Air Jordan 38

Released 8/2023, High Top, Michael Jordan, 
Add to Favourites
8.6
EXPERT RATING
7 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
8 ratings
The Air Jordan 38 takes a step forward with improved support. The traction and cushioning are also solid.

Best Suitable For:

This is a perfect shoe for players looking for maximalist containment.

Price Comparison:

Available at 5 shops | Official Retail Price: $199.99
DICK's
StockX
from $79.00
See all 5 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (7)
User Ratings (8)
Traction
8.5
Cushion
9.3
Materials
8.6
Support
8.6
Fit
8.1
Outdoor
13%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Air Jordan 38
Air Jordan 38
Nike Air Zoom GT Jump
Nike Air Zoom GT Jump
Nike G.T. Jump 2
Nike G.T. Jump 2
Air Jordan 37
Air Jordan 37
Under Armour Flow FUTR X Elite
Under Armour Flow FUTR X Elite
Under Armour Curry 4 FloTro
Under Armour Curry 4 FloTro
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.68.8(0.2)8.6(0.0)8.3(0.3)8.2(0.4)8.7(0.1)
User Rating8.98.9(0.0)8.8(0.1)9.0(0.1)9.4(0.5)8.9(0.0)
Best Price
$103.97
$200
$180
$97.97
$180
$134.99
$185
$150
$109.99
$140
Type of CutHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh Top
Weight390g - 410g460g - 480gNA390g - 410gNA320g - 340g
 Show More
35 likes
Blue / Light Marine
Blue / Light Marine
from DICK's
$103.97
$200
15 likes
"Aqua"
"Aqua"
in 3 shops
$110.97
$200
13 likes
White / Metallic Gold / Pure Platinum
White / Metallic Gold / Pure Platinum
from DICK's
$150.99
$200
21 likes
White / Black / Siren Red
White / Black / Siren Red
from DICK's
$159.99
$200
16 likes
White / University Red / Metallic Gold / Black
White / University Red / Metallic Gold / Black
from DICK's
$162.99
$200
25 likes
Cone / Black / Brilliant Orange / Melon Tint
Cone / Black / Brilliant Orange / Melon Tint
from Nike
$200.00

Air Jordan 38 Review

Pros:
Improved containment and stability
Comfortable full-length Zoom Strobel
Cons:
Price is expensive
Outsole durability

Performance of the Air Jordan 38:

The latest entry in Jordan Brand's signature lineup improves on the previous Air Jordan 37. The traction grip is elite, but the rubber wears away quickly. It's not suited for outdoor use. Jordan Brand uses a full-length Zoom Strobel combined with Cushlon 3.0. It provides a comfortable and bouncy cushioning setup. Support is much improved this year. The lockdown and containment keep you stable and secure. The materials are comfortable and breathable. The upper feels more traditional in terms of materials. Jordan Brand paid attention to the details with the Air Jordan 38. The shoe is more reliable and secure this year.
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Air Jordan 38:

Expert Rating: 8.6 (ranks #91 of 308)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
September 11, 2023
The Air Jordan 38 is a fantastic basketball shoe. The cushioning, materials, and support are all improved. This is the best Jordan Brand shoe in a while.
 More details
8.8
September 9, 2023
I recommend the Jordan 38 to everyone. I love the bouncy Zoom Strobel and the top-tier traction. My only gripe is the poor toe box materials.
 More details
8.8
September 18, 2023
The Air Jordan 38 is an improvement compared to the last model. The cushioning, stability, and materials are all better. I enjoyed the zero break-in time.
 More details
8.6
September 3, 2023
The Air Jordan 38 is well worth the price. The traction and cushioning feel great. Jordan Brand paid attention to the details to make this shoe a top performer.
 More details
8.6
I enjoyed playing in the Air Jordan 38. The traction performed well on all courts, and the cushioning is some of Jordan's best. My outsole did separate, which was disappointing.
 More details
8.4
August 30, 2023
The Air Jordan 38 is responsive and comfortable. The traction performs on clean courts, and the support is solid. I prefer the cushioning setup with bounce and comfort, too.
 More details
8.2
August 12, 2023
The Air Jordan 38 is a perfect containing and maximalist shoe. The support and lockdown are improved, and the cushioning is comfortable.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Air Jordan 38:

User Rating: 8.9 (ranks #83 of 308)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.2
September 26, 2023
Great shoe. I think its worth the price. My last model of these were the 35s. Definitely a noticeable improvement in all areas. Almost no break-in.Feel very comfortable and provide tons of support and impact protection. Currently, my go-to shoe to play. Best try them in store but I feel they will accommodate some slight wide footers like me. Didn't have to go half size but went true to size and feels great but best try them in store to be safe.
 More details
8.2
March 16, 2024
Shoes cushion was noisy and right shoe sank more than the left. My wife noticed this too. Left shoes toe box was a little narrow for me, otherwise fit was good. Traction seemed solid. I’ll be returning due to issues above so can’t speak to durability although some of the tread was already scuffed upon unboxing them.
 More details
9.4
February 22, 2024
Shoe of the year in my opinion also these look incredible. Highly recommend them cushion, traction and support are all incredible features of this shoe. Just don't take em outside. Also, these are super good for ventilation too. AND the low top version is also amazing these are just amazing.
 More details
9.0
May 14, 2024
 More details
9.6
September 21, 2023
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Air Jordan 38:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #153 of 308)
User Traction Rating: 9.1 (ranks #89 of 308)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
September 11, 2023
The traction is outstanding on clean courts. You'll have to wipe every 4 or 5 plays on dirty courts.
 More details
9.0
September 9, 2023
The traction is top-tier. I stopped on a dime.
 More details
8.0
September 18, 2023
The traction grips well indoors.
 More details
9.0
September 3, 2023
You can't go wrong with herringbone. Dust pickup didn't affect the grip, either.
 More details
9.0
The traction performed well on all the courts I played on. It's tacky and grippy, and it handles dust well.
 More details
8.0
August 30, 2023
On clean courts, the traction feels very good. My experience on dust was less than stellar.
 More details
8.0
August 12, 2023
The best part of the traction is the flanges on the lateral side. It helps with pivoting. The grip is elite when new.
 More details

Cushion of the Air Jordan 38:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.3 (ranks #31 of 308)
User Cushion Rating: 9.4 (ranks #34 of 308)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
September 11, 2023
The full-length Zoom Strobel is an upgrade compared to last year. It's springy and comfortable underfoot. The Cushlon 3.0 is soft, too.
 More details
10.0
September 9, 2023
Cushioning is my favourite part. The Cushlon is soft, and I love the Zoom Strobel.
 More details
10.0
September 18, 2023
The full-length Zoom Strobel cushioning is one of the best available. It feels bouncy and responsive.
 More details
10.0
September 3, 2023
The midsole is consistently responsive and comfortable. It feels fluid and flexible.
 More details
9.0
The bouncy cushioning is one of Nike's best. It's smooth and evenly distributed.
 More details
9.0
August 30, 2023
The cushioning feels bouncy with decent compression. Full-length Zoom Strobels are always comfortable.
 More details
8.0
August 12, 2023
The full-length Zoom Strobel feels comfortable and provides a lot of energy.
 More details

Materials of the Air Jordan 38:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #66 of 308)
User Materials Rating: 8.5 (ranks #117 of 308)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
September 11, 2023
The materials are thin and pliable. There's no break-in time, which I enjoyed.
 More details
8.0
September 9, 2023
The materials are comfortable and feel breathable. I enjoy all the materials except the toe box.
 More details
9.0
September 18, 2023
The materials are an improvement from last year. There's no break-in needed. The upper feels plush and comfortable.
 More details
8.0
September 3, 2023
The upper feels better and more conforming this year. The shoe is breathable, too.
 More details
9.0
I wish the heel had more padding. The tongue is padded and hugs your ankle nicely. The upper is supportive and breathable.
 More details
9.0
August 30, 2023
The materials are better quality and feel soft. The upper also feels supportive.
 More details
8.0
August 12, 2023
The shoe is more rugged and maximalist compared to the 37. I appreciate the ventilation, too.
 More details

Support of the Air Jordan 38:

Expert Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #114 of 308)
User Support Rating: 8.8 (ranks #110 of 308)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.5
September 11, 2023
The X-plate offers fantastic lateral support. The torsional rigidity is crazy, too.
 More details
9.0
September 9, 2023
You have to use all lace holes to avoid heel slippage. The heel lockdown and security are top-notch. Stability felt good, too.
 More details
9.0
September 18, 2023
The outrigger, upper materials, and stability plate keep you contained when moving from side to side.
 More details
8.0
September 3, 2023
Stability and ankle support are decent.
 More details
8.0
The outrigger and X shape on the base provides stability. The torsional piece also provides rigidity.
 More details
8.0
August 30, 2023
The torsional support is impressive. The lateral containment is solid, too.
 More details
9.0
August 12, 2023
I had no issues with heel slippage. The containment is excellent, and the arch support is impressive.
 More details

Fit of the Air Jordan 38:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.1 (ranks #193 of 308)
User Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #146 of 308)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
September 11, 2023
I enjoy the snug, 1-to-1 fit.
 More details
8.0
September 9, 2023
It feels great and conforms to your feet nicely.
 More details
8.0
September 18, 2023
The shoe fits me well.
 More details
8.0
September 3, 2023
There's some space in the toe box, but it doesn't affect performance.
 More details
8.0
The forefoot fits well, but the back half of the shoe feels snug. It pulls your foot into the shoe nicely.
 More details
8.0
August 30, 2023
The toe box is incredibly snug. I enjoy a snug fit but had to size up for comfort.
 More details
8.0
August 12, 2023
The fit is surprisingly pleasant.
 More details

Durability of the Air Jordan 38:

User Durability Rating: 8.4 (ranks #160 of 308)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Air Jordan 38:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 12.5 (ranks #236 of 308)
User Outdoor Rating: 20.0 (ranks #257 of 308)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
6
no
September 18, 2023
The rubber is too pliable for outdoor use.
 More details
no
I experienced outsole separation. I wouldn't use these shoes outdoors.
 More details
fair
August 30, 2023
The 38s are not the best for outdoor play, but the rubber is hard.
 More details
no
August 12, 2023
These are not good for outdoor use. The rubber wears away quickly.
 More details

Width of the Air Jordan 38:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
4
regular
8
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
slightly narrow
September 11, 2023
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details
regularly wide
September 3, 2023
The width is average.
 More details
slightly narrow
August 30, 2023
The width is snug.
 More details
regularly wide
August 12, 2023
2E feet can go true to size for a performance fit or up half a size for a roomier fit.
 More details

Size of the Air Jordan 38:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
13
slightly long
0
very long
0
true to size
September 11, 2023
Go true to size if you have a regular foot.
 More details
true to size
September 18, 2023
I have a regular foot and went true to size.
 More details
true to size
September 3, 2023
My recommendation is true to size.
 More details
true to size
True to size will work for most.
 More details
½ size small
August 30, 2023
I went up half a size.
 More details
true to size
August 12, 2023
Narrow and medium feet can go true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: