Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike PG 5

Released 2/2021, Low Top, Paul George, 
Add to Favourites
8.8
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
8.7
USER RATING
66 ratings
The PG 5 is a great all-around performer and a nice upgrade over the PG 4.

Best Suitable For:

Works best for players that prefer a minimal, lightweight, and responsive shoe no matter what position they play.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $109.99
Nike
$76.97
$110
Buy Now
StockX
from $64.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (6)
User Ratings (66)
Traction
9.5
Cushion
8.8
Materials
8.0
Support
8.3
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike PG 5
Nike PG 5
Under Armour Curry 8
Under Armour Curry 8
Air Jordan 36 Low
Air Jordan 36 Low
Nike KD 15
Nike KD 15
Puma Clyde All-Pro
Puma Clyde All-Pro
Nike Lebron 20
Nike Lebron 20
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.88.9(0.1)9.2(0.4)9.0(0.2)9.1(0.3)8.8(0.0)
User Rating8.79.0(0.3)9.1(0.4)9.4(0.7)9.1(0.4)9.1(0.4)
Best Price
$76.97
$110
$159.99
$124.99
$185
$149.99
$129.99
$200
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight330g - 350g320g - 340gNA370g - 390g360g - 380g390g - 410g
 Show More
39 likes
University Red / White / University Red
University Red / White / University Red
from Nike
$76.97
$110
85 likes
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
from DICK's
$109.99
49 likes
Black / White / University Red
Black / White / University Red
from StockX
$64.00
20 likes
Wolf Grey / White / Wolf Grey
Wolf Grey / White / Wolf Grey
from StockX
$65.00
29 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from StockX
$68.00
34 likes
Metallic Silver / Hyper Royal / Laser Crimson
Metallic Silver / Hyper Royal / Laser Crimson
from StockX
$78.00
28 likes
White / Crimson Tint / Black / Laser Crimson
White / Crimson Tint / Black / Laser Crimson
from StockX
$93.00
40 likes
Dark Obsidian / Melon Tint / Fusion Red
Dark Obsidian / Melon Tint / Fusion Red
from StockX
$100.00
32 likes
Beige / Gold
Beige / Gold
from StockX
$108.00
74 likes
White / Light Violet / Crimson Tint
White / Light Violet / Crimson Tint
from StockX
$108.00
48 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from StockX
$110.00
64 likes
Multi-color / White / Black
Multi-color / White / Black
from StockX
$110.00
36 likes
Black / University Red / Yellow Strike / Green Glow
Black / University Red / Yellow Strike / Green Glow
from StockX
$134.00
121 likes
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
from StockX
$137.00
192 likes
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
from StockX
$139.00
46 likes
Green Glow / White / Sunset Pulse / Black
Green Glow / White / Sunset Pulse / Black
from StockX
$140.00
96 likes
Black / Lapis / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
Black / Lapis / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
from StockX
$151.00
212 likes
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
from StockX
$154.00
20 likes
White / Black
White / Black
No stores found
30 likes
Game Royal / White / Game Royal
Game Royal / White / Game Royal
No stores found
12 likes
College Navy / College Navy / White
College Navy / College Navy / White
No stores found

Nike PG 5 Review

Pros:
Phenomenal traction
Responsive cushioning
Cons:
Cheap materials

Performance of the Nike PG 5:

The traction pattern of the PG 5 is very similar to the Kobe 9 pattern and provides top-tier traction indoors. Unfortunately, the outsole isn't durable enough for outdoor use. The cushion tech is similar to last year but feels pretty different. The PG 5 isn't as plush but provides a better court feel and more responsiveness. The materials are what you've come to expect from the PG line: They feel pretty cheap but they perform well and are comfortable on foot. The PG 5 fits like most PG models slightly narrow and snug. True to size works well. The support and lockdown are very good thanks to a wide base and large outrigger - reviewers had no issues here. Overall the PG 5 is a great all-around performer and a real bargain at a list price of only $110.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Rating: 8.8 (ranks #36 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
For $110, the PG 5 has a good amount of tech, really nice cushioning, and performs well in all aspects. There is some room for improvement when it comes to the quality of the materials.
 More details
8.8
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 is a very solid performer. I wish the materials were a bit nicer, but at a $110 price point, I can't complain!
 More details
8.8
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 is a very solid performer. They are lightweight and I never had to worry when I played in them. Overall, there weren't many bad things I could say about these.
 More details
8.6
September 13, 2021
The Nike PG5s cushion and traction are incredible. The materials perform nicely on the court as well. The shoe has just about everything you need from your hoop shoe.
 More details
The PG5 is very good in most areas with the only downside being that the cushion didn't really perform well outdoors. They should be very good if you are playing indoors.
 More details
8.2
May 6, 2021
Overall, the shoe has durable materials, is very supportive, and the cushion provides very nice impact protection. The traction actually grips very hard and is very stable to play in.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike PG 5:

User Rating: 8.7 (ranks #106 of 233)
10 - Amazing
11
9 - Great
37
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
7.0
December 13, 2021
This shoe was amazing when I first got it. Probably my favorite shoe ever at the beginning. Sadly, the shoes lack of durability started to show. Within a month rips were occurring and even the sole was starting to rip away from the edge of the shoe. This problem caused me to roll my ankle as it got caught on the floor sometimes. The air bubble support did not last super long as I found myself running on little support. Sad to see such a great shoe get ruined by its durability.
 More details
9.2
January 26, 2022
The traction is top tier, very very good on dust, one wipe and good to go.( Break in period 2-3 days) The cushion is very plush and responsive giving a slight bounce back.(not to mushy like the pg4) Support, Lockdown, and Fit is awesome, no moving in the footbed lateral containment is elite, no heel slippage either Shoe in my opinion is best for someone who's very shifty and prioritizes traction and cushion, while also needing good lockdown True to Size!
 More details
8.2
June 13, 2022
Played in these shoes a lot for the past 5 months. Even on dusty courts the traction was great with just a bit a wiping every now and then. Impact protection was pretty good. My feet hurt every now and then but only after playing in them for a while. The only big problem for me was the durability. My shoes almost have a hole in the side and the insole is completely destroyed. Overall though, a great shoe, especially for the price.
 More details
8.0
August 23, 2022
This pair is a solid performer with a great soft cushion and an amazing traction which picks up very minimal dust. However, the materials were very cheap in hand and the durability of the shoe is very bad : the traction pattern disappeared in a very short time where I put my supports and in less than 6 months the air bubble burst on one of the shoes and the other was completely deformed, which was very uncomfortable to play in.
 More details
8.7
October 10, 2022
Very good shoe ,traction is phenomenal and the cushion is good and bouncy.It fit like a glove and lateral and torsional support is great,but the shoe has a big problem:its materials and the durability of those.I wore this shoe for 5 months and the materials started tearing up.They felt cheap but the problem was also on me because I used them outdoors.If you get this shoe,get it ONLY for indoor use,don't be like me.
 More details

Traction of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.5 (ranks #14 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 9.2 (ranks #58 of 233)
10 - Amazing
29
9 - Great
35
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.0
The outsole reminds me of the Kobe 9 (which had great traction). The traction grips really well and provided me with a nice bite.
 More details
10.0
February 13, 2021
The traction pattern has been reused from the Kobe 9 and it's top-tier!
 More details
10.0
February 13, 2021
This traction pattern is basically the same as the Kobe 9 which had GOAT traction. I only got to try these outdoors, but they were phenomenal. One thing that surprised me is that they don't squeak at all.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
The cushion has never failed us when playing. The bite is sensational with minimal dust pickup.
 More details
The traction is a copy of the Kobe 9, which is one of the greatest of all time.
 More details
9.0
May 6, 2021
After a bit of a break-in period, the traction became really good. It gripped very hard and picked up very little dust.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.8 (ranks #83 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 8.8 (ranks #92 of 233)
10 - Amazing
15
9 - Great
37
8 - Good
16
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
2
9.0
Just like last year's model, the PG5 has a full-length Air Strobel unit. The cushion feels great and is more responsive compared to the PG 4.
 More details
9.0
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 features a full-length Phylon midsole and an Air Strobel unit. Personally, I liked the setup in the PG 4 a little better because they were softer, but the PG 5s are more responsive.
 More details
9.0
February 13, 2021
The cushion looks pretty similar to the PG 4 but feels very different. The PG 5 cushion is a lot lower to the ground and the PSI felt a lot lower in the Air unit. Impact protection is really good and court feel is nice.
 More details
10.0
September 13, 2021
The full-length Air Strobel is a top-tier cushioning setup from Nike, and it doesn't disappoint in the PG5. It's responsive, comfortable, and provides a solid court feel.
 More details
It doesn't quite feel like last year's model because of the foam used. It feels more firm. It should work indoors but didn't provide much for outdoor play.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
It has a full-length Air Strobel which is very comfy. It provides a good amount of impact protection but lacks some bounciness.
 More details

Materials of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #154 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 7.5 (ranks #188 of 233)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
29
7 - Average
22
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
7
8.0
The materials aren't great and don't feel very premium. However, they are lightweight, flexible, require no break-in time, and get the job done performance-wise.
 More details
8.0
February 13, 2021
The Mesh materials look and feel a bit cheap but they get the job done just fine performance-wise.
 More details
7.0
February 13, 2021
The material quality is not great. It seems cheap and reminded me a lot of the PG 2. As you break-in the materials they get pretty soft and feel nice on foot though. For the price, you can't complain.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
Textile mesh with some leather overlays spread throughout. We love it. It's flexible and lightweight.
 More details
The materials feel cheap but in terms of performance, it's way better than last year's model. They got the job done.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The upper is mainly made of mesh with a touch of synthetic materials throughout. There's no break-in time needed and is very durable.
 More details

Support of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #142 of 233)
User Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #107 of 233)
10 - Amazing
9
9 - Great
36
8 - Good
22
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.0
The PG 5 provides very good lateral stability. Nothing else was crazy lockdown-wise, but they were solid all around.
 More details
9.0
February 13, 2021
The support is really good. I had no issues with the lateral stability or containment and my foot felt locked down on the footbed.
 More details
9.0
February 13, 2021
The support and lockdown are really good thanks to the wide base and nice outrigger. I had no issues with lateral containment and stability.
 More details
7.0
September 13, 2021
It has everything you need for support. The only downside is that the laces become slightly loose towards the ankle collar.
 More details
The shoe feels wider than the Kobe 9 and they added an outrigger so you really do feel locked down.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The heel counter and padding provide a very good amount of lockdown in the back of the shoe. The shoe also covers you well on lateral movements.
 More details

Fit of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #128 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #126 of 233)
10 - Amazing
15
9 - Great
25
8 - Good
21
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
4
8.0
These ran a little short for me and were a snug fit overall. Overall comfort was good and I didn't have any issues with that.
 More details
8.0
February 13, 2021
The fit is slightly narrow and snug similar to other PG models. They stretched out a little after breaking them in and the overall fit was nice.
 More details
9.0
February 13, 2021
The toe box wasn't as snug as I'd like it to be, but there wasn't a ton of extra material. For the most part the fit was really good for me and these were easy to put on which is always a plus.
 More details
8.0
September 13, 2021
It has an above-average fit that feels nice.
 More details
I love the way they fit. They really remind me of the Kobe 5 which had a great fit.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
They fit pretty nicely if you have a regular or narrow foot, but can get snug in the forefoot area.
 More details

Durability of the Nike PG 5:

User Durability Rating: 7.6 (ranks #190 of 233)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
16
7 - Average
11
6 - Subpar
5
5 - Poor
8

Outdoor of the Nike PG 5:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #97 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 24.3 (ranks #176 of 233)
Good (100%)
4
Fair (50%)
14
Bad (0%)
23
good
These hold up well outdoors.
 More details
no
February 13, 2021
The durability outdoors is terrible.
 More details
Traction performed very well outdoors, but don't expect it to last long at all.
 More details
good
May 6, 2021
I played in the XDR version of the shoe which is meant to perform better outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Nike PG 5:

very narrow
6
slightly narrow
33
regular
30
slightly wide
2
very wide
0
slightly narrow
Wide footers should go a half size up.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 13, 2021
I recommend going up half a size if you have wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 13, 2021
I'd go up half a size if you have wide feet or like a roomy fit.
 More details
regularly wide
September 13, 2021
They accommodate slightly wide feet with no problems.
 More details
slightly narrow
May 6, 2021
The shoe is kind of narrow around the forefoot area. If you have a wide foot, it'll be better to try them out in-store beforehand.
 More details

Size of the Nike PG 5:

very small
0
slightly small
10
true to size
50
slightly long
7
very long
5
true to size
These run true to size.
 More details
true to size
February 13, 2021
True to size should work well.
 More details
true to size
February 13, 2021
True to size fit me very well.
 More details
true to size
September 13, 2021
True to size for sure.
 More details
true to size
They do fit true to size.
 More details
true to size
May 6, 2021
The PG5 runs true to size for regular and narrow footers.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: