Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Harden Volume 1

Released 12/2016, Low Top, James Harden, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
7.6
USER RATING
3 ratings
Amazing traction and Adidas' Boost cushioning

Best Suitable For:

Great shoe for guards with wider feet

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $139.99
StockX
from $160.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (8)
User Ratings (3)
Traction
8.8
Cushion
8.3
Materials
8.5
Support
8.4
Fit
7.9
Outdoor
0%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas Harden Volume 1
Adidas Harden Volume 1
Under Armour Curry 9
Under Armour Curry 9
Puma Clyde Hardwood
Puma Clyde Hardwood
Air Jordan 36 Low
Air Jordan 36 Low
Under Armour Curry 8
Under Armour Curry 8
Nike KD 15
Nike KD 15
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.38.9(0.6)8.7(0.4)9.2(0.9)8.9(0.6)9.1(0.8)
User Rating7.69.4(1.8)8.3(0.7)9.5(1.9)9.0(1.4)9.5(1.9)
Best Price$139.99
$159.99
$99.99
$120
$164.99
$185
$159.99
$150
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight420g - 440g320g - 330g460g - 480gNA320g - 340g370g - 390g
 Show More
11 likes
Scarlet / Light Scarlet / Running White
Scarlet / Light Scarlet / Running White
from StockX
$160.00
12 likes
Legend Ink/Noble Ink/Core Black
Legend Ink/Noble Ink/Core Black
from StockX
$193.00
13 likes
Solid Grey / Solid Grey / Silver Metallic
Solid Grey / Solid Grey / Silver Metallic
from StockX
$205.00
24 likes
Core Black / Scarlet / Core White
Core Black / Scarlet / Core White
from StockX
$226.00
12 likes
Chalk White / White
Chalk White / White
from StockX
$228.00
20 likes
Scarlet / Footwear White / Energy
Scarlet / Footwear White / Energy
from StockX
$243.00
10 likes
Core Black / Easy Green / Energy
Core Black / Easy Green / Energy
from StockX
$249.00
7 likes
Trace Cargo / Linen Khaki / Running White
Trace Cargo / Linen Khaki / Running White
from StockX
$300.00
10 likes
Running White / Core Black / Gold Metallic
Running White / Core Black / Gold Metallic
from StockX
$307.00
12 likes
Bold Gold / Core Black / Solar Gold
Bold Gold / Core Black / Solar Gold
from StockX
$321.00
15 likes
White / Gold / Gum
White / Gold / Gum
from StockX
$614.00
11 likes
Core Black / Core Black
Core Black / Core Black
No stores found
12 likes
Medium Grey / Heather Solid Grey / Light Solid Grey
Medium Grey / Heather Solid Grey / Light Solid Grey
No stores found

Adidas Harden Volume 1 Review

Pros:
Low profile Boost
Quality of materials
Cons:
heavy for a low top shoe
toe cap hurts before breaking in

Performance of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

The Adidas Harden Volume 1 performs well in all categories except fit. Traction was almost uniformly praised by reviewers. Materials vary among different colorways but are of high quality in each one. The only weakness of the shoe is the painful break-in period. Especially the leather toe cap was causing a lot of reviewers trouble.
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #149 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The adidas Harden Vol. 1 is a very well balanced shoe for guards. Traction, cushion, materials, fit, support…the best of what adidas has to offer all on one sneaker? Reasonably priced? And they’ve been doing this all year long? You best believe it.
 More details
9.0
If you are a guard, or forward, or big man who doesn’t mind lows, you will enjoy this shoe. Fit, cushion, traction, and support are all nice for anyone unless you just feel like you need a super-light shoe (you don’t).
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The fit is good, the traction is amazing. The shoe feels light, and the cushion is very responsive. The Harden Vol. 1 is a very good shoe and does live up to the reputation James Harden has as a talented and explosive player.
 More details
8.9
December 27, 2017
These are my favourite shoes as of right now!
 More details
8.5
I like the cushioning, traction and materials, but I had sharp pain in the toe area and the lacing system is trash. Overall the Harden 1 is a pretty solid performance sneaker.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
The Harden Vol 1 is one of those shoes I like a lot. Its tech is great, it looks good, it’s made well and it isn’t too expensive. However, Adidas ruined an excellent traction set up with the Fibonacci design and as a traction lover, this did the shoe in for me. Well that and my arch pain.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
Overall, the shoe gets the job done. There's nothing special here, the shoe is a decent performer, but the traction threw me for a slip.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
The fit was a little bit off, but I'd probably give those a 7/10. It's a great option for guards who are looking for traction and court feel.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

User Rating: 7.6 (ranks #177 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.4
March 19, 2022
Tried playing with these a few times but eventually gave up as they just didn’t feel right.
 More details
7.8
November 12, 2021
Great performance! Loved the traction on these. Really bites hard.
 More details
7.6
December 28, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #89 of 219)
User Traction Rating: 7.7 (ranks #170 of 219)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
Not once did I have to wipe the soles of these guys, even when the courts were dusty.
 More details
9.0
Yeah, the Harden Vol 1 is good. Almost great.
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
The traction is, in a word, amazing! The stopping power is incredible and only attracts minimal dust which is fixed with a light wipe.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
This is probably one of the best traction patterns on the market right now!
 More details
10.0
The traction on these shoes is awesome.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
It works well on clean courts or when freshly wiped (what doesn’t) but once dirt gets on the sole, the shoe gets slippery and you do have to wipe frequently.
 More details
6.0
January 1, 2017
Not impressive, the traction would have performed better if the had kept it simple.
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
The traction on these was absolutely beastmode on all surfaces.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.3 (ranks #140 of 219)
User Cushion Rating: 7.0 (ranks #173 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
You’ll receive all the court feel you can possibly want while still receiving protection underfoot. It’s just not a plush ride.
 More details
9.0
Boost with court feel? Yes, please. The Harden Vol 1 has the lowest ride of any full-length Boost shoe and you can tell, but not in a bad way, it still absorbs and responds like Boost should.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
The boost midsole is not very thick, but it does provide a lot of impact protection and feels very responsive with no bounce.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
Minimal Boost cushioning is low-to-the-ground, responsive but still offers decent impact protection.
 More details
9.0
Probably my favorite part of the shoe. It' not as plush as on the Crazy Explosives but more plush than the Crazy Light Boost 2016 - I really like it a lot.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
If you’re expecting Ultra Boost plushness look elsewhere but if you want a ride that has a some bounce to it and rides pretty low, you’ll like this set up.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
This is the best part of the shoe. Low to the ground full length boost provides a good balance between court feel and comfortable cushioning.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
Me, personally, I would like the boost cushioning to be a bit thicker. Impact protection is pretty good, but definitely not great
 More details

Materials of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.5 (ranks #83 of 219)
User Materials Rating: 7.3 (ranks #173 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
I enjoyed the setup quite a bit
 More details
9.0
The materials you get depend on the colorway you purchase. Soft and already broken in, the materials should be durable enough for a season of play.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The materials feel nice and plush. The Primeknit is soft, breaks in easily, and seems like it is a supportive material.
 More details
8.5
December 27, 2017
The knit upper feels really comfortable on feet.
 More details
8.0
Materials are pretty standard, but it's still pretty good especially after breaking it in. The lining felt amazing.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Overall the materials are great.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
Significant break-in period., but after that the material feels good
 More details

Support of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #126 of 219)
User Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #144 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Your natural balance isn’t thrown off when you lace these up and they’ve widened the platform a bit which only enhances stability.
 More details
9.0
HIgh arch support, wide and flat base, and caged boost deliver solid support.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
This shoe is pretty supportive for a low top
 More details
7.0
It was hard to tie the shoe laces really tight and therefore there was a little bit of slippage.
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
This is the best part of the Harden Vol 1 in my opinion. Stability is excellent, not once did I ever feel like I was going to roll my ankle in these because I felt stable and connected to the ground.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
Support is much better than the Crazy light. One of the more supportive low-tops.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
The support is good, thanks to the heel counter, boost caging, and outrigger.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.9 (ranks #183 of 219)
User Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #133 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
Luckily, this is one of the best fitting low top shoes.
 More details
9.0
When playing there is no movement in the forefoot even with the extra space — just lace tight.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The midfoot area feels pretty narrow and widens out in the toe box, which feels pretty nice.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The fit is phenomenal - no heel slippage or side-to-side movement at all.
 More details
6.0
The pain was ridiculous in the beginning because the toe cap was digging into my foot. After the break-in period, it became a lot better.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
Some may say the Harden V1 is ultra comfortable out of the box but I found it to take a week or so to break in and soften up.
 More details
6.0
January 1, 2017
Fit my foot a little bit awkwardly. Where the leather of the toe cap meets the mesh, the shoes pinched my toes.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

User Durability Rating: 8.3 (ranks #131 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #209 of 219)
User Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #153 of 219)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
1
Bad (0%)
2
Outdoors? Nope. The pattern is too thin.
 More details

Width of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
0
regular
2
slightly wide
3
very wide
0
slightly wide
Wide footers, you’re going to enjoy these when going true to size.
 More details
slightly wide
Very roomy in the front.
 More details

Size of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
0
slightly long
9
very long
0
½ size large
If you really want a contained fit then I’d recommend going down 1/2 size.
 More details
½ size large
The Harden Vol 1 fit me perfectly true to size, but half size down is perfect if you need that one-to-one soccer fit
 More details
½ size large
January 1, 2017
The Harden Vol. 1 runs a little long, so go down 1/2 of a size
 More details
½ size large
December 27, 2017
These run a half size large.
 More details
½ size large
I went down half a size.
 More details
½ size large
January 1, 2017
I suggest half a size down for everyone except wide footers and up. Best to try on in store
 More details
½ size large
January 1, 2017
I recommend go half a size down
 More details
½ size large
January 1, 2017
About a half size long
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: