Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Kobe 4 Protro

Add to Favourites
8.6
A solid performer that started the low-top trend in basketball shoes
based on 6 expert reviews
based on 6 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

A very versatile shoe that will be most appreciated by players who had the OG Kobe 4

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $174.99
StockX
from $421.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
9.0
Cushion
8.0
Materials
8.2
Support
9.0
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
25%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
2/2019
Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
68 likes
Black/Volt/Laser Fuchsia/Black
Black/Volt/Laser Fuchsia/Black
from StockX
$421.00
52 likes
Black/Del Sol/Varsity Purple/Cool Grey
Black/Del Sol/Varsity Purple/Cool Grey
from StockX
$461.00
48 likes
White/Black/Del Sol
White/Black/Del Sol
from StockX
$525.00
77 likes
White/Varsity Purple/Orion Blue
White/Varsity Purple/Orion Blue
from StockX
$600.00
66 likes
Black/University Gold/Aurora
Black/University Gold/Aurora
No stores found

Nike Kobe 4 Protro Review

Pros:
Great herringbone traction
Cons:
No full-length Zoom

Performance of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

The Kobe 4 started the low-top trend in basketball shoes and is the second shoe of the Kobe Bryant signature line that got the Protro treatment. Even though Nike promised full-length Zoom in this updated version, they disappointed by keeping it OG with Zoom in the heel and simple Phylon in the front. The old-school herringbone traction pattern still works like a charm and needs very little wiping - even on dusty courts. The synthetic leather and plastic overlays with Flywire cables perform well but feel a little cheap compared to modern knits materials. Overall, the Kobe 4 Protro is a very solid performer, but there are very few improvements compared to the original Kobe 4 and the retail price of $175 is very steep.
See all 6 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

The 8.6 average overall rating ranks #68 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
March 7, 2019
Even though this isn't really a performance upgrade to the Kobe 4, this is still a really good performance shoe. However, I don't think they are worth $175.
Watch the video
8.6
Schwollo
March 7, 2019
I love that Nike didn’t change a thing. And why should they when it’s one of the best low tops of all time?
8.6
The Sole Brothers
March 7, 2019
This shoe feels more Retro than Protro. They will probably make it into my rotation, but the price of $175 is pretty steep.
Watch the video
8.6
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 11, 2019
The Nike Kobe 4 is one of the greatest basketball shoes of all-time but I expected the inclusion of forefoot cushion for a performance-upgraded shoe. For $175 they could have, and should have, given us more.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.5
RicheeKim
July 7, 2019
The Protro 4 is a very solid performer - if you are a Kobe fan get them! But at the price of $175, there are way better shoes out there.
Watch the video
8.5
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2019
For $175, these feel like a sneaker from 2009 trying to keep up in 2019.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

The 9.0 average traction rating ranks #53 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
March 7, 2019
The traction is aggressive and works well. Some wiping is needed on dusty courts.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
March 7, 2019
This herringbone traction pattern is just about as perfect as you can get.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
March 7, 2019
Most Kobes have a crazy bite, but these were a little disappointing on dusty courts.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 11, 2019
The Kobe 4 Protro offers the same pattern and the same soft bite as the original Kobe 4.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
July 7, 2019
The traction was a little iffy at first, but after the break-in period, it was really nice.
Watch the video
10.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2019
The traction is amazing!
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

The 8.0 average cushion rating ranks #133 of 183 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
March 7, 2019
Springy and bouncy Zoom in the heel and soft and responsive in the forefoot.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
March 7, 2019
Heel Zoom is fantastic and can be felt from day one. I didn’t have any issues at with the forefoot (yet) but I would have loved full-length Zoom.
9.0
The Sole Brothers
March 7, 2019
The Zoom unit in the heel is really nice but the forefoot is pretty dead. I am a big fan of this setup because it's very responsive and low-to-the-ground.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 11, 2019
There is a Phylon midsole and a large volume Zoom Air unit in the heel. The setup feels similar to the original but the foam seems to be a bit softer.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
RicheeKim
July 7, 2019
Bounce Zoom unit in the heel and firmer Phylon in the forefoot. Nothing to complain, but there are better cushioning setups out there.
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2019
The Phylon forefoot and heel Zoom are a little disappointing, especially since Nike promised us full-length Zoom.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

The 8.2 average materials rating ranks #105 of 183 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
March 7, 2019
We still get synthetic leather and plasticky mid-panels. They absolutely get the job done, but I would have loved an upgrade to the materials.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
March 7, 2019
The materials feel plasticky feel they confirmed to my foot quickly with no hot spots or pinching!
8.0
The Sole Brothers
March 7, 2019
You need to break-in the materials for a little bit. I am not a big fan of synthetic materials but they are super durable and will last for a long time.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 11, 2019
It works. It’s durable. It breaks in nicely.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
RicheeKim
July 7, 2019
Not exactly the best materials. The synthetic leather starts off really stiff but gets better over time. The durability of the materials will be very good.
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2019
The materials perform fine but feel a bit old-fashioned.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

The 9.0 average support rating ranks #35 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
March 7, 2019
Support comes from the excellent fit and heel counter and the stability is excellent thanks to the large outrigger.
10.0
The Sole Brothers
March 7, 2019
This shoe is crazy supportive, no issues with lateral containment or lockdown.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 11, 2019
The heel counter, carbon shank, and wide forefoot provide a lot of support and stability.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
July 7, 2019
An external heel counter, lateral outrigger, carbon fiber midfoot shank. Nothing spectacular - but I didn't have any support issues at all!
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2019
The support is really good, especially for a low-top.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

The 8.5 average fit rating ranks #84 of 183 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
March 7, 2019
The comfort of this shoe is slightly above average. I did have pinching issues around the ankles when lacing them very tightly.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
March 7, 2019
Even half a size up I had zero heel slip no side to side movement and it still fit like a glove.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
March 7, 2019
I did have slight issues with the top eyelet sawing into my ankle bone. But, overall, the fit was pretty good.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 11, 2019
The fit is awesome.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 25.0% average outdoor rating ranks #118 of 183 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
March 7, 2019
The rubber is pretty soft and frays easily.
Watch the video
fair
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 11, 2019
Outdoor hoopers will receive great traction, but due to the softer rubber compound I’m not sure if it’ll be quite as durable as the OG
Watch the Video|Read the article

Width of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
March 7, 2019
It's a bit snug in the beginning, not as bad as the OG though.
Watch the video
slightly wide
The Sole Brothers
March 7, 2019
The fit is not as narrow as I am used to from the Kobe line.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
July 7, 2019
As a slightly wide-footer I experienced a little pinching pain around the forefoot.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
March 7, 2019
True to size.
Watch the video
true to size
Schwollo
March 7, 2019
I suggest true to size for regular feet and half a size up for wide footers.
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
March 7, 2019
Runs a little bit long.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 11, 2019
True to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
RicheeKim
July 7, 2019
I went true to size.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: