Nike KD 17

Released 4/2025, , Kevin Durant, 
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
NA
USER RATING
0 ratings
The Nike KD 17 is a solid performer with grippy traction and decent support.

Best Suitable For:

The Nike KD 17 is best for players who enjoyed the 16 and are looking for better traction.

Price Comparison:

Available at 5 shops | Official Retail Price: $149.99
Foot Locker
See all 5 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (6)
User Ratings (0)
Traction
8.9
Cushion
8.7
Materials
7.8
Support
7.6
Fit
7.8
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike KD 17
Nike KD 17
New Balance Kawhi 4
New Balance Kawhi 4
Nike G.T. Cut Academy
Nike G.T. Cut Academy
Nike Cosmic Unity 3
Nike Cosmic Unity 3
Under Armour Curry 4 FloTro
Under Armour Curry 4 FloTro
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.28.6(0.4)8.2(0.0)8.0(0.2)8.7(0.5)8.4(0.2)
User RatingNANA8.77.98.98.7
Best Price
$149.99
$159.99
$170
$71
$95
$79.97
$170
$109.99
$140
$130
$150
Type of CutHigh TopLow Top
WeightNANANANA320g - 340gNA
 Show More
17 likes
White / Black / Game Royal / White
White / Black / Game Royal / White
in 5 shops
$150.00
17 likes
University Gold / Safety Orange / University Blue / Black
University Gold / Safety Orange / University Blue / Black
in 5 shops
$150.00

Nike KD 17 Review

Pros:
Traction grips well
Solid impact protection
Cons:
It holds onto some moisture
Fit feels long

Performance of the Nike KD 17:

Kevin Durant's 17th shoe with Nike, the Nike KD 17, maintains the performance level of its predecessor by only making minor updates. Reviewers consistently mention traction as the shoe's best feature. It's grippy and consistent. The cushioning is the same Air Strobel under the heel and Zoom Air under the forefoot as last year. The forefoot shank also helps add some bounce. Nike uses a basic-feeling mesh material on the upper. The padding is comfortable, and the shoe performs well. The shoe has impressive lateral containment, but not like the KD 16. Most reviewers said they felt secure in the shoe. The fit is true to size, but there is extra length at the front of the shoe. The Nike KD 17 maintains a strong performance with traction as the main highlight.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike KD 17:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #203 of 307)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
May 19, 2024
The Nike KD 17 is a lighter, faster version of the KD 16. I like the tweaks Nike made on this model, and the traction is my favourite feature.
 More details
The Nike KD 17s are moderate bad boys. It's a good shoe, but the performance is similar to last year's model. I enjoy the traction the most.
 More details
8.2
June 2, 2024
I'm enjoying my time in the Nike KD 17. Materials, traction, and cushioning are the standout features. However, heel slippage is a concern.
 More details
8.0
May 26, 2024
The Nike KD 17 is my favourite KD model since the 14. It's flexible and has impressive traction performance. My only complaints are the short shank and the long fit.
 More details
8.0
June 9, 2024
The Nike KD 17 is a solid shoe overall, but I experienced issues with the flimsy upper. The traction and cushioning are comfortable though.
 More details
7.8
June 4, 2024
I enjoyed the Nike KD 17. It's comfortable, but I don't feel quick playing in the shoe. The traction feels good, but the responsiveness and support are lacking.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike KD 17:

No user reviews so far

Traction of the Nike KD 17:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.9 (ranks #99 of 307)
User Traction Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
May 19, 2024
This is one of the best translucent outsoles I played in. You won't have any issues, and the traction is my favourite part of the sneaker.
 More details
The multidirectional pattern plays well indoors no matter how dirty the floor.
 More details
8.5
June 2, 2024
The traction is impressive. Dust pickup is manageable. It's 8.5 on clean courts and 8 on dusty courts.
 More details
8.0
May 26, 2024
The traction performs very well on hardwood, and the grip is consistent. This shoe has some of the better grip on a Nike shoe.
 More details
9.0
June 9, 2024
The traction performs very well. You'll have no issues playing on clean courts, and I didn't experience problems with dusty courts either.
 More details
9.0
June 4, 2024
The traction performance is phenomenal. You stop on a dime, and there's no break-in time. Make sure to wipe when playing on dusty courts.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike KD 17:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.7 (ranks #120 of 307)
User Cushion Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
May 19, 2024
The setup is the same as the KD 16, but it feels lower to the ground, which I prefer. It's a more well-balanced feeling cushion.
 More details
The foam is soft, while the combination of Air Strobel under the heel and Zoom under the forefoot feels protective.
 More details
9.0
June 2, 2024
The cushioning feels smooth. The performance stays the same. It's responsive and comfortable.
 More details
8.0
May 26, 2024
The forefoot shank Strobel board is a welcome addition. I wish it went further into the midfoot, though. It works well with the forefoot Zoom Air unit and the rearfoot Air Strobel.
 More details
9.0
June 9, 2024
The cushioning feels smooth and comfortable. There's a bit of bounciness in the forefoot area, too.
 More details
8.0
June 4, 2024
The cushioning is soft and comfortable. Impact protection is amazing, but it feels somewhat mushy.
 More details

Materials of the Nike KD 17:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.8 (ranks #233 of 307)
User Materials Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
May 19, 2024
The mesh material feels standard. It's not the best but it's proven.
 More details
The mesh feels basic. It's nothing fancy or special. The materials seem durable enough.
 More details
8.0
June 2, 2024
The materials are softer and more comfortable. Breathability is excellent.
 More details
8.0
May 26, 2024
I'm a fan of the tongue and the design. It's padded and comfortable. The shoe won't hold onto heat, but it will hold onto some moisture.
 More details
8.0
June 9, 2024
The materials feel good on foot and get the job done performance-wise.
 More details
7.0
June 4, 2024
The material quality isn't the best. I don't like how the upper feels for basketball. It's comfortable for casual wear, though.
 More details

Support of the Nike KD 17:

Expert Support Rating: 7.6 (ranks #276 of 307)
User Support Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
May 19, 2024
Lockdown and support feel nice as long as you lace your shoes tightly.
 More details
The support is solid. The side panel was better for containment last year, but the performance is still good. I wish you sat inside the midsole, though.
 More details
7.5
June 2, 2024
The lateral containment can be better. I experienced some heel slippage too.
 More details
9.0
May 26, 2024
Heel slippage gets better once the shoe breaks in. The lace line and lateral containment impressed me.
 More details
6.0
June 9, 2024
I had no issues with heel slippage, but I did have problems with my foot sliding on the footbed. I never fell off the footbed, but I was unstable. The upper lacked support, and I rolled my ankle.
 More details
7.0
June 4, 2024
The upper is not supportive. Lateral containment was not the best. My forefoot was moving too often. The overall support is adequate.
 More details

Fit of the Nike KD 17:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.8 (ranks #259 of 307)
User Fit Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
May 19, 2024
I didn't have any issues with the fit.
 More details
The fit feels standard. It's similar to last year.
 More details
8.0
June 2, 2024
I had no issues with the fit.
 More details
7.0
May 26, 2024
The fit is long, but the width is medium. The length can cause a sizing problem.
 More details
8.0
June 9, 2024
The fit seems the same as the previous model. I enjoyed it.
 More details
8.0
June 4, 2024
The materials loosen over time, so I wish I got my regular size. My true size would have been better for me.
 More details

Durability of the Nike KD 17:

User Durability Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike KD 17:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #176 of 307)
User Outdoor Rating: NA 
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
2
fair
May 19, 2024
The durability should be fine if you stay inside.
 More details
The outsole will perform outdoors but it won't last.
 More details
no
May 26, 2024
The outsole will wear down outdoors.
 More details
fair
June 4, 2024
The rubber seems decent enough for outdoors. It won't be the best though.
 More details

Width of the Nike KD 17:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
0
regular
3
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
regularly wide
June 2, 2024
The width is roomier than expected.
 More details
regularly wide
May 26, 2024
2E feet can go true to size for a performance fit and up half a size for a roomy fit.
 More details
regularly wide
June 9, 2024
I have slightly wide feet, and I felt good in this shoe.
 More details

Size of the Nike KD 17:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
6
slightly long
0
very long
0
true to size
May 19, 2024
The shoe runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
I would personally go with true to size.
 More details
true to size
June 2, 2024
Going true to size is the best option.
 More details
true to size
May 26, 2024
Narrow and medium feet can go true to size.
 More details
true to size
June 9, 2024
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
June 4, 2024
I went up half a size, but I wish I had gone true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: