Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Under Armour Curry 8

Released 12/2020, Low Top, Stephen Curry, 
Add to Favourites
8.9
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
9.0
USER RATING
49 ratings
Steph Curry's first shoe under his new brand is a standout.

Best Suitable For:

Great all around hoop shoe for guards and wings.

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $159.99
DICK's
Buy Now
StockX
from $98.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (5)
User Ratings (49)
Traction
9.9
Cushion
8.8
Materials
8.8
Support
8.4
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
67%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Under Armour Curry 8
Under Armour Curry 8
Air Jordan 36 Low
Air Jordan 36 Low
Nike KD 15
Nike KD 15
Puma Clyde All-Pro
Puma Clyde All-Pro
Nike Lebron 20
Nike Lebron 20
Puma MB.01 Lo
Puma MB.01 Lo
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.99.2(0.3)9.0(0.1)9.1(0.2)8.8(0.1)8.9(0.0)
User Rating9.09.1(0.1)9.4(0.4)9.1(0.1)9.1(0.1)8.7(0.3)
Best Price
$159.99
$124.99
$185
$149.99
$129.99
$200
$120
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight320g - 340gNA370g - 390g360g - 380g390g - 410gNA
 Show More
134 likes
 Purple / White / Grey
Purple / White / Grey
from DICK's
$159.99
44 likes
Black / White / Birch
Black / White / Birch
from DICK's
$159.99
32 likes
Red / White
Red / White
from StockX
$98.00
36 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from StockX
$99.00
54 likes
Royal / White
Royal / White
from StockX
$99.00
30 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from StockX
$103.00
171 likes
Red / White / Red
Red / White / Red
from StockX
$106.00
17 likes
Navy / White
Navy / White
from StockX
$120.00
96 likes
White / White / Black
White / White / Black
from StockX
$130.00
130 likes
Black / White / Black
Black / White / Black
from StockX
$143.00
172 likes
Royal / White / White
Royal / White / White
from StockX
$167.00
165 likes
Taxi / White / Taxi
Taxi / White / Taxi
from StockX
$172.00
144 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from StockX
$180.00
213 likes
Black / White / White
Black / White / White
from StockX
$191.00
287 likes
 Iridium / White
Iridium / White
from StockX
$324.00
240 likes
White / White / Metallic Gold
White / White / Metallic Gold
from StockX
$327.00

Under Armour Curry 8 Review

Pros:
Stop on a dime traction
Great cushioning
Cons:
Weird sizing

Performance of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The Curry "Flow" 8 is the first signature shoe released under the new "Curry" brand and they get off to a good start! The traction is the best aspect of the shoe and features an all-foam outsole that is crazy grippy. The cushion is also nice and comfortable while providing great court feel and responsiveness. Reviewers considered it the best cushion of the Curry lineup. The materials consist of a flexible knit upper that is comfortable with synthetic overlays for structure. These fit short and a little wide - going up half a size should work for most people. The support and lockdown are what you come to expect from a Curry and will give you no issues. Overall the Curry 8 is a great hoop shoe that most players will enjoy. These are definitely worth the $20 increase to $160!
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Rating: 8.9 (ranks #18 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
At $160, you are getting a phenomenal hoop shoe. Pretty much every aspect of the shoe is really good. If I had to describe the Curry 8 in one word it would be fluid.
 More details
I absolutely love the Curry 8. The traction is amazing and will work outdoors. It also features great cushioning with the new Flow technology. There are 2 main differences between the 8 and previous Curry shoes. The first is that the upper is much lighter on the 8 and the second is that the 8 gives you both cushioning and court feel.
 More details
9.0
December 20, 2020
The Curry 8 is $20 more expensive than the Curry 7 and it's totally worth it! The traction and the cushion are highlights of the shoe. If you pick up a pair of these I don't think you'll be disappointed.
 More details
8.8
December 31, 2020
The Curry 8 is awesome. The traction is insane and the cushion is super nice. If you are a guard you will definitely like playing in these!
 More details
8.2
January 13, 2021
The Curry 8 was very close to being great. It was supposed to feel like a running shoe and it definitely did, but to a fault. I loved the traction and the shoe, but it fell short in too many categories to justify $160.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 8:

User Rating: 9.0 (ranks #57 of 233)
10 - Amazing
13
9 - Great
31
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.6
March 28, 2022
The new brand’s Curry Brand Curry Flow 8 is amazing. It is great for quick guards that need to stop on a dime. The traction is unbelievably great with the new “Flow” technology. The cushion was also very nice with great impact protection. The support was pretty good but it could do better. The materials were very thin and breathable, but that caused the support to be a little lacklustre. The durability was surprisingly good, and outdoor use should be okay. Overall, they are an amazing performer.
 More details
9.4
October 23, 2022
Fav shoes I’ve played in. Excellent grip, though weirdly no squeak at all (if that’s an issue for u). Excellent fit, cushioning, stability, court feel. personal preference Iprefer less cushion and more court feel, and I suppose they are slightly more cushiony than court feel. I think they make up for it with how light they are. Despite the light weight, they are highly durable and quality materials. used for 2 years weekly til insoles gave out, which I’ve replaced and still use in my rotation
 More details
9.0
April 19, 2022
I would definitely recommend this shoe to guards looking for a responsive shoe with top-notch cushioning and traction. The highlight of this shoe was definitely the cushioning. It felt quick and responsive, with great bounce. The traction is excellent on clean courts, but there was some slippage on dusty ones. The materials were very breathable and durable, and broke in very quickly. Overall a very good shoe with few disappointments.
 More details
9.5
January 13, 2022
Wow! The Curry 8 is an absolute banger!!! The traction far outperforms any other model I’ve tried. The new Flow cushion is a joy to play in and gives a nice low-to-the-ground feel for a great responsive experience! The materials consist of a beautiful knit upper with synthetics for support! I have no complaints about this shoe! Well done Curry Brand!
 More details
9.0
October 30, 2021
Traction was Top Tier, even on a dusty court. Cushion was nice for a 5'7 guard like me. Good court feel and impact protection. Fit and Support also nice, but I'll suggest for going up half size because the shoe runs short. Won't long last outdoor. Overall this is probably the best Curry Shoe from Under Armour.
 More details

Traction of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.9 (ranks #4 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 9.3 (ranks #47 of 233)
10 - Amazing
35
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
10.0
The traction on the Curry 8 is insanely grippy. I could start and stop on a dime in these and there was no slipping.
 More details
The traction is beastly. The only issue I had was when I stepped on the painted lines on outdoor courts, I would sometimes slide.
 More details
10.0
December 20, 2020
The multidirectional traction pattern is freaking nuts! The no-rubber, all-foam sole had me stopping on a dime.
 More details
10.0
December 31, 2020
I only got to play outdoors in these and the traction was really nice. I had a super consistent bite that was insane. These stop even better than a rubber outsole.
 More details
10.0
January 13, 2021
This was the best traction I've ever used, it just sticks like crazy. I had no sliding on a semi dusty court it was that great.
 More details

Cushion of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.8 (ranks #84 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 8.9 (ranks #85 of 233)
10 - Amazing
12
9 - Great
26
8 - Good
14
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The cushion feels comparable to Nike React Flyknit but firmer and more responsive. You get an initial spongey feeling, but responsiveness when you step hard. Probably the best cushioning in the Curry lineup.
 More details
It's a new one-piece cushion called Flow. It feels a lot like a running shoe. It's smooth, comfortable, and provides good heel-to-toe transition. They feel awesome.
 More details
9.0
December 20, 2020
The Curry 8 features FLOW cushion and overall it's really nice and the best cushion setup in the Curry lineup so far. Nice impact protection in the heel, good bounce, and solid court feel.
 More details
9.0
December 31, 2020
The FLOW cushion is awesome. The compression is nice and gives you adequate impact protection, but the focus was definitely put on court feel and responsiveness.
 More details
8.0
January 13, 2021
FLOW cushioning is a pretty good blend of not too hard or too soft. It isn't Zoom or Boost, but it's definitely better than HOVR.
 More details

Materials of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.8 (ranks #46 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 9.2 (ranks #25 of 233)
10 - Amazing
17
9 - Great
29
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The materials feel really, really nice. The knit upper is lightweight, flexible, and breathable. The only thing I didn't like is the extra material in the toe box that bunched up when I tied my laces.
 More details
The combination of textiles and the knit work well performance-wise. There was also no break-in time.
 More details
9.0
December 20, 2020
The materials are pretty nice. The knit upper and synthetic overlay implementation is good and feels nice on-foot. Performance-wise these get the job done just fine.
 More details
9.0
December 31, 2020
The upper material felt nice and conformed well to my feet. These felt like a runner to me, similar to an Ultraboost.
 More details
8.0
January 13, 2021
The knit upper reminds me of Primeknit and feels really nice. The fake plastic leather around the side helped with containment, but patent leather works better.
 More details

Support of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #127 of 233)
User Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #123 of 233)
10 - Amazing
11
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
24
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The lockdown is excellent and the support is good thanks to the wide base. The synthetic overlay helped lock in my foot for side to side movements. I did have to tie down the laces pretty tight because of the wide forefoot.
 More details
The overall support is what you would expect from a Curry shoe. All of the support is coming from the bottom of the shoe since the upper is made of a knit material.
 More details
9.0
December 20, 2020
I had no issues with support as I would expect from a Curry shoe. I had no side to side movement on the footbed, heel slippage, or rollover on lateral movements.
 More details
8.0
December 31, 2020
I had no issues with lateral containment, but my foot moved around a bit on the footbed. Lateral stability is good even without an outrigger.
 More details
7.0
January 13, 2021
The support is nonexistent since these are basically socks with a sole. The outsole is very wide though with a curious design. An outrigger would've helped with stability, but the rand does a decent job with containment.
 More details

Fit of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.2 (ranks #148 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #82 of 233)
10 - Amazing
16
9 - Great
17
8 - Good
15
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
8.0
The fit is pretty short and wide so I ended up going a size up. After I found the right size, the fit and comfort were good.
 More details
They do fit very snugly and really do hug your foot when playing.
 More details
8.0
December 20, 2020
Overall the fit is pretty good. There was some dead space in the toe box when I cranked down the laces though.
 More details
8.0
December 31, 2020
Ran a little short for me, but other than that they fit well.
 More details
8.0
January 13, 2021
Out of the box, there was no heel slippage or dead space in the toe box. I think the materials are a little too stretchy though.
 More details

Durability of the Under Armour Curry 8:

User Durability Rating: 8.3 (ranks #137 of 233)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
17
8 - Good
15
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
2

Outdoor of the Under Armour Curry 8:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 66.7 (ranks #67 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 39.3 (ranks #154 of 233)
Good (100%)
6
Fair (50%)
14
Bad (0%)
11
no
I don't recommend these for outdoors.
 More details
I was only able to test these outdoors. The shoe seems to be more durable than a shoe with a more traditional rubber outsole.
 More details
good
December 31, 2020
The durability of the outsole was good which was surprising because there isn't rubber on the outsole.
 More details

Width of the Under Armour Curry 8:

very narrow
3
slightly narrow
11
regular
31
slightly wide
7
very wide
0
slightly narrow
If you have a wide foot I'd recommend going up half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
December 20, 2020
If you have very wide feet you may want to go up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
December 31, 2020
Slightly narrow like other Curry models.
 More details

Size of the Under Armour Curry 8:

very small
3
slightly small
20
true to size
28
slightly long
3
very long
0
runs small
For me, these ran super small and I went up a full size. I do like a little extra space around the toes, but I'd recommend trying them on before buying.
 More details
true to size
I would go true to size if you plan to play in them.
 More details
true to size
December 20, 2020
True to size works well.
 More details
½ size small
December 31, 2020
I'd recommend going up half a size.
 More details
runs small
January 13, 2021
I'd recommend going up at least a half size, but maybe a full size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: