Search Shoe

Jordan Why Not Zero.2 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$119.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
1/2019
# of Reviews:
8
Traction
8.8
Cushion
9.0
Materials
8.3
Support
8.4
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
30%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Jordan Why Not Zero.2:

-23%
Black/Amarillo/Vast Grey/Flash Crimson
$92.97
from Nike
1 more shops
Black/Blue/Pink Sail
Black/Blue/Pink Sail
No stores found
White/Black/Particle Grey/Orange Pulse
White/Black/Particle Grey/Orange Pulse
No stores found
Vast Grey/Gunsmoke-Atmospher/Grey-White
Vast Grey/Gunsmoke-Atmospher/Grey-White
No stores found
White/Total Crimson/Tidal Blue
White/Total Crimson/Tidal Blue
No stores found
Light Smoke Grey / Black / Cyber / Hyper Pink
Light Smoke Grey / Black / Cyber / Hyper Pink
No stores found
White/Off White/Platinum Tint
White/Off White/Platinum Tint
No stores found
White/Multi Color
White/Multi Color
No stores found

PROS:

  • Very supportive shoe
  • Great all-around shoe

CONS:

  • No outstanding features
  • Pretty bulky materials

Summary of 8 Expert Reviews:

The design of the Why Not Zero.2 is almost as extravagant as Russell Westbrook's clothing style, but how does it perform? Most reviewers gave the traction good grades, but the majority of them liked the traction of the predecessor even better. The cushioning is no longer full-length Zoom, but that is not a big loss as the forefoot Zoom Air performs very well and the Phylon heel is very comfortable. Support and lockdown are strong features of this shoe -perfect for explosive players like Russell Westbrook! Overall, the Why Not Zero.2 is a great allrounder without any glaring weaknesses, that comes with flashy design and at a fair price.
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Jordan Why Not Zero.2:

The 8.6 average overall rating ranks #46 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
April 6, 2019
I’ve literally got nothing to complain about with this shoe. Jordan made the Why Not Zero.2 a lot more fun with a bouncier cushioning set-up while keeping the shoe just great all around.
8.0
PureKicks
April 6, 2019
The cushioning is absolutely amazing and reminds me of the AJ29. This is an amazing overall performer, Russell Westbrook and Jordan Brand should be proud!
Watch the video
8.8
RicheeKim
March 11, 2019
For $125 this is a really nice shoe - highly recommended! The traction and fit are the outstanding features for me.
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
March 7, 2019
I think the Jordan Why Not Zero.2 are a solid performer, and fun to play in. But the hefty materials, the uncomfortableness I experienced in the collar area and the uneven support in the heel to forefoot throw them off.
Watch the video
9.1
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The Why Not Zero.2 is quick, comfortable, supportive, and breaks in quickly.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.3
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 23, 2019
Overall this shoe is really dope. The only downside is that the traction is a downgrade compared to the first Russell Westbrook sneaker.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 17, 2019
I really enjoyed playing in the Jordan Why Not Zero.2. They look great, the price is right, whatever position you play - you are going to enjoy these!
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
Traction is superb, materials are 50:50, support is solid, cushioning is responsive in the forefoot and comfortable in the heel. There is nothing bad about the Why Not Zero.2, but there is also nothing phenomenal. Not the best shoe I ever played in but a good performer overall.
Watch the video

Traction of the Jordan Why Not Zero.2:

The 8.8 average traction rating ranks #44 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
April 6, 2019
Excellent bite right out of the box on all surfaces with very little to no wiping on dusty floors.
8.0
PureKicks
April 6, 2019
The traction held up well on all courts! Gets the job done, and then some.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
March 11, 2019
The circular pattern gives you coverage in all directions. On dusty courts, you need a slight wipe and you are good to go again.
Watch the video
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
March 7, 2019
The traction is one of my favorite features of this shoe. Even on a very dirty middle-school court, the traction is tacky and responsive.
Watch the video
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The traction gripped really well, even on dusty courts.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 23, 2019
The traction worked wonders on clean courts, but once the rubber touched dust I was figure-skating.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
January 17, 2019
The circular traction pattern is freaking amazing and gives you great stopping power on clean courts. On dusty courts, it takes you only a slight wipe from time to time.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
The solid rubber grabs the floor really hard.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Jordan Why Not Zero.2:

The 9.0 average cushion rating ranks #28 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
April 6, 2019
The Zoom feels Zoomy and the injected Phylon feels good underfoot from the get-go.
10.0
PureKicks
April 6, 2019
The unlocked Zoom bag feels incredible! Feels back memories of the AJ29.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
March 11, 2019
Decent amount of impact protection in the heel. Very bouncy big-volume Zoom Air unit in the forefoot.
Watch the video
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
March 7, 2019
Unlocked Zoom in the forefoot and injected Phylon in the midsole. This is a very robust cushioning setup with a ton of impact protection.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The large volume Zoom Air unit in the forefoot provides a lot of impact protection. The heel is just regular Phylon.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 23, 2019
I love the way the cushioning feels. The perfect combination of bounciness and stiffness.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 17, 2019
Bouncy in the forefoot and nice compression in the heel. Court feel could be a little better.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
No more full-length Zoom, but I am not mad. Forefoot Zoom is nice and there is still a lot of impact protection.
Watch the video

Materials of the Jordan Why Not Zero.2:

The 8.3 average materials rating ranks #72 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
April 6, 2019
These materials LOOK way more premium than most shoes in the 140 under range.
8.0
PureKicks
April 6, 2019
The textile mesh gets the job done, but takes a while to break in.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
March 11, 2019
Different mesh, fuse, and knit materials feel premium and get the job done.
Watch the video
7.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
March 7, 2019
I like the mesh in the forefoot and I think that the thick upper materials will last for a long time.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The mesh and knit materials require zero break-in time and get the job done.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 23, 2019
Materials are a little basic - but they work.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 17, 2019
The materials are soft and feel really nice on foot.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
I'm 50:50 when it comes to materials. I like the mesh in the front, but the heel feels bulky and clunky.
Watch the video

Support of the Jordan Why Not Zero.2:

The 8.4 average support rating ranks #74 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
April 6, 2019
I had zero issues with support and stability and it’s nice to feel some support around my ankles.
7.0
PureKicks
April 6, 2019
The support is solid but nothing about it is outstanding.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
March 11, 2019
No heel slippage, no side-to-side movement. The base isn't very wide and even a little bit rounded, but I never had any problems.
Watch the video
7.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
March 7, 2019
The decoupled design of the outsole combined with the narrow and rounded base felt a little too wobbly for me.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
Support is good, but not as good as the original.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 23, 2019
No lateral movements, no heel slippage, and very good lockdown.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 17, 2019
I would have liked the base to be a little wider to increase stability. Overall, support and lockdown are pretty awesome.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
The lacing system really locks in your feet nicely. The beefy internal heel counter makes sure that there is no heel slip at all.
Watch the video

Fit of the Jordan Why Not Zero.2:

The 8.3 average fit rating ranks #84 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
April 6, 2019
No movement inside the shoe and no heel slip.
7.0
PureKicks
April 6, 2019
The padding and heel counter do a great job, but the fit is a little bit long and wide.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
March 11, 2019
The shoe hugs my feet really nicely.
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
March 7, 2019
The midfoot and forefoot fit was solid, but the inside collar area was digging into my foot which didn't work out well with my hurt ankle.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The fit isn't as tight or suffocating as in the Why Not Zero.1 and worked fine for me.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 17, 2019
The one-bootie construction takes a little to break-in and to get comfortable.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
The shoe is pretty comfortable overall, but the heel feels a little clunky at times.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 30% average outdoor rating ranks #58 of 116 shoes overall
no
PureKicks
April 6, 2019
The grooves are very malleable and I wouldn't recommend outdoor use.
Watch the video
fair
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
Traction was good outdoors but the rubber is on the softer side and probably won't last very long.
Watch the Video|Read the article
no
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 23, 2019
Outdoors? Don't think about it! These will grind down really fast.
Watch the video
no
The Sole Brothers
January 17, 2019
Outdoor courts? Hell no!
Watch the video
good
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
The rubber is pretty durable so you should be able to hoop indoors and outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Jordan Why Not Zero.2:

slightly wide
PureKicks
April 6, 2019
The fit is slightly wide.
Watch the video
regularly wide
RicheeKim
March 11, 2019
I am a slightly wide-footer and I didn't have any problems with these.
Watch the video
regularly wide
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
Wide footers can also go true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article
regularly wide
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 23, 2019
I think wide-footer and narrow-footers will be fine going true to size.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
January 17, 2019
The fit is pretty narrow and the toe box is rather tight.
Watch the video

Size of the Jordan Why Not Zero.2:

true to size
Schwollo
April 6, 2019
I went true to size
½ size large
PureKicks
April 6, 2019
The shoe fits slightly long. Get it a half size-long
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
March 11, 2019
True to size.
Watch the video
true to size
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
March 7, 2019
I went true to size
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 1, 2019
The shoe fits true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 23, 2019
I went true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 13, 2019
These run true to size.
Watch the video
Deals from $92.97:
-23%
Black/Amarillo/Vast Grey/Flash Crimson
$92.97
from Nike