Nike Zoom Freak 5

Released 7/2023, Low Top, Giannis Antetokounmpo, 
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
8.7
USER RATING
17 ratings
Giannis' fifth signature shoe scales back the tech but maintains the performance, such as the traction.

Best Suitable For:

The Zoom Freak 5s are best for players looking for a minimal shoe that doesn't sacrifice many features.

Price Comparison:

Available at 8 shops | Official Retail Price: $139.99
DICK's
$50.97
$140
Finishline
$70.00
$140
See all 8 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (6)
User Ratings (17)
Traction
8.7
Cushion
8.3
Materials
7.5
Support
7.8
Fit
7.9
Outdoor
30%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Zoom Freak 5
Nike Zoom Freak 5
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Puma MB.01 Lo
Puma MB.01 Lo
Nike Lebron 20
Nike Lebron 20
Under Armour Curry 11
Under Armour Curry 11
Puma All Pro Nitro
Puma All Pro Nitro
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.28.4(0.2)8.9(0.7)8.8(0.6)8.7(0.5)8.5(0.3)
User Rating8.78.5(0.2)8.8(0.1)9.2(0.5)8.6(0.1)9.2(0.5)
Best Price
$50.97
$140
$129.99
$150
$79.99
$120
$119.99
$200
$90
$160
$72.99
$130
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight330g - 340gNANA390g - 410gNA380g - 400g
 Show More
12 likes
Blue Lightning / Phantom / Ice Peach / Emerald Rise
Blue Lightning / Phantom / Ice Peach / Emerald Rise
in 3 shops
$50.97
$140
12 likes
White / Black / White
White / Black / White
in 5 shops
$51.99
$140
10 likes
Black / White
Black / White
in 4 shops
$53.99
$140
12 likes
Wolf Grey / White / Wolf Grey
Wolf Grey / White / Wolf Grey
in 5 shops
$53.99
$140
29 likes
Light Orewood Brown / Medium Soft Pink / Blue Lightning / Emerald Rise
Light Orewood Brown / Medium Soft Pink / Blue Lightning / Emerald Rise
in 5 shops
$55.97
$140
26 likes
Gym Red / Metallic Gold / Fir / Court Purple / Flat Opal / White
Gym Red / Metallic Gold / Fir / Court Purple / Flat Opal / White
in 5 shops
$58.97
$140
10 likes
Game Royal / White Black
Game Royal / White Black
in 4 shops
$65.97
$140
11 likes
University Red / White / Black
University Red / White / Black
in 4 shops
$69.97
$140
10 likes
"Nigerian Nightmare"
"Nigerian Nightmare"
in 3 shops
$69.99
$140
9 likes
Black / White / Pure Platinum
Black / White / Pure Platinum
in 6 shops
$70.00
$140
11 likes
Noble Red / Desert Berry / Guava Ice / Ice Peach
Noble Red / Desert Berry / Guava Ice / Ice Peach
in 5 shops
$77.97
$140
15 likes
Fossil Stone / Celestial Gold / Alabaster
Fossil Stone / Celestial Gold / Alabaster
in 5 shops
$83.99
$140
5 likes
Black / Pure Platinum / Wolf Grey / University Red
Black / Pure Platinum / Wolf Grey / University Red
in 6 shops
$84.97
$140
18 likes
White / White / Black
White / White / Black
in 4 shops
$89.97
$140
8 likes
Soft Yellow / Photo Blue / White
Soft Yellow / Photo Blue / White
in 5 shops
$89.97
$140
38 likes
Black / Fuchsia Dream / Baltic Blue
Black / Fuchsia Dream / Baltic Blue
in 4 shops
$104.99
$140
1 likes
Green / Light Photo / Blue
Green / Light Photo / Blue
in 4 shops
$140.00

Nike Zoom Freak 5 Review

Pros:
Phenomenal traction grip
Bouncy yet comfortable foam
Cons:
Unforgiving fit
Lack of tech

Performance of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

The Nike Zoom Freak 5 departs from the typical shoes in Giannis Antetokounmpo's line. The traction performance is phenomenal. Reviewers agree there's no break-in time, and the shoe performs well out of the box. Nike cut back on the complex tech in the cushioning, but it still has bounce. It feels springy and stable. The fit is unforgiving, especially for wide-footers. It also feels snug. Support and lockdown are decent. Most of the security comes from the stable foam and lacing system. The Nike Zoom Freak 5 has outstanding traction, and the cushioning gets the job done.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #204 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Nike Zoom Freak 5 is close to perfect. All aspects of the shoe are impressive and perform well. The traction and cushioning remind me of the Kobe 5.
 More details
8.6
August 22, 2023
I felt quick playing in the Nike Zoom Freak 5. The traction is top-tier, and the cushioning is comfortable. I like how the shoe feels on foot. It suits my play style.
 More details
8.0
July 27, 2023
I think the Nike Zoom Freak 5 is a solid shoe. The traction and cushioning get the job done. The materials could be better. I'm not a fan of the looks, though.
 More details
7.8
August 9, 2023
The Nike Zoom Freak 5 isn't a poor performer, but the shoe feels cheap. The traction and cushioning are decent, but I don't enjoy the materials.
 More details
7.7
August 16, 2023
The Nike Zoom Freak 5 is my favourite shoe in Giannis's line. I'm enjoying the cushioning and traction setups.
 More details
7.6
July 14, 2023
The Nike Zoom Freak 5 feels like a more secure version of the 4. I enjoyed the stability, and the traction and cushion let me play a quick style.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

User Rating: 8.7 (ranks #132 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
8.6
December 29, 2023
good shoe overall, does everything well traction stops and bites hard and well. dust picks up but only bothers it slightly, u won’t get a true hard bite on a dusty court cushion is fully exposed and soft, worried about it bottoming out, nothing super special, didn’t jump out to me as the best feature support is great, lace line and wings makes the support top tier. only thing that stops it from 10 is torsional support, which i can’t really notice on most shoes but could notice in this shoe
 More details
8.9
November 4, 2023
While the Zoom Freak 1 will remain my favorite silhouette, the ZF5 is the best performer to date. This shoe is a perfect blend between the Freak 1 and 2. The great lockdown, low profile, focus on heel cushioning, and flexibility from the ZF1 blended with the Forefoot zoom and midsole aesthetics from the ZF2. The shoe leans slightly towards impact protection, but still provides plenty of bounce. The traction in the heel was the perfect use for Nike’s new smear traction setup from the GT Cut 2.
 More details
8.4
January 10, 2024
The ZOOM FREAK 5 is AWESOME for point guard!! Personally i prefer the Freak 4 because the stability and the cushining but the 5 is great. Traction is Top Notch, I don't have much to say, only issue is the durability. Cushining is great, very good compresion and the shock absorvation is good on the heel. Material i didn't like so much because is not so durable and not so safe but is very comfortable. Lockdown and the stability is decent but for me it doesn't fit so well because i need security
 More details
8.6
December 20, 2023
Phenomenal traction I like to use kyries and thought this may be the closest Nike shoe to it and I was right heel cushioning is soft and responsive just lacking a forefoot strobel
 More details
10.0
August 4, 2023
I enjoyed playing in this shoe, very lightweight and good for forwards with good amount of cushlon and zoom air
 More details

Traction of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.7 (ranks #125 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 8.6 (ranks #166 of 303)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
The traction was phenomenal right out of the box, especially the side-to-side lateral traction.
 More details
10.0
August 22, 2023
The traction is freaking top-tier. You stop on a dime. It fights through dust well, too.
 More details
8.0
July 27, 2023
The traction works. It's plenty grippy.
 More details
8.0
August 9, 2023
I had no issues with the traction.
 More details
8.0
August 16, 2023
You won't have too many issues with traction performance on indoor or outdoor courts as long as you wipe.
 More details
9.0
July 14, 2023
The traction pattern is phenomenal for grip. It feels quick during play too.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.3 (ranks #171 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 8.8 (ranks #109 of 303)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
The cushioning is soft, springy, and responsive. My first step was popping.
 More details
9.0
August 22, 2023
The compression is comfortable. I enjoyed the bounceback from the foam, and the forefoot Zoom feels nice.
 More details
8.0
July 27, 2023
Cushioning takes a step back from the Zoom Freak 4. It gets the job done but isn't as springy.
 More details
8.0
August 9, 2023
I enjoyed the cushioning. The foam has impact protection, and it feels soft. I don't feel the Zoom units, though.
 More details
7.5
August 16, 2023
The foam is Phylon and feels bouncy, especially under the heel. The forefoot Zoom bag also provides springiness underfoot. I'm concerned about the foam bottoming out, though.
 More details
8.0
July 14, 2023
The cushioning setup is minimal. I'm impressed with the bounciness of the foam. The shoe is also low to the ground.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.5 (ranks #265 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #175 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
The materials feel solid and are decently breathable.
 More details
8.0
August 22, 2023
The materials feel synthetic and cheap. It's cozy and soft in terms of performance. Ventilation is not good, though.
 More details
8.0
July 27, 2023
The materials feel soft. Breathability isn't the best, but the lacing system is set up well.
 More details
7.0
August 9, 2023
The upper feels comfortable, but the materials feel cheap.
 More details
7.0
August 16, 2023
I'm not a fan of synthetic materials because they feel cheap. I appreciate the shoe having no break-in time and feeling breathable.
 More details
7.0
July 14, 2023
The materials provide a decent amount of lockdown. It's breathable, but it retains moisture.
 More details

Support of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

Expert Support Rating: 7.8 (ranks #258 of 303)
User Support Rating: 8.2 (ranks #211 of 303)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
Support feels pretty good. I also felt stable through all movements.
 More details
8.0
August 22, 2023
I had zero issues with support and containment. You should be fine laterally.
 More details
8.0
July 27, 2023
I had no issues with the support and lockdown.
 More details
8.0
August 9, 2023
I had no issues with heel lockdown or slippage. The support was solid.
 More details
7.5
August 16, 2023
The support setup feels basic. The ankle support feels solid. The materials also provide decent containment, but there's a lack of midfoot support in the shoe.
 More details
7.0
July 14, 2023
The lacing system keeps you secure and locked into the shoe, but there's no torsional support.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.9 (ranks #248 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #142 of 303)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
The shoe starts snug, but it loosens up after some play. It feels comfortable around your feet, except for the medial side of the shoe when you tighten the laces.
 More details
8.0
August 22, 2023
The Zoom Freak 5 fits short, so I went up half a size for a perfect fit.
 More details
8.0
July 27, 2023
The fit feels standard but narrow.
 More details
8.0
August 9, 2023
I had no issues with the size.
 More details
8.5
August 16, 2023
The shoe felt like a straightjacket around my foot. There's not a lot of volume in the forefoot. I enjoyed the one-to-one feeling.
 More details
7.0
July 14, 2023
The shoe feels unforgiving for non-normal foot shapes but breaks in during play. I didn't experience any discomfort despite the constriction.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

User Durability Rating: 7.8 (ranks #242 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1

Outdoor of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 30.0 (ranks #169 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #162 of 303)
Good (100%)
2
Fair (50%)
9
Bad (0%)
4
I don't recommend using these shoes outdoors.
 More details
fair
August 22, 2023
Durability isn't the best. It's not terrible, though.
 More details
fair
July 27, 2023
These shoes should be fine for outdoor play.
 More details
fair
August 9, 2023
Outdoor durability looks decent.
 More details
no
August 16, 2023
These are a no-go for outdoor play, in my opinion.
 More details

Width of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
6
regular
14
slightly wide
0
very wide
1
slightly narrow
Wide footers consider going up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 27, 2023
The shoe is slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
August 16, 2023
The tapered forefoot feels narrow. Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 14, 2023
Go up half a size if you have a 2E foot.
 More details

Size of the Nike Zoom Freak 5:

very small
1
slightly small
1
true to size
18
slightly long
3
very long
0
true to size
I went true to size.
 More details
½ size small
August 22, 2023
I had to go up half a size.
 More details
true to size
July 27, 2023
Go true to size for a snug fit, and up half a size for a comfy fit.
 More details
true to size
August 9, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
August 16, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
July 14, 2023
Narrow and medium feet can go true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: