New Balance Kawhi 4

Released 4/2024, , Kawhi Leonard, 
Add to Favourites
8.6
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
NA
USER RATING
0 ratings
The Kawhi 4 is an improvement from any previous Kawhi shoe. The traction is reliable, and the cushioning is a standout feature.

Best Suitable For:

The New Balance Kawhi 4 is best for players who enjoy springy, plush cushioning setups.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $169.99
DICK's
StockX
from $100.00
KicksCrew
from $165.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (5)
User Ratings (0)
Traction
9.0
Cushion
8.9
Materials
8.6
Support
8.3
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
13%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

New Balance Kawhi 4
New Balance Kawhi 4
Nike G.T. Cut Academy
Nike G.T. Cut Academy
Nike KD 17
Nike KD 17
Nike Cosmic Unity 3
Nike Cosmic Unity 3
Under Armour Curry 4 FloTro
Under Armour Curry 4 FloTro
Under Armour Curry Spawn FloTro
Under Armour Curry Spawn FloTro
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.68.2(0.4)8.2(0.4)8.0(0.6)8.7(0.1)8.4(0.2)
User RatingNA8.7NA7.98.98.5
Best Price
$159.99
$170
$71
$95
$149.99
$79.97
$170
$109.99
$140
$130
Type of CutHigh TopHigh Top
WeightNANANANA320g - 340gNA
 Show More
3 likes
Slate Grey / Angora
Slate Grey / Angora
from DICK's
$159.99
$170
5 likes
HI-Pink / Black / Neo Flame
HI-Pink / Black / Neo Flame
from DICK's
$159.99
$170
2 likes
White / Black / Red
White / Black / Red
from DICK's
$159.99
$170

New Balance Kawhi 4 Review

Pros:
Reliable traction
Dual-density FuelCell cushioning feels plush
Cons:
Fit feels slightly wide
Takes extra effort on the laces for lockdown

Performance of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

The New Balance Kawhi 4 is Kawhi Leonard's fourth signature shoe with the brand, and it's shaping up to be one of his best. The traction is reliable. Reviewers say the performance is outstanding on clean courts and solid on dusty courts. Make sure to wipe. New Balance updates the cushioning with a dual-density FuelCell foam. It feels plush and bouncy. The upper is engineered mesh. It's not the most premium feeling, but it's comfortable and well-padded. It also does a solid job of providing containment. Support and lockdown get the job done. The shank plate provides stability, and the upper keeps your foot contained nicely. The Kawhi 4 is the best in the Kawhi lineup, with the most plush cushioning setup yet.
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

Expert Rating: 8.6 (ranks #86 of 307)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
May 13, 2024
The New Balance Kawhi 4 sacrifices some ground feel for improved cushioning and nimbleness. I felt confident throughout all movements.
 More details
8.6
May 13, 2024
I'm pleasantly surprised with the performance of the New Balance Kawhi 4. The traction and cushioning are impressive, and the materials are also solid.
 More details
8.4
May 13, 2024
The New Balance Kawhi 4 performs better than expected. I like the FuelCell cushioning, and the traction is reliable.
 More details
8.4
May 13, 2024
The New Balance Kawhi 4 is a bit pricey, but the traction and cushioning make this a solid performer.
 More details
The Kawhi 4 is his best signature shoe so far. The bulk and weight are down, and I enjoy the updated FuelCell cushioning setup.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

No user reviews so far

Traction of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #69 of 307)
User Traction Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
May 13, 2024
The traction does best when moving front to back. Dust can slightly hinder some side-to-side grip, but it's not a real issue. I love the versatility of the traction.
 More details
9.0
May 13, 2024
The traction is impressive. It performs extremely well. The traction moves well with my foot movements.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2024
The traction performance is solid on all courts. The grip is consistent. There's no sliding or slipping.
 More details
9.0
May 13, 2024
The traction feels outstanding on clean courts and holds up decently on dustier courts.
 More details
The traction is sticky and tacky. The performance feels really good. It also handles dust well.
 More details

Cushion of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.9 (ranks #87 of 307)
User Cushion Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
May 13, 2024
The FuelCell is more plush and it feels lighter. Combined with the shank, it provides solid bounciness.
 More details
9.0
May 13, 2024
The dual-density FuelCell midsole is soft, plush, and comfortable. It's one of my favourite features.
 More details
9.0
May 13, 2024
The cushioning is my favourite feature. You can feel the FuelCell immediately. It's bouncy and reactive, but you do lose some court feel.
 More details
9.0
May 13, 2024
The dual-density FuelCell setup is extremely comfortable. It feels plush and slightly bouncy.
 More details
The FuelCell feels softer and bouncier than the previous Kawhi model shoes. There's a springy propulsion feeling throughout the forefoot, too. However, the court feel is average.
 More details

Materials of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #64 of 307)
User Materials Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
May 13, 2024
The materials feel like a bear hug around your foot. It feels plush, padded, and comfortable. Breathability can be better.
 More details
9.0
May 13, 2024
I like the thin engineered mesh. It's comfortable and supportive. The quality feels good, too.
 More details
9.0
May 13, 2024
The engineered mesh conforms to your foot nicely. It exceeded my expectations.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2024
The upper is all engineered mesh. It doesn't feel premium but it gets the job done.
 More details
The materials are comfortable and flexible.
 More details

Support of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

Expert Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #175 of 307)
User Support Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
May 13, 2024
The lockdown is impressive once you break the shoe in. I love the containment from the upper as well.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2024
I had zero issues with the support and lockdown.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2024
The heel cup is A1. The shank plate is stable but the midfoot feels a bit stiff.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2024
I had minimal heel slippage, but the rest of the support features feel good. I never had any instances of lateral instability.
 More details
I didn't experience any lateral containment issues. It took some extra work with my lacing to get good heel lockdown.
 More details

Fit of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #200 of 307)
User Fit Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
May 13, 2024
The fit feels generous.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2024
I had some extra length and space above my toes, but I like the fit with thicker socks on.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2024
The fit is a bit roomy width-wise.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2024
I felt good with the fit of the shoe.
 More details
The fit is slightly long. I didn't have any serious issues with fit, but I wish there were an extra eyelet.
 More details

Durability of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

User Durability Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 12.5 (ranks #233 of 307)
User Outdoor Rating: NA 
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
1
Bad (0%)
3
fair
May 13, 2024
The tread is too thin for outdoor use, but the rubber is tough. Sliding can be a real issue.
 More details
no
May 13, 2024
The grooves are deep but the rubber is too soft for outdoor use.
 More details
no
May 13, 2024
I would not take this pair outside.
 More details
The rubber is too soft and pliable for outdoor use.
 More details

Width of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
0
regular
2
slightly wide
3
very wide
0
slightly wide
May 13, 2024
Narrow feet can go down half a size, and 4E feet can go true to size.
 More details
regularly wide
May 13, 2024
The width is normal.
 More details
slightly wide
May 13, 2024
The shoe is slightly wide. People with narrow feet might be able to go down half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
May 13, 2024
My feet are slightly wide and I had no issues with the width.
 More details
slightly wide
I could've gone down half a size because I have narrow feet.
 More details

Size of the New Balance Kawhi 4:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
5
slightly long
0
very long
0
true to size
May 13, 2024
Medium and wide feet can go true to size. The rearfoot is stable and the shank is supportive.
 More details
true to size
May 13, 2024
I went up half a size. Go true to size for a more snug fit.
 More details
true to size
May 13, 2024
I recommend trying these on in-store. I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
May 13, 2024
The sizing is true to size.
 More details
true to size
I got my true size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: