Under Armour Curry 9

Released 12/2021, Low Top, Stephen Curry, 
Add to Favourites
8.9
EXPERT RATING
7 reviews
9.2
USER RATING
82 ratings
The Curry Flow 9 manages to improve on its impressive predecessor.

Best Suitable For:

Great shoe if you rely on traction and court feel.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $159.99
StockX
from $75.00
GOAT
from $106.00
KicksCrew
from $108.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (7)
User Ratings (82)
Traction
9.6
Cushion
8.3
Materials
8.6
Support
8.9
Fit
8.6
Outdoor
75%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Under Armour Curry 9
Under Armour Curry 9
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 10
New Balance TWO WXY V3
New Balance TWO WXY V3
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Jordan One Take 4
Jordan One Take 4
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.98.8(0.1)8.7(0.2)8.3(0.6)8.7(0.2)8.1(0.8)
User Rating9.29.0(0.2)9.1(0.1)8.7(0.5)9.1(0.1)8.4(0.8)
Best Price$159.99
$132.99
$160
$59.99
$120
$89.99
$110
$82.97
$160
$53.97
$100
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight320g - 330g350g - 360g350g - 360g330g - 350g350g - 360g310g - 330g
 Show More
40 likes
Black / Black
Black / Black
from 3 Resellers
$75.00
48 likes
Red / White
Red / White
from 2 Resellers
$91.00
36 likes
Blue / White
Blue / White
from 3 Resellers
$98.00
156 likes
"Sesame Street Elmo"
"Sesame Street Elmo"
from 3 Resellers
$100.00
29 likes
Blue / White
Blue / White
from 3 Resellers
$100.00
261 likes
"Sesame Street Cookie Monster"
"Sesame Street Cookie Monster"
from 3 Resellers
$110.00
200 likes
"Sesame Street The Count"
"Sesame Street The Count"
from 3 Resellers
$113.00
57 likes
Black / Yellow Nectar
Black / Yellow Nectar
from 3 Resellers
$114.00
197 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from 3 Resellers
$116.00
143 likes
Midnight Navy / Orange
Midnight Navy / Orange
from 3 Resellers
$117.00
23 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from 2 Resellers
$118.00
119 likes
White / Grey
White / Grey
from 3 Resellers
$120.00
35 likes
Grey / White
Grey / White
from 2 Resellers
$123.00
130 likes
"Sesame Street Oscar"
"Sesame Street Oscar"
from 3 Resellers
$129.00
57 likes
Black / Electric Tangerine
Black / Electric Tangerine
from 3 Resellers
$137.00
224 likes
Isotope Blue / River
Isotope Blue / River
from 3 Resellers
$144.00
81 likes
Electro Pink / Fresco Blue
Electro Pink / Fresco Blue
from 3 Resellers
$147.00
257 likes
"Sesame Street Big Bird"
"Sesame Street Big Bird"
from 3 Resellers
$156.00
32 likes
Tropic Pink / White
Tropic Pink / White
from 2 Resellers
$172.00

Under Armour Curry 9 Review

Pros:
Traction is phenomenal
Improved materials
Cons:
Not the greatest for impact protection

Performance of the Under Armour Curry 9:

The Curry Flow 9 continues to build on the performance that the 8 provided last year. The traction pattern and material are identical, but that's not a bad thing. Reviewers agree that the performance is phenomenal in this regard. For cushioning, the responsive and court feel are fantastic. The only thing the cushion lacks is impact protection which is just adequate. The materials are much improved from last year and feel premium for performance. It's lightweight, thin, and comfortable. The fit starts out snug and narrow, but the materials conform to your foot over time. Support and lockdown continue to be fantastic just like the rest of the Curry line. Reviewers agree that the Curry Flow 9 is one of the best shoes available on the market right now, and the shoe is a pleasure to play in.
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 9:

Expert Rating: 8.9 (ranks #16 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
The Under Armour Curry 9 is an overall improvement from the Curry 8. The traction and cushion remain fantastic, but the materials and support perform better in this year's model.
 More details
9.2
March 6, 2022
The Under Armour Curry 9 is one of my go-to shoes right now. The traction and cushion remain solid, and the materials are greatly improved. This shoe is definitely worth the price.
 More details
9.0
December 19, 2021
The Curry 9 feels like a running shoe that has the lateral containment needed for basketball. The traction is top-tier, and the cushion feels responsive. I absolutely love playing in this shoe.
 More details
9.0
January 18, 2022
The Curry 9 is pretty similar to the Curry 8 for the most part. However, there is an improvement in the materials used this year; this leads to improved support and fit.
 More details
8.8
December 9, 2021
Overall, the Curry 9 is an amazing performer. Everything about the shoe is an improvement from the Curry 8.
 More details
8.8
January 22, 2022
The Curry 9 provides a fantastic grip for traction, and the cushion performs well in most situations. The materials feel durable and premium while remaining comfortable as well.
 More details
8.1
April 3, 2022
If you enjoy a firmer cushion setup, I think you'll really enjoy the Curry 9. The traction and support are top-tier, and the materials get the job done.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 9:

User Rating: 9.2 (ranks #37 of 303)
10 - Amazing
31
9 - Great
39
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
10.0
March 2, 2022
The shoes are extremely light which makes you feel quicker and faster as soon as you put them on. The grip on these are amazing, you really can stop on a dime and change direction with ease. The cushioning is comfortable and responsive I played all day in them. Great stability didn’t even think about rolling or turning my ankles. Anyone could wear these, I’m a quicker player who plays up on my toes a lot and it’s not even close I would pick these every time. Blue pink and white color way!!
 More details
9.0
April 3, 2023
On most courts the Flow traction will be the best traction you’ve ever experienced. Some players say the traction is inconsistent on some dusty courts and certain court finishes, but I’ve never had any issues. Fit is a very snug true to size, goes right to my toe and is very snug in the mid foot (almost uncomfortable) but it got better as I broke it in. Materials are very supportive with the snug fit and lateral containment feels great. This shoe has a very lightweight and nimble feel.
 More details
5.8
October 13, 2022
After years of staying away from Under Armor, I decided to give this shoe a try. And I am definitely never buying an under armor basketball shoe again. Traction: Some of the worst traction I've ever played with in a basketball shoe. If you're an NBA/ Pro Player who plays on perfectly clean floors then I'm sure the traction would be great. But for an average joe playing on YMCA or 24-Hour Fitness floors, the traction is almost non-existent. Feels like playing in socks. Materials: Very plush
 More details
8.0
March 18, 2022
The shape of the shoe inside is very particular. I bought them online, true to my Nike size and they felt small. When I laced them up they fit, but I still thought maybe I should have bought half-size bigger. I would definitely recommend trying these on in a regular shop before buying. Now their traction is superb. They are great for runners and cutters, super light and you feel much more agile in them overall. However, my feet did for some reason feel more fatigued than I normally get.
 More details
10.0
September 25, 2023
This Shoe paired with “Grip Spritz” which is a spray for your shoes to have better traction made this shoe a 10/10 amazing shoe However w/o the spray the traction was terrible and picked up hella dust however w the spray IT PICKED UP NO DUST BY FAR THE BEST TRACTION ON A SHOE IVE EVER HAD. Traction/ lightness of this shoe makes for an amazing shoe the spray is super cheap too and works on other shoes but this shoe with the spray was fuckin fantastic. Its now my new fav shoe to hoop in
 More details

Traction of the Under Armour Curry 9:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.6 (ranks #12 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 9.6 (ranks #20 of 303)
10 - Amazing
63
9 - Great
20
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
2
10.0
The Curry 9 has ridiculously grippy traction. The Flow material has no skidding and sliding whatsoever.
 More details
9.0
March 6, 2022
The Flow outsole is the same as the Curry 8. It's still one of the hardest biting tractions ever.
 More details
10.0
December 19, 2021
The traction performs amazingly. The pattern is basically identical to last year, but it is still top-tier.
 More details
10.0
January 18, 2022
The foam is also the traction. It provides a suction-like feeling that keeps you gripped to the floor.
 More details
9.0
December 9, 2021
I did not have any issues with the traction on the Curry 9s. It has an insane bite and allows for instant stops once you plant your feet on clean courts.
 More details
10.0
January 22, 2022
The molded tread pattern is integrated right into the foam. It allows the tread to grab the court much better.
 More details
9.0
April 3, 2022
The traction is tacky and grippy. It bites hard, and you don't slide at all. It's honestly one of the better traction patterns on the market.
 More details

Cushion of the Under Armour Curry 9:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.3 (ranks #174 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 8.5 (ranks #148 of 303)
10 - Amazing
21
9 - Great
26
8 - Good
28
7 - Average
8
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
2
9.0
The Flow outsole feels more firm and responsive compared to last year's model. I also felt springy and bouncy at the same time. The only downside for me was that they are a bit too high off the ground.
 More details
9.0
March 6, 2022
The cushioning is also the same on the Curry 9 as the Curry 8. You feel low to the ground and responsive while still getting some needed impact protection.
 More details
8.0
December 19, 2021
The Flow cushion is not the best in basketball shoes. However, it is responsive and provides plenty of court feel. The impact protection is also adequate.
 More details
9.0
January 18, 2022
The cushion feels the same as last year. It still provides plenty of impact protection while still feeling low to the ground.
 More details
8.0
December 9, 2021
The Flow cushion used provides a good amount of impact protection. It also has a great court feel and responsiveness.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The Flow cushion is designed to maintain push-off force and balance no matter the position of your feet. It's also lighter than most other cushions on the market.
 More details
6.0
April 3, 2022
The Flow cushion is dense, and I didn't get much compression in the shoe. It is low to the ground and provides a ton of feedback. I like to have compression and impact protection in my shoes, so this isn't my preference.
 More details

Materials of the Under Armour Curry 9:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #71 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 9.1 (ranks #28 of 303)
10 - Amazing
33
9 - Great
37
8 - Good
17
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
8.0
The materials are more sturdy and protective compared to last year's Curry 8s. There's also no break-in time as these are ready to go straight out of the box.
 More details
9.0
March 6, 2022
The upper materials of the Curry 9 are better than the Curry 8. They are more structured but remain light and breathable.
 More details
9.0
December 19, 2021
The Warp upper is thin and minimal. It feels premium and requires no break-in period.
 More details
9.0
January 18, 2022
The UA Warp material used on the shoe is the best improvement on the 9s compared to the 8s.
 More details
9.0
December 9, 2021
The materials on the 9 feel much better than the materials on the 8. The shoe feels premium.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The materials are streamlined, minimalist, and aerodynamic. They're also durable for both tension and abrasion.
 More details
7.5
April 3, 2022
The materials aren't the most premium, but I still enjoyed playing in them.
 More details

Support of the Under Armour Curry 9:

Expert Support Rating: 8.9 (ranks #67 of 303)
User Support Rating: 8.9 (ranks #102 of 303)
10 - Amazing
28
9 - Great
33
8 - Good
21
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
9.0
The support and lockdown are also improved this year due to the enhanced torsional support and revamped materials.
 More details
9.5
March 6, 2022
The shoe is surprisingly supportive. The wide outsole works with the cushion and materials to help you feel stable.
 More details
9.0
December 19, 2021
For support and lockdown, the materials provide plenty of containment and stability.
 More details
9.0
January 18, 2022
It has a wide base, and the materials keep you locked in. You feel locked in with this shoe.
 More details
9.0
December 9, 2021
I had absolutely no problems when it comes to the support and lockdown.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
Because of the lightness of the shoe and the foam under the big toe joint, more explosive players could find themselves rolling their ankles a bit. They perform much better for players that are lighter on their feet.
 More details
9.0
April 3, 2022
The lacing and weave on the upper provide a lot of structure to lock in your feet. The shoe offers a lot of support.
 More details

Fit of the Under Armour Curry 9:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #72 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 9.1 (ranks #39 of 303)
10 - Amazing
31
9 - Great
40
8 - Good
16
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
8.0
The fit is much better this time around. Under Armour got rid of the extra toe box space I felt in the 8s.
 More details
9.5
March 6, 2022
The shoe fits my foot comfortably. It isn't too snug and conforms to my foot nicely.
 More details
9.0
December 19, 2021
Going true to size fits me like a glove. The materials conform to your foot nicely.
 More details
8.0
January 18, 2022
Due to the materials, these fit well. They don't stretch much so the fit provides a solid balance.
 More details
9.0
December 9, 2021
I liked the fit going true to size. The materials have a decent amount of give to accommodate most regular-sized feet.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
With the strength of the materials in the upper, the shoe really hugs and conforms to your foot.
 More details
9.0
April 3, 2022
For me, the shoe fit short. Once I got the right size, I felt good with the fit. It played well once it was on foot.
 More details

Durability of the Under Armour Curry 9:

User Durability Rating: 8.2 (ranks #197 of 303)
10 - Amazing
16
9 - Great
15
8 - Good
18
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
6

Outdoor of the Under Armour Curry 9:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 75.0 (ranks #65 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 47.1 (ranks #197 of 303)
Good (100%)
16
Fair (50%)
23
Bad (0%)
17
fair
I don't think that the outsole will hold up too long outdoors.
 More details
good
March 6, 2022
The durability fairs well, especially for being just a cushioning compound.
 More details
good
December 19, 2021
Take this with a grain of salt as I didn't take these outdoors, but I did take the 8s outdoors, and they held up well.
 More details
fair
January 22, 2022
Flow foam itself is durable, but the tread depth may not be.
 More details

Width of the Under Armour Curry 9:

very narrow
2
slightly narrow
28
regular
51
slightly wide
6
very wide
0
regularly wide
March 6, 2022
Consider going up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details
slightly narrow
December 19, 2021
I would say these are slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 18, 2022
Go half size up if you have a wide foot.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 22, 2022
These are better suited for medium narrow feet but do break in width-wise with more play.
 More details
regularly wide
April 3, 2022
The shoe is semi-wide foot friendly.
 More details

Size of the Under Armour Curry 9:

very small
2
slightly small
16
true to size
64
slightly long
7
very long
0
true to size
The shoe runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
March 6, 2022
I went true to size, and it fits me perfectly.
 More details
true to size
December 19, 2021
If you have a wider foot or prefer a roomier fit, I'd probably suggest going up half a size.
 More details
true to size
January 18, 2022
These fit true to size.
 More details
true to size
December 9, 2021
I have a slightly wide foot, and I still felt perfect going true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 22, 2022
If you have a high arch or long toes, you may want to go up half a size. Otherwise, they fit neutral.
 More details
½ size small
April 3, 2022
I had to go up half a size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: