Search Shoe

Nike Kobe AD NXT Review

Nike Kobe AD NXT
Nike Kobe AD NXT
Nike Kobe AD NXT
Nike Kobe AD NXT
8.8
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$199.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
4/2017
Ranking:
Traction
8.9
Cushion
8.6
Materials
9.0
Support
9.0
Fit
8.8
Outdoor
0%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Kobe AD NXT:

White / Black
White / Black
No stores found
University Red / Bright Crimson / Black
University Red / Bright Crimson / Black
No stores found
Navy / Igloo
Navy / Igloo
No stores found
Black / White
Black / White
No stores found
Wolf Grey/White-Black
Wolf Grey/White-Black
No stores found
Volt / White / Black
Volt / White / Black
No stores found

Summary of 6 Expert Reviews:

Pros:

Great Traction
Very responsive shoe

CONS:

Expensive
Fit is very specific

Performance of the Nike Kobe AD NXT:

The Kobe AD NXT is a big upgrade over the disappointing Kobe AD. The biggest change is the completely new lacing system. Critics are split on whether it works or not. Some love it, some hate it. Overall, the Kobe AD NXT is a very good overall performer for quick guards. The only downside is the very expensive retail price of $200.
See all 6 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Kobe AD NXT:

The 8.8 average overall rating ranks #17 of 123 shoes overall
8.3
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Watch the video
8.8
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
The Kobe AD NXT has some exciting high points and I truly enjoyed playing in these thanks to the fantastic upper comfort. Unfortunately, at $200 this is the most expensive basketball shoe model in the 2017 Nike lineup. There are far better values out there.
8.8
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
For $200 this shoe is a no-go. Disregarding the price, the Kobe AD NXT is a really good performer.
Watch the video
8.8
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
It is just a well-rounded performer with great traction, fun cushioning, excellent fit and stability and decent containment. These edge out the Curry 3 Low for my favorite of 2017.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The NXT version of the Kobe A.D. has much more in common with the Kobe 11 than with the original A.D. - and that's a good thing. Traction and cushion are solid. The fit isn’t going to be for everyone, but if you have a narrow foot you are going to love it.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.3
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
I think this is a very good shoe. Great traction, nice materials and an outstanding fit (for narrow feet). This is a BIG upgrade over the original Kobe AD
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Kobe AD NXT:

The 8.9 average traction rating ranks #37 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
I was very happy with the traction.
Watch the video
9.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
From game one, the Kobe A.D. NXT’s traction was top-notch.
8.5
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Traction bites really hard on clean courts. On dusty courts, you will need to wipe a lot.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I had no issues at all with the NXT traction, well done Nike!
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The traction had no issues on any surface no matter the condition.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
I really enjoyed the traction.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Kobe AD NXT:

The 8.6 average cushion rating ranks #66 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
I thought the cushioning setup was pretty good on these. A great balance between cushioning and court feel.
Watch the video
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
The Zoom bag provided plenty of impact protection, but Lunarlon quickly lost a lot of its initial cushioning.
8.5
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Heel Zoom unit provides you with decent impact protection.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I could feel the heel Zoom and Lunarlon from the get-go. Well done Nike!
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The large volume heel Zoom Air unit coupled with a Lunarlon midsole works very well.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Lunarlon midsole with a Nike Zoom unit in the heel - one of my favorite setups.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Kobe AD NXT:

The 9.0 average materials rating ranks #26 of 123 shoes overall
10.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The materials are very nice and super soft from the get-go.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
No issues here but for $200 you’d think you’d get all Flyknit.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The shoe is made out of a mesh textile build that is very breathable.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
A mixture of mesh and knit provides the best Nike has to offer.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Kobe AD NXT:

The 9.0 average support rating ranks #29 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
Great heel lockdown and two subtle outriggers help the shoe to excel in this area.
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Support is very good.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Overall, I really liked the mobility of wearing a low without any fear or turning my ankle.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
You sit low to the ground so stability is great while the overall containment (from the fit) is wonderful.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Fit of the Nike Kobe AD NXT:

The 8.8 average fit rating ranks #38 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
I had a little heel slippage, the lockdown was fine and the shoes were really comfortable.
Watch the video
9.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
The new lacing system not only sounds great on paper but also actually works. The feel of the NXT’s upper is second to none. I wasn’t able to achieve a fit quite as snug as with traditional lacing systems, but there was still enough support that the tradeoff was well worth it in terms of comfort.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The new lacing system is a no-go. You can't really get it to securely lock down your forefoot.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I had no movement side to side and zero heel slip. I really enjoyed the one to one fit with the NXT.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
For those that enjoy that really snug feeling on-foot then you’ll likely enjoy the hell out of these.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
I don't think there is another shoe that will fit as great as this one.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 0% average outdoor rating ranks #112 of 123 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Outdoor use is not recommended.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Kobe AD NXT:

slightly narrow
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
They are a little narrow.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The fit is rather narrow similar to other Kobe models.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Wide footers can go up half a size.
slightly narrow
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I went up half a size due to the narrow width.
Watch the Video|Read the article
very narrow
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
The shoe features a very narrow setup.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Kobe AD NXT:

true to size
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
They're true to size.
Watch the video
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Go down half a size if you have narrow feet.
Watch the video
true to size
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
These fit true to size lengthwise.
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The length is pretty true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article