Search Shoe

Nike KD 12 Review

Nike KD 12
Nike KD 12
Nike KD 12
Nike KD 12
Deals from $82.97
8.8
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$149.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
4/2019
Ranking:
Traction
9.0
Cushion
9.9
Materials
8.1
Support
8.4
Fit
8.4
Outdoor
20%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike KD 12:

University Red/White/Black
University Red/White/Black
in 4 shops
$82.97
$150
Black/Cool Grey/Anthracite/Anthracite
Black/Cool Grey/Anthracite/Anthracite
in 4 shops
$82.97
$150
Black/White/Black
Black/White/Black
in 3 shops
$92.97
$150
White/Metallic Gold/Game Royal/Amarillo
White/Metallic Gold/Game Royal/Amarillo
from DICK's
$92.97
$150
Blue Gaze/Blue Tint/Photo Blue
Blue Gaze/Blue Tint/Photo Blue
in 3 shops
$103.97
$150
White/Wolf Grey/Black
White/Wolf Grey/Black
from DICK's
$103.97
$150
Wolf Grey/Black
Wolf Grey/Black
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
White/Black
White/Black
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
Black/Dark Grey/White
Black/Dark Grey/White
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
Multi-Color/Multi-Color
Multi-Color/Multi-Color
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
Midnight Navy/White
Midnight Navy/White
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
University Red/White
University Red/White
in 3 shops
$109.99
$150
Game Royal/White
Game Royal/White
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
Barely Volt/Orange Pulse
Barely Volt/Orange Pulse
in 2 shops
$144.99
$150
Teal Tint/Red Orbit-Photo Blue
Teal Tint/Red Orbit-Photo Blue
No stores found
Black/Metallic Silver/White
Black/Metallic Silver/White
No stores found
Teal Tint/Blue Gaze/Red Orbit
Teal Tint/Blue Gaze/Red Orbit
No stores found
Pink / Pink
Pink / Pink
No stores found

Summary of 7 Expert Reviews:

Pros:

Full-length Zoom cushioning
Much more stable than previous KD models

CONS:

Materials could feel more premium

Performance of the Nike KD 12:

The KD12 is a huge step up from the disappointing predecessors. The full-length Zoom sits directly beneath the feet and provides a ton of response and bounce. The cushioning is a bit divisive, some reviewers are raving about it, others found it to be a bit too inconsistent on dusty courts. The look and feel of the materials aren't very premium, but the performance of the flywire upper is top-notch. The fit should work for most basketball players as it isn't as long and narrow as we are used too from the KD line. Overall, the KD12 is a great performer with outstanding cushioning and no real weaknesses!
See all 7 reviews

Reviews of the Nike KD 12:

The 8.8 average overall rating ranks #16 of 123 shoes overall
8.4
PureKicks
June 11, 2019
This shoe is not a joke! You never felt anything like this full-length Zoom cushioning system and there is finally solid support in a KD shoe.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 8, 2019
The cushioning alone is worth the $150! But I would have preferred a little more premium materials.
Watch the video
9.2
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
When they’re this nice, you might want to buy ’em twice. I can't stop playing in my KD 12's!
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.2
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
The Nike KD 12 is just an all-around good shoe that should cater to most players needs.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.4
The Sole Brothers
April 18, 2019
They fixed a lot of things that I didn't like in the predecessor KD11. The cushioning is amazing, materials are solid, fit and support are great! The only downside is the inconsistent traction of the translucent rubber on dusty courts.
Watch the video
8.6
Schwollo
April 18, 2019
The directly-underfoot Zoom set up makes the KD 12 feel fun and exciting. Other than that, this shoe does everything well from A-Z.
9.0
RicheeKim
April 18, 2019
This is the best performer of this year so far! A huge step up from the disappointing previous KD models.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike KD 12:

The 9.0 average traction rating ranks #30 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
PureKicks
June 11, 2019
The "razorblade" traction pattern was an absolute joy to play in.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 8, 2019
I'm a big fan of the traction pattern and the soft rubber.
Watch the video
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
The traction on the KD 12 was super solid. I did have to wipe a bit when dust was present.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
The rubber compound used has been nothing short of consistent!
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
April 18, 2019
On a clean court, the traction is super nice. On a dusty court, I slipped out a few times.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
April 18, 2019
The microgrooves do a good job and it's really easy to brush off dirt and dust. Not the best traction, but far better than average.
10.0
RicheeKim
April 18, 2019
The multidirectional lines remind me of fingerprints. This is probably the best performing traction so far this year for me!
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike KD 12:

The 9.9 average cushion rating ranks #2 of 123 shoes overall
10.0
PureKicks
June 11, 2019
This is the best Zoom cushioning I have ever felt under my foot!
Watch the video
10.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 8, 2019
Your feet have never been so close to Zoom Air! This is one of the best cushioning setups I ever played in. They are super bouncy - I was able to dunk with a partially torn hamstring in these!
Watch the video
10.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
The only thing between you and the Air unit is an insole - it's amazing!
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
This is not only Zoom Air done right, but it’s probably my favorite iteration of the cushion and only solidified my stance on Zoom Air being my favorite cushion of all time.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
April 18, 2019
Your feet sit directly on the segmented Zoom unit which feels great. Court feel is medium, impact protection is great, and you get a lot of bounce.
Watch the video
10.0
Schwollo
April 18, 2019
The cushioning feels like full-length Zoom should feel. Well, well, well, done Nike!
10.0
RicheeKim
April 18, 2019
The KD 12 takes full-length Zoom to the next level!
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike KD 12:

The 8.1 average materials rating ranks #84 of 123 shoes overall
7.0
PureKicks
June 11, 2019
I got really used to the Flyknit of previous KD models - I am a bit disappointed by the textile Mesh used in this version of the KD.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 8, 2019
The materials don't look premium, but they do perform well.
Watch the video
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
The mesh upper with some fuse overlays feels nice and padded.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
Textiles, screen mesh, and Fuse. Nothing to write home about, but gets the job done!
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
April 18, 2019
The materials are nothing special but get the job done.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
April 18, 2019
The quad-axial Flywire is a nice blend of strength and flexibility. If you want your material to look and feel expensive then you might be a bit disappointed.
8.0
RicheeKim
April 18, 2019
The materials don't feel the most premium but they get the job done!
Watch the video

Support of the Nike KD 12:

The 8.4 average support rating ranks #73 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
PureKicks
June 11, 2019
The quad-axial Flywire provides a ton of lockdown and support. Much better than previous KD's!
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 8, 2019
The support features feel pretty standard and do a solid job!
Watch the video
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
Support gets an A+ in my book.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
Overall, the support for the KD 12 is very good but I would have preferred a slightly wider base.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
April 18, 2019
The foam comes up on the sides to really cage you in and there is no heel slippage thanks to the internal heel counter.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
April 18, 2019
No issues at all with support and stability.
8.0
RicheeKim
April 18, 2019
No side-to-side movements on the footbed, no heel slippage, and no instabilities.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike KD 12:

The 8.4 average fit rating ranks #71 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
PureKicks
June 11, 2019
The Flywire is comfortable and the lacing system works really well.
Watch the video
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
The fit is rather snug, but it won't cut off your circulation.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
I felt snug and secure when playing in the KD 12 at all times.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
April 18, 2019
The fit felt really good.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
April 18, 2019
The simple semi-traditional set up just works.

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 20% average outdoor rating ranks #77 of 123 shoes overall
no
PureKicks
June 11, 2019
The traction pattern is wearing away quickly - don't play them outdoors!
Watch the video
fair
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 8, 2019
I have been hooping outdoors in them and they did rip a little bit but held up nicely overall.
Watch the video
no
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
I wouldn’t recommend it.
Watch the Video|Read the article
no
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
I wouldn't use the KD 12 as my primary outdoor shoe, as I'm seeing some minor chipping and fraying already.
Watch the Video|Read the article
fair
The Sole Brothers
April 18, 2019
The rubber is pretty hard and the grooves are deep - outdoor use should be okay.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike KD 12:

slightly narrow
PureKicks
June 11, 2019
Regular to narrow-fitting
Watch the video
very narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 8, 2019
This shoe feels narrow. Wide-footers might have to go up a half or full size.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
Slightly snug, but it's a good snug.
Watch the Video|Read the article
slightly narrow
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
A bit snug at the forefoot.
Watch the Video|Read the article
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
April 18, 2019
Slightly narrow in the toe area.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Schwollo
April 18, 2019
Wide footers will want to go up half a size.
regularly wide
RicheeKim
April 18, 2019
I have a semi-wide foot and I didn't have any problems.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike KD 12:

true to size
PureKicks
June 11, 2019
Stay true-to-size.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 8, 2019
Runs true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 8, 2019
Fits true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
The Sole Brothers
April 18, 2019
Runs true to size, unlike previous KD models.
Watch the video
true to size
Schwollo
April 18, 2019
Length is true to size.
true to size
RicheeKim
April 18, 2019
The KD 12 runs true to size.
Watch the video
Deals from $82.97:
University Red/White/Black
University Red/White/Black
in 4 shops
$82.97
$150
Black/Cool Grey/Anthracite/Anthracite
Black/Cool Grey/Anthracite/Anthracite
in 4 shops
$82.97
$150
Black/White/Black
Black/White/Black
in 3 shops
$92.97
$150
White/Metallic Gold/Game Royal/Amarillo
White/Metallic Gold/Game Royal/Amarillo
from DICK's
$92.97
$150
Blue Gaze/Blue Tint/Photo Blue
Blue Gaze/Blue Tint/Photo Blue
in 3 shops
$103.97
$150
White/Wolf Grey/Black
White/Wolf Grey/Black
from DICK's
$103.97
$150
Wolf Grey/Black
Wolf Grey/Black
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
White/Black
White/Black
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
Black/Dark Grey/White
Black/Dark Grey/White
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
Multi-Color/Multi-Color
Multi-Color/Multi-Color
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
Midnight Navy/White
Midnight Navy/White
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
University Red/White
University Red/White
in 3 shops
$109.99
$150
Game Royal/White
Game Royal/White
in 2 shops
$109.99
$150
Barely Volt/Orange Pulse
Barely Volt/Orange Pulse
in 2 shops
$144.99
$150