Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Kobe 4 Protro

Released 2/2019, Low Top, Kobe Bryant, 
Add to Favourites
8.6
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
9.1
USER RATING
7 ratings
A solid performer that started the low-top trend in basketball shoes

Best Suitable For:

A very versatile shoe that will be most appreciated by players who had the OG Kobe 4

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $174.99
StockX
from $345.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (6)
User Ratings (7)
Traction
9.0
Cushion
8.0
Materials
8.2
Support
9.0
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Kobe 4 Protro
Nike Kobe 4 Protro
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 9
Under Armour Curry 9
Li-Ning Wade 808 2
Li-Ning Wade 808 2
Jordan Luka 1
Jordan Luka 1
Puma Clyde Hardwood
Puma Clyde Hardwood
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.68.9(0.3)8.9(0.3)8.8(0.2)8.5(0.1)8.7(0.1)
User Rating9.19.0(0.1)9.2(0.1)9.2(0.1)9.2(0.1)8.6(0.5)
Best Price$174.99
$159.99
$109.99
$160
$119
$109.99
$99.99
$120
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight350g - 370gNA320g - 330g400g - 420g360g - 380g460g - 480g
 Show More
93 likes
Black/Volt/Laser Fuchsia/Black
Black/Volt/Laser Fuchsia/Black
from StockX
$345.00
88 likes
Black/University Gold/Aurora
Black/University Gold/Aurora
from StockX
$366.00
66 likes
Black/Del Sol/Varsity Purple/Cool Grey
Black/Del Sol/Varsity Purple/Cool Grey
from StockX
$459.00
65 likes
White/Black/Del Sol
White/Black/Del Sol
from StockX
$550.00
127 likes
White/Varsity Purple/Orion Blue
White/Varsity Purple/Orion Blue
from StockX
$600.00

Nike Kobe 4 Protro Review

Pros:
Great herringbone traction
Cons:
No full-length Zoom

Performance of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

The Kobe 4 started the low-top trend in basketball shoes and is the second shoe of the Kobe Bryant signature line that got the Protro treatment. Even though Nike promised full-length Zoom in this updated version, they disappointed by keeping it OG with Zoom in the heel and simple Phylon in the front. The old-school herringbone traction pattern still works like a charm and needs very little wiping - even on dusty courts. The synthetic leather and plastic overlays with Flywire cables perform well but feel a little cheap compared to modern knits materials. Overall, the Kobe 4 Protro is a very solid performer, but there are very few improvements compared to the original Kobe 4 and the retail price of $175 is very steep.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

Expert Rating: 8.6 (ranks #82 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Even though this isn't really a performance upgrade to the Kobe 4, this is still a really good performance shoe. However, I don't think they are worth $175.
 More details
8.6
March 7, 2019
I love that Nike didn’t change a thing. And why should they when it’s one of the best low tops of all time?
 More details
8.6
March 7, 2019
This shoe feels more Retro than Protro. They will probably make it into my rotation, but the price of $175 is pretty steep.
 More details
The Nike Kobe 4 is one of the greatest basketball shoes of all-time but I expected the inclusion of forefoot cushion for a performance-upgraded shoe. For $175 they could have, and should have, given us more.
 More details
8.5
July 7, 2019
The Protro 4 is a very solid performer - if you are a Kobe fan get them! But at the price of $175, there are way better shoes out there.
 More details
8.5
September 26, 2019
For $175, these feel like a sneaker from 2009 trying to keep up in 2019.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

User Rating: 9.1 (ranks #45 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.6
November 22, 2021
It is a shoe that fits perfectly, it might feel a bit stiff at the start, but once you break in the leather starts working its magic and it FITS like a glove. The cushion is good but only enough for a center. I feel like I would like it to have a bit more like the KD 14's. The durability is okay, I played outdoors with it twice and i see no big wear and tear with my outsole.
 More details
9.6
March 19, 2022
Amazing experience playing with these shoes. Would have taken better care of them if I’d knew how rare they rare. Unfortunately after playing with them outdoors the lower outer part of the shoe laces got ripped off after a year or so :(
 More details
8.7
November 17, 2022
Not a bad shoe but not the best Kobe shoe but again it's not bad
 More details
9.2
January 11, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.6
February 28, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #72 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 9.1 (ranks #69 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The traction is aggressive and works well. Some wiping is needed on dusty courts.
 More details
9.0
March 7, 2019
This herringbone traction pattern is just about as perfect as you can get.
 More details
8.0
March 7, 2019
Most Kobes have a crazy bite, but these were a little disappointing on dusty courts.
 More details
The Kobe 4 Protro offers the same pattern and the same soft bite as the original Kobe 4.
 More details
9.0
July 7, 2019
The traction was a little iffy at first, but after the break-in period, it was really nice.
 More details
10.0
September 26, 2019
The traction is amazing!
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #171 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 9.1 (ranks #61 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Springy and bouncy Zoom in the heel and soft and responsive in the forefoot.
 More details
8.0
March 7, 2019
Heel Zoom is fantastic and can be felt from day one. I didn’t have any issues at with the forefoot (yet) but I would have loved full-length Zoom.
 More details
9.0
March 7, 2019
The Zoom unit in the heel is really nice but the forefoot is pretty dead. I am a big fan of this setup because it's very responsive and low-to-the-ground.
 More details
There is a Phylon midsole and a large volume Zoom Air unit in the heel. The setup feels similar to the original but the foam seems to be a bit softer.
 More details
8.0
July 7, 2019
Bounce Zoom unit in the heel and firmer Phylon in the forefoot. Nothing to complain, but there are better cushioning setups out there.
 More details
8.0
September 26, 2019
The Phylon forefoot and heel Zoom are a little disappointing, especially since Nike promised us full-length Zoom.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.2 (ranks #125 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 8.3 (ranks #126 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
We still get synthetic leather and plasticky mid-panels. They absolutely get the job done, but I would have loved an upgrade to the materials.
 More details
8.0
March 7, 2019
The materials feel plasticky feel they confirmed to my foot quickly with no hot spots or pinching!
 More details
8.0
March 7, 2019
You need to break-in the materials for a little bit. I am not a big fan of synthetic materials but they are super durable and will last for a long time.
 More details
It works. It’s durable. It breaks in nicely.
 More details
8.0
July 7, 2019
Not exactly the best materials. The synthetic leather starts off really stiff but gets better over time. The durability of the materials will be very good.
 More details
8.0
September 26, 2019
The materials perform fine but feel a bit old-fashioned.
 More details

Support of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

Expert Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #38 of 233)
User Support Rating: 9.1 (ranks #42 of 233)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
March 7, 2019
Support comes from the excellent fit and heel counter and the stability is excellent thanks to the large outrigger.
 More details
10.0
March 7, 2019
This shoe is crazy supportive, no issues with lateral containment or lockdown.
 More details
The heel counter, carbon shank, and wide forefoot provide a lot of support and stability.
 More details
9.0
July 7, 2019
An external heel counter, lateral outrigger, carbon fiber midfoot shank. Nothing spectacular - but I didn't have any support issues at all!
 More details
8.0
September 26, 2019
The support is really good, especially for a low-top.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #100 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 9.4 (ranks #18 of 233)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The comfort of this shoe is slightly above average. I did have pinching issues around the ankles when lacing them very tightly.
 More details
9.0
March 7, 2019
Even half a size up I had zero heel slip no side to side movement and it still fit like a glove.
 More details
8.0
March 7, 2019
I did have slight issues with the top eyelet sawing into my ankle bone. But, overall, the fit was pretty good.
 More details
The fit is awesome.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

User Durability Rating: 8.0 (ranks #170 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #154 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #126 of 233)
Good (100%)
2
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
3
no
March 7, 2019
The rubber is pretty soft and frays easily.
 More details
Outdoor hoopers will receive great traction, but due to the softer rubber compound I’m not sure if it’ll be quite as durable as the OG
 More details

Width of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
5
regular
4
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly narrow
It's a bit snug in the beginning, not as bad as the OG though.
 More details
slightly wide
March 7, 2019
The fit is not as narrow as I am used to from the Kobe line.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 7, 2019
As a slightly wide-footer I experienced a little pinching pain around the forefoot.
 More details

Size of the Nike Kobe 4 Protro:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
9
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
True to size.
 More details
true to size
March 7, 2019
I suggest true to size for regular feet and half a size up for wide footers.
 More details
½ size large
March 7, 2019
Runs a little bit long.
 More details
true to size
True to size.
 More details
true to size
July 7, 2019
I went true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: