Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4

Released 11/2020, Mid Top, Kyrie Irving, 
Add to Favourites
7.7
EXPERT RATING
2 reviews
8.2
USER RATING
25 ratings
The Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4 is an underwhelming update to the Flytrap line.

Best Suitable For:

Great for quick guards who need a cheap and responsive shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $89.99
GOAT
from $50.00
StockX
from $76.00
KicksCrew
from $124.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (2)
User Ratings (25)
Traction
7.0
Cushion
7.0
Materials
7.5
Support
9.0
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4
Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4
Jordan Why Not Zero.5
Jordan Why Not Zero.5
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
New Balance Kawhi 3
New Balance Kawhi 3
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Add shoe
Expert Rating7.77.8(0.1)8.1(0.4)8.2(0.5)7.9(0.2)7.7(0.0)
User Rating8.28.6(0.4)9.1(0.9)8.4(0.2)8.4(0.2)8.5(0.3)
Best Price$89.99
$97.99
$150
$91.97
$170
$99.97
$160
$119.99
$45.97
$110
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight320g - 330g350g - 370g330g - 350gNA360g - 380gNA
 Show More
13 likes
Black / White / Gum Light Brown / Metallic Cool Grey
Black / White / Gum Light Brown / Metallic Cool Grey
from 3 Resellers
$50.00
20 likes
Red / White
Red / White
from 2 Resellers
$61.00
24 likes
Black / White / University Red
Black / White / University Red
from 3 Resellers
$73.00
23 likes
Black / Lagoon Pulse / Bright Mango / Lime Glow
Black / Lagoon Pulse / Bright Mango / Lime Glow
from 2 Resellers
$77.00
14 likes
Wolf Grey / Black / Metallic Silver
Wolf Grey / Black / Metallic Silver
from 2 Resellers
$79.00
26 likes
Racer Blue / Aluminum-Black
Racer Blue / Aluminum-Black
from 2 Resellers
$91.00
17 likes
Black / Metallic Silver / White
Black / Metallic Silver / White
from 3 Resellers
$95.00
20 likes
Blue Void / Deep Royal Blue / Lucky Green / Speed Yellow
Blue Void / Deep Royal Blue / Lucky Green / Speed Yellow
from 2 Resellers
$107.00
62 likes
Summit White / Photon Dust / Purple Pulse / White
Summit White / Photon Dust / Purple Pulse / White
from 2 Resellers
$111.00
19 likes
Wolf Grey / Black / White / Metallic Silver
Wolf Grey / Black / White / Metallic Silver
from 2 Resellers
$122.00
45 likes
Barely Volt / Photon Dust / Volt / Aluminum
Barely Volt / Photon Dust / Volt / Aluminum
from 3 Resellers
$136.00
23 likes
White / Metallic Silver / Photon Dust / Black
White / Metallic Silver / Photon Dust / Black
from 3 Resellers
$137.00
85 likes
Crimson Pulse / Bright Mango / White / Hyper Crimson
Crimson Pulse / Bright Mango / White / Hyper Crimson
from 2 Resellers
$146.00
44 likes
Black / Anthracite / Metallic Gold
Black / Anthracite / Metallic Gold
from 3 Resellers
$148.00
17 likes
Black / Dark Smoke Grey / Black
Black / Dark Smoke Grey / Black
No stores found

Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4 Review

Pros:
Great support
Responsive cushion
Cons:
Inconsistent traction
Poor impact protection

Performance of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

Kyrie's budget line has produced some of the best bang for your buck shoes in recent years. How does the 4th edition perform? Unfortunately, the traction isn't great on dusty courts or outdoor courts. And even on very clean courts, the bite isn't as good as you'd want it to be. The cushion setup provides a good court feel and responsiveness but lacks impact protections with a very stiff Phylon midsole. The materials are cheap to the touch, but feel good on foot and get the job done well performance-wise. The fit is the same as in other Kyrie models with a narrow and snug fit. It is suggested to go up half a size for wide footers. The support is the best aspect of the shoe and reviewers had no issues with the support at all. Overall, the Kyrie Flytrap 4 is only recommended to guards looking for cheap shoes with a lot of support and very firm cushioning.
See all 2 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

Expert Rating: 7.7 (ranks #280 of 307)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.8
November 19, 2020
Personally, I wouldn't play in the Kyrie Flytrap 4 because of the stiff cushion, but if you want a pair of shoes to beat up these aren't bad for $90.
 More details
7.6
November 19, 2020
I'd recommend not getting the Kyrie Flytrap 4. I'd suggest the Flytrap 3 instead just because of the traction and cushion.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

User Rating: 8.2 (ranks #233 of 307)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
6.0
December 22, 2023
Coming from the Kyrie 4, these shoes didn’t work for me. They were slightly big and the materials used were (rightfully) cheap. The laces kept stretching as I would tighten them. Also, why did Nike decide to wrap this shoe in a cheap plastic tarp? I feel bad for missing the return window on these. They ran larger than I expected and their supporting looks are extremely deceiving. These shoes lack the characteristic ankle stability of the main Kyrie line.
 More details
7.8
April 7, 2022
This shoe is great for a cheap price and its especially good for shooting and point guards but it easily gets damaged after a while. The traction materials on the bottom became mushed from the quick turns and stops. This shoe also gets easily dirty if you use it outdoors. This shoe is mostly for indoors.
 More details
6.6
January 5, 2022
The shoe was ok, the traction made me do the splits indoor till its break in period was over. Also the materials are bad but decent for the price.
 More details
9.5
February 22, 2023
I got these for 24 dollars at a Nike store and they have incredible performance for that price surprisingly good tractions and feel insanely light
 More details
9.1
August 21, 2022
I had this shoe for 1 whole year and this shoe is clear as a whistle. I like this shoe and recommend it. One of the best cheap shoes out there.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.0 (ranks #288 of 307)
User Traction Rating: 8.0 (ranks #235 of 307)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
5
5 - Poor
0
8.0
November 19, 2020
The modified herringbone traction is pretty good. I didn't have any problems on clean courts, but I did have to consistently wipe on dusty courts.
 More details
6.0
November 19, 2020
The traction was terrible on a dusty indoor court. They didn't have a good bite even with a lot of wiping or on clean areas of the court.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.0 (ranks #296 of 307)
User Cushion Rating: 7.6 (ranks #248 of 307)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
9
6 - Subpar
5
5 - Poor
1
7.0
November 19, 2020
This full-length Phylon midsole is pretty stiff but very responsive. If you want a lot of impact protection these aren't for you. The forefoot Zoom unit isn't that pronounced, but it has a subtle bounce. This is a really responsive cushion setup.
 More details
7.0
November 19, 2020
This cushion setup is okay. It's low to the ground and responsive, but there is not a lot of impact protection. The Zoom unit is kind of bouncy and the only thing going for the cushioning.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.5 (ranks #277 of 307)
User Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #190 of 307)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
0
7.0
November 19, 2020
The cheap mesh doesn't feel great to the touch, but performance-wise they get the job done.
 More details
8.0
November 19, 2020
The thin, cheap textile upper felt great on foot. It is minimal, supportive, and gets the job done well performance-wise.
 More details

Support of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

Expert Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #29 of 307)
User Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #193 of 307)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
1
9.0
November 19, 2020
The support is the best aspect of the shoe. I had no heel slippage or side to side movement on the footbed. I had no issues with lateral stability either.
 More details
9.0
November 19, 2020
The support is really good. I've never had any issues with lateral support in any Kyrie shoe and these are the same. Lateral stability is also good even with outsole curvature.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #231 of 307)
User Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #151 of 307)
10 - Amazing
9
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
8.0
November 19, 2020
The fit is similar to other Kyrie models and conforms to your feet pretty nicely.
 More details
8.0
November 19, 2020
These fit similarly to the other Kyrie Flytrap models and wrap around your foot well. They were easy to put on and you can get good lockdown with the laces.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

User Durability Rating: 8.2 (ranks #199 of 307)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #190 of 307)
User Outdoor Rating: 61.9 (ranks #136 of 307)
Good (100%)
8
Fair (50%)
11
Bad (0%)
4
fair
November 19, 2020
I think these would do well outdoors, but durability won't be the best because of the soft rubber.
 More details
no
November 19, 2020
The traction outdoors was also terrible, but the outsole seemed pretty durable.
 More details

Width of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
11
regular
13
slightly wide
1
very wide
1
slightly narrow
November 19, 2020
I have slightly wide feet and went up half a size which worked well.
 More details
slightly narrow
November 19, 2020
If you have a wide foot, I'd suggest going up half or a whole size.
 More details

Size of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap 4:

very small
0
slightly small
5
true to size
17
slightly long
5
very long
0
true to size
November 19, 2020
I'd suggest true to size if you have narrow or normal feet.
 More details
true to size
November 19, 2020
True to size fit me well.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: