Search Shoe

Under Armour Curry 8

Under Armour Curry 8
Under Armour Curry 8
Under Armour Curry 8
Under Armour Curry 8
Add to Favourites
8.9
Steph Curry's first shoe under his new brand is a standout.
based on 4 expert reviews
based on 4 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Great all around hoop shoe for guards and wings.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $159.99
Under Armour
Buy Now
Foot Locker
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
10.0
Cushion
8.8
Materials
8.8
Support
8.3
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
50%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
12/2020
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
108 likes
Black / White / White
Black / White / White
in 3 shops
$159.99
120 likes
White / White / Metallic Gold
White / White / Metallic Gold
from DICK's
$159.99
90 likes
Red / White / Red
Red / White / Red
in 5 shops
$160.00
72 likes
Taxi / White / Taxi
Taxi / White / Taxi
in 5 shops
$160.00
80 likes
Royal / White / White
Royal / White / White
in 7 shops
$160.00
82 likes
Black / White
Black / White
in 3 shops
$160.00
63 likes
Black / White / Black
Black / White / Black
in 6 shops
$160.00
34 likes
White / White / Black
White / White / Black
in 6 shops
$160.00
76 likes
 Iridium / White
Iridium / White
in 4 shops
$160.00
52 likes
 Purple / White / Grey
Purple / White / Grey
in 2 shops
$160.00

Under Armour Curry 8 Review

Pros:
Stop on a dime traction
Great cushioning
Cons:
Weird sizing

Performance of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The Curry "Flow" 8 is the first signature shoe released under the new "Curry" brand and they get off to a good start! The traction is the best aspect of the shoe and features an all-foam outsole that is crazy grippy. The cushion is also nice and comfortable while providing great court feel and responsiveness. Reviewers considered it the best cushion of the Curry lineup. The materials consist of a flexible knit upper that is comfortable with synthetic overlays for structure. These fit short and a little wide - going up half a size should work for most people. The support and lockdown are what you come to expect from a Curry and will give you no issues. Overall the Curry 8 is a great hoop shoe that most players will enjoy. These are definitely worth the $20 increase to $160!
See all 4 reviews

Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 8.9 average overall rating ranks #13 of 165 shoes overall
8.2
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
The Curry 8 was very close to being great. It was supposed to feel like a running shoe and it definitely did, but to a fault. I loved the traction and the shoe, but it fell short in too many categories to justify $160.
8.8
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
The Curry 8 is awesome. The traction is insane and the cushion is super nice. If you are a guard you will definitely like playing in these!
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
The Curry 8 is $20 more expensive than the Curry 7 and it's totally worth it! The traction and the cushion are highlights of the shoe. If you pick up a pair of these I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Watch the video
9.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
At $160, you are getting a phenomenal hoop shoe. Pretty much every aspect of the shoe is really good. If I had to describe the Curry 8 in one word it would be fluid.
Watch the video

Traction of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 10.0 average traction rating ranks #1 of 165 shoes overall
10.0
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
This was the best traction I've ever used, it just sticks like crazy. I had no sliding on a semi dusty court it was that great.
10.0
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
I only got to play outdoors in these and the traction was really nice. I had a super consistent bite that was insane. These stop even better than a rubber outsole.
Watch the video
10.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
The multidirectional traction pattern is freaking nuts! The no-rubber, all-foam sole had me stopping on a dime.
Watch the video
10.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
The traction on the Curry 8 is insanely grippy. I could start and stop on a dime in these and there was no slipping.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 8.8 average cushion rating ranks #63 of 165 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
FLOW cushioning is a pretty good blend of not too hard or too soft. It isn't Zoom or Boost, but it's definitely better than HOVR.
9.0
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
The FLOW cushion is awesome. The compression is nice and gives you adequate impact protection, but the focus was definitely put on court feel and responsiveness.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
The Curry 8 features FLOW cushion and overall it's really nice and the best cushion setup in the Curry lineup so far. Nice impact protection in the heel, good bounce, and solid court feel.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
The cushion feels comparable to Nike React Flyknit but firmer and more responsive. You get an initial spongey feeling, but responsiveness when you step hard. Probably the best cushioning in the Curry lineup.
Watch the video

Materials of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 8.8 average materials rating ranks #44 of 165 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
The knit upper reminds me of Primeknit and feels really nice. The fake plastic leather around the side helped with containment, but patent leather works better.
9.0
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
The upper material felt nice and conformed well to my feet. These felt like a runner to me, similar to an Ultraboost.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
The materials are pretty nice. The knit upper and synthetic overlay implementation is good and feels nice on-foot. Performance-wise these get the job done just fine.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
The materials feel really, really nice. The knit upper is lightweight, flexible, and breathable. The only thing I didn't like is the extra material in the toe box that bunched up when I tied my laces.
Watch the video

Support of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 8.3 average support rating ranks #108 of 165 shoes overall
7.0
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
The support is nonexistent since these are basically socks with a sole. The outsole is very wide though with a curious design. An outrigger would've helped with stability, but the rand does a decent job with containment.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
I had no issues with lateral containment, but my foot moved around a bit on the footbed. Lateral stability is good even without an outrigger.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
I had no issues with support as I would expect from a Curry shoe. I had no side to side movement on the footbed, heel slippage, or rollover on lateral movements.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
The lockdown is excellent and the support is good thanks to the wide base. The synthetic overlay helped lock in my foot for side to side movements. I did have to tie down the laces pretty tight because of the wide forefoot.
Watch the video

Fit of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 8.0 average fit rating ranks #120 of 165 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
Out of the box, there was no heel slippage or dead space in the toe box. I think the materials are a little too stretchy though.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
Ran a little short for me, but other than that they fit well.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
Overall the fit is pretty good. There was some dead space in the toe box when I cranked down the laces though.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
The fit is pretty short and wide so I ended up going a size up. After I found the right size, the fit and comfort were good.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 50.0% average outdoor rating ranks #63 of 165 shoes overall
good
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
The durability of the outsole was good which was surprising because there isn't rubber on the outsole.
Watch the video
no
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
I don't recommend these for outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Under Armour Curry 8:

slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
Slightly narrow like other Curry models.
Watch the video
regularly wide
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
If you have very wide feet you may want to go up half a size.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
If you have a wide foot I'd recommend going up half a size.
Watch the video

Size of the Under Armour Curry 8:

runs small
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
I'd recommend going up at least a half size, but maybe a full size.
½ size small
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
I'd recommend going up half a size.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
True to size works well.
Watch the video
runs small
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
For me, these ran super small and I went up a full size. I do like a little extra space around the toes, but I'd recommend trying them on before buying.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Black / White / White
Black / White / White
in 3 shops
$159.99
White / White / Metallic Gold
White / White / Metallic Gold
from DICK's
$159.99
Red / White / Red
Red / White / Red
in 5 shops
$160.00
Taxi / White / Taxi
Taxi / White / Taxi
in 5 shops
$160.00
Royal / White / White
Royal / White / White
in 7 shops
$160.00
Black / White
Black / White
in 3 shops
$160.00
Black / White / Black
Black / White / Black
in 6 shops
$160.00
White / White / Black
White / White / Black
in 6 shops
$160.00
 Iridium / White
Iridium / White
in 4 shops
$160.00
 Purple / White / Grey
Purple / White / Grey
in 2 shops
$160.00
Black / White / White
$159.99
on DICK's