Search Shoe

New Balance OMN1S Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$139.99
Type:
High Top
Release Date:
11/2019
# of Reviews:
4
Traction
9.0
Cushion
9.0
Materials
9.0
Support
7.8
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
100%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of New Balance OMN1S:

White / Black / Red
White / Black / Red
No stores found
Heat Wave
Heat Wave
No stores found
Black / White
Black / White
No stores found
Neon Emerald / Sulphur Yellow
Neon Emerald / Sulphur Yellow
No stores found
Black / Team Royal / Gold Rush
Black / Team Royal / Gold Rush
No stores found
Best Kept Secret
Best Kept Secret
No stores found
White
White
No stores found
Team Royal / Red / White
Team Royal / Red / White
No stores found
Black / Sulphur Yellow / Energy Red
Black / Sulphur Yellow / Energy Red
No stores found
Money Stacks
Money Stacks
No stores found

PROS:

  • Comfortable Fuel Cell cushioning
  • High-quality and durable materials

CONS:

  • Rubber picks up dust quickly

Summary of 4 Expert Reviews:

The first New Balance basketball sneaker in a long time gets a lot of love from sneaker critics: The herringbone traction pattern has you stopping on a dime on clean courts, but the translucent rubber picks up a lot of dust if you play on dirty courts. The Fuel-Cell foam cushioning is the highlight of the shoe and provides you a very well-balanced and comfortable ride. The upper materials are of high quality and should last for a long time, even if you play outdoors. Overall, the New Balance OMN1S comes highly recommended for players of all positions that look for a well-balanced performer.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 8.7 average overall rating ranks #44 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
I loved the traction and the fit is pretty good, but cushioning is too dense for my liking and containment is seriously lacking.
9.2
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
This is one of the best basketball shoes of 2019!
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.8
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
This is a great performer. I would highly recommend picking up a pair, Kawhi Leonard and New Balance really knocked it out of the park!
Watch the video
8.6
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
Incredible! I really like the shoe, especially the super comfortable cushioning.
Watch the video

Traction of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 9.0 average traction rating ranks #28 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
Definitely one of the best traction set ups I’ve tried this year.
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
For me, this is the best traction I’ve used all year long.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
The full-herringbone traction pattern is freaking amazing on clean courts. On dusty courts, you will need to wipe frequently.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
On a clean court, you stop on a dime, but on dirty courts, the translucent rubber picks up dust like no other.
Watch the video

Cushion of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 9.0 average cushion rating ranks #24 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
The Fuelcell cushioning feels far denser than other premium foams and isn't very soft or springy.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
The Fuel Cell setup is awesome and provides everything I'm looking for: court feel, stability and cushion.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
The full-length Fuel Cell is really, really nice. I think this is one of the best cushioning setups for guards as it gives your everything: good impact protection, a decent amount of bounce, responsiveness and court feel.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
The full-length FuelCell cushioning is incredible and feels like a mellower version of Adidas' Boost. This is up there with my favorite cushioning setups.
Watch the video

Materials of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 9.0 average materials rating ranks #14 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
Omn1s’ Fitweave reminds of Flyknit and Primeknit. It's really good-looking and is very soft to the touch.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
The textile upper is pretty standard for today’s modern basketball shoes but feels more durable than most textiles.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
The slightly rubber-coated textile upper feels pretty good.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
The plush upper materials feel soft and comfortable.
Watch the video

Support of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 7.8 average support rating ranks #102 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
The woven upper material doesn't provide much lockdown and the heel counter feels pretty flimsy.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
The standard support features — torsion shank, heel counter, and outrigger — all work really well together.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
There was no heel slippage and ankle support was fine, but I felt my foot sliding over the footbed occasionally.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
I felt the upper material on the lateral side stretch out a little when doing cuts. Other than that, the wide base and materials around the ankle had me feeling safe and secure.
Watch the video

Fit of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 8.5 average fit rating ranks #57 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
Overall the fit is good. No issues here.
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
Once I went down 1/2 size the lockdown was damn near perfect. From heel to toe and from medial to lateral side — just solid all around.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
There was no dead space in the toe box and the one-bootie upper hugged my feet nicely.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
For my feet, the fit wasn't the best. It probably works best for wide and thick feet.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100% average outdoor rating ranks #2 of 116 shoes overall
good
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
The rubber is really hard and the grooves are deep, you shouldn't have a problem playing outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the New Balance OMN1S:

regularly wide
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
I went standard width since and it was plenty of space width-wise even with my wide feet.
regularly wide
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
There is a regular and a wide version available online on Newbalance.com
Watch the video
slightly wide
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
There is a good amount of extra toe space.
Watch the video

Size of the New Balance OMN1S:

½ size large
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
Go down half a size.
½ size small
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
The shoe fits 1/2 size too long.
Watch the Video|Read the article
½ size large
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
Going down half a size is the way to go!
Watch the video
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
I suggest going down half a size.
Watch the video