Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Harden Vol. 4

Released 10/2019, Low Top, James Harden, 
Add to Favourites
8.8
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
8.5
USER RATING
21 ratings
Good traction, soft Lightstrike cushioning, and a fast, low-to-the-ground silhouette

Best Suitable For:

Best for guards looking for a fast, low-to-the-ground, and supportive shoe

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $129.99
DICK's
$77.97
$130
Buy Now
StockX
from $40.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (8)
User Ratings (21)
Traction
8.8
Cushion
8.7
Materials
8.9
Support
8.7
Fit
8.8
Outdoor
63%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas Harden Vol. 4
Adidas Harden Vol. 4
Under Armour Curry 8
Under Armour Curry 8
Air Jordan 36 Low
Air Jordan 36 Low
Nike KD 15
Nike KD 15
Puma Clyde All-Pro
Puma Clyde All-Pro
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.88.9(0.1)9.2(0.4)9.1(0.3)9.1(0.3)8.8(0.0)
User Rating8.59.0(0.5)9.5(1.0)9.5(1.0)9.1(0.6)9.8(1.3)
Best Price
$77.97
$130
$159.99
$164.99
$185
$150
$99.99
$130
$225
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight390g - 400g320g - 340gNA370g - 390g360g - 380gNA
 Show More
70 likes
Glow Green / Core Black / Carbon
Glow Green / Core Black / Carbon
from DICK's
$77.97
$130
50 likes
Core Black / Tech Olive / Legend Earth
Core Black / Tech Olive / Legend Earth
from StockX
$40.00
15 likes
Collegiate Purple / Orange / Grey Three
Collegiate Purple / Orange / Grey Three
from StockX
$44.00
32 likes
Core Black / Amber Tint / Glory Purple
Core Black / Amber Tint / Glory Purple
from StockX
$63.00
49 likes
Night Metallic / Glory Purple / Solar Red
Night Metallic / Glory Purple / Solar Red
from StockX
$65.00
48 likes
Signal Coral / Core Black / Signal Coral
Signal Coral / Core Black / Signal Coral
from StockX
$66.00
40 likes
Cloud White / Collegiate Navy / Scarlet
Cloud White / Collegiate Navy / Scarlet
from StockX
$69.00
57 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from StockX
$73.00
22 likes
Team Navy / Cloud White / Scarlet
Team Navy / Cloud White / Scarlet
from StockX
$73.00
47 likes
Active Purple / Core Black / Solar Orange
Active Purple / Core Black / Solar Orange
from StockX
$79.00
24 likes
Core Black / Pink Tint / Signal Green
Core Black / Pink Tint / Signal Green
from StockX
$79.00
35 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Shock Pink
Core Black / Cloud White / Shock Pink
from StockX
$80.00
60 likes
Cloud White / Gold Metallic / Solar Red
Cloud White / Gold Metallic / Solar Red
from StockX
$80.00
14 likes
Legacy Green / Cloud White / Solar Yellow
Legacy Green / Cloud White / Solar Yellow
from StockX
$87.00
51 likes
Solar Orange / Silver Metallic / Core Black
Solar Orange / Silver Metallic / Core Black
from StockX
$88.00
75 likes
Core Black / Amber Tint / Grey Six
Core Black / Amber Tint / Grey Six
from StockX
$97.00
50 likes
Cloud White / Red / Team Royal Blue
Cloud White / Red / Team Royal Blue
from StockX
$100.00
67 likes
Collegiate Royal / Cloud White / Bright Blue
Collegiate Royal / Cloud White / Bright Blue
from StockX
$101.00
8 likes
Royal Blue / Team Colleg Gold / Cloud White
Royal Blue / Team Colleg Gold / Cloud White
from StockX
$101.00
84 likes
Red / Core Black / Power Red
Red / Core Black / Power Red
from StockX
$102.00
75 likes
Black / Active Purple / Metallic Gold / Metallic Silver
Black / Active Purple / Metallic Gold / Metallic Silver
from StockX
$107.00
97 likes
Core Black / Silver Met. / Bright Blue
Core Black / Silver Met. / Bright Blue
from StockX
$109.00
70 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Core Black
Core Black / Cloud White / Core Black
from StockX
$114.00
129 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Pale Nude
Cloud White / Core Black / Pale Nude
from StockX
$118.00
60 likes
Scarlet / Cloud White / Solar Red
Scarlet / Cloud White / Solar Red
from StockX
$120.00
89 likes
Bright Cyan / Real Pink / Cloud White
Bright Cyan / Real Pink / Cloud White
from StockX
$136.00
54 likes
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Core Black
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Core Black
from StockX
$175.00
69 likes
Grey Three / Cloud White / Grey Two
Grey Three / Cloud White / Grey Two
from StockX
$217.00
110 likes
Light Pink / Glow Blue / Gold Metallic
Light Pink / Glow Blue / Gold Metallic
from StockX
$285.00
44 likes
Core Black / Core Black / Solid Grey
Core Black / Core Black / Solid Grey
No stores found

Adidas Harden Vol. 4 Review

Pros:
One of the lighter Adidas shoes
Great all-around performance
Cons:
No longer uses Boost cushioning

Performance of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

The Vol. 4 is the first shoe in the James Harden signature line that comes without Boost cushioning. But that's not necessarily a bad thing as the Lightstrike cushioning provides a much lighter shoe that still feels very comfortable to play in. The traction works great on clean courts and requires only minimal wiping on dusty courts. Materials differ between colorways, you can choose between Primeknit or Mesh uppers - they all get the job done! If you are looking for a supportive, fast, and low-profile basketball shoe then the Harden Vol. 4 is a great choice!
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

Expert Rating: 8.8 (ranks #37 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Harden Vol. 4 is fast, controlled, and has been a personal joy to play in. In my personal experience, this is a top performer!
 More details
9.1
The Harden Vol. 4 is a nice shoe - the traction is good on most surfaces, Lightstrike works but isn’t overly bouncy or plush, and fit and support are good. But overall, I can't help but feel the Harden Vol.4 took a step back from the Vol.3.
 More details
8.8
October 6, 2019
The Adidas Harden Vol. 4 is a really good performer! A perfect shoe for guards looking for a low-to-the-ground and supportive basketball shoe.
 More details
8.8
November 3, 2019
I think this is the best Harden so far! Outstanding traction when clean, great fit right out of the box, very stable and $10 cheaper than the V3.
 More details
I loved everything about the Harden 4 except the Lightstrike cushioning which was a little too soft and the elastic band in the midfoot which felt a little too tight and snug.
 More details
8.6
November 18, 2019
I am not a low-top fan, but this is the best low-top I've played in a long time!
 More details
8.6
May 7, 2021
The Adidas Harden Vol. 4 is a great performer. Adidas used something other than Boost for the first time in a Harden shoe, and the Lightstrike actually felt good. It's lighter than Boost but still felt bouncy. Combined with its consistent traction and solid fit, the Harden Vol. 4 doesn't disappoint.
 More details
8.4
November 19, 2019
I really enjoyed playing in the Harden Vol. 4. If you are not looking for a ton of impact protection, this is a great performer!
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

User Rating: 8.5 (ranks #123 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
March 20, 2022
At the beginning the midfoot band chokes your foot, but after a week or two it breaks it in. Perfect for outdoor, very durable also for toe drags. After a year of playing the knit started tearing off, but it's fine. The outsole started to wear out after two months of intensive outdoor use (from 3 to 5 hours every day). So I recommend the outdoor use for this shoe. Great look by the way, one of the best in harden's line
 More details
8.4
November 9, 2021
Reporting on Chinese New Year colorway which might be significantly different. Super premium upper materials, less padding inside. Played in them once, noticed that Lightstrike feels different comparing to Next Level; not that thick, not that responsive, on a softer side. I wear 11.5 and those shoes were really long for me. Presented them to my friend who wears 13 and it was a perfect fit for him (yikes, Adidas!)
 More details
8.2
January 5, 2022
The harden vol. 4 was a great shoe for me. The traction was amazing, the cushion was great. Also the break in period is at most only maybe 3 pick ups games and its broke in. The laces at first come undone often but fine after a while. I don't know if the colorway had anything to do with it but after 4 months of main playing the shoe the translucent outsole peeled off a inch or so under the shoe...
 More details
8.4
November 25, 2021
The traction on colorways with the translucent outsole was super squeaky and had an insane bite, but the colorways with the solid rubber outsole were inconsistent and picked up dust easily. The lightstrike in the heel was very soft, yet firm in the forefoot (a little too firm sometimes). The materials were okay, and the support was there.
 More details
7.3
April 11, 2022
This particular shoe on “clean courts” is fair. On dust/dirty courts they absolutely suck. The materials are pretty premium considering the fact they have a good bit of cushioning. Great budget shoe just wouldn’t recommend for someone who looks forward to traction or court feel.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #84 of 219)
User Traction Rating: 8.4 (ranks #132 of 219)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
Traction on the Harden Vol. 4 is crazy. I rarely had to wipe at all.
 More details
9.0
The traction is not a dead stop, break-your-own-ankles grip, but more of a smooth stop and release.
 More details
8.0
October 6, 2019
Really good bite on clean courts, but the traction pattern picks up dust quickly.
 More details
9.0
November 3, 2019
The traction is excellent when clean or freshly wiped and still good enough on dusty courts.
 More details
The traction pattern doesn't look impressive but just works. On really bad floors I just wiped every-so-often and I was on my way.
 More details
8.0
November 18, 2019
The traction sucks the court nicely but needs wiping on dusty courts. Fortunately, this is a wipe-friendly shoe.
 More details
9.0
May 7, 2021
Traction needs a light wipe every now and then, but it performs consistently well on all court conditions. Even with the wiping, it still gripped the dustier courts.
 More details
9.0
November 19, 2019
On clean courts, the traction is awesome. On dusty courts, you will just need to wipe from time to time, and you're good to go. For some reason, the traction was much better on the translucent rubber version.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.7 (ranks #94 of 219)
User Cushion Rating: 8.5 (ranks #111 of 219)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
The Lightstrike cushioning feels leaps and bounds better than most foams I've experienced in basketball shoes.
 More details
9.0
The Lightstrike heel foam is thick and soft in the heel and thin and stiff in the forefoot.
 More details
9.0
October 6, 2019
The Lightstrike cushioning provides amazing court feel, a slight bounce, and good impact protection.
 More details
9.0
November 3, 2019
The Lightstrike cushioning is a very comfortable foam that plays low-to-the-ground.
 More details
The new Lightstrike cushioning feels a little too soft for me.
 More details
9.0
November 18, 2019
I loved the Lightstrike cushioning! A lot of foam in the heel for impact protection and a little less foam in the forefoot for more responsiveness and court feel.
 More details
9.0
May 7, 2021
For the first time in a Harden shoe, the cushion is not Boost. I like the newly implemented Lightstrike. It feels like a marriage of Boost and Bounce. It has the bounciness of Boost and the responsiveness of Bounce.
 More details
8.0
November 19, 2019
You get a nice chunk of Lightstrike cushioning in the heel, in the forefoot I would have liked a little more cushioning. If you like court feel and responsiveness, this shoe has you covered.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.9 (ranks #40 of 219)
User Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #71 of 219)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
16
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Primeknit upper and synthetic overlays worked extremely well for me personally.
 More details
9.5
The materials of this colorway (SKU F97187) feel crazy premium for a modern basketball shoe,
 More details
9.0
October 6, 2019
The upper materials are soft, comfortable, but not super supportive.
 More details
8.0
November 3, 2019
Nothing offensive or outstanding about the materials, pretty much par for the price.
 More details
Break-in time is quick and painless.
 More details
9.0
November 18, 2019
Suede, mesh, leather, and elastic synthetics, and they all do their thing in the most amazing way! Arguably the most comfortable Harden shoe I've played in.
 More details
9.0
May 7, 2021
The upper is mostly made up of synthetic materials, but they perform very nicely.
 More details
9.0
November 19, 2019
The full-textile upper materials feel premium and much-improved from the Harden 3.
 More details

Support of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

Expert Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #76 of 219)
User Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #140 of 219)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
The wide base, low profile and strong caging provide a ton of support.
 More details
9.0
Support is good thanks to a wide base, stiff midfoot, raised lateral sidewalls, and strong heel counter.
 More details
9.0
October 6, 2019
Great lockdown, very good lateral containment, and the low-to-the-ground and wide base provides a ton of stability.
 More details
9.0
November 3, 2019
The very wide base is great for stability and safety.
 More details
The low-to-the-ground setup really gradles your foot and the lacing system locks you in tightly.
 More details
8.0
November 18, 2019
The support comes from the wide lateral outrigger, the great overall fit, and lockdown of the lacing system, and the internal TPU counter. For a low-top, this is a very supportive shoe.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
The shoe is very supportive and well contained. I had no issues with support.
 More details
8.0
November 19, 2019
I didn't have any heel slippage or side-to-side movements on the footbed and the torsional rigidity was good.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #48 of 219)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #74 of 219)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
Exceptional midfoot lockdown and no movement in the front.
 More details
9.0
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.0
October 6, 2019
The shoe is super easy to get on and comfortable to play-in.
 More details
9.0
November 3, 2019
Zero heel slip or overall movement inside of the shoe.
 More details
The elastic band area led to cramps in my feet during the first wear but it's gotten much better since then.
 More details
9.0
November 18, 2019
It's a great-fitting shoe!
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
The Harden Vol. 4 fits great if you get the right size. It feels like it's hugging your foot.
 More details
8.0
November 19, 2019
There was some pain in the forefoot in the beginning, but after the initial break-in, the fit got really good.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

User Durability Rating: 8.2 (ranks #135 of 219)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 62.5 (ranks #75 of 219)
User Outdoor Rating: 73.5 (ranks #68 of 219)
Good (100%)
9
Fair (50%)
12
Bad (0%)
0
The rubber may be strong enough to handle outdoors fairly well.
 More details
fair
For outdoors I could see these working for a while as the rubber is a little harder than most on the market today.
 More details
fair
October 6, 2019
The rubber is pretty thick and hard.
 More details
good
November 18, 2019
I would definitely take them outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
7
regular
6
slightly wide
11
very wide
2
slightly narrow
The elastic band is pretty tight, so I would be cautious as a wide-footer.
 More details
regularly wide
October 6, 2019
It starts off slightly narrow in the beginning but breaks in nicely.
 More details
slightly narrow
November 3, 2019
The shoe fits very snugly and due to all the padding.
 More details
slightly wide
May 7, 2021
Wide-footers should be good to go true to size.
 More details
slightly narrow
November 19, 2019
A little bit narrow in the forefoot around the pinkie toe.
 More details

Size of the Adidas Harden Vol. 4:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
14
slightly long
12
very long
1
true to size
True to size worked well for me.
 More details
true to size
I stayed true to size in the Harden Vol. 4 and it was the right call.
 More details
true to size
October 6, 2019
Go true to your Adidas size.
 More details
½ size large
November 3, 2019
They run a tad bit long.
 More details
true to size
Going true to size worked out perfectly for me.
 More details
true to size
November 18, 2019
Treu to size.
 More details
½ size large
May 7, 2021
I have a regular shaped foot, and half a size down was good for me.
 More details
½ size large
November 19, 2019
Runs a little bit long.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: