Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Under Armour Curry 8

Add to Favourites
8.7
Steph Curry's first shoe under his new brand is a standout.
based on 6 expert reviews
based on 6 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Great all around hoop shoe for guards and wings.

Price Comparison:

Available at 6 shops | Official Retail Price: $159.99
Finishline
Buy Now
Under Armour
Foot Locker
See all 6 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
9.6
Cushion
8.5
Materials
8.7
Support
8.2
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
50%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
12/2020
Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
87 likes
Black / White / Black
Black / White / Black
in 3 shops
$130.00
$160
139 likes
Black / White / White
Black / White / White
from DICK's
$159.99
109 likes
Red / White / Red
Red / White / Red
from DICK's
$159.99
69 likes
 Purple / White / Grey
Purple / White / Grey
from DICK's
$159.99
106 likes
Taxi / White / Taxi
Taxi / White / Taxi
in 3 shops
$160.00
104 likes
Royal / White / White
Royal / White / White
in 3 shops
$160.00
110 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from Finishline
$160.00
52 likes
White / White / Black
White / White / Black
in 2 shops
$160.00
13 likes
Black / White / Birch
Black / White / Birch
in 4 shops
$160.00
1 likes
Red / White
Red / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
1 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from Eastbay
$160.00
1 likes
Navy / White
Navy / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
0 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
0 likes
Royal / White
Royal / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
163 likes
White / White / Metallic Gold
White / White / Metallic Gold
No stores found
138 likes
 Iridium / White
Iridium / White
No stores found

Under Armour Curry 8 Review

Pros:
Stop on a dime traction
Great cushioning
Cons:
Weird sizing

Performance of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The Curry "Flow" 8 is the first signature shoe released under the new "Curry" brand and they get off to a good start! The traction is the best aspect of the shoe and features an all-foam outsole that is crazy grippy. The cushion is also nice and comfortable while providing great court feel and responsiveness. Reviewers considered it the best cushion of the Curry lineup. The materials consist of a flexible knit upper that is comfortable with synthetic overlays for structure. These fit short and a little wide - going up half a size should work for most people. The support and lockdown are what you come to expect from a Curry and will give you no issues. Overall the Curry 8 is a great hoop shoe that most players will enjoy. These are definitely worth the $20 increase to $160!
See all 6 reviews

Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 8.7 average overall rating ranks #43 of 183 shoes overall
9.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
At $160, you are getting a phenomenal hoop shoe. Pretty much every aspect of the shoe is really good. If I had to describe the Curry 8 in one word it would be fluid.
Watch the video
9.1
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
I absolutely love the Curry 8. The traction is amazing and will work outdoors. It also features great cushioning with the new Flow technology. There are 2 main differences between the 8 and previous Curry shoes. The first is that the upper is much lighter on the 8 and the second is that the 8 gives you both cushioning and court feel.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
The Curry 8 is $20 more expensive than the Curry 7 and it's totally worth it! The traction and the cushion are highlights of the shoe. If you pick up a pair of these I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Watch the video
8.8
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
The Curry 8 is awesome. The traction is insane and the cushion is super nice. If you are a guard you will definitely like playing in these!
Watch the video
8.2
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
The Curry 8 was very close to being great. It was supposed to feel like a running shoe and it definitely did, but to a fault. I loved the traction and the shoe, but it fell short in too many categories to justify $160.
7.6
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
There isn't really much I like about the Curry 8. The cushioning feels inferior to the Embiid 1. The price point is too high for my liking considering there isn't much of an evolution from previous Curry shoes. Overall, there isn't much good that I can say about the shoe.
Watch the video

Traction of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 9.6 average traction rating ranks #3 of 183 shoes overall
10.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
The traction on the Curry 8 is insanely grippy. I could start and stop on a dime in these and there was no slipping.
Watch the video
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
The traction is beastly. The only issue I had was when I stepped on the painted lines on outdoor courts, I would sometimes slide.
Watch the video
10.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
The multidirectional traction pattern is freaking nuts! The no-rubber, all-foam sole had me stopping on a dime.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
I only got to play outdoors in these and the traction was really nice. I had a super consistent bite that was insane. These stop even better than a rubber outsole.
Watch the video
10.0
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
This was the best traction I've ever used, it just sticks like crazy. I had no sliding on a semi dusty court it was that great.
8.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
The shoe does not have a rubber outsole and instead uses a foam outsole. On a clean court, you'll get good grip, but on dusty courts, you'll start slipping.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 8.5 average cushion rating ranks #98 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
The cushion feels comparable to Nike React Flyknit but firmer and more responsive. You get an initial spongey feeling, but responsiveness when you step hard. Probably the best cushioning in the Curry lineup.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
It's a new one-piece cushion called Flow. It feels a lot like a running shoe. It's smooth, comfortable, and provides good heel-to-toe transition. They feel awesome.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
The Curry 8 features FLOW cushion and overall it's really nice and the best cushion setup in the Curry lineup so far. Nice impact protection in the heel, good bounce, and solid court feel.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
The FLOW cushion is awesome. The compression is nice and gives you adequate impact protection, but the focus was definitely put on court feel and responsiveness.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
FLOW cushioning is a pretty good blend of not too hard or too soft. It isn't Zoom or Boost, but it's definitely better than HOVR.
7.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
The foam is nothing spectacular. It feels like a cheaper version of Nike's React.
Watch the video

Materials of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 8.7 average materials rating ranks #54 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
The materials feel really, really nice. The knit upper is lightweight, flexible, and breathable. The only thing I didn't like is the extra material in the toe box that bunched up when I tied my laces.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
The combination of textiles and the knit work well performance-wise. There was also no break-in time.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
The materials are pretty nice. The knit upper and synthetic overlay implementation is good and feels nice on-foot. Performance-wise these get the job done just fine.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
The upper material felt nice and conformed well to my feet. These felt like a runner to me, similar to an Ultraboost.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
The knit upper reminds me of Primeknit and feels really nice. The fake plastic leather around the side helped with containment, but patent leather works better.
8.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
The upper is made of a good knit material.
Watch the video

Support of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 8.2 average support rating ranks #133 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
The lockdown is excellent and the support is good thanks to the wide base. The synthetic overlay helped lock in my foot for side to side movements. I did have to tie down the laces pretty tight because of the wide forefoot.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
The overall support is what you would expect from a Curry shoe. All of the support is coming from the bottom of the shoe since the upper is made of a knit material.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
I had no issues with support as I would expect from a Curry shoe. I had no side to side movement on the footbed, heel slippage, or rollover on lateral movements.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
I had no issues with lateral containment, but my foot moved around a bit on the footbed. Lateral stability is good even without an outrigger.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
The support is nonexistent since these are basically socks with a sole. The outsole is very wide though with a curious design. An outrigger would've helped with stability, but the rand does a decent job with containment.
7.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
The Curry 8 has a smaller outrigger than previous Curry's, so I didn't feel as much lateral support compared to the previous models. However, there is a substantial heel cup that gets the job done.
Watch the video

Fit of the Under Armour Curry 8:

The 8.2 average fit rating ranks #121 of 183 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
The fit is pretty short and wide so I ended up going a size up. After I found the right size, the fit and comfort were good.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
They do fit very snugly and really do hug your foot when playing.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
Overall the fit is pretty good. There was some dead space in the toe box when I cranked down the laces though.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
Ran a little short for me, but other than that they fit well.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
Out of the box, there was no heel slippage or dead space in the toe box. I think the materials are a little too stretchy though.
8.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
My foot felt like it was being pushed forward into the toe box but other than that the shoe did fit decently.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 50.0% average outdoor rating ranks #72 of 183 shoes overall
no
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
I don't recommend these for outdoors.
Watch the video
good
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
I was only able to test these outdoors. The shoe seems to be more durable than a shoe with a more traditional rubber outsole.
Watch the video
good
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
The durability of the outsole was good which was surprising because there isn't rubber on the outsole.
Watch the video
no
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
Durability does not look like it'll hold up considering there is no rubber.
Watch the video

Width of the Under Armour Curry 8:

slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
If you have a wide foot I'd recommend going up half a size.
Watch the video
regularly wide
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
If you have very wide feet you may want to go up half a size.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
Slightly narrow like other Curry models.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
The shoe felt tight in the toe box.
Watch the video

Size of the Under Armour Curry 8:

runs small
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 18, 2020
For me, these ran super small and I went up a full size. I do like a little extra space around the toes, but I'd recommend trying them on before buying.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
I would go true to size if you plan to play in them.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
December 20, 2020
True to size works well.
Watch the video
½ size small
The Sole Brothers
December 31, 2020
I'd recommend going up half a size.
Watch the video
runs small
Schwollo
January 13, 2021
I'd recommend going up at least a half size, but maybe a full size.
½ size small
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
I would recommend half a size up, at least, unless you have a narrow foot.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Black / White / Black
Black / White / Black
in 3 shops
$130.00
$160
Black / White / White
Black / White / White
from DICK's
$159.99
Red / White / Red
Red / White / Red
from DICK's
$159.99
 Purple / White / Grey
Purple / White / Grey
from DICK's
$159.99
Taxi / White / Taxi
Taxi / White / Taxi
in 3 shops
$160.00
Royal / White / White
Royal / White / White
in 3 shops
$160.00
Black / White
Black / White
from Finishline
$160.00
White / White / Black
White / White / Black
in 2 shops
$160.00
Black / White / Birch
Black / White / Birch
in 4 shops
$160.00
Red / White
Red / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
White / Black
White / Black
from Eastbay
$160.00
Navy / White
Navy / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
Black / White
Black / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
Royal / White
Royal / White
from Eastbay
$160.00
Black / White / Black
$130.00
on Finishline