Search Shoe

Adidas Harden Volume 1 Review

Adidas Harden Volume 1
Adidas Harden Volume 1
Adidas Harden Volume 1
Adidas Harden Volume 1
8.3
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$139.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
12/2016
Ranking:
Traction
8.8
Cushion
8.3
Materials
8.5
Support
8.4
Fit
7.9
Outdoor
0%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Adidas Harden Volume 1:

Trace Cargo / Linen Khaki / Running White
Trace Cargo / Linen Khaki / Running White
No stores found
Scarlet / Footwear White / Energy
Scarlet / Footwear White / Energy
No stores found
Chalk White / White
Chalk White / White
No stores found
Running White / Core Black / Gold Metallic
Running White / Core Black / Gold Metallic
No stores found
Core Black / Easy Green / Energy
Core Black / Easy Green / Energy
No stores found
Scarlet / Light Scarlet / Running White
Scarlet / Light Scarlet / Running White
No stores found
Core Black / Scarlet / Core White
Core Black / Scarlet / Core White
No stores found
Core Black / Core Black
Core Black / Core Black
No stores found
Medium Grey / Heather Solid Grey / Light Solid Grey
Medium Grey / Heather Solid Grey / Light Solid Grey
No stores found
Solid Grey / Solid Grey / Silver Metallic
Solid Grey / Solid Grey / Silver Metallic
No stores found
Legend Ink/Noble Ink/Core Black
Legend Ink/Noble Ink/Core Black
No stores found
Bold Gold / Core Black / Solar Gold
Bold Gold / Core Black / Solar Gold
No stores found
White / Gold / Gum
White / Gold / Gum
No stores found

Summary of 8 Expert Reviews:

Pros:

Low profile Boost
Quality of materials

CONS:

heavy for a low top shoe
toe cap hurts before breaking in

Performance of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

The Adidas Harden Volume 1 performs well in all categories except fit. Traction was almost uniformly praised by reviewers. Materials vary among different colorways but are of high quality in each one. The only weakness of the shoe is the painful break-in period. Especially the leather toe cap was causing a lot of reviewers trouble.
See all 8 reviews

Reviews of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

The 8.3 average overall rating ranks #86 of 123 shoes overall
8.9
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
These are my favourite shoes as of right now!
Watch the video
7.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
The fit was a little bit off, but I'd probably give those a 7/10. It's a great option for guards who are looking for traction and court feel.
Watch the video
7.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Overall, the shoe gets the job done. There's nothing special here, the shoe is a decent performer, but the traction threw me for a slip.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The Harden Vol 1 is one of those shoes I like a lot. Its tech is great, it looks good, it’s made well and it isn’t too expensive. However, Adidas ruined an excellent traction set up with the Fibonacci design and as a traction lover, this did the shoe in for me. Well that and my arch pain.
8.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
I like the cushioning, traction and materials, but I had sharp pain in the toe area and the lacing system is trash. Overall the Harden 1 is a pretty solid performance sneaker.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The fit is good, the traction is amazing. The shoe feels light, and the cushion is very responsive. The Harden Vol. 1 is a very good shoe and does live up to the reputation James Harden has as a talented and explosive player.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
If you are a guard, or forward, or big man who doesn’t mind lows, you will enjoy this shoe. Fit, cushion, traction, and support are all nice for anyone unless you just feel like you need a super-light shoe (you don’t).
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The adidas Harden Vol. 1 is a very well balanced shoe for guards. Traction, cushion, materials, fit, support…the best of what adidas has to offer all on one sneaker? Reasonably priced? And they’ve been doing this all year long? You best believe it.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Traction of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

The 8.8 average traction rating ranks #49 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
This is probably one of the best traction patterns on the market right now!
Watch the video
10.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
The traction on these was absolutely beastmode on all surfaces.
Watch the video
6.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Not impressive, the traction would have performed better if the had kept it simple.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
It works well on clean courts or when freshly wiped (what doesn’t) but once dirt gets on the sole, the shoe gets slippery and you do have to wipe frequently.
10.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The traction on these shoes is awesome.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The traction is, in a word, amazing! The stopping power is incredible and only attracts minimal dust which is fixed with a light wipe.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Yeah, the Harden Vol 1 is good. Almost great.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Not once did I have to wipe the soles of these guys, even when the courts were dusty.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

The 8.3 average cushion rating ranks #86 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
Minimal Boost cushioning is low-to-the-ground, responsive but still offers decent impact protection.
Watch the video
7.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Me, personally, I would like the boost cushioning to be a bit thicker. Impact protection is pretty good, but definitely not great
Watch the video
8.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
This is the best part of the shoe. Low to the ground full length boost provides a good balance between court feel and comfortable cushioning.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
If you’re expecting Ultra Boost plushness look elsewhere but if you want a ride that has a some bounce to it and rides pretty low, you’ll like this set up.
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Probably my favorite part of the shoe. It' not as plush as on the Crazy Explosives but more plush than the Crazy Light Boost 2016 - I really like it a lot.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The boost midsole is not very thick, but it does provide a lot of impact protection and feels very responsive with no bounce.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Boost with court feel? Yes, please. The Harden Vol 1 has the lowest ride of any full-length Boost shoe and you can tell, but not in a bad way, it still absorbs and responds like Boost should.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
You’ll receive all the court feel you can possibly want while still receiving protection underfoot. It’s just not a plush ride.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Materials of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

The 8.5 average materials rating ranks #60 of 123 shoes overall
8.5
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
The knit upper feels really comfortable on feet.
Watch the video
7.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Significant break-in period., but after that the material feels good
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Overall the materials are great.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Materials are pretty standard, but it's still pretty good especially after breaking it in. The lining felt amazing.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The materials feel nice and plush. The Primeknit is soft, breaks in easily, and seems like it is a supportive material.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The materials you get depend on the colorway you purchase. Soft and already broken in, the materials should be durable enough for a season of play.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I enjoyed the setup quite a bit
Watch the Video|Read the article

Support of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

The 8.4 average support rating ranks #75 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
The support is good, thanks to the heel counter, boost caging, and outrigger.
Watch the video
7.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Support is much better than the Crazy light. One of the more supportive low-tops.
Watch the video
10.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
This is the best part of the Harden Vol 1 in my opinion. Stability is excellent, not once did I ever feel like I was going to roll my ankle in these because I felt stable and connected to the ground.
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
It was hard to tie the shoe laces really tight and therefore there was a little bit of slippage.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
This shoe is pretty supportive for a low top
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
HIgh arch support, wide and flat base, and caged boost deliver solid support.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Your natural balance isn’t thrown off when you lace these up and they’ve widened the platform a bit which only enhances stability.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Fit of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

The 7.9 average fit rating ranks #101 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
The fit is phenomenal - no heel slippage or side-to-side movement at all.
Watch the video
6.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Fit my foot a little bit awkwardly. Where the leather of the toe cap meets the mesh, the shoes pinched my toes.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Some may say the Harden V1 is ultra comfortable out of the box but I found it to take a week or so to break in and soften up.
6.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The pain was ridiculous in the beginning because the toe cap was digging into my foot. After the break-in period, it became a lot better.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The midfoot area feels pretty narrow and widens out in the toe box, which feels pretty nice.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
When playing there is no movement in the forefoot even with the extra space — just lace tight.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Luckily, this is one of the best fitting low top shoes.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 0% average outdoor rating ranks #117 of 123 shoes overall
no
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Outdoors? Nope. The pattern is too thin.

Width of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

slightly wide
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Very roomy in the front.
Watch the video
slightly wide
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Wide footers, you’re going to enjoy these when going true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Size of the Adidas Harden Volume 1:

½ size large
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
These run a half size large.
Watch the video
½ size large
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
About a half size long
Watch the video
½ size large
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
I recommend go half a size down
Watch the video
½ size large
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I suggest half a size down for everyone except wide footers and up. Best to try on in store
½ size large
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
I went down half a size.
Watch the video
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The Harden Vol. 1 runs a little long, so go down 1/2 of a size
Watch the Video|Read the article
½ size large
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Harden Vol 1 fit me perfectly true to size, but half size down is perfect if you need that one-to-one soccer fit
½ size large
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
If you really want a contained fit then I’d recommend going down 1/2 size.
Watch the Video|Read the article