Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Harden Stepback 3

Released 1/2022, Low Top, James Harden, 
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
8.7
USER RATING
22 ratings
The Adidas Harden Stepback 3 is a solid performance basketball shoe for players on a budget.

Best Suitable For:

Recommended for guards that heavily rely on footwork

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $79.99
KicksCrew
from $61.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (4)
User Ratings (22)
Traction
8.5
Cushion
7.8
Materials
8.0
Support
8.0
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
83%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas Harden Stepback 3
Adidas Harden Stepback 3
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 10
New Balance TWO WXY V3
New Balance TWO WXY V3
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Jordan One Take 4
Jordan One Take 4
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.28.8(0.6)8.7(0.5)8.7(0.5)8.3(0.1)8.1(0.1)
User Rating8.79.0(0.3)9.1(0.4)9.2(0.5)8.7(0.0)8.4(0.3)
Best Price$79.99
$132.99
$160
$69.99
$120
$90
$160
$89.99
$110
$53.97
$100
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight410g - 430g350g - 360g350g - 360g350g - 360g330g - 350g310g - 330g
 Show More
9 likes
Magic Lilac / Shadow Navy / Pulse Amber
Magic Lilac / Shadow Navy / Pulse Amber
from KicksCrew
$61.00
16 likes
Magic Lime / Core
Magic Lime / Core
No stores found
15 likes
Orange / Off White
Orange / Off White
No stores found

Adidas Harden Stepback 3 Review

Pros:
Solid, reliable traction
Comfortable budget materials
Cons:
Not the most breathable shoe

Performance of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

The traction on the Harden Stepback 3 is the shoe's best feature. It's a hard rubber that grips well on most courts. Adidas's Bounce cushion is comfortable, but the internal shank is the feature that provides the bounce. The materials aren't premium, but they're comfortable. The comfortable materials also help make the fit better too. The shoe fits snugly, and a reviewer noted it's similar to the Trae Young 1. Support and lockdown were not an issue in this shoe. The Adidas Harden Stepback 3 is a budget shoe providing plenty of bang for your buck.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #207 of 295)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
April 13, 2023
The Adidas Harden Stepback 3 showed great results during our tests. The traction and cushioning will be solid for guards and wings.
 More details
8.4
July 26, 2022
I was presently surprised with the Adidas Harden Stepback 3. They might be the best budget shoe in recent memory, especially for shifty guards that rely on heavy footwork.
 More details
7.8
August 16, 2022
The Adidas Harden Stepback 3 is a comfortable budget shoe. The traction was reliable, and I enjoyed how the materials felt.
 More details
7.8
December 22, 2022
I had a good time playing in the Adidas Harden Stepback 3. The traction performed nicely, the cushion was responsive, and I enjoyed the fit. I do wish impact protection was better, though.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

User Rating: 8.7 (ranks #129 of 295)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.3
December 27, 2022
The shoe is overall pretty good, the traction and outdoor performances are really good even when you're playing on a paved road. I have a wide feet and i sticked true to size which i think was a good idea. But i don't know if it's my wide feet or not that's causing me to feel a burn below my toes whenever i stay idle for a couple of minutes. Basically, i really recommend this shoes if you're on a budget. You might wanna go up half a size if you got a super wide feet, if not, stick true to size.
 More details
8.8
January 11, 2024
I really liked the Stepback 3!!! An incredible shoe for the price. The traction is EXTREMELY GOOD on both courts and it's very durable. The cushioning isn't amazing, because at times my heel hurt a bit and after 30 minutes of playing with it, my feet hurt a bit. Although it doesn't have amazing cushioning, the material, the lock and the stability help with court feel and safety, which is why it's so much fun to play in. The fit is great for me due to the large base in the forefoot.
 More details
8.8
April 15, 2023
I love the dell of the materials and the cushion. The traction is incredible outdoors but completely horrid indoors if not warmed up. Playing in these indoors was completely unbearable for me I was constantly slipping. Outdoors is the complete opposite however. The traction, cushion court fell fit and bounce are all on point. I would only recommend it for outdoor though.
 More details
8.5
May 1, 2023
i’ve been using these as outdoor, good mostly except for the very side of the shoe that u can tell has shown some wear after around 2 months, very good shoe. heel compression isn’t great, very caged, but the bounce foam is great. essentially since the shoe was only £49
 More details
7.8
December 17, 2022
solid budget shoe the only problem i have with the shoe is that cushion is mid and foot hurts after long time period, traction can sometimes slipout after dust build up
 More details

Traction of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #153 of 295)
User Traction Rating: 8.7 (ranks #152 of 295)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
April 13, 2023
The traction provides excellent grip, and dust pickup is not an issue.
 More details
9.0
July 26, 2022
The outsole tread is my favourite part of the shoe. It grips well when going side-to-side.
 More details
8.0
August 16, 2022
The traction feels tacky and performed well.
 More details
8.0
December 22, 2022
After breaking in the traction, it started to perform well. You stop nicely on clean courts. It does pick up dust quickly, but it doesn't affect performance if you wipe it.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.8 (ranks #237 of 295)
User Cushion Rating: 8.3 (ranks #170 of 295)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
April 13, 2023
The Bounce foam evolves and provides impressive cushioning with the more you play. It's well-balanced. I had no issues with impact protection when dunking.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2022
Adidas built this midsole with performance in mind. The full-length Bounce foam is comfortable, and the shank makes the shoe bouncy.
 More details
7.0
August 16, 2022
The step-in comfort felt nice but could be better.
 More details
7.0
December 22, 2022
Adidas uses full-length Bounce to offer a solid court feel but not much compression.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #188 of 295)
User Materials Rating: 8.9 (ranks #56 of 295)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
April 13, 2023
The materials are simple and inexpensive. Breathability could be better.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2022
The materials remind me of the Trae Young 1, and the shoe offers similar comfort. The downside is they aren't the most breathable pair.
 More details
8.0
August 16, 2022
I like that the materials aren't heavy. The shoe isn't light, but it's well-balanced.
 More details
8.0
December 22, 2022
The materials are soft, and they conform to your foot well. There's no break in time for the shoe to feel comfortable.
 More details

Support of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

Expert Support Rating: 8.0 (ranks #219 of 295)
User Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #63 of 295)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
April 13, 2023
Heel lockdown is good. There's no pronounced outrigger, but the base is wide enough to keep you stable. There are no torsional plates, though.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2022
The lockdown and stability are solid in this shoe.
 More details
8.0
August 16, 2022
The ankle support feels solid for a budget shoe, but the comfort from the support features could be better.
 More details
8.0
December 22, 2022
Lateral containment is not an issue. I was also good to go with lateral stability.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #90 of 295)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #96 of 295)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
April 13, 2023
The shoe has no issues accommodating different foot shapes. It's well-padded and comfortable on your feet.
 More details
9.0
July 26, 2022
The forefoot is boxy and ergonomic, but the shoe can accommodate a lot of foot shapes.
 More details
8.0
August 16, 2022
The shoe fits too snugly for my liking. I prefer a bit more room when I play.
 More details
8.0
December 22, 2022
The shoe fits me well.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

User Durability Rating: 8.8 (ranks #89 of 295)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 83.3 (ranks #47 of 295)
User Outdoor Rating: 92.1 (ranks #30 of 295)
Good (100%)
19
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
1
good
July 26, 2022
The darker rubber is more durable than the lighter rubber, but the traction will still perform well outdoors.
 More details
fair
August 16, 2022
The rubber looks like it will last.
 More details
good
December 22, 2022
The rubber is thick enough to take outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
1
regular
16
slightly wide
5
very wide
1
regularly wide
July 26, 2022
Narrow footers might need to wear thicker socks. Medium and wide footers shouldn't have many issues.
 More details
slightly narrow
December 22, 2022
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details

Size of the Adidas Harden Stepback 3:

very small
0
slightly small
4
true to size
20
slightly long
1
very long
1
true to size
April 13, 2023
The Harden Stepback 3 runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
July 26, 2022
I recommend going true to size.
 More details
½ size small
August 16, 2022
I would go half a size up.
 More details
true to size
December 22, 2022
I went true to size and enjoyed the fit, but if you don't like your toes close to the front of the shoe, go up half a size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: