Search Shoe

Nike KD 11 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$149.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
8/2018
# of Reviews:
7
Traction
7.9
Cushion
9.0
Materials
8.0
Support
5.9
Fit
7.1
Outdoor
33%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike KD 11:

Laser Fuchsia/Laser Fuchsia
Laser Fuchsia/Laser Fuchsia
No stores found
Black/White/Racer Blue/Bright Crimson
Black/White/Racer Blue/Bright Crimson
No stores found
Black/Twilight Pulse
Black/Twilight Pulse
No stores found
Black/Chlorine/Blue/Persian Violet
Black/Chlorine/Blue/Persian Violet
No stores found
Cool Grey/Wolf Grey/Pure Platinum
Cool Grey/Wolf Grey/Pure Platinum
No stores found
Black/Bright Crimson/Photo Blue
Black/Bright Crimson/Photo Blue
No stores found
Black/Black
Black/Black
No stores found
College Navy/University Gold
College Navy/University Gold
No stores found
Hot Punch/Lime Blast/Pure Platin
Hot Punch/Lime Blast/Pure Platin
No stores found
Blue/Yellow
Blue/Yellow
No stores found
Mulit Color/Metallic Gold
Mulit Color/Metallic Gold
No stores found
Blue Void/Black/Squadron Blue
Blue Void/Black/Squadron Blue
No stores found

PROS:

  • React + Zoom cushioning
  • Comfortable Flyknit upper

CONS:

  • Lacking support and stability
  • Inconsistent traction

Summary of 7 Expert Reviews:

Reviewers are unanimously disappointed by the KD 11. The combination of React and Zoom Air cushioning gets good grades across the board, but that's where the positive aspects stop. The Flyknit upper is comfortable and looks good but is way too stretchy and loose for a performance basketball shoe. If you do tight cuts and crossovers, be prepared to slide a lot in the KD11. The inconsistent traction adds to the disappointing test results of Kevin Durant's latest signature shoes. Overall, the KD11 works best as a casual sneaker but doesn't perform very well on a basketball court.
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike KD 11:

The 7.6 average overall rating ranks #108 of 116 shoes overall
7.8
Schwollo
September 26, 2018
If you want a sock-like shoe with great cushioning then you are going to love the KD11. Unfortunately, the missing support and lacking containment are issues I personally can't ignore in a performance basketball shoe.
8.1
RicheeKim
September 26, 2018
Personally, I would not recommend the KD11 for basketball because of the missing lateral support. Playing in these shoes had me scared about my ankles.
Watch the video
7.4
PureKicks
September 26, 2018
Cushioning, materials, and traction are great. The only problem is the lack of support.
Watch the video
6.7
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 10, 2018
The KD11 is one of the most disappointing shoes I reviewed in a while. The fully knit build is just not supportive enough for a performance basketball shoe - use some leather Nike!
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.3
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
August 8, 2018
The Nike KD11 looks like a comfortable casual sneaker but doesn't work on a basketball court for me because of the lacking support and stability.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 8, 2018
I was really disappointed because I expected more. The KD11 looks nice and is very comfortable but the performance aspects like support and traction just aren't as good as I had hoped.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
July 16, 2018
The KD 11 is a decent performer, but it just wasn't for me. I would recommend this shoe only to bigger pull-up shooters - there just isn't enough support for quicker players like me.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike KD 11:

The 7.9 average traction rating ranks #91 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
September 26, 2018
Works fine on clean courts, needs some wiping on dirty courts.
7.5
RicheeKim
September 26, 2018
The translucent rubber offers great stopping power on clean courts, but on more dusty courts it was super inconsistent.
Watch the video
8.0
PureKicks
September 26, 2018
The traction is fantastic and holds up even on mildly dusty courts.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 10, 2018
The rubber frays easily and dust gets clogged in the narrow traction pattern instantly.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
August 8, 2018
The traction started off very nicely but seemed to fade a little after breaking it in.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 8, 2018
The traction is pretty inconsistent - works very well on clean courts but slides a lot on dusty courts.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 16, 2018
The traction of the KD 11 is good, even on a dusty court.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike KD 11:

The 9.0 average cushion rating ranks #31 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
September 26, 2018
The React + Zoom cushioning feels great underfoot with a nice bounce and without any lag.
9.5
RicheeKim
September 26, 2018
The combination of React and full-length Zoom is freaking amazing.
Watch the video
9.0
PureKicks
September 26, 2018
Combining React and Zoom gives you low-profile responsiveness, comfort, and a lot of bounciness.
Watch the video
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 10, 2018
The combination of React and Zoom Air is money!
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
August 8, 2018
The cushioning is very comfortable and provides a ton of impact protection. Unfortunately, it's also clunky, stiff and doesn't give you much court feel or responsiveness.
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 8, 2018
React's impact protection and Zoom Air's responsiveness is a crazy combination!
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 16, 2018
The nice and plush insole provides great step-in comfort. The cushioning started off stiff, but after a while, I could feel the full-length Zoom that is similar to the cushioning of the Why Not Zero.1.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike KD 11:

The 8.0 average materials rating ranks #90 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
September 26, 2018
Feels nice and comfortable and premium but does nothing performance wise in my opinion.
8.0
RicheeKim
September 26, 2018
The implementation of the Flyknit upper could have been better.
Watch the video
8.0
PureKicks
September 26, 2018
The Flyknit upper is very light and feels great on foot.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 10, 2018
The Flyknit is just too soft for a performance basketball.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 8, 2018
Overall, the materials are okay. The toe box and the heel counter are very sturdy, the mid-foot upper is soft and comfortable. I would have liked more padding on the inside of the tongue.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 16, 2018
The upper materials need a little to break in but feel very nice afterwards.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike KD 11:

The 5.9 average support rating ranks #116 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
Schwollo
September 26, 2018
The upper is super stretchy and doesn't provide a lot of containment. Stability is fine even if there is basically no heel counter.
7.0
RicheeKim
September 26, 2018
Lockdown in the heel was fine but I felt my foot slipping off the footbed a lot. This feels like a very dangerous shoe to play in if you do a lot of lateral cuts.
Watch the video
5.0
PureKicks
September 26, 2018
There is barely any support in this shoe. If you do a lateral cut or a step back your foot almost falls out of the shoe - not comfortable!!
Watch the video
5.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 10, 2018
Because of the stretchy and sloppy materials I never felt safe playing in these shoes.
Watch the Video|Read the article
5.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
August 8, 2018
The horrible heel lockdown and constant front-to-back movement inside the shoe didn't inspire confidence for hard cuts and crossovers.
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 8, 2018
The support was a downer for me as the mid-foot panel is too stretchy for my liking. I was always afraid of ankle sprains because my feet were rolling over on hard lateral cuts.
Watch the video
5.0
The Sole Brothers
July 16, 2018
I was sliding all over the place in this shoe because the upper material is not strong enough to provide the necessary lockdown. If you rely on cuts and crossovers, then this shoe is not for you.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike KD 11:

The 7.1 average fit rating ranks #109 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
Schwollo
September 26, 2018
There is a good amount of heel slip to start but it gets a lot better after the break-in period.
8.5
RicheeKim
September 26, 2018
The fit of the one-bootie upper is really nice after a short break-in period.
Watch the video
7.0
PureKicks
September 26, 2018
The overall fit was pretty good but not outstanding.
Watch the video
5.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 10, 2018
Never once did I feel securely locked into the shoe.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
August 8, 2018
I don't like the sock-construction often used in modern basketball shoes, but the harness-like system hidden under the Flyknit upper improved the comfort a little bit for me.

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 33% average outdoor rating ranks #54 of 116 shoes overall
no
PureKicks
September 26, 2018
Would I take them outdoors? Probably not.
Watch the video
good
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 10, 2018
The traction worked surprisingly well outdoors.
Watch the Video|Read the article
no
The Sole Brothers
July 16, 2018
I wouldn't recommend this shoe outdoors because of the soft rubber.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike KD 11:

slightly narrow
RicheeKim
September 26, 2018
The KD 11 is a little bit narrow.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
PureKicks
September 26, 2018
Slightly narrow like all Durant's shoes.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
July 16, 2018
Runs narrow like we are used to from KD shoes.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike KD 11:

½ size large
Schwollo
September 26, 2018
Going down half a size should be the right choice except for the widest-footers.
½ size large
RicheeKim
September 26, 2018
The KD 11 is a little bit long
Watch the video
true to size
PureKicks
September 26, 2018
Fits just like the KD9 or KD10. I went true to size and this worked perfectly for me.
Watch the video
true to size
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
August 8, 2018
Fits true to size.
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 8, 2018
The KD 11 runs true to size for me.
Watch the video
runs large
The Sole Brothers
July 16, 2018
Long and narrow like every KD shoe ever.
Watch the video