Search Shoe

Adidas Harden Vol. 4 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$129.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
10/2019
# of Reviews:
7
Traction
8.8
Cushion
8.6
Materials
8.9
Support
8.8
Fit
8.9
Outdoor
63%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

-31%
Core Black / Silver Met. / Bright Blue
$90.00
from Finishline
4 more shops
-23%
Glow Green / Core Black / Carbon
$99.99
from DICK's
4 more shops
-23%
Core Black / Tech Olive / Legend Earth
$99.99
from DICK's
3 more shops
-15%
Red / Core Black / Power Red
$110.00
from Finishline
4 more shops
-8%
Scarlet / Cloud White / Solar Red
$119.99
from Eastbay
2 more shops
-8%
Black / Active Purple / Metallic Gold / Metallic Silver
$119.99
from Eastbay
1 more shops
-8%
Bright Cyan / Real Pink / Cloud White
$119.99
from Eastbay
4 more shops
-8%
Core Black / Cloud White / Core Black
$119.99
from Eastbay
2 more shops
Grey Three / Cloud White / Grey Two
$129.99
from DICK's
2 more shops
Cloud White / Core Black / Pale Nude
$129.99
from DICK's
4 more shops
Black / White
$129.99
from DICK's
2 more shops
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Core Black
$130.00
from Eastbay
1 more shops
Collegiate Royal / Cloud White / Bright Blue
$130.00
from Eastbay
1 more shops
Light Pink / Glow Blue / Gold Metallic
$130.00
from Adidas

PROS:

  • One of the lighter Adidas shoes
  • Great all-around performance

CONS:

  • No longer uses Boost cushioning

Summary of 7 Expert Reviews:

The Vol. 4 is the first shoe in the James Harden signature line that comes without Boost cushioning. But that's not necessarily a bad thing as the Lightstrike cushioning provides a much lighter shoe that still feels very comfortable to play in. The traction works great on clean courts and requires only minimal wiping on dusty courts. Materials differ between colorways, you can choose between Primeknit or Mesh uppers - they all get the job done! If you are looking for a supportive, fast, and low-profile basketball shoe then the Harden Vol. 4 is a great choice!
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

The 8.8 average overall rating ranks #23 of 116 shoes overall
9.1
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 20, 2019
The Harden Vol. 4 is a nice shoe - the traction is good on most surfaces, Lightstrike works but isn’t overly bouncy or plush, and fit and support are good. But overall, I can't help but feel the Harden Vol.4 took a step back from the Vol.3.
8.4
RicheeKim
November 19, 2019
I really enjoyed playing in the Harden Vol. 4. If you are not looking for a ton of impact protection, this is a great performer!
Watch the video
8.6
PureKicks
November 18, 2019
I am not a low-top fan, but this is the best low-top I've played in a long time!
Watch the video
8.8
Schwollo
November 3, 2019
I think this is the best Harden so far! Outstanding traction when clean, great fit right out of the box, very stable and $10 cheaper than the V3.
9.2
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
The Harden Vol. 4 is fast, controlled, and has been a personal joy to play in. In my personal experience, this is a top performer!
8.7
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
I loved everything about the Harden 4 except the Lightstrike cushioning which was a little too soft and the elastic band in the midfoot which felt a little too tight and snug.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.8
The Sole Brothers
October 6, 2019
The Adidas Harden Vol. 4 is a really good performer! A perfect shoe for guards looking for a low-to-the-ground and supportive basketball shoe.
Watch the video

Traction of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

The 8.8 average traction rating ranks #45 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 20, 2019
The traction is not a dead stop, break-your-own-ankles grip, but more of a smooth stop and release.
9.0
RicheeKim
November 19, 2019
On clean courts, the traction is awesome. On dusty courts, you will just need to wipe from time to time, and you're good to go. For some reason, the traction was much better on the translucent rubber version.
Watch the video
8.0
PureKicks
November 18, 2019
The traction sucks the court nicely but needs wiping on dusty courts. Fortunately, this is a wipe-friendly shoe.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
November 3, 2019
The traction is excellent when clean or freshly wiped and still good enough on dusty courts.
9.5
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
Traction on the Harden Vol. 4 is crazy. I rarely had to wipe at all.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
The traction pattern doesn't look impressive but just works. On really bad floors I just wiped every-so-often and I was on my way.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
October 6, 2019
Really good bite on clean courts, but the traction pattern picks up dust quickly.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

The 8.6 average cushion rating ranks #63 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 20, 2019
The Lightstrike heel foam is thick and soft in the heel and thin and stiff in the forefoot.
8.0
RicheeKim
November 19, 2019
You get a nice chunk of Lightstrike cushioning in the heel, in the forefoot I would have liked a little more cushioning. If you like court feel and responsiveness, this shoe has you covered.
Watch the video
9.0
PureKicks
November 18, 2019
I loved the Lightstrike cushioning! A lot of foam in the heel for impact protection and a little less foam in the forefoot for more responsiveness and court feel.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
November 3, 2019
The Lightstrike cushioning is a very comfortable foam that plays low-to-the-ground.
9.5
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
The Lightstrike cushioning feels leaps and bounds better than most foams I've experienced in basketball shoes.
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
The new Lightstrike cushioning feels a little too soft for me.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
October 6, 2019
The Lightstrike cushioning provides amazing court feel, a slight bounce, and good impact protection.
Watch the video

Materials of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

The 8.9 average materials rating ranks #29 of 116 shoes overall
9.5
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 20, 2019
The materials of this colorway (SKU F97187) feel crazy premium for a modern basketball shoe,
9.0
RicheeKim
November 19, 2019
The full-textile upper materials feel premium and much-improved from the Harden 3.
Watch the video
9.0
PureKicks
November 18, 2019
Suede, mesh, leather, and elastic synthetics, and they all do their thing in the most amazing way! Arguably the most comfortable Harden shoe I've played in.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
November 3, 2019
Nothing offensive or outstanding about the materials, pretty much par for the price.
9.0
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
The Primeknit upper and synthetic overlays worked extremely well for me personally.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
Break-in time is quick and painless.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
October 6, 2019
The upper materials are soft, comfortable, but not super supportive.
Watch the video

Support of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

The 8.8 average support rating ranks #39 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 20, 2019
Support is good thanks to a wide base, stiff midfoot, raised lateral sidewalls, and strong heel counter.
8.0
RicheeKim
November 19, 2019
I didn't have any heel slippage or side-to-side movements on the footbed and the torsional rigidity was good.
Watch the video
8.0
PureKicks
November 18, 2019
The support comes from the wide lateral outrigger, the great overall fit, and lockdown of the lacing system, and the internal TPU counter. For a low-top, this is a very supportive shoe.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
November 3, 2019
The very wide base is great for stability and safety.
9.0
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
The wide base, low profile and strong caging provide a ton of support.
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
The low-to-the-ground setup really gradles your foot and the lacing system locks you in tightly.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
October 6, 2019
Great lockdown, very good lateral containment, and the low-to-the-ground and wide base provides a ton of stability.
Watch the video

Fit of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

The 8.9 average fit rating ranks #32 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 20, 2019
8.0
RicheeKim
November 19, 2019
There was some pain in the forefoot in the beginning, but after the initial break-in, the fit got really good.
Watch the video
9.0
PureKicks
November 18, 2019
It's a great-fitting shoe!
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
November 3, 2019
Zero heel slip or overall movement inside of the shoe.
9.0
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
Exceptional midfoot lockdown and no movement in the front.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
The elastic band area led to cramps in my feet during the first wear but it's gotten much better since then.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
October 6, 2019
The shoe is super easy to get on and comfortable to play-in.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 63% average outdoor rating ranks #36 of 116 shoes overall
fair
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 20, 2019
For outdoors I could see these working for a while as the rubber is a little harder than most on the market today.
good
PureKicks
November 18, 2019
I would definitely take them outdoors.
Watch the video
fair
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
The rubber may be strong enough to handle outdoors fairly well.
fair
The Sole Brothers
October 6, 2019
The rubber is pretty thick and hard.
Watch the video

Width of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

slightly narrow
RicheeKim
November 19, 2019
A little bit narrow in the forefoot around the pinkie toe.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Schwollo
November 3, 2019
The shoe fits very snugly and due to all the padding.
slightly narrow
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
The elastic band is pretty tight, so I would be cautious as a wide-footer.
regularly wide
The Sole Brothers
October 6, 2019
It starts off slightly narrow in the beginning but breaks in nicely.
Watch the video

Size of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

true to size
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 20, 2019
I stayed true to size in the Harden Vol. 4 and it was the right call.
½ size large
RicheeKim
November 19, 2019
Runs a little bit long.
Watch the video
true to size
PureKicks
November 18, 2019
Treu to size.
Watch the video
½ size large
Schwollo
November 3, 2019
They run a tad bit long.
true to size
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
True to size worked well for me.
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 10, 2019
Going true to size worked out perfectly for me.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
The Sole Brothers
October 6, 2019
Go true to your Adidas size.
Watch the video
Deals from $90.00:
-31%
Core Black / Silver Met. / Bright Blue
$90.00
from Finishline
-23%
Glow Green / Core Black / Carbon
$99.99
from DICK's
-23%
Core Black / Tech Olive / Legend Earth
$99.99
from DICK's
-15%
Red / Core Black / Power Red
$110.00
from Finishline
-8%
Scarlet / Cloud White / Solar Red
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Black / Active Purple / Metallic Gold / Metallic Silver
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Bright Cyan / Real Pink / Cloud White
$119.99
from Eastbay
-8%
Core Black / Cloud White / Core Black
$119.99
from Eastbay
Grey Three / Cloud White / Grey Two
$129.99
from DICK's
Cloud White / Core Black / Pale Nude
$129.99
from DICK's
Black / White
$129.99
from DICK's
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Core Black
$130.00
from Eastbay
Collegiate Royal / Cloud White / Bright Blue
$130.00
from Eastbay
Light Pink / Glow Blue / Gold Metallic
$130.00
from Adidas