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 37.5 (ranks #224 of 303)
Good (100%)
3
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
6
fair
April 17, 2018
Outdoor use you should be okay because the rubber is hard and the traction pattern is deep.
 More details
no
July 16, 2018
Shallow grooves and translucent rubber won't last long outdoors.
 More details
fair
Outdoors? You may be okay for a while.
 More details

Width of the Under Armour Curry 5:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
8
regular
8
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly narrow
April 17, 2018
Slightly narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
April 30, 2018
Regular and narrow footers can go true to size though.
 More details
slightly narrow
April 24, 2018
If you have wide feet then the arch will dig into the medial side of your feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
April 17, 2018
The midfoot is slightly narrow. If you have a wide foot, pass on this shoe.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 16, 2018
The width is narrow to regular.
 More details
regularly wide
Regular wide.
 More details

Size of the Under Armour Curry 5:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
14
slightly long
2
very long
0
½ size large
April 17, 2018
Runs slightly long but go true to size.
 More details
true to size
April 30, 2018
As a wide-footer, I found half a size up more comfortable.
 More details
true to size
The Curry 5 runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
April 24, 2018
Length-wise the Curry 5 runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
April 17, 2018
I went true to size and that was the right decision.
 More details
true to size
July 16, 2018
Go true to size.
 More details
true to size
Length-wise is true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: