Search Shoe
Nike Kyrie 7
Nike Kyrie 7
Nike Kyrie 7
Nike Kyrie 7

Nike Kyrie 7 Review

Add to Favourites
9.0
The Kyrie 7 is an upgrade over the 6 with aesthetics to match.
based on 3 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Great for quick players like guards who are shifty and make a lot of cuts.

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
8.0
Cushion
9.0
Materials
8.3
Support
9.0
Fit
9.0
Outdoor
25%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
11/2020
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Colorways of Nike Kyrie 7:

36 likes
Hyper Royal / Hyper Royal / Black / White
Hyper Royal / Hyper Royal / Black / White
in 7 shops
$117.97
$140
40 likes
Black / Off Noir / Chile Red / White
Black / Off Noir / Chile Red / White
in 6 shops
$130.00
$140
56 likes
Black / University Red / White / Black
Black / University Red / White / Black
in 5 shops
$130.00
$140

Summary of 3 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Very supportive
Lightweight
Cons:
Inconsistent traction

Performance of the Nike Kyrie 7:

The traction works well on clean courts but on dusty courts, you will need to wipe from time to time. Overall, the traction performance is a slight downgrade from the Kyrie 6. The Zoom Turbo unit in the forefoot feels responsive, bouncy, and provides some nice court feel and the cushioning in the heel feels much better than in the Kyrie 5 and 6. The materials are much more minimal than the Kyrie 6 with no forefoot strap and perform really well overall. The support is very good for lateral containment and stability. The Kyrie 7 also provides decent ankle support. Overall the Kyrie 7 is a great overall performer with some upgrades over the Kyrie 6.
See all 3 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Kyrie 7:

The 9.0 average overall rating ranks #3 of 153 shoes overall
8.8
The Sole Brothers
December 4, 2020
I really like the Kyrie 7. They feel like an upgraded version of the Kyrie 6 with just okay traction. A very good performer overall!
Watch the video
8.6
RicheeKim
November 23, 2020
You are getting a very solid performer for $130. My only gripe with the shoe was the traction on dust, but overall the Kyrie 7 is a great hoop shoe.
Watch the video
9.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
November 17, 2020
The Kyrie 7 is the best hoop shoe in his line to date. Performance-wise, these do it all!
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Kyrie 7:

The 8.0 average traction rating ranks #105 of 153 shoes overall
8.0
The Sole Brothers
December 4, 2020
The bite was pretty good on clean courts, but they definitely pick up some dust.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
November 23, 2020
This traction reminded me of tire tread and it performs well, but not as well as the Kyrie 6. I had no issues on clean courts, but I had to wipe on dusty courts.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
November 17, 2020
The traction pattern is spread out so it doesn't pick up that much dust. The grip and bite are pretty nice but not as good as in the Kyrie 6.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Kyrie 7:

The 9.0 average cushion rating ranks #34 of 153 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
December 4, 2020
The cushion felt like the Kyrie 5 and 6 with a little better heel cushion. They have surprisingly good impact protection, with nice responsiveness and court feel.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
November 23, 2020
Basically the same cushion setup as the Kyrie 6. The Zoom Air is more subtle, but it still feels really good.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
November 17, 2020
The Zoom Turbo Air feels responsive, bouncy, and provides some nice court feel - much like the Kyrie 6.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Kyrie 7:

The 8.3 average materials rating ranks #71 of 153 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
December 4, 2020
I really like how these materials feel on foot. They are very thin and minimal which I love. I also enjoy not having a strap on the forefoot.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
November 23, 2020
The full mesh upper was crispy and a little stiff, but they felt nice on foot. Performance-wise these got the job done great.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
November 17, 2020
Just like previous Kyrie models, the mesh is soft and flexible right out of the box with no break in required. The materials are not the most premium, but they performed well on the court.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Kyrie 7:

The 9.0 average support rating ranks #15 of 153 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
December 4, 2020
I had no issues at all with the support. Lateral containment and stability was good, plus these have some decent ankle support.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
November 23, 2020
The Kyrie 7 is no different than previous models when it comes to support. I had no side to side movement on the footbed or lateral instabilities. These definitely had me covered for support.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
November 17, 2020
The forefoot strap from the Kyrie 6 was replaced by TPU fins which work pretty much the same. The lockdown is excellent and the wide base provides great support.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Kyrie 7:

The 9.0 average fit rating ranks #13 of 153 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
December 4, 2020
These fit pretty much like the Kyrie 6. They are very snug in the forefoot which I really like. Overall, the fit is very good.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
November 23, 2020
They fit pretty snug like every other Kyrie model. I liked how they wrap around my foot really well providing an almost 1-to-1 fit.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
November 17, 2020
The fit is similar to previous Kyrie models and comes snug out of the box. The Kyrie 7 is much more minimal than the Kyrie 6 and felt very light on feet.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 25.0% average outdoor rating ranks #84 of 153 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
December 4, 2020
The outsole is not durable enough for outdoor use.
Watch the video
fair
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
November 17, 2020
They performed well outdoors, but the outsole took a beating.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Kyrie 7:

slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
December 4, 2020
Watch the video
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
November 23, 2020
I am a wide footer I recommend going up half a size.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Kyrie 7:

true to size
The Sole Brothers
December 4, 2020
True to size was great for me. If you don't like a snug fit I'd recommend going up half a size.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
November 23, 2020
True to size should work fine.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
November 17, 2020
True to size works for a snug fit. You can go up half a size if you want a looser fitting shoe.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Hyper Royal / Hyper Royal / Black / White
Hyper Royal / Hyper Royal / Black / White
in 7 shops
$117.97
$140
Black / Off Noir / Chile Red / White
Black / Off Noir / Chile Red / White
in 6 shops
$130.00
$140
Black / University Red / White / Black
Black / University Red / White / Black
in 5 shops
$130.00
$140
Hyper Royal / Hyper Royal / Black / White
$117.97
on Nike

Nike Kyrie 7 Performance Review