Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Under Armour Curry 8

Released 12/2020, Low Top, Stephen Curry
Add to Favourites
8.9
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
18 ratings
Steph Curry's first shoe under his new brand is a standout.

Best Suitable For:

Great all around hoop shoe for guards and wings.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $159.99
Finishline
$65.00
$160
Buy Now
Under Armour
Foot Locker
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
9.9
Cushion
8.8
Materials
8.8
Support
8.4
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
67%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
229 likes
 Iridium / White
Iridium / White
in 2 shops
$65.00
$160
178 likes
Black / White / White
Black / White / White
from Finishline
$130.00
$160
111 likes
Black / White / Black
Black / White / Black
from DICK's
$159.99
204 likes
White / White / Metallic Gold
White / White / Metallic Gold
from Under Armour
$160.00
140 likes
Red / White / Red
Red / White / Red
in 2 shops
$160.00
128 likes
Taxi / White / Taxi
Taxi / White / Taxi
in 3 shops
$160.00
137 likes
Royal / White / White
Royal / White / White
in 3 shops
$160.00
124 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from Under Armour
$160.00
69 likes
White / White / Black
White / White / Black
in 2 shops
$160.00
87 likes
 Purple / White / Grey
Purple / White / Grey
in 2 shops
$160.00
29 likes
Black / White / Birch
Black / White / Birch
in 5 shops
$160.00
17 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from Eastbay
$160.00
6 likes
Navy / White
Navy / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
12 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
12 likes
Red / White
Red / White
No stores found
20 likes
Royal / White
Royal / White
No stores found

Under Armour Curry 8 Review

Pros:
Stop on a dime traction
Great cushioning
Cons:
Weird sizing

Performance of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The Curry "Flow" 8 is the first signature shoe released under the new "Curry" brand and they get off to a good start! The traction is the best aspect of the shoe and features an all-foam outsole that is crazy grippy. The cushion is also nice and comfortable while providing great court feel and responsiveness. Reviewers considered it the best cushion of the Curry lineup. The materials consist of a flexible knit upper that is comfortable with synthetic overlays for structure. These fit short and a little wide - going up half a size should work for most people. The support and lockdown are what you come to expect from a Curry and will give you no issues. Overall the Curry 8 is a great hoop shoe that most players will enjoy. These are definitely worth the $20 increase to $160!
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Rating: 8.9 (ranks #14 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
At $160, you are getting a phenomenal hoop shoe. Pretty much every aspect of the shoe is really good. If I had to describe the Curry 8 in one word it would be fluid.
 More details
I absolutely love the Curry 8. The traction is amazing and will work outdoors. It also features great cushioning with the new Flow technology. There are 2 main differences between the 8 and previous Curry shoes. The first is that the upper is much lighter on the 8 and the second is that the 8 gives you both cushioning and court feel.
 More details
9.0
December 20, 2020
The Curry 8 is $20 more expensive than the Curry 7 and it's totally worth it! The traction and the cushion are highlights of the shoe. If you pick up a pair of these I don't think you'll be disappointed.
 More details
8.8
December 31, 2020
The Curry 8 is awesome. The traction is insane and the cushion is super nice. If you are a guard you will definitely like playing in these!
 More details
8.2
January 13, 2021
The Curry 8 was very close to being great. It was supposed to feel like a running shoe and it definitely did, but to a fault. I loved the traction and the shoe, but it fell short in too many categories to justify $160.
 More details

User Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 8:

User Rating: 8.9 (ranks #39 of 196)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
October 30, 2021
Traction was Top Tier, even on a dusty court. Cushion was nice for a 5'7 guard like me. Good court feel and impact protection. Fit and Support also nice, but I'll suggest for going up half size because the shoe runs short. Won't long last outdoor. Overall this is probably the best Curry Shoe from Under Armour.
 More details
9.0
October 26, 2021
Overall a great shoe, best traction I’ve ever had in a hoop shoe and great materials and support. Only downside is the outsole wears out fairly quick, however it doesn’t really effect the traction, I would highly recommend this shoe to any hooper.
 More details
9.2
November 2, 2021
The traction was absolutely amazing, the cushion wasn’t the most plush but you felt something and it was somewhat bouncy but very stable. Fit I recommend going half size up for regular foot people but up one size for wide footers
 More details
9.6
November 27, 2021
This shoe is great but on dusty courts it's bullshit. I love this shoe but if you are playing on dusty courts you will be on ice skates, but if you are playing on clean courts it's like an God like traction
 More details
6.6
November 15, 2021
The traction was good in clean indoor courts, but horrible in outdoors. The cushion was good. The material was ok. The support was non-existent. They fit well but it runs small
 More details

Traction of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.9 (ranks #2 of 196)
User Traction Rating: 9.3 (ranks #32 of 196)
10 - Amazing
17
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
10.0
The traction on the Curry 8 is insanely grippy. I could start and stop on a dime in these and there was no slipping.
 More details
The traction is beastly. The only issue I had was when I stepped on the painted lines on outdoor courts, I would sometimes slide.
 More details
10.0
December 20, 2020
The multidirectional traction pattern is freaking nuts! The no-rubber, all-foam sole had me stopping on a dime.
 More details
10.0
December 31, 2020
I only got to play outdoors in these and the traction was really nice. I had a super consistent bite that was insane. These stop even better than a rubber outsole.
 More details
10.0
January 13, 2021
This was the best traction I've ever used, it just sticks like crazy. I had no sliding on a semi dusty court it was that great.
 More details

Cushion of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.8 (ranks #74 of 196)
User Cushion Rating: 8.8 (ranks #64 of 196)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
15
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The cushion feels comparable to Nike React Flyknit but firmer and more responsive. You get an initial spongey feeling, but responsiveness when you step hard. Probably the best cushioning in the Curry lineup.
 More details
It's a new one-piece cushion called Flow. It feels a lot like a running shoe. It's smooth, comfortable, and provides good heel-to-toe transition. They feel awesome.
 More details
9.0
December 20, 2020
The Curry 8 features FLOW cushion and overall it's really nice and the best cushion setup in the Curry lineup so far. Nice impact protection in the heel, good bounce, and solid court feel.
 More details
9.0
December 31, 2020
The FLOW cushion is awesome. The compression is nice and gives you adequate impact protection, but the focus was definitely put on court feel and responsiveness.
 More details
8.0
January 13, 2021
FLOW cushioning is a pretty good blend of not too hard or too soft. It isn't Zoom or Boost, but it's definitely better than HOVR.
 More details

Materials of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.8 (ranks #47 of 196)
User Materials Rating: 8.9 (ranks #48 of 196)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The materials feel really, really nice. The knit upper is lightweight, flexible, and breathable. The only thing I didn't like is the extra material in the toe box that bunched up when I tied my laces.
 More details
The combination of textiles and the knit work well performance-wise. There was also no break-in time.
 More details
9.0
December 20, 2020
The materials are pretty nice. The knit upper and synthetic overlay implementation is good and feels nice on-foot. Performance-wise these get the job done just fine.
 More details
9.0
December 31, 2020
The upper material felt nice and conformed well to my feet. These felt like a runner to me, similar to an Ultraboost.
 More details
8.0
January 13, 2021
The knit upper reminds me of Primeknit and feels really nice. The fake plastic leather around the side helped with containment, but patent leather works better.
 More details

Support of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #111 of 196)
User Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #91 of 196)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The lockdown is excellent and the support is good thanks to the wide base. The synthetic overlay helped lock in my foot for side to side movements. I did have to tie down the laces pretty tight because of the wide forefoot.
 More details
The overall support is what you would expect from a Curry shoe. All of the support is coming from the bottom of the shoe since the upper is made of a knit material.
 More details
9.0
December 20, 2020
I had no issues with support as I would expect from a Curry shoe. I had no side to side movement on the footbed, heel slippage, or rollover on lateral movements.
 More details
8.0
December 31, 2020
I had no issues with lateral containment, but my foot moved around a bit on the footbed. Lateral stability is good even without an outrigger.
 More details
7.0
January 13, 2021
The support is nonexistent since these are basically socks with a sole. The outsole is very wide though with a curious design. An outrigger would've helped with stability, but the rand does a decent job with containment.
 More details

Fit of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.2 (ranks #127 of 196)
User Fit Rating: 8.7 (ranks #70 of 196)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
8.0
The fit is pretty short and wide so I ended up going a size up. After I found the right size, the fit and comfort were good.
 More details
They do fit very snugly and really do hug your foot when playing.
 More details
8.0
December 20, 2020
Overall the fit is pretty good. There was some dead space in the toe box when I cranked down the laces though.
 More details
8.0
December 31, 2020
Ran a little short for me, but other than that they fit well.
 More details
8.0
January 13, 2021
Out of the box, there was no heel slippage or dead space in the toe box. I think the materials are a little too stretchy though.
 More details

Durability of the Under Armour Curry 8:

User Durability Rating: 8.1 (ranks #89 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 66.7 (ranks #58 of 196)
User Outdoor Rating: 40.9 (ranks #90 of 196)
Good (100%)
3
Fair (50%)
7
Bad (0%)
4
no
I don't recommend these for outdoors.
 More details
I was only able to test these outdoors. The shoe seems to be more durable than a shoe with a more traditional rubber outsole.
 More details
good
December 31, 2020
The durability of the outsole was good which was surprising because there isn't rubber on the outsole.
 More details

Width of the Under Armour Curry 8:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
5
regular
12
slightly wide
4
very wide
0
slightly narrow
If you have a wide foot I'd recommend going up half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
December 20, 2020
If you have very wide feet you may want to go up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
December 31, 2020
Slightly narrow like other Curry models.
 More details

Size of the Under Armour Curry 8:

very small
3
slightly small
9
true to size
10
slightly long
1
very long
0
runs small
For me, these ran super small and I went up a full size. I do like a little extra space around the toes, but I'd recommend trying them on before buying.
 More details
true to size
I would go true to size if you plan to play in them.
 More details
true to size
December 20, 2020
True to size works well.
 More details
½ size small
December 31, 2020
I'd recommend going up half a size.
 More details
runs small
January 13, 2021
I'd recommend going up at least a half size, but maybe a full size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
 Iridium / White
Iridium / White
in 2 shops
$65.00
$160
Black / White / White
Black / White / White
from Finishline
$130.00
$160
Black / White / Black
Black / White / Black
from DICK's
$159.99
White / White / Metallic Gold
White / White / Metallic Gold
from Under Armour
$160.00
Red / White / Red
Red / White / Red
in 2 shops
$160.00
Taxi / White / Taxi
Taxi / White / Taxi
in 3 shops
$160.00
Royal / White / White
Royal / White / White
in 3 shops
$160.00
Black / White
Black / White
from Under Armour
$160.00
White / White / Black
White / White / Black
in 2 shops
$160.00
 Purple / White / Grey
Purple / White / Grey
in 2 shops
$160.00
Black / White / Birch
Black / White / Birch
in 5 shops
$160.00
White / Black
White / Black
from Eastbay
$160.00
Navy / White
Navy / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
Black / White
Black / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
 Iridium / White
$65.00
on Finishline