Nike Zoom Freak 4

Released 9/2022, Low Top, Giannis Antetokounmpo, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
62 ratings
The Nike Zoom Freak 4 is a worthy upgrade in Giannis Antetokounmpo's line.

Best Suitable For:

Players looking for solid performance and springy cushioning on a budget will enjoy this shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 6 shops | Official Retail Price: $134.99
Champs Sports
$79.99
$135
See all 6 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (6)
User Ratings (62)
Traction
8.5
Cushion
8.2
Materials
8.0
Support
8.2
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
0%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Zoom Freak 4
Nike Zoom Freak 4
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Puma MB.01 Lo
Puma MB.01 Lo
Nike Lebron 20
Nike Lebron 20
Under Armour Curry 11
Under Armour Curry 11
Puma All Pro Nitro
Puma All Pro Nitro
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.38.4(0.1)8.9(0.6)8.8(0.5)8.7(0.4)8.5(0.2)
User Rating8.98.5(0.4)8.8(0.1)9.2(0.3)8.6(0.3)9.2(0.3)
Best Price
$79.99
$135
$129.99
$150
$79.99
$120
$119.99
$200
$90
$160
$72.99
$130
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight340g - 360gNANA390g - 410gNA380g - 400g
 Show More
83 likes
Black / White / Light Smoke Grey
Black / White / Light Smoke Grey
from Champs Sports
$79.99
$135
44 likes
Indigo Haze / Azul Tint / Azul Baltic / Roxo Space
Indigo Haze / Azul Tint / Azul Baltic / Roxo Space
from Nike
$99.97
$135
91 likes
All Star
All Star
from DICK's
$134.99
102 likes
White / Black / Barely Volt
White / Black / Barely Volt
from 3 Resellers
$45.00
61 likes
Dark Marina Blue / Barely Volt / Pink Gaze
Dark Marina Blue / Barely Volt / Pink Gaze
from 3 Resellers
$49.00
73 likes
University Red / Safety Orange / Black / Grey Fog
University Red / Safety Orange / Black / Grey Fog
from 3 Resellers
$50.00
69 likes
Pale Vanilla / Coral Chalk / Blue Lightning
Pale Vanilla / Coral Chalk / Blue Lightning
from 3 Resellers
$56.00
45 likes
Ironstone / Orange Trance / Cobblestone / Sail
Ironstone / Orange Trance / Cobblestone / Sail
from 3 Resellers
$57.00
74 likes
Light Bone / Moon Fossil / Sail / Sweet Beet
Light Bone / Moon Fossil / Sail / Sweet Beet
from 2 Resellers
$57.00
48 likes
Vivid Purple / Laser Blue / Hyper Pink
Vivid Purple / Laser Blue / Hyper Pink
from 3 Resellers
$57.00
58 likes
White / Oxygen Purple / Black / Stadium Green
White / Oxygen Purple / Black / Stadium Green
from 2 Resellers
$58.00
85 likes
Action Grape / Pinksicle / Summit White
Action Grape / Pinksicle / Summit White
from 3 Resellers
$59.00
37 likes
Black / White / Black
Black / White / Black
from 3 Resellers
$59.00
44 likes
White / Black / White
White / Black / White
from 2 Resellers
$60.00
89 likes
Laser Blue / Lilac / Light Menta
Laser Blue / Lilac / Light Menta
from 2 Resellers
$72.00
40 likes
Red / White / Red
Red / White / Red
from 3 Resellers
$75.00
63 likes
Wolf Grey / White Cool / Grey-Black
Wolf Grey / White Cool / Grey-Black
from 3 Resellers
$86.00
47 likes
Wolf Grey / Wolf Grey / White
Wolf Grey / Wolf Grey / White
from 2 Resellers
$88.00
42 likes
Navy / White / Navy
Navy / White / Navy
from 3 Resellers
$91.00
45 likes
Royal / White / Royal
Royal / White / Royal
from 2 Resellers
$96.00

Nike Zoom Freak 4 Review

Pros:
Reliable traction after break-in
Cushion feels springy
Cons:
Torsional support is not the best

Performance of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

The traction on the Zoom Freak 4 takes time to break in, but once it does, it performs reliably afterwards. The two forefoot Zoom Air units are bouncy but can take a lot of force to feel them. The foam feels springy regardless, though. Material quality is a letdown. Nike didn't use premium materials, but they hold up for performance. One improved feature is the fit. The shoe accommodates more foot shapes and is better for players with slightly-wide feet. Reviewers mentioned the torsional support isn't the best, but it didn't take away from the lockdown and stability of the shoe. The Nike Zoom Freak 4 performs well in all performance basketball categories while being a shoe for price-conscious players.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #175 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
September 22, 2022
The Nike Zoom Freak 4 offers a lot of performance for a lower price. The materials aren't premium, and the traction needed a break-in period, but the shoe is a solid all-around performer.
 More details
8.4
October 25, 2022
The Nike Zoom Freak 4 has solid traction and lockdown but is offset by average cushioning.
 More details
8.2
September 10, 2022
The Nike Zoom Freak 4 is an upgrade from the Zoom Freak 3 in terms of side-to-side stability. It also offers tremendous forefoot bounce because of the Zoom Air units. People who are prone to spraining their ankles might want to look elsewhere.
 More details
8.2
September 15, 2022
The Nike Zoom Freak 4 is a lightweight shoe offering solid support, bouncy cushioning, and reliable traction. I enjoyed playing in this shoe.
 More details
8.2
October 10, 2022
The Nike Zoom Freak 4 is a solid shoe, but there are plenty of other options on the market at this price point. The traction performs well, and the shoe is breathable.
 More details
8.0
October 10, 2022
The Nike Zoom Freak 4 is a shoe for players that enjoy playing fast. It offers a propelling cushion, and the traction is solid, but you are high off the ground.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

User Rating: 8.9 (ranks #83 of 303)
10 - Amazing
16
9 - Great
33
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.9
September 9, 2023
the shoes cushion is really springy because of the zoom react foam on the heel and also because of the air pads recommended for centers and forwards having wide feet and want cheap and very light shoes the cushion around the ankle is really soft as Marshmallows and below of it has a hard material so its really good for ankle support the traction is really good on super clean courts but u need to wipe a bit if you play on dusty courts they kinda feel hot on the feet after a long time of playing.
 More details
8.8
January 10, 2024
ZOOM FREA 4 IS MY FAVOURITE IN GIANIS LINE. Traction: If you play on clean court has great traction, nearly a top tier, on dust pick up minimal very consistent but on outdoor don´t play with they. Cushion is my favorite part abaout this shoue, great compression on heel and on forefoot with AIR ZOOM give you a good bounce. Material is thin but works very well, is safe and comfortable. The stability and lockdown is my second favourite part about this shoe is very very well. Fit is perfect.
 More details
8.6
March 31, 2023
The Zoom Freak 4 is a solid performer, and an upgrade on the Freak 3. The heel cushioning feels much better than the 3. I have seen conflicting info on whether or not the midsole is a cushlon foam. I think it is. The traction is great, but the grooves are very thin, so I think they will be the first thing to wear out. Thankfully the thick cored out heel and forefoot zoom air pods should give the cushioning setup a long life. Support materials feel minimal, but the lockdown is fantastic.
 More details
8.2
June 21, 2023
The traction is top tier with little to none dust pickup. Cushioning is not that soft but it is bouncy. Support is not that great because of the materials not holding up very well after time.Also as a wide-footer, I didn't have any problems with the width or the length. My main problem is that the shoe was squeaking and after 2-3 months of playing in them, the outsole cracked and I had to return them. These shoes are really great if you have more pairs of them
 More details
8.4
September 26, 2022
this shoe is pretty good and is a clear upgrade from the 3. the traction is really good but u have to wipe a few times on dusty courts. cushion is the best it has ever been in the freak line so no matter if you're a heel or forefoot dominant player you are fine. support is great and majorly upgraded. the fit is very wide foot friendly so narrow footers gotta try these in stores. freak 4 > freak 1 > freak 2 > freak 3.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #153 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #145 of 303)
10 - Amazing
15
9 - Great
30
8 - Good
18
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
2
8.0
September 22, 2022
The traction allows you to make quick movements in all directions once broken in.
 More details
8.7
October 25, 2022
The traction doesn't pick up a lot of dust, and the shoe performs reliably in most conditions.
 More details
9.0
September 10, 2022
The rubber compound helps the traction grip well on indoor courts.
 More details
8.0
September 15, 2022
The traction improved a lot over the first few days of play. It performs well on clean courts and doesn't pick up much dust on dirtier courts.
 More details
9.0
October 10, 2022
The traction is one of the better features of the shoe. It has a solid bite, and I didn't need to wipe much.
 More details
8.0
October 10, 2022
This traction may be the best in the Zoom Freak line.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.2 (ranks #191 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 8.9 (ranks #99 of 303)
10 - Amazing
24
9 - Great
20
8 - Good
19
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
1
8.0
September 22, 2022
The Zoom Air units on the shoe are thick, which puts your foot high off the ground. It feels springy, but it took me a lot of force to activate the units.
 More details
8.0
October 25, 2022
There are two Zoom pods in the forefoot and Cushlon foam. I'm not the biggest fan of the setup. The shoe is responsive, and the heel cushioning does feel soft underfoot.
 More details
8.0
September 10, 2022
There are two side-by-side independent Zoom Air units in the midsole, which makes the shoe play fast.
 More details
9.0
September 15, 2022
The foam has a lot of compressions and provides some rebound. There are also cut-outs of foam to offer more room for the foam to expand. The Zoom units also give the shoe a springy bounce.
 More details
8.0
October 10, 2022
The shoe feels comfortable going up and coming down. I like the air units too.
 More details
8.0
October 10, 2022
The React foam is soft and responsive, but it's not the best. The Zoom pods are effective for propelling you forward, though.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #184 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #105 of 303)
10 - Amazing
11
9 - Great
23
8 - Good
25
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
8.0
September 22, 2022
The materials aren't premium, but they get the job done. Performance-wise, they feel fine.
 More details
8.0
September 10, 2022
The upper reminds me of a 90s sweater material. It includes a lot of mesh and netting, and the materials provide a decent amount of stability.
 More details
8.0
September 15, 2022
The quality of the materials is a letdown. It reminds me of the materials used on the PG5, but it still feels supportive for performance purposes.
 More details
8.0
October 10, 2022
The materials make the shoe breathable and comfortable to play in.
 More details
8.0
October 10, 2022
The materials aren't premium, but they hold up well. It feels nice on foot.
 More details

Support of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

Expert Support Rating: 8.2 (ranks #206 of 303)
User Support Rating: 8.9 (ranks #97 of 303)
10 - Amazing
20
9 - Great
25
8 - Good
19
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
1
8.0
September 22, 2022
The outrigger and the shoe's base keep me stable and locked down.
 More details
8.9
October 25, 2022
The shoe's structure is much better than the previous Zoom Freak model. The base is also wider, which makes the shoe more stable.
 More details
8.0
September 10, 2022
This shoe will not hold your body weight well after the foam bottoms out, which can cause pain in your legs or back. The shoe is better for lighter players. The support and stability are an improvement overall, though.
 More details
8.0
September 15, 2022
The torsional support isn't the best, but I didn't mind it much. I had zero issues with the lateral support and stability, though.
 More details
8.0
October 10, 2022
The shoe gives you what you need for ankle support. It was also stable and felt supportive.
 More details
8.0
October 10, 2022
I felt contained and stable in this shoe. It's not a flexible shoe, but the stability is solid.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #213 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 9.1 (ranks #36 of 303)
10 - Amazing
27
9 - Great
19
8 - Good
19
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
8.0
September 22, 2022
I had to choke up the laces to get the snug fit I wanted in the toe box. The length was perfect, though.
 More details
8.0
October 25, 2022
The shoe fits nicely.
 More details
8.0
September 10, 2022
Nike improved the fit on this year's model compared to last year's. It's more accommodating for wider feet.
 More details
8.0
September 15, 2022
The shoe fits me like a glove. It's snug and close to being a 1-to-1 fit.
 More details
8.0
October 10, 2022
I needed to play a bit to break the shoe in. I might go up half a size for a more comfortable fit.
 More details
8.0
October 10, 2022
I had no issues with the fit.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

User Durability Rating: 8.4 (ranks #159 of 303)
10 - Amazing
17
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
13
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
5
5 - Poor
2

Outdoor of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #255 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 53.3 (ranks #158 of 303)
Good (100%)
15
Fair (50%)
18
Bad (0%)
16
no
September 22, 2022
The rubber is too soft to take outdoors.
 More details
no
September 10, 2022
The rubber is too thin to grab well on outdoor courts.
 More details
no
September 15, 2022
The grooves are thin, and the rubber is soft. I wouldn't use this shoe outdoors.
 More details
no
October 10, 2022
I wouldn't play outdoors with these shoes.
 More details

Width of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
10
regular
34
slightly wide
16
very wide
4
regularly wide
October 25, 2022
The forefoot accommodates wide footers well.
 More details
regularly wide
September 10, 2022
People with a 2E width foot can go up a half size for a 1-to-1 fit. People with a foot width above a 2E go up a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
September 15, 2022
It's slightly narrow.
 More details

Size of the Nike Zoom Freak 4:

very small
2
slightly small
5
true to size
55
slightly long
6
very long
0
true to size
September 22, 2022
The shoe runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
October 25, 2022
The shoe fits true to size.
 More details
true to size
September 10, 2022
Go true to size if you have a narrow or medium-sized foot.
 More details
true to size
September 15, 2022
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
October 10, 2022
My shoe fits true to size, but I might go up half a size if I had to rebuy it.
 More details
true to size
October 10, 2022
I went true to size with no issues.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: