Search Shoe

Nike Zoom KD 9 Review

Nike Zoom KD 9
Nike Zoom KD 9
Nike Zoom KD 9
Nike Zoom KD 9
8.6
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$149.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
6/2016
Ranking:
Traction
8.9
Cushion
9.6
Materials
8.7
Support
7.5
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
0%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Zoom KD 9:

Multicolor / Multicolor
Multicolor / Multicolor
No stores found
White / Burnt Orange
White / Burnt Orange
No stores found
Black / Hot Punch
Black / Hot Punch
No stores found
White / Black / White
White / Black / White
No stores found
Game Royal / Black / White
Game Royal / Black / White
No stores found
Black / Black / Anthracite
Black / Black / Anthracite
No stores found
Black / Metallic Gold / White
Black / Metallic Gold / White
No stores found
Black / Clear Jade
Black / Clear Jade
No stores found
White / University Red / Race Blue
White / University Red / Race Blue
No stores found
Varsity Red / White
Varsity Red / White
No stores found
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
No stores found
Deep Burgundy / Metallic Red / Bronze
Deep Burgundy / Metallic Red / Bronze
No stores found
Obsidian/ Dark Purple Dust / Black
Obsidian/ Dark Purple Dust / Black
No stores found
Wolf Grey / Dark Grey
Wolf Grey / Dark Grey
No stores found
University Red / White / Black
University Red / White / Black
No stores found
Wolf Grey / Multi-Color
Wolf Grey / Multi-Color
No stores found
Blue / White
Blue / White
No stores found

Summary of 8 Expert Reviews:

Pros:

Very comfortable cushioning
Snug fit

CONS:

Minimal support
Very hard to put on

Performance of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

The KD9 is a clear step forward for the KD line. All reviewers highlight the good traction and the insanely comfortable cushioning. Some critics even feel that the cushioning is a little too much for a performance basketball sneaker. The one-piece bootie design is a pain to get into and the support features are minimal. Overall a very good performance sneaker that works for all types of basketball players.
See all 8 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

The 8.6 average overall rating ranks #49 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
As a performance sneaker, it just didn’t work for me. Above all else, the one thing I need to have in a shoe is confidence, and I didn’t have it in the KD 9.
8.4
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The KD 9 is a shoe everyone will enjoy, mainly because the fit, comfort and cushioning is amazing right out of the box. However, I need a little more support, containment, and traction during competitive play.
8.4
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
You receive solid traction, fantastic cushion, great materials, and if you get the size that fits you best, you’ll also receive a solid and secure fit for optimal support.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.5
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
The shoe gets the job done and performs very well. Unfortunately, the upper material is not very comfortable and the price is a little too high for what you get.
Watch the video
8.8
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
I think this is the best overall sneaker out right now. A very versatile shoe that works for all type of players.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
At $150 the KD9 is a good deal considering the great performance it delivers.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Overall, definitely get these. The cushioning feels really nice, the traction is good and the materials are super premium.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Best. KD. EVER. Seriously. Besides a little less support than some need, there are no problems with this shoe. Traction — excellent. Cushioning — beyond excellent. Materials — the best Nike has to offer.

Traction of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

The 8.9 average traction rating ranks #41 of 123 shoes overall
10.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
From the first wearing on, the KD 9 offered outstanding on-court grip.
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The KD 9 features a honeycomb pattern and it works great on clean floors or when wiped.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The rubber compound used on the versions with solid rubber outsoles will offer you incredibly sticky traction.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Never have I been so surprised by the traction. This sh*t is incredible!
Watch the video
9.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Got the job done on any court I played on.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The honeycomb traction pattern performs well.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
If you are playing on a clean court, the traction performs quite well. On a dusty court, it requires frequent wiping.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The solid outsole provides some of the best traction on clean and dusty courts.

Cushion of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

The 9.6 average cushion rating ranks #7 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
From a pure comfort standpoint, the cushioning is outstanding. But the downside is that it’s a little too soft when it comes to performance.
10.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Cushioning is fantastic and is truly the highlight of the shoe from a visual and performance standpoint.
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
This sh*t is amazing. Smooth transition, ultimate impact protection, and ultimate responsiveness.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
The cushioning setup is very well balanced.
Watch the video
10.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
I fell in love with the full-length articulated Zoom.
Watch the video
10.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The Zoom cushioning is a different animal! Almost perfectly well balanced.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The full-length Zoom Air cushioning system feels amazing.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
This is the bouncy, responsive, energy returning Nike Zoom cushioning. Dang perfect.

Materials of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

The 8.7 average materials rating ranks #47 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I think this upper feels better than previous glue backed Flyknits by a mile.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
This is the best iteration of Flyknit we’ve received on a Nike Basketball model to date.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
There is too much Flyknit and it is knitted way too tight. Form a performance standpoint I don't feel it.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Flyknit material is awesome.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The upper is very soft yet pliable and the padding inside of the shoe feels very premium.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
True knit that is flexible, comfy, and requires no break-in time.

Support of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

The 7.5 average support rating ranks #114 of 123 shoes overall
7.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
The KD 9 fell short of the lockdown I was looking for. I also found that the shoe was greatly in need of an outrigger.
7.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Support isn’t anything special, in fact, it is a little lackluster.
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Nike KD 9’s support is essentially riding on one key aspect: the overall fit.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Support felt great, heel lockdown is good thanks to the padding.
Watch the video
7.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
I am a little disappointed by the lockdown and support. I am not a big fan of the one piece booty setup.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The upper materials are so soft that containment suffers.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The low-cut shoe doesn't offer much ankle protection but the Flyknit material provides a lot of support and lockdown.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Basically, a sock with a sole, so support structures are not at the front of the design ideas here.

Fit of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

The 8.3 average fit rating ranks #81 of 123 shoes overall
7.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
The KD 9 features a full bootie-style upper, which is a construction method I’m not a fan of.
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The upper really hugs the foot and gives a great one to one fit.
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
They’re hard as hell to get on my foot, but once they’re on I’m locked in perfectly.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
If you don't have very wide feet then these are really comfortable.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Materials wrap around the foot nicely and there is no dead space in the toe area.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I almost pulled my shoulder out of socket getting them on

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 0% average outdoor rating ranks #120 of 123 shoes overall
no
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I do not recommend these for outdoors due to the softness of the rubber as well as the Flyknit upper.
no
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
This outsole is probably not ideal for outdoor use.
Watch the Video|Read the article
no
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Outdoors? It won't last very long.

Width of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

slightly narrow
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The KD line has always run narrow.
very narrow
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Not recommended for wide-footers.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
They are slightly narrow like most Kd's.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The shoe is rather narrow.
Watch the Video|Read the article
slightly narrow
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I went half a size up to get my feed into the shoe.

Size of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

½ size large
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
If you have a narrow foot, go down half a size, if you have a wide foot stay true to size.
½ size large
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I went down 1/2 size and length wise they fit perfectly.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
You want to go true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
They fit true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Runs true to size for me.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Length-wise the shoe runs true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article