Search Shoe

Nike PG 5

Nike PG 5
Nike PG 5
Nike PG 5
Nike PG 5
Add to Favourites
8.7
The PG 5 is a great all-around performer and a nice upgrade over the PG 4.
based on 6 expert reviews
based on 6 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Works best for players that prefer a minimal, lightweight, and responsive shoe no matter what position they play.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $109.99
Nike
$93.97
$110
Buy Now
Champs Sports
Foot Locker
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
9.5
Cushion
8.5
Materials
7.8
Support
8.5
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
50%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
2/2021
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
60 likes
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
in 5 shops
$93.97
$110
33 likes
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
in 7 shops
$99.97
$110
93 likes
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
in 7 shops
$104.99
$110
21 likes
Black / White / University Red
Black / White / University Red
in 5 shops
$110.00
5 likes
White / Crimson Tint / Black / Laser Crimson
White / Crimson Tint / Black / Laser Crimson
in 5 shops
$110.00
5 likes
Beige / Gold
Beige / Gold
in 4 shops
$110.00
10 likes
Black / White
Black / White
in 3 shops
$110.00
11 likes
White / Light Violet / Crimson Tint
White / Light Violet / Crimson Tint
from Foot Locker
$120.00
122 likes
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
from StockX
$107.00

Nike PG 5 Review

Pros:
Phenomenal traction
Responsive cushioning
Cons:
Cheap materials

Performance of the Nike PG 5:

The traction pattern of the PG 5 is very similar to the Kobe 9 pattern and provides top-tier traction indoors. Unfortunately, the outsole isn't durable enough for outdoor use. The cushion tech is similar to last year but feels pretty different. The PG 5 isn't as plush but provides a better court feel and more responsiveness. The materials are what you've come to expect from the PG line: They feel pretty cheap but they perform well and are comfortable on foot. The PG 5 fits like most PG models slightly narrow and snug. True to size works well. The support and lockdown are very good thanks to a wide base and large outrigger - reviewers had no issues here. Overall the PG 5 is a great all-around performer and a real bargain at a list price of only $110.
See all 6 reviews

Reviews of the Nike PG 5:

The 8.7 average overall rating ranks #41 of 171 shoes overall
8.6
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
The PG5 is very good in most areas with the only downside being that the cushion didn't really perform well outdoors. They should be very good if you are playing indoors.
Watch the video
8.2
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
Overall, the shoe has durable materials, is very supportive, and the cushion provides very nice impact protection. The traction actually grips very hard and is very stable to play in.
Watch the video
8.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
Other than the weird fit, the shoe is pretty good. The cushioning is an improvement from the PG4 and the traction is an improvement on the legendary traction on the Kobe 9. For the price, a shoe with this much tech is a steal.
Watch the video
8.8
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 is a very solid performer. They are lightweight and I never had to worry when I played in them. Overall, there weren't many bad things I could say about these.
Watch the video
8.8
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 is a very solid performer. I wish the materials were a bit nicer, but at a $110 price point, I can't complain!
Watch the video
9.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
For $110, the PG 5 has a good amount of tech, really nice cushioning, and performs well in all aspects. There is some room for improvement when it comes to the quality of the materials.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike PG 5:

The 9.5 average traction rating ranks #7 of 171 shoes overall
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
The traction is a copy of the Kobe 9, which is one of the greatest of all time.
Watch the video
9.0
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
After a bit of a break-in period, the traction became really good. It gripped very hard and picked up very little dust.
Watch the video
9.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
The cored-out section in the heel can create a suction effect on clean courts, but the pattern itself is an improvement on the great traction of the Kobe 9s.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
This traction pattern is basically the same as the Kobe 9 which had GOAT traction. I only got to try these outdoors, but they were phenomenal. One thing that surprised me is that they don't squeak at all.
Watch the video
10.0
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The traction pattern has been reused from the Kobe 9 and it's top-tier!
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
The outsole reminds me of the Kobe 9 (which had great traction). The traction grips really well and provided me with a nice bite.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike PG 5:

The 8.5 average cushion rating ranks #92 of 171 shoes overall
8.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
It doesn't quite feel like last year's model because of the foam used. It feels more firm. It should work indoors but didn't provide much for outdoor play.
Watch the video
8.0
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
It has a full-length Air Strobel which is very comfy. It provides a good amount of impact protection but lacks some bounciness.
Watch the video
8.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
The shoe uses a full-length Air Strobel, just like the PG4. It feels good, and you notice it right underneath the insole.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The cushion looks pretty similar to the PG 4 but feels very different. The PG 5 cushion is a lot lower to the ground and the PSI felt a lot lower in the Air unit. Impact protection is really good and court feel is nice.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 features a full-length Phylon midsole and an Air Strobel unit. Personally, I liked the setup in the PG 4 a little better because they were softer, but the PG 5s are more responsive.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
Just like last year's model, the PG5 has a full-length Air Strobel unit. The cushion feels great and is more responsive compared to the PG 4.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike PG 5:

The 7.8 average materials rating ranks #138 of 171 shoes overall
8.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
The materials feel cheap but in terms of performance, it's way better than last year's model. They got the job done.
Watch the video
8.0
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
The upper is mainly made of mesh with a touch of synthetic materials throughout. There's no break-in time needed and is very durable.
Watch the video
8.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
The padding around the ankle is very nice, and I really like that the shoe has a tongue this year compared to last year's model. The only downside is I didn't find it very breathable.
Watch the video
7.0
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The material quality is not great. It seems cheap and reminded me a lot of the PG 2. As you break-in the materials they get pretty soft and feel nice on foot though. For the price, you can't complain.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The Mesh materials look and feel a bit cheap but they get the job done just fine performance-wise.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
The materials aren't great and don't feel very premium. However, they are lightweight, flexible, require no break-in time, and get the job done performance-wise.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike PG 5:

The 8.5 average support rating ranks #87 of 171 shoes overall
8.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
The shoe feels wider than the Kobe 9 and they added an outrigger so you really do feel locked down.
Watch the video
8.0
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
The heel counter and padding provide a very good amount of lockdown in the back of the shoe. The shoe also covers you well on lateral movements.
Watch the video
8.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
The outrigger and additional reinforcements on the midsole provide a welcome improvement to the lateral stability of the shoe.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The support and lockdown are really good thanks to the wide base and nice outrigger. I had no issues with lateral containment and stability.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The support is really good. I had no issues with the lateral stability or containment and my foot felt locked down on the footbed.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 provides very good lateral stability. Nothing else was crazy lockdown-wise, but they were solid all around.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike PG 5:

The 8.2 average fit rating ranks #116 of 171 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
I love the way they fit. They really remind me of the Kobe 5 which had a great fit.
Watch the video
8.0
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
They fit pretty nicely if you have a regular or narrow foot, but can get snug in the forefoot area.
Watch the video
7.0
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
There is a little bit of dead space in the tow box area.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The toe box wasn't as snug as I'd like it to be, but there wasn't a ton of extra material. For the most part the fit was really good for me and these were easy to put on which is always a plus.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The fit is slightly narrow and snug similar to other PG models. They stretched out a little after breaking them in and the overall fit was nice.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
These ran a little short for me and were a snug fit overall. Overall comfort was good and I didn't have any issues with that.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 50.0% average outdoor rating ranks #65 of 171 shoes overall
no
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
Traction performed very well outdoors, but don't expect it to last long at all.
Watch the video
good
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
I played in the XDR version of the shoe which is meant to perform better outdoors.
Watch the video
no
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The durability outdoors is terrible.
Watch the video
good
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
These hold up well outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike PG 5:

slightly narrow
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
The shoe is kind of narrow around the forefoot area. If you have a wide foot, it'll be better to try them out in-store beforehand.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
The shoe might be a little bit tight for wide footers.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
I'd go up half a size if you have wide feet or like a roomy fit.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
I recommend going up half a size if you have wide feet.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
Wide footers should go a half size up.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike PG 5:

true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
May 26, 2021
They do fit true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
The PG5 runs true to size for regular and narrow footers.
Watch the video
true to size
Shoeit
May 5, 2021
It has a bit of a strange fit. You can go true to size or half a size down depending on how much dead space you like in your shoe.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
True to size fit me very well.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
True to size should work well.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
These run true to size.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
in 5 shops
$93.97
$110
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
in 7 shops
$99.97
$110
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
in 7 shops
$104.99
$110
Black / White / University Red
Black / White / University Red
in 5 shops
$110.00
White / Crimson Tint / Black / Laser Crimson
White / Crimson Tint / Black / Laser Crimson
in 5 shops
$110.00
Beige / Gold
Beige / Gold
in 4 shops
$110.00
Black / White
Black / White
in 3 shops
$110.00
White / Light Violet / Crimson Tint
White / Light Violet / Crimson Tint
from Foot Locker
$120.00
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
$93.97
on Nike