Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Zoom KD 9

Released 6/2016, Mid Top, Kevin Durant
Add to Favourites
8.6
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
9.4
USER RATING
1 ratings
Good traction and insanely comfortable cushioning

Best Suitable For:

Perfect for players who need maximum impact protection and cushioning

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $149.99
StockX
from $180.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.9
Cushion
9.6
Materials
8.7
Support
7.5
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
0%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
28 likes
Black / Clear Jade
Black / Clear Jade
from StockX
$180.00
19 likes
Wolf Grey / Multi-Color
Wolf Grey / Multi-Color
from StockX
$180.00
25 likes
Multicolor / Multicolor
Multicolor / Multicolor
from StockX
$187.00
20 likes
Varsity Red / White
Varsity Red / White
from StockX
$190.00
19 likes
Black / Black / Anthracite
Black / Black / Anthracite
from StockX
$195.00
15 likes
University Red / White / Black
University Red / White / Black
from StockX
$211.00
12 likes
Deep Burgundy / Metallic Red / Bronze
Deep Burgundy / Metallic Red / Bronze
from StockX
$215.00
10 likes
White / Burnt Orange
White / Burnt Orange
from StockX
$220.00
14 likes
Black / Hot Punch
Black / Hot Punch
from StockX
$225.00
17 likes
Blue / White
Blue / White
from StockX
$236.00
21 likes
Black / Metallic Gold / White
Black / Metallic Gold / White
from StockX
$250.00
12 likes
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
from StockX
$269.00
12 likes
Game Royal / Black / White
Game Royal / Black / White
from StockX
$275.00
14 likes
Wolf Grey / Dark Grey
Wolf Grey / Dark Grey
from StockX
$275.00
18 likes
White / University Red / Race Blue
White / University Red / Race Blue
from StockX
$305.00
13 likes
White / Black / White
White / Black / White
No stores found
11 likes
Obsidian/ Dark Purple Dust / Black
Obsidian/ Dark Purple Dust / Black
No stores found

Nike Zoom KD 9 Review

Pros:
Very comfortable cushioning
Snug fit
Cons:
Minimal support
Very hard to put on

Performance of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

The KD9 is a clear step forward for the KD line. All reviewers highlight the good traction and the insanely comfortable cushioning. Some critics even feel that the cushioning is a little too much for a performance basketball sneaker. The one-piece bootie design is a pain to get into and the support features are minimal. Overall a very good performance sneaker that works for all types of basketball players.
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

Expert Rating: 8.6 (ranks #81 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
Best. KD. EVER. Seriously. Besides a little less support than some need, there are no problems with this shoe. Traction — excellent. Cushioning — beyond excellent. Materials — the best Nike has to offer.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Overall, definitely get these. The cushioning feels really nice, the traction is good and the materials are super premium.
 More details
9.0
At $150 the KD9 is a good deal considering the great performance it delivers.
 More details
8.8
January 1, 2017
I think this is the best overall sneaker out right now. A very versatile shoe that works for all type of players.
 More details
8.5
January 1, 2017
The shoe gets the job done and performs very well. Unfortunately, the upper material is not very comfortable and the price is a little too high for what you get.
 More details
You receive solid traction, fantastic cushion, great materials, and if you get the size that fits you best, you’ll also receive a solid and secure fit for optimal support.
 More details
8.4
January 1, 2017
The KD 9 is a shoe everyone will enjoy, mainly because the fit, comfort and cushioning is amazing right out of the box. However, I need a little more support, containment, and traction during competitive play.
 More details
As a performance sneaker, it just didn’t work for me. Above all else, the one thing I need to have in a shoe is confidence, and I didn’t have it in the KD 9.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

User Rating: 9.4 (ranks #8 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.4
January 10, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.9 (ranks #70 of 196)
User Traction Rating: 10.0 (ranks #7 of 196)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The solid outsole provides some of the best traction on clean and dusty courts.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
If you are playing on a clean court, the traction performs quite well. On a dusty court, it requires frequent wiping.
 More details
8.0
The honeycomb traction pattern performs well.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Got the job done on any court I played on.
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
Never have I been so surprised by the traction. This sh*t is incredible!
 More details
The rubber compound used on the versions with solid rubber outsoles will offer you incredibly sticky traction.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
The KD 9 features a honeycomb pattern and it works great on clean floors or when wiped.
 More details
From the first wearing on, the KD 9 offered outstanding on-court grip.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.6 (ranks #12 of 196)
User Cushion Rating: 10.0 (ranks #14 of 196)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
This is the bouncy, responsive, energy returning Nike Zoom cushioning. Dang perfect.
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
The full-length Zoom Air cushioning system feels amazing.
 More details
10.0
The Zoom cushioning is a different animal! Almost perfectly well balanced.
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
I fell in love with the full-length articulated Zoom.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The cushioning setup is very well balanced.
 More details
This sh*t is amazing. Smooth transition, ultimate impact protection, and ultimate responsiveness.
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
Cushioning is fantastic and is truly the highlight of the shoe from a visual and performance standpoint.
 More details
From a pure comfort standpoint, the cushioning is outstanding. But the downside is that it’s a little too soft when it comes to performance.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #62 of 196)
User Materials Rating: 9.0 (ranks #46 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
True knit that is flexible, comfy, and requires no break-in time.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The upper is very soft yet pliable and the padding inside of the shoe feels very premium.
 More details
9.0
Flyknit material is awesome.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
There is too much Flyknit and it is knitted way too tight. Form a performance standpoint I don't feel it.
 More details
This is the best iteration of Flyknit we’ve received on a Nike Basketball model to date.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
I think this upper feels better than previous glue backed Flyknits by a mile.
 More details

Support of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

Expert Support Rating: 7.5 (ranks #179 of 196)
User Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #65 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.0
Basically, a sock with a sole, so support structures are not at the front of the design ideas here.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The low-cut shoe doesn't offer much ankle protection but the Flyknit material provides a lot of support and lockdown.
 More details
8.0
The upper materials are so soft that containment suffers.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
I am a little disappointed by the lockdown and support. I am not a big fan of the one piece booty setup.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Support felt great, heel lockdown is good thanks to the padding.
 More details
The Nike KD 9’s support is essentially riding on one key aspect: the overall fit.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
Support isn’t anything special, in fact, it is a little lackluster.
 More details
The KD 9 fell short of the lockdown I was looking for. I also found that the shoe was greatly in need of an outrigger.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #126 of 196)
User Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #117 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
I almost pulled my shoulder out of socket getting them on
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Materials wrap around the foot nicely and there is no dead space in the toe area.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
If you don't have very wide feet then these are really comfortable.
 More details
They’re hard as hell to get on my foot, but once they’re on I’m locked in perfectly.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The upper really hugs the foot and gives a great one to one fit.
 More details
The KD 9 features a full bootie-style upper, which is a construction method I’m not a fan of.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

User Durability Rating: 10.0 (ranks #10 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #190 of 196)
User Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #127 of 196)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
0
Bad (0%)
4
Outdoors? It won't last very long.
 More details
no
January 1, 2017
This outsole is probably not ideal for outdoor use.
 More details
no
January 1, 2017
I do not recommend these for outdoors due to the softness of the rubber as well as the Flyknit upper.
 More details

Width of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
5
regular
0
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
slightly narrow
I went half a size up to get my feed into the shoe.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
The shoe is rather narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
They are slightly narrow like most Kd's.
 More details
very narrow
January 1, 2017
Not recommended for wide-footers.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
The KD line has always run narrow.
 More details

Size of the Nike Zoom KD 9:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
5
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
January 1, 2017
Length-wise the shoe runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
Runs true to size for me.
 More details
true to size
January 1, 2017
They fit true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 1, 2017
You want to go true to size.
 More details
½ size large
I went down 1/2 size and length wise they fit perfectly.
 More details
½ size large
January 1, 2017
If you have a narrow foot, go down half a size, if you have a wide foot stay true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: