Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike KD 12

Released 4/2019, Mid Top, Kevin Durant, 
Add to Favourites
8.8
EXPERT RATING
7 reviews
9.2
USER RATING
11 ratings
Great overall-performer with awesome full-length Zoom cushioning

Best Suitable For:

A well-balanced shoe that works for a wide array of basketball players

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $149.99
StockX
from $119.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (7)
User Ratings (11)
Traction
9.0
Cushion
9.9
Materials
8.1
Support
8.4
Fit
8.4
Outdoor
20%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike KD 12
Nike KD 12
Nike KD 13
Nike KD 13
Nike KD Trey 5 VIII
Nike KD Trey 5 VIII
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Run
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Run
Jordan Why Not Zero.4
Jordan Why Not Zero.4
Nike KD 14
Nike KD 14
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.88.8(0.0)8.2(0.6)8.1(0.7)8.3(0.5)8.9(0.1)
User Rating9.29.0(0.2)8.8(0.4)8.8(0.4)9.1(0.1)9.3(0.1)
Best Price$149.99
$99.87
$150
$89.99
$94.47
$175
$99.99
$130
$94.47
$150
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight370g - 390g370g - 380g300g - 320g370g - 390g370g - 380g380g - 400g
 Show More
80 likes
University Red/White/Black
University Red/White/Black
from StockX
$119.00
114 likes
Black/Cool Grey/Anthracite/Anthracite
Black/Cool Grey/Anthracite/Anthracite
from StockX
$146.00
73 likes
Multi-Color/Multi-Color
Multi-Color/Multi-Color
from StockX
$149.00
78 likes
White/Metallic Gold/Game Royal/Amarillo
White/Metallic Gold/Game Royal/Amarillo
from StockX
$150.00
52 likes
Black/Metallic Silver/White
Black/Metallic Silver/White
from StockX
$170.00
37 likes
Black/Dark Grey/White
Black/Dark Grey/White
from StockX
$200.00
139 likes
Black/White/Black
Black/White/Black
from StockX
$213.00
58 likes
Barely Volt/Orange Pulse
Barely Volt/Orange Pulse
from StockX
$222.00
40 likes
White/Black
White/Black
from StockX
$229.00
43 likes
Game Royal/White
Game Royal/White
from StockX
$300.00
80 likes
Teal Tint/Red Orbit-Photo Blue
Teal Tint/Red Orbit-Photo Blue
from StockX
$335.00
62 likes
White/Wolf Grey/Black
White/Wolf Grey/Black
from StockX
$350.00
96 likes
Blue Gaze/Blue Tint/Photo Blue
Blue Gaze/Blue Tint/Photo Blue
from StockX
$375.00
88 likes
Pink / Pink
Pink / Pink
from StockX
$380.00
34 likes
University Red/White
University Red/White
from StockX
$382.00
72 likes
Teal Tint/Blue Gaze/Red Orbit
Teal Tint/Blue Gaze/Red Orbit
from StockX
$550.00
50 likes
Midnight Navy/White
Midnight Navy/White
from StockX
$800.00
45 likes
Wolf Grey/Black
Wolf Grey/Black
No stores found

Nike KD 12 Review

Pros:
Full-length Zoom cushioning
Much more stable than previous KD models
Cons:
Materials could feel more premium

Performance of the Nike KD 12:

The KD12 is a huge step up from the disappointing predecessors. The full-length Zoom sits directly beneath the feet and provides a ton of response and bounce. The cushioning is a bit divisive, some reviewers are raving about it, others found it to be a bit too inconsistent on dusty courts. The look and feel of the materials aren't very premium, but the performance of the flywire upper is top-notch. The fit should work for most basketball players as it isn't as long and narrow as we are used too from the KD line. Overall, the KD12 is a great performer with outstanding cushioning and no real weaknesses!
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike KD 12:

Expert Rating: 8.8 (ranks #40 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Nike KD 12 is just an all-around good shoe that should cater to most players needs.
 More details
When they’re this nice, you might want to buy ’em twice. I can't stop playing in my KD 12's!
 More details
9.0
April 18, 2019
This is the best performer of this year so far! A huge step up from the disappointing previous KD models.
 More details
The cushioning alone is worth the $150! But I would have preferred a little more premium materials.
 More details
8.6
April 18, 2019
The directly-underfoot Zoom set up makes the KD 12 feel fun and exciting. Other than that, this shoe does everything well from A-Z.
 More details
8.4
April 18, 2019
They fixed a lot of things that I didn't like in the predecessor KD11. The cushioning is amazing, materials are solid, fit and support are great! The only downside is the inconsistent traction of the translucent rubber on dusty courts.
 More details
8.4
June 11, 2019
This shoe is not a joke! You never felt anything like this full-length Zoom cushioning system and there is finally solid support in a KD shoe.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike KD 12:

User Rating: 9.2 (ranks #32 of 219)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 23, 2022
The KD 12 is a very good all around performer! The traction picked up dust pretty fast, but if anything it got the job done well. The cushion with the Full Length Zoom Stroble is absolutely amazing! It provides both a plush and responsive feel which is perfect for all players. I definitely recommend this shoe to all players!
 More details
9.0
January 13, 2022
The numbers speak for themselves… The KD 12 is a solid performer! With an insane cushioning setup!
 More details
9.0
January 30, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.2
February 3, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
10.0
July 15, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike KD 12:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #65 of 219)
User Traction Rating: 9.2 (ranks #58 of 219)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The rubber compound used has been nothing short of consistent!
 More details
The traction on the KD 12 was super solid. I did have to wipe a bit when dust was present.
 More details
10.0
April 18, 2019
The multidirectional lines remind me of fingerprints. This is probably the best performing traction so far this year for me!
 More details
I'm a big fan of the traction pattern and the soft rubber.
 More details
9.0
April 18, 2019
The microgrooves do a good job and it's really easy to brush off dirt and dust. Not the best traction, but far better than average.
 More details
8.0
April 18, 2019
On a clean court, the traction is super nice. On a dusty court, I slipped out a few times.
 More details
9.0
June 11, 2019
The "razorblade" traction pattern was an absolute joy to play in.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike KD 12:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.9 (ranks #4 of 219)
User Cushion Rating: 9.6 (ranks #18 of 219)
10 - Amazing
13
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
This is not only Zoom Air done right, but it’s probably my favorite iteration of the cushion and only solidified my stance on Zoom Air being my favorite cushion of all time.
 More details
The only thing between you and the Air unit is an insole - it's amazing!
 More details
10.0
April 18, 2019
The KD 12 takes full-length Zoom to the next level!
 More details
Your feet have never been so close to Zoom Air! This is one of the best cushioning setups I ever played in. They are super bouncy - I was able to dunk with a partially torn hamstring in these!
 More details
10.0
April 18, 2019
The cushioning feels like full-length Zoom should feel. Well, well, well, done Nike!
 More details
9.0
April 18, 2019
Your feet sit directly on the segmented Zoom unit which feels great. Court feel is medium, impact protection is great, and you get a lot of bounce.
 More details
10.0
June 11, 2019
This is the best Zoom cushioning I have ever felt under my foot!
 More details

Materials of the Nike KD 12:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #126 of 219)
User Materials Rating: 8.5 (ranks #91 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
Textiles, screen mesh, and Fuse. Nothing to write home about, but gets the job done!
 More details
The mesh upper with some fuse overlays feels nice and padded.
 More details
8.0
April 18, 2019
The materials don't feel the most premium but they get the job done!
 More details
The materials don't look premium, but they do perform well.
 More details
8.0
April 18, 2019
The quad-axial Flywire is a nice blend of strength and flexibility. If you want your material to look and feel expensive then you might be a bit disappointed.
 More details
8.0
April 18, 2019
The materials are nothing special but get the job done.
 More details
7.0
June 11, 2019
I got really used to the Flyknit of previous KD models - I am a bit disappointed by the textile Mesh used in this version of the KD.
 More details

Support of the Nike KD 12:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #120 of 219)
User Support Rating: 9.3 (ranks #27 of 219)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Overall, the support for the KD 12 is very good but I would have preferred a slightly wider base.
 More details
Support gets an A+ in my book.
 More details
8.0
April 18, 2019
No side-to-side movements on the footbed, no heel slippage, and no instabilities.
 More details
The support features feel pretty standard and do a solid job!
 More details
8.0
April 18, 2019
No issues at all with support and stability.
 More details
9.0
April 18, 2019
The foam comes up on the sides to really cage you in and there is no heel slippage thanks to the internal heel counter.
 More details
8.0
June 11, 2019
The quad-axial Flywire provides a ton of lockdown and support. Much better than previous KD's!
 More details

Fit of the Nike KD 12:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.4 (ranks #104 of 219)
User Fit Rating: 9.3 (ranks #25 of 219)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
I felt snug and secure when playing in the KD 12 at all times.
 More details
The fit is rather snug, but it won't cut off your circulation.
 More details
8.0
April 18, 2019
The simple semi-traditional set up just works.
 More details
8.0
April 18, 2019
The fit felt really good.
 More details
8.0
June 11, 2019
The Flywire is comfortable and the lacing system works really well.
 More details

Durability of the Nike KD 12:

User Durability Rating: 7.8 (ranks #169 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike KD 12:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 20.0 (ranks #156 of 219)
User Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #146 of 219)
Good (100%)
1
Fair (50%)
4
Bad (0%)
8
I wouldn't use the KD 12 as my primary outdoor shoe, as I'm seeing some minor chipping and fraying already.
 More details
I wouldn’t recommend it.
 More details
I have been hooping outdoors in them and they did rip a little bit but held up nicely overall.
 More details
fair
April 18, 2019
The rubber is pretty hard and the grooves are deep - outdoor use should be okay.
 More details
no
June 11, 2019
The traction pattern is wearing away quickly - don't play them outdoors!
 More details

Width of the Nike KD 12:

very narrow
3
slightly narrow
11
regular
3
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly narrow
A bit snug at the forefoot.
 More details
slightly narrow
Slightly snug, but it's a good snug.
 More details
regularly wide
April 18, 2019
I have a semi-wide foot and I didn't have any problems.
 More details
very narrow
This shoe feels narrow. Wide-footers might have to go up a half or full size.
 More details
slightly narrow
April 18, 2019
Wide footers will want to go up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
April 18, 2019
Slightly narrow in the toe area.
 More details
slightly narrow
June 11, 2019
Regular to narrow-fitting
 More details

Size of the Nike KD 12:

very small
0
slightly small
3
true to size
14
slightly long
0
very long
0
true to size
Fits true to size.
 More details
true to size
April 18, 2019
The KD 12 runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
Runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
April 18, 2019
Length is true to size.
 More details
true to size
April 18, 2019
Runs true to size, unlike previous KD models.
 More details
true to size
June 11, 2019
Stay true-to-size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: