Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

New Balance OMN1S

Released 11/2019, High Top, 
Add to Favourites
8.7
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
4 ratings
New Balance's first basketball sneaker in a long time really knocked it out of the park

Best Suitable For:

A durable performer with comfortable cushioning, good materials, and great traction on clean courts

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $139.99
StockX
from $70.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (4)
User Ratings (4)
Traction
9.0
Cushion
9.0
Materials
9.0
Support
7.8
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

New Balance OMN1S
New Balance OMN1S
Under Armour Curry 4 FloTro
Under Armour Curry 4 FloTro
Adidas D Rose Son Of Chi
Adidas D Rose Son Of Chi
Nike Kyrie 6
Nike Kyrie 6
Li-Ning Way of Wade 9 Infinity
Li-Ning Way of Wade 9 Infinity
Air Jordan 36
Air Jordan 36
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.78.6(0.1)8.0(0.7)8.8(0.1)8.5(0.2)9.1(0.4)
User Rating8.9NA9.1(0.2)8.8(0.1)NA9.3(0.4)
Best Price$139.99
$140
$100
$34.93
$130
$255
$185
Type of CutHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh Top
Weight410g - 430gNA390g - 410g420g - 430g440g - 460g370g - 390g
 Show More
66 likes
“Sunrise”
“Sunrise”
from StockX
$70.00
85 likes
Neo Flame / Atomic Yellow
Neo Flame / Atomic Yellow
from StockX
$90.00
55 likes
Black / Sulphur Yellow / Energy Red
Black / Sulphur Yellow / Energy Red
from StockX
$96.00
60 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from StockX
$115.00
56 likes
White / Black / Red
White / Black / Red
from StockX
$150.00
65 likes
Neon Emerald / Sulphur Yellow
Neon Emerald / Sulphur Yellow
from StockX
$150.00
51 likes
White
White
from StockX
$150.00
80 likes
Heat Wave
Heat Wave
from StockX
$160.00
37 likes
Money Stacks
Money Stacks
from StockX
$199.00
35 likes
Team Royal / Red / White
Team Royal / Red / White
from StockX
$244.00
43 likes
Black / Team Royal / Gold Rush
Black / Team Royal / Gold Rush
from StockX
$509.00
34 likes
Best Kept Secret
Best Kept Secret
No stores found
101 likes
Castlerock / Team Navy
Castlerock / Team Navy
No stores found

New Balance OMN1S Review

Pros:
Comfortable Fuel Cell cushioning
High-quality and durable materials
Cons:
Rubber picks up dust quickly

Performance of the New Balance OMN1S:

The first New Balance basketball sneaker in a long time gets a lot of love from sneaker critics: The herringbone traction pattern has you stopping on a dime on clean courts, but the translucent rubber picks up a lot of dust if you play on dirty courts. The Fuel-Cell foam cushioning is the highlight of the shoe and provides you a very well-balanced and comfortable ride. The upper materials are of high quality and should last for a long time, even if you play outdoors. Overall, the New Balance OMN1S comes highly recommended for players of all positions that look for a well-balanced performer.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the New Balance OMN1S:

Expert Rating: 8.7 (ranks #56 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
This is one of the best basketball shoes of 2019!
 More details
8.8
November 20, 2019
This is a great performer. I would highly recommend picking up a pair, Kawhi Leonard and New Balance really knocked it out of the park!
 More details
8.6
November 6, 2019
Incredible! I really like the shoe, especially the super comfortable cushioning.
 More details
8.0
January 2, 2020
I loved the traction and the fit is pretty good, but cushioning is too dense for my liking and containment is seriously lacking.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the New Balance OMN1S:

User Rating: 8.9 (ranks #63 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
October 23, 2021
Traction pattern is hard and work on all surfaces. Especially in outdoor court. FuelCell cushioning setup gets you a nice heel to toe transition and impact protection . Lateral containment could be better, but hopefully, materials are hard enough and it's overall pretty good. Heel slippage are noticable. Materials feel really premium and durable because it's stiff in the forefoot but stretchy in the tongue. It's overall pretty comfortable. The shoes run a tiny bit long but it's not annoying.
 More details
9.0
November 21, 2021
Best traction I've ever had in a basketball shoe hands down; it is great regardless the surface. Very stable and protective cushioning as well. The knit tongue and collar area also really helps create a snug and comfortable fit. My only complaint is that I wish the cushioning had a bit more bounce in it. The impact protection is good, but my feet do hurt after a couple hours of playtime.
 More details
9.6
March 29, 2022
Good shoes. Very comfortable. Very good outdoors and indoors.
 More details
9.0
December 28, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the New Balance OMN1S:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #63 of 219)
User Traction Rating: 9.8 (ranks #16 of 219)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
For me, this is the best traction I’ve used all year long.
 More details
9.0
November 20, 2019
The full-herringbone traction pattern is freaking amazing on clean courts. On dusty courts, you will need to wipe frequently.
 More details
8.0
November 6, 2019
On a clean court, you stop on a dime, but on dirty courts, the translucent rubber picks up dust like no other.
 More details
9.0
January 2, 2020
Definitely one of the best traction set ups I’ve tried this year.
 More details

Cushion of the New Balance OMN1S:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #55 of 219)
User Cushion Rating: 8.5 (ranks #110 of 219)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Fuel Cell setup is awesome and provides everything I'm looking for: court feel, stability and cushion.
 More details
10.0
November 20, 2019
The full-length Fuel Cell is really, really nice. I think this is one of the best cushioning setups for guards as it gives your everything: good impact protection, a decent amount of bounce, responsiveness and court feel.
 More details
10.0
November 6, 2019
The full-length FuelCell cushioning is incredible and feels like a mellower version of Adidas' Boost. This is up there with my favorite cushioning setups.
 More details
7.0
January 2, 2020
The Fuelcell cushioning feels far denser than other premium foams and isn't very soft or springy.
 More details

Materials of the New Balance OMN1S:

Expert Materials Rating: 9.0 (ranks #24 of 219)
User Materials Rating: 8.8 (ranks #65 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The textile upper is pretty standard for today’s modern basketball shoes but feels more durable than most textiles.
 More details
9.0
November 20, 2019
The slightly rubber-coated textile upper feels pretty good.
 More details
9.0
November 6, 2019
The plush upper materials feel soft and comfortable.
 More details
9.0
January 2, 2020
Omn1s’ Fitweave reminds of Flyknit and Primeknit. It's really good-looking and is very soft to the touch.
 More details

Support of the New Balance OMN1S:

Expert Support Rating: 7.8 (ranks #191 of 219)
User Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #139 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The standard support features — torsion shank, heel counter, and outrigger — all work really well together.
 More details
7.0
November 20, 2019
There was no heel slippage and ankle support was fine, but I felt my foot sliding over the footbed occasionally.
 More details
8.0
November 6, 2019
I felt the upper material on the lateral side stretch out a little when doing cuts. Other than that, the wide base and materials around the ankle had me feeling safe and secure.
 More details
7.0
January 2, 2020
The woven upper material doesn't provide much lockdown and the heel counter feels pretty flimsy.
 More details

Fit of the New Balance OMN1S:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #88 of 219)
User Fit Rating: 9.3 (ranks #21 of 219)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Once I went down 1/2 size the lockdown was damn near perfect. From heel to toe and from medial to lateral side — just solid all around.
 More details
9.0
November 20, 2019
There was no dead space in the toe box and the one-bootie upper hugged my feet nicely.
 More details
8.0
November 6, 2019
For my feet, the fit wasn't the best. It probably works best for wide and thick feet.
 More details
8.0
January 2, 2020
Overall the fit is good. No issues here.
 More details

Durability of the New Balance OMN1S:

User Durability Rating: 9.5 (ranks #26 of 219)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the New Balance OMN1S:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #19 of 219)
User Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #15 of 219)
Good (100%)
4
Fair (50%)
0
Bad (0%)
0
good
November 6, 2019
The rubber is really hard and the grooves are deep, you shouldn't have a problem playing outdoors.
 More details

Width of the New Balance OMN1S:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
0
regular
6
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
regularly wide
November 20, 2019
There is a regular and a wide version available online on Newbalance.com
 More details
slightly wide
November 6, 2019
There is a good amount of extra toe space.
 More details
regularly wide
January 2, 2020
I went standard width since and it was plenty of space width-wise even with my wide feet.
 More details

Size of the New Balance OMN1S:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
3
slightly long
4
very long
0
½ size small
The shoe fits 1/2 size too long.
 More details
½ size large
November 20, 2019
Going down half a size is the way to go!
 More details
½ size large
November 6, 2019
I suggest going down half a size.
 More details
½ size large
January 2, 2020
Go down half a size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: