Nike Ja 1

Released 3/2023, Low Top, Ja Morant, 
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
11 reviews
8.8
USER RATING
72 ratings
Ja Morant's debut sneaker is a good starting point for the young star, with the fit being the best feature.

Best Suitable For:

A good pickup for shifty guards who play low to the ground.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $109.99
Finishline
$70.00
$110
DICK's
$83.97
$110
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (11)
User Ratings (72)
Traction
8.8
Cushion
8.0
Materials
7.8
Support
8.4
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
44%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Ja 1
Nike Ja 1
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 10
New Balance TWO WXY V3
New Balance TWO WXY V3
Jordan Luka 1
Jordan Luka 1
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.28.8(0.6)8.7(0.5)8.5(0.3)8.7(0.5)8.3(0.1)
User Rating8.89.0(0.2)9.1(0.3)8.9(0.1)9.1(0.3)8.7(0.1)
Best Price
$70
$110
$89.98
$160
$119.99
$82.99
$110
$71.97
$160
$79.99
$110
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight350g - 360g350g - 360g350g - 360g360g - 380g350g - 360g330g - 350g
 Show More
74 likes
White / Light Smoke Grey / Black / Phantom / Light Bone / Photon Dust
White / Light Smoke Grey / Black / Phantom / Light Bone / Photon Dust
from Finishline
$70.00
$110
29 likes
"Red Stardust"
"Red Stardust"
in 5 shops
$75.00
$110
50 likes
Black / Light Silver / Coconut Milk / Vivid Sulfur
Black / Light Silver / Coconut Milk / Vivid Sulfur
from DICK's
$83.97
$110
46 likes
Guava Ice / Med Soft Pink / White / Black
Guava Ice / Med Soft Pink / White / Black
from DICK's
$84.97
$110
8 likes
Black / Wolf Grey / Racer Blue / Bright Crimson / Bright Mandarin / Volt
Black / Wolf Grey / Racer Blue / Bright Crimson / Bright Mandarin / Volt
in 4 shops
$90.00
$110
16 likes
White / White / Black
White / White / Black
in 4 shops
$94.97
$110
10 likes
Midnight Navy / Light Laser Orange
Midnight Navy / Light Laser Orange
in 4 shops
$94.97
$110
10 likes
Coconut Milk / Khaki / Black / Coconut Milk
Coconut Milk / Khaki / Black / Coconut Milk
in 4 shops
$102.97
$110
110 likes
Ember Glow / Blue Lightning / Light Silver / Black
Ember Glow / Blue Lightning / Light Silver / Black
in 5 shops
$110.00
21 likes
Bright Mandarin / Vapor Green / Light Armory Blue / Multi-Color
Bright Mandarin / Vapor Green / Light Armory Blue / Multi-Color
in 4 shops
$120.00
6 likes
Black / Iron Grey
Black / Iron Grey
in 4 shops
$120.00
62 likes
"Chinese New Year"
"Chinese New Year"
from DICK's
$139.99
50 likes
Phantom / Action Green / Action Grape / White / Laser Orange / University Blue
Phantom / Action Green / Action Grape / White / Laser Orange / University Blue
from 3 Resellers
$78.00
99 likes
GAME ROYAL / BLACK / UNIVERSITY RED / PHOTO BLUE / BRIGHT CRIMSON / VIVID ORANGE
GAME ROYAL / BLACK / UNIVERSITY RED / PHOTO BLUE / BRIGHT CRIMSON / VIVID ORANGE
from 3 Resellers
$111.00
83 likes
Lime Blast / Black / Hemp / Oil Green
Lime Blast / Black / Hemp / Oil Green
from 2 Resellers
$115.00
119 likes
"Day One"
"Day One"
from 3 Resellers
$143.00
199 likes
Rapid Teal / Black / White / University Red / Monarch
Rapid Teal / Black / White / University Red / Monarch
from 3 Resellers
$231.00

Nike Ja 1 Review

Pros:
Sturdy fit
Responsive Phylon
Cons:
Inconsistent traction
Lower quality materials

Performance of the Nike Ja 1:

Ja Morant's first signature shoe features inconsistent traction performance. The rubber is dense, making it hard to grip the court. Reviewers agree the Phylon is soft and responsive, but it feels flat. Some mentioned the forefoot Zoom felt bouncy. The materials aren't the best, but the quality doesn't affect performance. They're lightweight and breathable. The fit is the most consistent aspect of the shoe. All reviewers recommend going true to size. The Nike Ja 1 is an alright starting point in Morant's shoe line. It's playable, but there's room for improvement.
See all 11 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Ja 1:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #207 of 308)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
August 18, 2023
I enjoyed playing in the Nike Ja 1. The traction sticks, the materials work, and the cushioning is comfortable.
 More details
8.8
May 4, 2023
The Nike Ja 1 is a quick and responsive shoe. It's one of my favourite shoes over the past year. The traction, fit, and support are all excellent.
 More details
8.3
May 2, 2023
The Nike Ja 1 is a solid debut shoe for Ja Morant. The best features are traction, fit, and support. The materials could be better, but I enjoyed playing in the shoe.
 More details
8.2
April 27, 2023
The Nike Ja 1 is an impressive initial shoe for Ja Morant. The traction works for me, and the cushioning is a pleasant surprise. I recommend this pair to any player.
 More details
8.2
May 14, 2023
The Nike Ja 1 is a pleasant surprise. The traction is impressive, the cushioning is decent, and the support provides everything I need.
 More details
8.2
June 25, 2023
The Nike Ja 1 is an impressive debut shoe. It feels similar to the Kyrie Low 5. I recommend these for both guard positions because of the cushioning and traction setup.
 More details
The Nike Ja 1 disappointed me because of my high expectations. The traction is inconsistent, and the comfort and cushioning are lacking. The shoe is playable, though.
 More details
8.0
May 11, 2023
The Nike Ja 1 is a solid performer. Not many features perform poorly. The traction excels, but the cushioning could be more comfortable.
 More details
The Nike Ja 1 is straightforward and reliable. The performance surprised me, especially the cushioning. The traction is also serviceable on multiple surfaces.
 More details
8.0
January 23, 2024
The Nike Ja 1 is a solid performer outside of the narrow fit. The traction feels very good, and the cushioning caters to shifty players.
 More details
7.8
March 7, 2023
The Nike Ja 1 plays bouncier than expected. The cushioning profile looks flat and offers explosiveness. The traction can be iffy indoors, but it still performs decently.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Ja 1:

User Rating: 8.8 (ranks #105 of 308)
10 - Amazing
17
9 - Great
32
8 - Good
19
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
8.6
September 17, 2023
The ja’s had amazing traction picked up a little dust but nothing compared to the lebron 20s as far as dust pick up as i picked up much less dust in the ja’s. The ja’s have so much bounce in that forefoot i was surprised on how high i got up with such little effort. Shooting in this shoe was awkward and so was lateral movement on defense however I feel like it wouldve gotten better the more i broke in the shoe so don’t take that one to heart overall really good shoe for a really good price.
 More details
9.5
September 7, 2023
The Nike Ja 1 is an amazing shoe! Aside from the fact that it is narrow its a great all around shoe. It is slightly small if not true to size, great traction, (best I've ever had.) Good cushion, not the most breathable but definitely bearable, better than the average shoe. Very light with great materials. The most styles shoes Iv'e ever worn! Great durability, I use it for outdoors all the time. Also Ja Murant is one of my favorite players, If you like him to then get the shoe! (Just do it!)
 More details
8.5
January 3, 2024
The best part about this shoe for me is the cushion. I feel a lot bouncier when jumping especially for high flyers. Traction is grippy but every now and then need to wipe the bottom with your hands. Materials are breathable and support is good. The fit is a little wider towards the toe box but not too crazy, good for wide footed people like me. Overall good shoe would recommend for shifty, fast or bouncy guards.
 More details
8.7
January 10, 2024
I love the JA1!! Traction is one of the best tractions, a goat traction. Cushing is average but at least is responsive, my heel didn't hurt. i love the type of materials used on JA1 is comfortable, nice security, a good breathbality and durable. Lockdown is very good for me. Stability is extremelly well. Fit is perfect too. JA1 is one of the best shoes for mixed outdoor and indoor court use.
 More details
5.8
December 29, 2023
Overall a bad shoe, maybe I have weird feet? Idk, but for the shoe was bad. The back of the shoe rubbed all against my heel and achilles despite being the size of shoe. The outsole collects dust quickly and the shoe is stiff.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Ja 1:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #114 of 308)
User Traction Rating: 9.1 (ranks #90 of 308)
10 - Amazing
29
9 - Great
34
8 - Good
15
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
10.0
August 18, 2023
The traction sticks like glue.
 More details
10.0
May 4, 2023
The traction feels insane. It's top-tier. It bites through dust well.
 More details
9.5
May 2, 2023
The way the traction performs is amazing. It has you covered in all directions. This pattern feels on par with the LeBron 20.
 More details
8.0
April 27, 2023
I experienced some slipping when making hard cuts, but the traction works perfectly for smaller movements.
 More details
9.0
May 14, 2023
The traction performance is a highlight. The grip is phenomenal.
 More details
9.0
June 25, 2023
The traction pattern is multi-directional and jagged. It gets the job done well. The shoe grips a lot of surfaces.
 More details
The outsole tread pattern is dense, making it hard to grip the floor. It also picks up a lot of dust. The performance is better outdoors than indoors.
 More details
9.0
May 11, 2023
The traction is impressive. The rubber grips the floor really well.
 More details
After breaking the traction in, I had no issues with the performance. It's not the best, but it's serviceable.
 More details
9.0
January 23, 2024
The traction on the shoe feels very good. I stopped on a dime.
 More details
7.0
March 7, 2023
The outsole tread is my least favourite part of the shoe. The pattern is dense, making it hard to get them to grip indoors. The performance is phenomenal outdoors, though.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Ja 1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #207 of 308)
User Cushion Rating: 8.5 (ranks #145 of 308)
10 - Amazing
17
9 - Great
26
8 - Good
25
7 - Average
10
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
2
9.0
August 18, 2023
You can feel the forefoot Zoom. It's noticeable and smooth. There's also a solid amount of court feel.
 More details
8.0
May 4, 2023
I enjoyed the injected Phylon midsole. It feels soft and provides adequate impact protection.
 More details
7.0
May 2, 2023
The cushioning is the shoe's biggest letdown. You can feel the cushioning, but it's nothing special.
 More details
9.0
April 27, 2023
The Phylon feels soft and offers decent impact protection. I can also feel the Zoom unit in the forefoot. It reminds me of the Kyrie and Kobe line of shoes.
 More details
8.0
May 14, 2023
You can feel a bit of bounce in the forefoot because of the small Zoom unit. It's a responsive setup with some impact protection.
 More details
8.0
June 25, 2023
The cushioning is typical for a budget Nike shoe. The impact protection in the forefoot is better than the heel.
 More details
The cushioning feels hard and flat. I barely felt the Zoom Air too. It's responsive, but it doesn't feel too good.
 More details
7.0
May 11, 2023
There's a decent amount of impact protection, and responsiveness isn't bad. I wouldn't consider this a bouncy shoe.
 More details
The cushion setup is a pleasant surprise. It's serviceable enough for most people. The Phylon feels plush, and the forefoot Zoom helps when jumping and running hard.
 More details
7.0
January 23, 2024
The cushioning is meant for quicker players. There isn't much impact protection.
 More details
9.0
March 7, 2023
The Ja 1 uses a plain midsole. It's mainly Phylon with a forefoot Zoom Air unit. The cushioning feels flat underfoot, but it's bouncy.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Ja 1:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.8 (ranks #236 of 308)
User Materials Rating: 8.2 (ranks #169 of 308)
10 - Amazing
11
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
41
7 - Average
12
6 - Subpar
5
5 - Poor
0
8.0
August 18, 2023
The synthetic leather and mesh combo feels standard. It's a safe and proven combination.
 More details
8.0
May 4, 2023
The materials conform to your foot well and feel minimal and supportive. The padding is also comfortable.
 More details
6.5
May 2, 2023
The materials are cheap because of the pricing. It doesn't take away too much from the performance.
 More details
8.0
April 27, 2023
The materials and padding feel good. The setup is dope for a first sneaker. It's lightweight and breathable.
 More details
8.0
May 14, 2023
The upper feels basic with mesh and synthetic materials. However, the performance is solid.
 More details
8.0
June 25, 2023
Breathability is subpar. The materials are nothing special, but the assembling quality is solid. The shoe feels lightweight and minimal.
 More details
The materials aren't premium, but they feel sturdy and soft. They break in nicely.
 More details
8.0
May 11, 2023
The materials feel a bit cheap. The padding is comfy, and performance isn't affected, though.
 More details
The materials feel cheap. It feels rough, but breathability is solid. It's also a lightweight shoe.
 More details
8.0
January 23, 2024
I can't complain about the materials from a performance perspective. The quality could be better, though.
 More details
8.0
March 7, 2023
The upper is jersey material and synthetic leather. It provides a lot of freedom but not as much lateral support. It's an exceptionally breathable shoe.
 More details

Support of the Nike Ja 1:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #163 of 308)
User Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #134 of 308)
10 - Amazing
20
9 - Great
25
8 - Good
30
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
9.0
August 18, 2023
The lockdown is solid.
 More details
9.0
May 4, 2023
The shoe feels incredibly supportive. My foot was not moving around in the shoe. I wasn't coming off the footbed, either.
 More details
9.5
May 2, 2023
In my experience, the support is nothing short of amazing. The design is very supportive.
 More details
8.0
April 27, 2023
I had no issues with heel lockdown or the overall support.
 More details
8.0
May 14, 2023
I felt supported by the upper. My ankle was locked down too. The lacing system also does a solid job with containment.
 More details
9.0
June 25, 2023
The shoe has impressive lockdown and containment. You don't slide during play.
 More details
The shoe is flat and feels very stable. You don't feel wobbly at all, and the lockdown is there.
 More details
8.0
May 11, 2023
My foot felt decently secure in the shoe.
 More details
I felt contained when playing in the Ja 1. The torsional rigidity is solid, and the synthetic overlays cradle your feet nicely.
 More details
8.0
January 23, 2024
I had zero issues with the support in the Ja 1. I had no heel slippage, and the containment felt good, too.
 More details
7.0
March 7, 2023
You won't slip out of the shoe, but the containment isn't the best. If you get the right size, the support will work.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Ja 1:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.2 (ranks #182 of 308)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #103 of 308)
10 - Amazing
22
9 - Great
28
8 - Good
27
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.0
August 18, 2023
The fit is one of my favourite areas of the shoe. It hugs your foot the more you play.
 More details
9.0
May 4, 2023
The shoe fits me well because I enjoy a snug fit. The toe box is really snug.
 More details
9.0
May 2, 2023
There's not a lot of volume, so there's no dead space. It's a 1-to-1 fit for me.
 More details
8.0
April 27, 2023
I enjoyed how the shoe fit me.
 More details
8.0
May 14, 2023
The fit is snug. I enjoyed the shape and how the shoe felt around my foot.
 More details
7.0
June 25, 2023
The shoe feels narrow and stiff out of the box. It does become softer after breaking them in, though.
 More details
The shoe conforms nicely to your foot, but the fit feels snug out of the box.
 More details
8.0
May 11, 2023
I had no issues with the fit overall. The padding in the heel does push against your ankle a bit.
 More details
My favourite part of the shoe is the fit. I felt secure and comfy, especially around my heel.
 More details
8.0
January 23, 2024
The narrow fit caused a lot of pressure in the forefoot area, but it does feel comfortable and secure.
 More details
8.0
March 7, 2023
The fit provides a solid feel around the foot, and the materials expand nicely.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Ja 1:

User Durability Rating: 8.9 (ranks #76 of 308)
10 - Amazing
20
9 - Great
20
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1

Outdoor of the Nike Ja 1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 44.4 (ranks #149 of 308)
User Outdoor Rating: 74.0 (ranks #94 of 308)
Good (100%)
27
Fair (50%)
28
Bad (0%)
4
fair
May 4, 2023
The durability on my colourway feels solid.
 More details
fair
May 2, 2023
This feels like a viable outdoor option.
 More details
fair
April 27, 2023
You can get an outdoor summer season in these shoes.
 More details
no
June 25, 2023
I would not take this shoe outside.
 More details
fair
The traction performed well outdoors.
 More details
fair
May 11, 2023
The rubber feels durable enough for outdoors.
 More details
I'm impressed with the durability.
 More details
fair
January 23, 2024
The rubber feels decent enough for outdoors, but I would avoid it.
 More details
fair
March 7, 2023
The shoe performs well outdoors, but the rubber isn't going to last long.
 More details

Width of the Nike Ja 1:

very narrow
3
slightly narrow
17
regular
48
slightly wide
13
very wide
1
regularly wide
May 4, 2023
The shoe has a regular width.
 More details
slightly narrow
May 2, 2023
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details
slightly wide
April 27, 2023
The shoe feels wider than other sneakers.
 More details
regularly wide
May 14, 2023
Wide-footers might have to go half a size up.
 More details
very narrow
June 25, 2023
The shoe is narrow out of the box. I don't recommend these shoes for wide-footers.
 More details
slightly narrow
Go up half a size if you have wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
May 11, 2023
The shoe is not as wide as I thought it would be.
 More details
slightly narrow
The shoe felt accommodating, but I recommend going half a size up if you have wide feet or wear ankle braces.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 23, 2024
The width feels narrow. I suggest going up half a size if you have wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 7, 2023
Go up half a size for more heel stability.
 More details

Size of the Nike Ja 1:

very small
0
slightly small
12
true to size
64
slightly long
7
very long
0
true to size
August 18, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
May 4, 2023
If you like a snug fit, stay true to size. Everyone else can go up half a size.
 More details
true to size
May 2, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
April 27, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
May 14, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
June 25, 2023
The Ja 1 runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
The shoe runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
May 11, 2023
These shoes fit true to size.
 More details
½ size small
I went half a size up because I prefer more space in the toe box.
 More details
true to size
January 23, 2024
The Ja 1 runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
March 7, 2023
Narrow and medium foot shapes can go true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: