Search Shoe

Nike PG 5 Review

Nike PG 5
Nike PG 5
Nike PG 5
Nike PG 5
Add to Favourites
9.0
The PG 5 is a great all-around performer and a nice upgrade over the PG 4.
based on 3 expert reviews
based on 3 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Works best for players that prefer a minimal, lightweight, and responsive shoe no matter what position they play.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $109.99
Buy Now
Foot Locker
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
9.7
Cushion
9.0
Materials
7.7
Support
9.0
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
50%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
2/2021
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
26 likes
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
in 7 shops
$110.00
65 likes
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
in 6 shops
$110.00
39 likes
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
in 4 shops
$110.00
14 likes
Black / White / University Red
Black / White / University Red
from Finishline
$110.00
82 likes
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
in 2 shops
$120.00

Summary of 3 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Phenomenal traction
Responsive cushioning
Cons:
Cheap materials

Performance of the Nike PG 5:

The traction pattern of the PG 5 is very similar to the Kobe 9 pattern and provides top-tier traction indoors. Unfortunately, the outsole isn't durable enough for outdoor use. The cushion tech is similar to last year but feels pretty different. The PG 5 isn't as plush but provides a better court feel and more responsiveness. The materials are what you've come to expect from the PG line: They feel pretty cheap but they perform well and are comfortable on foot. The PG 5 fits like most PG models slightly narrow and snug. True to size works well. The support and lockdown are very good thanks to a wide base and large outrigger - reviewers had no issues here. Overall the PG 5 is a great all-around performer and a real bargain at a list price of only $110.
See all 3 reviews

Reviews of the Nike PG 5:

The 9.0 average overall rating ranks #5 of 164 shoes overall
8.8
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 is a very solid performer. They are lightweight and I never had to worry when I played in them. Overall, there weren't many bad things I could say about these.
Watch the video
8.8
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 is a very solid performer. I wish the materials were a bit nicer, but at a $110 price point, I can't complain!
Watch the video
9.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
For $110, the PG 5 has a good amount of tech, really nice cushioning, and performs well in all aspects. There is some room for improvement when it comes to the quality of the materials.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike PG 5:

The 9.7 average traction rating ranks #2 of 164 shoes overall
10.0
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
This traction pattern is basically the same as the Kobe 9 which had GOAT traction. I only got to try these outdoors, but they were phenomenal. One thing that surprised me is that they don't squeak at all.
Watch the video
10.0
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The traction pattern has been reused from the Kobe 9 and it's top-tier!
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
The outsole reminds me of the Kobe 9 (which had great traction). The traction grips really well and provided me with a nice bite.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike PG 5:

The 9.0 average cushion rating ranks #35 of 164 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The cushion looks pretty similar to the PG 4 but feels very different. The PG 5 cushion is a lot lower to the ground and the PSI felt a lot lower in the Air unit. Impact protection is really good and court feel is nice.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 features a full-length Phylon midsole and an Air Strobel unit. Personally, I liked the setup in the PG 4 a little better because they were softer, but the PG 5s are more responsive.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
Just like last year's model, the PG5 has a full-length Air Strobel unit. The cushion feels great and is more responsive compared to the PG 4.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike PG 5:

The 7.7 average materials rating ranks #135 of 164 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The material quality is not great. It seems cheap and reminded me a lot of the PG 2. As you break-in the materials they get pretty soft and feel nice on foot though. For the price, you can't complain.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The Mesh materials look and feel a bit cheap but they get the job done just fine performance-wise.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
The materials aren't great and don't feel very premium. However, they are lightweight, flexible, require no break-in time, and get the job done performance-wise.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike PG 5:

The 9.0 average support rating ranks #14 of 164 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The support and lockdown are really good thanks to the wide base and nice outrigger. I had no issues with lateral containment and stability.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The support is really good. I had no issues with the lateral stability or containment and my foot felt locked down on the footbed.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
The PG 5 provides very good lateral stability. Nothing else was crazy lockdown-wise, but they were solid all around.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike PG 5:

The 8.3 average fit rating ranks #96 of 164 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The toe box wasn't as snug as I'd like it to be, but there wasn't a ton of extra material. For the most part the fit was really good for me and these were easy to put on which is always a plus.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
The fit is slightly narrow and snug similar to other PG models. They stretched out a little after breaking them in and the overall fit was nice.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
These ran a little short for me and were a snug fit overall. Overall comfort was good and I didn't have any issues with that.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 50.0% average outdoor rating ranks #59 of 164 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
The durability outdoors is terrible.
Watch the video
good
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
These hold up well outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike PG 5:

slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
I'd go up half a size if you have wide feet or like a roomy fit.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
I recommend going up half a size if you have wide feet.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
Wide footers should go a half size up.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike PG 5:

true to size
The Sole Brothers
February 13, 2021
True to size fit me very well.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
February 13, 2021
True to size should work well.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 13, 2021
These run true to size.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
in 7 shops
$110.00
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
Lapis Blue / Void / Crimson Bliss
in 6 shops
$110.00
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
White / Glacier Blue / Platinum Tint / Multi-Color
in 4 shops
$110.00
Black / White / University Red
Black / White / University Red
from Finishline
$110.00
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
Green Glow / Barely Green / Glacier Blue
in 2 shops
$120.00
Black / White / Barely Green / Multi-Color
$110.00
on Nike