Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

New Balance OMN1S

Released 11/2019, High Top
Add to Favourites
8.7
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
8.0
USER RATING
1 reviews
New Balance's first basketball sneaker in a long time really knocked it out of the park

Best Suitable For:

A durable performer with comfortable cushioning, good materials, and great traction on clean courts

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $139.99
DICK's
Buy Now
StockX
from $75.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
9.0
Cushion
9.0
Materials
9.0
Support
7.8
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
85 likes
Castlerock / Team Navy
Castlerock / Team Navy
from DICK's
$139.99
58 likes
“Sunrise”
“Sunrise”
from StockX
$75.00
74 likes
Neo Flame / Atomic Yellow
Neo Flame / Atomic Yellow
from StockX
$84.00
62 likes
Neon Emerald / Sulphur Yellow
Neon Emerald / Sulphur Yellow
from StockX
$89.00
48 likes
Black / Sulphur Yellow / Energy Red
Black / Sulphur Yellow / Energy Red
from StockX
$90.00
53 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from StockX
$115.00
46 likes
White
White
from StockX
$130.00
72 likes
Heat Wave
Heat Wave
from StockX
$179.00
49 likes
White / Black / Red
White / Black / Red
from StockX
$195.00
33 likes
Money Stacks
Money Stacks
from StockX
$195.00
39 likes
Black / Team Royal / Gold Rush
Black / Team Royal / Gold Rush
from StockX
$473.00
33 likes
Best Kept Secret
Best Kept Secret
No stores found
28 likes
Team Royal / Red / White
Team Royal / Red / White
No stores found

New Balance OMN1S Review

Pros:
Comfortable Fuel Cell cushioning
High-quality and durable materials
Cons:
Rubber picks up dust quickly

Performance of the New Balance OMN1S:

The first New Balance basketball sneaker in a long time gets a lot of love from sneaker critics: The herringbone traction pattern has you stopping on a dime on clean courts, but the translucent rubber picks up a lot of dust if you play on dirty courts. The Fuel-Cell foam cushioning is the highlight of the shoe and provides you a very well-balanced and comfortable ride. The upper materials are of high quality and should last for a long time, even if you play outdoors. Overall, the New Balance OMN1S comes highly recommended for players of all positions that look for a well-balanced performer.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 8.7 average overall rating ranks #52 of 186 shoes overall
9.2
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
This is one of the best basketball shoes of 2019!
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.8
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
This is a great performer. I would highly recommend picking up a pair, Kawhi Leonard and New Balance really knocked it out of the park!
Watch the video
8.6
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
Incredible! I really like the shoe, especially the super comfortable cushioning.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
I loved the traction and the fit is pretty good, but cushioning is too dense for my liking and containment is seriously lacking.

User Reviews of the New Balance OMN1S:

There are 1 user ratings with an average rating of 8.0
8.0
Mouss
Saturday at 12:35 PM
Traction pattern is hard and work on all surfaces. Especially in outdoor court. FuelCell cushioning setup gets you a nice heel to toe transition and impact protection . Lateral containment could be better, but hopefully, materials are hard enough and it's overall pretty good. Heel slippage are noticable. Materials feel really premium and durable because it's stiff in the forefoot but stretchy in the tongue. It's overall pretty comfortable. The shoes run a tiny bit long but it's not annoying.

Traction of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 9.0 average traction rating ranks #55 of 186 shoes overall
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
For me, this is the best traction I’ve used all year long.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
The full-herringbone traction pattern is freaking amazing on clean courts. On dusty courts, you will need to wipe frequently.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
On a clean court, you stop on a dime, but on dirty courts, the translucent rubber picks up dust like no other.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
Definitely one of the best traction set ups I’ve tried this year.

Cushion of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 9.0 average cushion rating ranks #50 of 186 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
The Fuel Cell setup is awesome and provides everything I'm looking for: court feel, stability and cushion.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
The full-length Fuel Cell is really, really nice. I think this is one of the best cushioning setups for guards as it gives your everything: good impact protection, a decent amount of bounce, responsiveness and court feel.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
The full-length FuelCell cushioning is incredible and feels like a mellower version of Adidas' Boost. This is up there with my favorite cushioning setups.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
The Fuelcell cushioning feels far denser than other premium foams and isn't very soft or springy.

Materials of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 9.0 average materials rating ranks #25 of 186 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
The textile upper is pretty standard for today’s modern basketball shoes but feels more durable than most textiles.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
The slightly rubber-coated textile upper feels pretty good.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
The plush upper materials feel soft and comfortable.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
Omn1s’ Fitweave reminds of Flyknit and Primeknit. It's really good-looking and is very soft to the touch.

Support of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 7.8 average support rating ranks #163 of 186 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
The standard support features — torsion shank, heel counter, and outrigger — all work really well together.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
There was no heel slippage and ankle support was fine, but I felt my foot sliding over the footbed occasionally.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
I felt the upper material on the lateral side stretch out a little when doing cuts. Other than that, the wide base and materials around the ankle had me feeling safe and secure.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
The woven upper material doesn't provide much lockdown and the heel counter feels pretty flimsy.

Fit of the New Balance OMN1S:

The 8.5 average fit rating ranks #81 of 186 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
Once I went down 1/2 size the lockdown was damn near perfect. From heel to toe and from medial to lateral side — just solid all around.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
There was no dead space in the toe box and the one-bootie upper hugged my feet nicely.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
For my feet, the fit wasn't the best. It probably works best for wide and thick feet.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
Overall the fit is good. No issues here.

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100.0% average outdoor rating ranks #18 of 186 shoes overall
good
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
The rubber is really hard and the grooves are deep, you shouldn't have a problem playing outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the New Balance OMN1S:

regularly wide
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
There is a regular and a wide version available online on Newbalance.com
Watch the video
slightly wide
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
There is a good amount of extra toe space.
Watch the video
regularly wide
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
I went standard width since and it was plenty of space width-wise even with my wide feet.

Size of the New Balance OMN1S:

½ size small
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
December 17, 2019
The shoe fits 1/2 size too long.
Watch the Video|Read the article
½ size large
RicheeKim
November 20, 2019
Going down half a size is the way to go!
Watch the video
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
November 6, 2019
I suggest going down half a size.
Watch the video
½ size large
Schwollo
January 2, 2020
Go down half a size.

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Castlerock / Team Navy
Castlerock / Team Navy
from DICK's
$139.99
Castlerock / Team Navy
$139.99
on DICK's