Search Shoe

Nike Air Zoom UNVRS Review

Nike Air Zoom UNVRS
Nike Air Zoom UNVRS
Nike Air Zoom UNVRS
Nike Air Zoom UNVRS
Deals from $95.97
7.7
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$159.99
Type:
High Top
Release Date:
12/2019
Traction
6.3
Cushion
10.0
Materials
8.3
Support
7.0
Fit
7.0
Outdoor
0%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Air Zoom UNVRS:

18 likes
Vivid Purple/White
Vivid Purple/White
in 7 shops
$95.97
$160
21 likes
White/Sport Red
White/Sport Red
in 7 shops
$110.00
$160
2 likes
University Red / Midnight Navy / Game Royal / White
University Red / Midnight Navy / Game Royal / White
from DICK's
$159.99
21 likes
Black / Black / Current Blue / White
Black / Black / Current Blue / White
in 4 shops
$160.00

Summary of 3 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Super comfortable full-length Zoom Strobel
Cons:
Lacking traction
Heel slippage and containment issues

Performance of the Nike Air Zoom UNVRS:

The Nike UNVRS does some things really well but can't convince critics overall. Cushioning is by far the best thing about this sneaker: the full-length Zoom Air Strobel board is comfortable, bouncy, and a favorite among all critics. The traction was disappointing to most testers. Even on clean courts, the rubber doesn't provide hard stops and slides out too often. The Flyknit upper materials are comfortable but not supportive enough for explosive basketball moves. The FlyEase lacing system is easy to use but has some issues with heel slippage. Overall, the Nike Air Zoom UNVRS is a very comfortable shoe for casual use, but not well suited for explosive basketball play.
See all 3 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Air Zoom UNVRS:

The 7.7 average overall rating ranks #113 of 126 shoes overall
6.8
AnotherPair [Youtube]
January 4, 2020
These are nice shoes for casual wear, but don't wear these on-court!
Watch the video
7.8
RicheeKim
December 26, 2019
The cushioning and materials are great, but traction and fit were problematic for me. Overall, I couldn't enjoy playing in these shoes because they are just too narrow for my feet.
Watch the video
8.6
The Sole Brothers
December 26, 2019
For $160, you get Nike's best tech: full-length Zoom Air, Flyknit materials and FlyEase lacing system.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Air Zoom UNVRS:

The 6.3 average traction rating ranks #123 of 126 shoes overall
5.0
AnotherPair [Youtube]
January 4, 2020
I am sooo disappointed in the traction, I couldn't get any grip at all!
Watch the video
6.0
RicheeKim
December 26, 2019
The traction is consistent, but not great. The traction pattern doesn't really give you hard stops, instead, you will be sliding to a stop most of the time.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
December 26, 2019
The nodule traction pattern, made from super-soft rubber, works well on clean courts and picks up minimal dust on dirty courts. On really hard cuts you will slide out sometimes.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Air Zoom UNVRS:

The 10.0 average cushion rating ranks #2 of 126 shoes overall
10.0
AnotherPair [Youtube]
January 4, 2020
The cushioning is A+ in my book!
Watch the video
10.0
RicheeKim
December 26, 2019
The full-length Zoom Strobel feels extremely nice. It's low-to-the-ground, bouncy, and probably my favorite cushioning setup right now.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
December 26, 2019
The cushioning is my favorite part of this shoe. The Zoom Strobel board is very similar to the KD12 and feels very comfortable, bouncy, and provides great court feel.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Air Zoom UNVRS:

The 8.3 average materials rating ranks #63 of 126 shoes overall
7.0
AnotherPair [Youtube]
January 4, 2020
The Flyknit upper is super comfortable but just not supportive at all for basketball.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 26, 2019
The Flyknit materials are super nice.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
December 26, 2019
The Flyknit materials feel a little flimsy but they are soft and conform to your feet nicely after the break-in period.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Air Zoom UNVRS:

The 7.0 average support rating ranks #121 of 126 shoes overall
5.0
AnotherPair [Youtube]
January 4, 2020
I didn't feel supported at all in the Zoom UNVRS. On lateral cuts, I completely slid off the footbed.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
December 26, 2019
There was some minor heel slippage on my right foot. Other than that, the support was just fine.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
December 26, 2019
The upper materials are really supportive and provide a lot of lockdown in the midfoot. There is a little bit of heel slippage, especially while the shoes are not yet broken-in.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Air Zoom UNVRS:

The 7.0 average fit rating ranks #119 of 126 shoes overall
6.0
RicheeKim
December 26, 2019
The FlyEase mechanism in the heel really dug-in to my Achilles which was very painful and the fit was too narrow for my slightly wide feet.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
December 26, 2019
The FlyEase system works and makes it super-easy to put these shoes on.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 0% average outdoor rating ranks #100 of 126 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
December 26, 2019
The super-soft rubber probably won't last very long outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Air Zoom UNVRS:

slightly narrow
AnotherPair [Youtube]
January 4, 2020
Super narrow in the beginning but stretches out after a while.
Watch the video
very narrow
RicheeKim
December 26, 2019
I'm a slightly wide-footer and this shoe is extremely narrow.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
December 26, 2019
Pretty narrow but stretches out when broken-in.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Air Zoom UNVRS:

true to size
AnotherPair [Youtube]
January 4, 2020
Go true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
December 26, 2019
Go true to size if you have narrow or regular feet. Otherwise, go up half a size.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
December 26, 2019
Go true to size.
Watch the video
Deals from $95.97:
Vivid Purple/White
Vivid Purple/White
in 7 shops
$95.97
$160
White/Sport Red
White/Sport Red
in 7 shops
$110.00
$160
University Red / Midnight Navy / Game Royal / White
University Red / Midnight Navy / Game Royal / White
from DICK's
$159.99
Black / Black / Current Blue / White
Black / Black / Current Blue / White
in 4 shops
$160.00
White / Opti Yellow / Digital Pink / Blue Fury
Nike Kyrie 6
White / Opti Yellow / Digital Pink / Blue Fury
52 likes
White / Black / University Red
Nike Lebron 17
White / Black / University Red
35 likes
Light Cream / Sail/Electric Green / Flash Crimson
Nike Kyrie 6
Light Cream / Sail/Electric Green / Flash Crimson
31 likes
 Particle Grey / White /Light Smoke Grey / Black
Nike Lebron 17 Low
Particle Grey / White /Light Smoke Grey / Black
25 likes
White
Under Armour Curry 7
White
25 likes
Multi-Color / Racer Blue / Smoke Grey
Nike KD 13
Multi-Color / Racer Blue / Smoke Grey
24 likes