Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike PG 5

Released 2/2021, Low Top, Paul George
Add to Favourites
8.8
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
8.8
USER RATING
20 ratings
The PG 5 is a great all-around performer and a nice upgrade over the PG 4.

Best Suitable For:

Works best for players that prefer a minimal, lightweight, and responsive shoe no matter what position they play.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $109.99
Foot Locker
$99.99
$110
Buy Now
Eastbay
$99.99
$110
Champs Sports
$99.99
$110
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
9.5
Cushion
8.8
Materials
8.0
Support
8.3
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
151 likes
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
in 4 shops
$99.99
$110
102 likes
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
in 4 shops
$99.99
$110
37 likes
Black / White / University Red
Black / White / University Red
in 4 shops
$99.99
$110
14 likes
White / Crimson Tint / Black / Laser Crimson
White / Crimson Tint / Black / Laser Crimson
in 6 shops
$99.99
$110
20 likes
Beige / Gold
Beige / Gold
in 5 shops
$99.99
$110
67 likes
Black / Lapis / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
Black / Lapis / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
in 4 shops
$99.99
$110
33 likes
Black / White
Black / White
in 3 shops
$104.97
$110
70 likes
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
in 3 shops
$109.99
31 likes
Multi-color / White / Black
Multi-color / White / Black
in 5 shops
$110.00
25 likes
Dark Obsidian / Melon Tint / Fusion Red
Dark Obsidian / Melon Tint / Fusion Red
in 2 shops
$110.00
21 likes
Black / White
Black / White
in 2 shops
$110.00
12 likes
White / Black
White / Black
in 2 shops
$110.00
12 likes
Game Royal / White / Game Royal
Game Royal / White / Game Royal
in 2 shops
$110.00
11 likes
Wolf Grey / White / Wolf Grey
Wolf Grey / White / Wolf Grey
in 2 shops
$110.00
21 likes
University Red / White / University Red
University Red / White / University Red
in 2 shops
$110.00
30 likes
Green Glow / White / Sunset Pulse / Black
Green Glow / White / Sunset Pulse / Black
in 5 shops
$110.00
8 likes
College Navy / College Navy / White
College Navy / College Navy / White
in 2 shops
$110.00
16 likes
Metallic Silver / Hyper Royal / Laser Crimson
Metallic Silver / Hyper Royal / Laser Crimson
in 3 shops
$110.00
183 likes
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
from Nike
$120.00
65 likes
White / Light Violet / Crimson Tint
White / Light Violet / Crimson Tint
from StockX
$100.00

Nike PG 5 Review

Pros:
Phenomenal traction
Responsive cushioning
Cons:
Cheap materials

Performance of the Nike PG 5:

The traction pattern of the PG 5 is very similar to the Kobe 9 pattern and provides top-tier traction indoors. Unfortunately, the outsole isn't durable enough for outdoor use. The cushion tech is similar to last year but feels pretty different. The PG 5 isn't as plush but provides a better court feel and more responsiveness. The materials are what you've come to expect from the PG line: They feel pretty cheap but they perform well and are comfortable on foot. The PG 5 fits like most PG models slightly narrow and snug. True to size works well. The support and lockdown are very good thanks to a wide base and large outrigger - reviewers had no issues here. Overall the PG 5 is a great all-around performer and a real bargain at a list price of only $110.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Rating: 8.8 (ranks #28 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
For $110, the PG 5 has a good amount of tech, really nice cushioning, and performs well in all aspects. There is some room for improvement when it comes to the quality of the materials.
 More details
8.8
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 is a very solid performer. I wish the materials were a bit nicer, but at a $110 price point, I can't complain!
 More details
8.8
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 is a very solid performer. They are lightweight and I never had to worry when I played in them. Overall, there weren't many bad things I could say about these.
 More details
8.6
September 13, 2021
The Nike PG5s cushion and traction are incredible. The materials perform nicely on the court as well. The shoe has just about everything you need from your hoop shoe.
 More details
The PG5 is very good in most areas with the only downside being that the cushion didn't really perform well outdoors. They should be very good if you are playing indoors.
 More details
8.2
May 6, 2021
Overall, the shoe has durable materials, is very supportive, and the cushion provides very nice impact protection. The traction actually grips very hard and is very stable to play in.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike PG 5:

User Rating: 8.8 (ranks #48 of 196)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.0
December 13, 2021
This shoe was amazing when I first got it. Probably my favorite shoe ever at the beginning. Sadly, the shoes lack of durability started to show. Within a month rips were occurring and even the sole was starting to rip away from the edge of the shoe. This problem caused me to roll my ankle as it got caught on the floor sometimes. The air bubble support did not last super long as I found myself running on little support. Sad to see such a great shoe get ruined by its durability.
 More details
8.3
Tuesday at 05:57 PM
I really didn’t like the fit of these. I’m usually a 10.5 but I went up to an 11 because of how narrow these shoes were. They do definitely break in some, but I get blisters while playing even when I lace my shoes tight. Durability was adequate, but definitely don’t use them outdoors if you want them to last.
 More details
8.4
January 11, 2022
These PG5s are my second pair of them, and they were not as good as they were the first time. I’m not sure why, but they seemed to collect a LOT more dust than my first pair. Everything else was good, and I enjoy these shoes. Do recommend for basically any position.
 More details
9.0
November 6, 2021
These are the best basketball shoes I've ever worn. The traction is unbeatable, and they didn't need to be broken in. The only downside was that the materials felt very cheap, and the toe area had a little space. This shoe I great for any position.
 More details
9.5
January 13, 2022
The shoe is very comfortable and the traction is amazing, but the durability of the outsole and the materials are not that good... Also the fit is good and you feel locked in.
 More details

Traction of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.5 (ranks #7 of 196)
User Traction Rating: 9.5 (ranks #17 of 196)
10 - Amazing
13
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The outsole reminds me of the Kobe 9 (which had great traction). The traction grips really well and provided me with a nice bite.
 More details
10.0
February 13, 2021
The traction pattern has been reused from the Kobe 9 and it's top-tier!
 More details
10.0
February 13, 2021
This traction pattern is basically the same as the Kobe 9 which had GOAT traction. I only got to try these outdoors, but they were phenomenal. One thing that surprised me is that they don't squeak at all.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
The cushion has never failed us when playing. The bite is sensational with minimal dust pickup.
 More details
The traction is a copy of the Kobe 9, which is one of the greatest of all time.
 More details
9.0
May 6, 2021
After a bit of a break-in period, the traction became really good. It gripped very hard and picked up very little dust.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.8 (ranks #73 of 196)
User Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #43 of 196)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
Just like last year's model, the PG5 has a full-length Air Strobel unit. The cushion feels great and is more responsive compared to the PG 4.
 More details
9.0
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 features a full-length Phylon midsole and an Air Strobel unit. Personally, I liked the setup in the PG 4 a little better because they were softer, but the PG 5s are more responsive.
 More details
9.0
February 13, 2021
The cushion looks pretty similar to the PG 4 but feels very different. The PG 5 cushion is a lot lower to the ground and the PSI felt a lot lower in the Air unit. Impact protection is really good and court feel is nice.
 More details
10.0
September 13, 2021
The full-length Air Strobel is a top-tier cushioning setup from Nike, and it doesn't disappoint in the PG5. It's responsive, comfortable, and provides a solid court feel.
 More details
It doesn't quite feel like last year's model because of the foam used. It feels more firm. It should work indoors but didn't provide much for outdoor play.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
It has a full-length Air Strobel which is very comfy. It provides a good amount of impact protection but lacks some bounciness.
 More details

Materials of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #128 of 196)
User Materials Rating: 7.8 (ranks #114 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
13
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
8.0
The materials aren't great and don't feel very premium. However, they are lightweight, flexible, require no break-in time, and get the job done performance-wise.
 More details
8.0
February 13, 2021
The Mesh materials look and feel a bit cheap but they get the job done just fine performance-wise.
 More details
7.0
February 13, 2021
The material quality is not great. It seems cheap and reminded me a lot of the PG 2. As you break-in the materials they get pretty soft and feel nice on foot though. For the price, you can't complain.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
Textile mesh with some leather overlays spread throughout. We love it. It's flexible and lightweight.
 More details
The materials feel cheap but in terms of performance, it's way better than last year's model. They got the job done.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The upper is mainly made of mesh with a touch of synthetic materials throughout. There's no break-in time needed and is very durable.
 More details

Support of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #121 of 196)
User Support Rating: 8.9 (ranks #67 of 196)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The PG 5 provides very good lateral stability. Nothing else was crazy lockdown-wise, but they were solid all around.
 More details
9.0
February 13, 2021
The support is really good. I had no issues with the lateral stability or containment and my foot felt locked down on the footbed.
 More details
9.0
February 13, 2021
The support and lockdown are really good thanks to the wide base and nice outrigger. I had no issues with lateral containment and stability.
 More details
7.0
September 13, 2021
It has everything you need for support. The only downside is that the laces become slightly loose towards the ankle collar.
 More details
The shoe feels wider than the Kobe 9 and they added an outrigger so you really do feel locked down.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The heel counter and padding provide a very good amount of lockdown in the back of the shoe. The shoe also covers you well on lateral movements.
 More details

Fit of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #108 of 196)
User Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #77 of 196)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
8.0
These ran a little short for me and were a snug fit overall. Overall comfort was good and I didn't have any issues with that.
 More details
8.0
February 13, 2021
The fit is slightly narrow and snug similar to other PG models. They stretched out a little after breaking them in and the overall fit was nice.
 More details
9.0
February 13, 2021
The toe box wasn't as snug as I'd like it to be, but there wasn't a ton of extra material. For the most part the fit was really good for me and these were easy to put on which is always a plus.
 More details
8.0
September 13, 2021
It has an above-average fit that feels nice.
 More details
I love the way they fit. They really remind me of the Kobe 5 which had a great fit.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
They fit pretty nicely if you have a regular or narrow foot, but can get snug in the forefoot area.
 More details

Durability of the Nike PG 5:

User Durability Rating: 8.4 (ranks #75 of 196)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1

Outdoor of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #81 of 196)
User Outdoor Rating: 31.8 (ranks #98 of 196)
Good (100%)
4
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
8
good
These hold up well outdoors.
 More details
no
February 13, 2021
The durability outdoors is terrible.
 More details
Traction performed very well outdoors, but don't expect it to last long at all.
 More details
good
May 6, 2021
I played in the XDR version of the shoe which is meant to perform better outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Nike PG 5:

very narrow
2
slightly narrow
15
regular
7
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly narrow
Wide footers should go a half size up.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 13, 2021
I recommend going up half a size if you have wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 13, 2021
I'd go up half a size if you have wide feet or like a roomy fit.
 More details
regularly wide
September 13, 2021
They accommodate slightly wide feet with no problems.
 More details
slightly narrow
May 6, 2021
The shoe is kind of narrow around the forefoot area. If you have a wide foot, it'll be better to try them out in-store beforehand.
 More details

Size of the Nike PG 5:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
20
slightly long
5
very long
0
true to size
These run true to size.
 More details
true to size
February 13, 2021
True to size should work well.
 More details
true to size
February 13, 2021
True to size fit me very well.
 More details
true to size
September 13, 2021
True to size for sure.
 More details
true to size
They do fit true to size.
 More details
true to size
May 6, 2021
The PG5 runs true to size for regular and narrow footers.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
in 4 shops
$99.99
$110
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
in 4 shops
$99.99
$110
Black / White / University Red
Black / White / University Red
in 4 shops
$99.99
$110
White / Crimson Tint / Black / Laser Crimson
White / Crimson Tint / Black / Laser Crimson
in 6 shops
$99.99
$110
Beige / Gold
Beige / Gold
in 5 shops
$99.99
$110
Black / Lapis / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
Black / Lapis / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
in 4 shops
$99.99
$110
Black / White
Black / White
in 3 shops
$104.97
$110
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
in 3 shops
$109.99
Multi-color / White / Black
Multi-color / White / Black
in 5 shops
$110.00
Dark Obsidian / Melon Tint / Fusion Red
Dark Obsidian / Melon Tint / Fusion Red
in 2 shops
$110.00
Black / White
Black / White
in 2 shops
$110.00
White / Black
White / Black
in 2 shops
$110.00
Game Royal / White / Game Royal
Game Royal / White / Game Royal
in 2 shops
$110.00
Wolf Grey / White / Wolf Grey
Wolf Grey / White / Wolf Grey
in 2 shops
$110.00
University Red / White / University Red
University Red / White / University Red
in 2 shops
$110.00
Green Glow / White / Sunset Pulse / Black
Green Glow / White / Sunset Pulse / Black
in 5 shops
$110.00
College Navy / College Navy / White
College Navy / College Navy / White
in 2 shops
$110.00
Metallic Silver / Hyper Royal / Laser Crimson
Metallic Silver / Hyper Royal / Laser Crimson
in 3 shops
$110.00
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
from Nike
$120.00
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
$99.99
on Eastbay