Search Shoe

Under Armour Curry 6 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$129.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
1/2019
# of Reviews:
9
Traction
8.7
Cushion
8.7
Materials
8.8
Support
8.7
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
20%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Under Armour Curry 6:

-12%
Forest Green / White / Metallic Gold
$114.99
from Eastbay
-12%
Academy / Thunder / Fade / Pitch Grey / Coded Blue
$114.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Black / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Red / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Midnight Navy / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Royal / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Purple / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Team Orange / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
Hi-Vis Yellow / Ambrosia / Guardian Green
Hi-Vis Yellow / Ambrosia / Guardian Green
No stores found
Black / White / Red Rage / Hero Orange
Black / White / Red Rage / Hero Orange
No stores found
Black / Bolt Orange / Rocket Red / Zap Green
Black / Bolt Orange / Rocket Red / Zap Green
No stores found
Black/Elemental/Black
Black/Elemental/Black
No stores found
White/ Royal / White
White/ Royal / White
No stores found

PROS:

  • Extremely stable shoe
  • Very lightweight

CONS:

  • Durability issues of the outsole
  • Lace pressure

Summary of 9 Expert Reviews:

The Curry 6 is much better received by sneaker reviewers than its predecessor. The traction performs very well but showed some durability issues early on. The full-length HOVR cushioning is on the firmer side and offers a nice balance of impact protection and court feel. The knitted materials look great and need very little break-in time and stability and support are excellent like always in Curry models. Overall, reviewers are having a lot of fun with this shoe and rank it as one of the best Curry signature shoes so far!
See all 9 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 6:

The 8.7 average overall rating ranks #34 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
This is easily the most well-rounded Curry we’ve had since the 1.
8.2
PureKicks
February 1, 2019
Easily the best Curry signature shoe! The cushioning is amazing, materials are really nice, the traction took care of us, only the support was a little bit of a letdown.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The Curry 6 brings a great combo of traction, cushioning and support to make fast basketball player very happy!
8.0
Schwollo
January 17, 2019
The Curry 6 looks good, has great traction and is very stable, but the constant lace pressure, bad heel fit, and a really dumb outsole design make these far from perfect.
9.0
RicheeKim
January 13, 2019
The Curry 6 is a really fun performer that has everything I want from a basketball shoe: amazing cushion, amazing fit, and while the traction is not quite on Curry 2 level, it is still pretty nice! The durability of the rubber on my pair was an issue though...
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
In my opinion, this is the best Curry signature shoe since the Curry 2. Everything about this shoe is great, except the pain I experienced on the top of the feet when cranking the laces tightly.
Watch the video
8.4
The Sole Brothers
January 9, 2019
I really enjoy playing in the Curry 6. The cushioning is pretty nice, the traction, fit, support and the minimal upper are really fun. The only problem is the durability of my pair - let's hope the glue work is better on future colorways!
Watch the video
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
I am loving the Curry 6! Definitely the #1 in my rotation right now.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
The Curry 6 is easily the best shoe in the Curry signature line.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Traction of the Under Armour Curry 6:

The 8.7 average traction rating ranks #52 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
The traction has been pretty consistent for me and a pleasant surprise on the court.
8.0
PureKicks
February 1, 2019
The traction pattern did its thing, but it did collect a little bit of dust.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
On clean and semi-clean courts, these things stick like Gorilla.
9.0
Schwollo
January 17, 2019
Traction is excellent with a great bite on all surfaces with only very occasional wiping.
9.0
RicheeKim
January 13, 2019
The traction performs very well on clean courts but needs some thorough wiping on dustier courts. Unfortunately, the durability of the rubber compound is pretty bad.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
The traction was superb! Dust gets stuck in the grooves on the medial side, but a wipe or two will solve that problem.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 9, 2019
The performance of the traction was really good, but the durability is an issue. The rubber frays off easily and the split sole design starts to peel off the outsole after a few weeks.
Watch the video
8.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
Performance is super nice on clean courts - you will stick like glue! Minimal wiping on dusty courts. Durability is bad though - on the second day the rubber started to separate from the midsole. Let's hope that's just a defect of this colorway.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
The circular traction pattern on the lateral side offers superb multi-directional grip — dust or no dust
Watch the Video|Read the article

Cushion of the Under Armour Curry 6:

The 8.7 average cushion rating ranks #59 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
The full-length HOVR cushioning isn’t overly soft or overly firm, it felt just right for me
9.0
PureKicks
February 1, 2019
The HOVR cushioning is very responsive with a lot of court feel and solid impact protection.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The cushioning is tuned for optimal impact protection while still keeping you close to the court for those crossovers and step-backs.
7.0
Schwollo
January 17, 2019
A bit disappointing - the new full-length HOVR cushioning feels the same as older models.
9.0
RicheeKim
January 13, 2019
The full-length HOVR cushioning gives you a good balance of impact protection and court feel. In my opinion, this is the best cushioning in a Curry shoe so far.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
The cushioning is pretty awesome and offers the perfect amount of impact protection and court feel. Overall, the cushioning is a bit on the firm side.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 9, 2019
Impact protection is okay, but we expected a little more from the new HOVR cushioning. Works well for quick guards looking for a firm, no-nonsense cushioning.
Watch the video
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
I love this cushioning setup! Low-profile, great court feel and still pretty comfortable. Major upgrade compared to the Curry 4!
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
The full-length HOVR cushioning is softer and more comfortable than previous Curry models.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Materials of the Under Armour Curry 6:

The 8.8 average materials rating ranks #37 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
The full knit upper had some areas of minor discomfort in the beginning but became very comfortable after a while.
9.0
PureKicks
February 1, 2019
The full knit upper is very supportive and super comfortable. Minimal break-in time required - that's a first in a Curry sneaker!
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The full knit upper with elastic areas is much more comfortable than the Curry 4/5 were.
8.0
Schwollo
January 17, 2019
The knit materials and fuse underlays feel nice and need no break-in time.
9.0
RicheeKim
January 13, 2019
Knitted materials with fuse overlays in high-wear areas feel nice, but there was some lace pressure if you like to crank the laces.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
The materials are lightweight and breathable, the tongue is soft and stretchy and provides easy entry for your feet. I would have liked a little more padding though.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 9, 2019
The thin, stretchy and breathable materials feel really nice once you break them in. There was a bit of lace pressure though.
Watch the video
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
The full length knit truly feels like a sock!
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
After a short break-in period, the full-length Knit is very comfortable but still strong enough to provide lockdown and support.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Support of the Under Armour Curry 6:

The 8.7 average support rating ranks #52 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
Stability has always been one of the strongest features of Curry signature sneakers - and this hasn't changed in the Curry 6!
6.0
PureKicks
February 1, 2019
I think this shoe is meant to be worn with an ankle brace.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The outsole is wide, the midsole is solid and supportive and lateral containment is excellent.
9.0
Schwollo
January 17, 2019
Stability is excellent thanks to an extra wide and flat outsole.
9.0
RicheeKim
January 13, 2019
Like always in the Curry line, the support features are pretty amazing.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
The support is really nice thanks to the full-length speed plate and heel counter.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 9, 2019
Support was really good. The only slight issue is the lateral containment in the front because the knit is really stretchy.
Watch the video
10.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
The support is clearly the best feature of the Curry 6. This is probably the most stable shoe I ever played in!
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
The flat and wide base, TPU counter, and external outrigger provide the excellent stability and support we are used to from the Curry line.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Fit of the Under Armour Curry 6:

The 8.5 average fit rating ranks #62 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
There was some minor heel slip in the beginning which was easily fixed by a double-sock.
9.0
PureKicks
February 1, 2019
The Curry 6 fits really well! The elastic materials conform to your feet nicely and the lacing system works wonders.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
I had to double-sock to keep from having heel slip and forefoot movement.
7.0
Schwollo
January 17, 2019
The stiff midsole, wide ankle collar, and top eyelets which are placed too low combined to create heel slip problems for me.
9.0
RicheeKim
January 13, 2019
The one-bootie upper gives you a pretty good 1:1 fit.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
Fit and lockdown are pretty tricky as I experienced a lot of pain when I laced the shoes too tightly.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 9, 2019
I went down half a size and the fit was awesome for me.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
The fit was a little off in the beginning, but the footbed of the Curry 6 molds to your feet over time and becomes very comfortable.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 20% average outdoor rating ranks #75 of 116 shoes overall
fair
PureKicks
February 1, 2019
I think the Curry 6 should be fine outdoors.
Watch the video
no
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
Outdoors? Not. A. Chance.
no
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
I wouldn't recommend outdoor use as the rubber is pretty frail.
Watch the video
no
The Sole Brothers
January 9, 2019
Don't use those outdoors as the rubber will not last very long.
Watch the video
fair
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
The pattern worked very well outdoors but it's soft and shallow - don't expect it to last very long.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Width of the Under Armour Curry 6:

regularly wide
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
I have a slightly wider foot than most but I was able to go true to size.
slightly wide
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The Curry 6 had some empty space around my foot.
regularly wide
RicheeKim
January 13, 2019
As a slightly-wide footer, I felt perfectly fine.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
January 9, 2019
Pretty narrow width-wise and snug in the toebox.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
The Curry 6 is not especially wide-footer friendly.
Watch the video

Size of the Under Armour Curry 6:

true to size
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
I was able to go true to size.
½ size large
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
I had to double sock - if you want a 1:1 fit, going down half a size might be a good idea.
½ size large
Schwollo
January 17, 2019
Went down half a size but still had problems with heel slip.
½ size large
RicheeKim
January 13, 2019
The Curry 6 runs a little long but I went true to size.
Watch the video
½ size large
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
They run a tad bit long but I still went true to size.
Watch the video
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
January 9, 2019
I went down half a size.
Watch the video
true to size
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
I went true to size
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 6, 2019
I’d recommend going true to size
Watch the Video|Read the article
Deals from $114.99:
-12%
Forest Green / White / Metallic Gold
$114.99
from Eastbay
-12%
Academy / Thunder / Fade / Pitch Grey / Coded Blue
$114.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Black / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Red / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Midnight Navy / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Royal / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Purple / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Team Orange / White / Metallic Gold
$119.99
from Eastbay