Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Puma RS Dreamer

Released 9/2020, Low Top, 
Add to Favourites
8.4
EXPERT RATING
3 reviews
8.6
USER RATING
4 ratings
J. Cole's first signature sneaker is a solid performer and fun to play in.

Best Suitable For:

Great for guards or big guys that need a supportive shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 4 shops | Official Retail Price: $124.99
Champs Sports
$74.99
$125
Buy Now
Eastbay
$99.99
$125
Foot Locker
See all 4 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
9.2
Cushion
7.3
Materials
8.3
Support
8.7
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
83%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
42 likes
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
in 4 shops
$74.99
$125
12 likes
Puma White / Steel Gray
Puma White / Steel Gray
from Champs Sports
$74.99
$125
77 likes
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
in 4 shops
$79.99
$125
15 likes
White / Black
White / Black
in 3 shops
$79.99
$125
24 likes
Fiery Red / Puma Black
Fiery Red / Puma Black
from Champs Sports
$84.99
$125
20 likes
Blue / Black
Blue / Black
in 3 shops
$84.99
$125
3 likes
Yellow / Black
Yellow / Black
in 4 shops
$99.99
$125
11 likes
Sodalite Blue / Blue Curacao
Sodalite Blue / Blue Curacao
in 3 shops
$125.00
43 likes
Purple Heart
Purple Heart
from StockX
$80.00
47 likes
Flame Scarlet / Electric Blue
Flame Scarlet / Electric Blue
from StockX
$95.00
37 likes
Puma White / Puma Black
Puma White / Puma Black
from StockX
$122.00

Puma RS Dreamer Review

Pros:
Great traction indoors and outdoors
Very supportive
Cons:
Minimal impact protection
Pretty heavy

Performance of the Puma RS Dreamer:

How does the first collaboration between Puma and hip hop legend J.Cole perform on the hardwood? The traction on this shoe was one of the highlights and it worked well indoors and outdoors. The rubber should be durable enough for outdoor use. The cushion lacked impact protection and wasn't super comfortable, but provided a responsive setup with a nice court feel. The materials performed well and are pretty nice considering the affordable price tag. The fit was good and provided a locked-in feeling without being uncomfortable. They ran a little long in the toe area. Another strong point of the shoe is the support. Reviewers had no issues with lateral containment or stability. For $120 the RS Dreamer is a really good performer and fun to play in.
See all 3 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Puma RS Dreamer:

Expert Rating: 8.4 (ranks #104 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The RS Dreamer is one of the best looking hoop shoes of 2020. If PUMA can improve their cushion setup then they will be a serious contender to Nike, Jordan, and Adidas. You will be satisfied if you pick up the RS Dreamer!
 More details
8.2
September 15, 2020
For $120, I'd say go get a pair of the RS Dreamer because these are really fun to play in. Overall these are a solid pair of shoes if you like feeling light on your feet.
 More details
8.2
September 15, 2020
The RS Dreamer is a solid all-around shoe. The great traction and support make for a shoe that almost anyone can play in. My only issues were that they are pretty heavy and the cushion setup isn't great.
 More details

User Reviews of the Puma RS Dreamer:

User Rating: 8.6 (ranks #71 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 31, 2021
Cushion is responsive, but very heavy and stiff and hard. The only let down of this shoe. It feels supportive and very stable however, and with a cushioned orthotic these shoes would be up there with the best of them. Overall very stable and comfy aside from dead cushion, still pretty fun to play in regardless.
 More details
8.1
January 7, 2022
Not a bad shoe at all. While not the best performer, it's a nice shoe and it's few shortcomings are compensated by its looks. (Especially this colorway)
 More details
8.8
November 21, 2021
Great shoe for guards and wings that make quick cuts!
 More details
8.4
November 23, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Puma RS Dreamer:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.2 (ranks #29 of 196)
User Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #47 of 196)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The traction from PUMA has been consistently good lately and this is the case for the RS dreamer as well.
 More details
9.0
September 15, 2020
This traction pattern reminds me of a leaf and the traction is insane on clean courts. You'll have to consistently wipe to maintain traction on dust.
 More details
9.0
September 15, 2020
This traction looks like a leaf and features pretty hard rubber. I only played outdoors in these, but the grip and bite was insane. They also had good bite on my wood floors indoors.
 More details

Cushion of the Puma RS Dreamer:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.3 (ranks #174 of 196)
User Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #98 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The ProFoam was pretty firm compared to most other cushion setups and it lacked bounce. The cushion felt somewhat dead on foot.
 More details
8.0
September 15, 2020
I really liked the subtle bounce in the forefoot cushion on these. Impact protection isn't the best and this is a more responsive setup. For what it is I really enjoyed it.
 More details
7.0
September 15, 2020
These have really nice court feel, but the cushion didn't feel great. There wasn't much impact protection outdoors and my feet hurt after playing. This setup is very responsive and low to the ground.
 More details

Materials of the Puma RS Dreamer:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.3 (ranks #88 of 196)
User Materials Rating: 8.3 (ranks #76 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
These materials are nice! The mix of old and new style materials throughout the upper performs well and didn't require any break-in time.
 More details
8.0
September 15, 2020
On this colorway, the mesh is pretty nice and there are some nice synthetic hits around the upper. Performance-wise the materials do what they need to and held up well.
 More details
8.0
September 15, 2020
The knit feels pretty nice, but not as nice as the Clyde Hardwood. It is thin and conforms well to your foot. The materials aren't the most premium, but they get the job done.
 More details

Support of the Puma RS Dreamer:

Expert Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #70 of 196)
User Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #85 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The support is similar to the Clyde Hardwood. This shoe has all the standard support features you've come to expect and does the job well.
 More details
8.0
September 15, 2020
I think the support has everything you want and nothing you don't. No side to side movement on the foot bed and the base was wide enough for lateral movements. Support wasn't over the top or too minimal and has everything I want in a shoe.
 More details
9.0
September 15, 2020
Lateral containment is never going to be an issue and the base of the shoe is pretty wide. You feel stable and supported in this shoe.
 More details

Fit of the Puma RS Dreamer:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #111 of 196)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #66 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The lockdown was solid for me when I was playing, but the materials did stretch out a little. After a couple of games, I had to tighten the laces, and then everything was great.
 More details
8.0
September 15, 2020
There is a little bit of dead space in the toe box area but the fit was good everywhere else.
 More details
8.0
September 15, 2020
Ran a little long and there was a little dead space in the toe box. They are easy to put on and fit well overall.
 More details

Durability of the Puma RS Dreamer:

User Durability Rating: 9.3 (ranks #14 of 196)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Puma RS Dreamer:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 83.3 (ranks #38 of 196)
User Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #5 of 196)
Good (100%)
5
Fair (50%)
1
Bad (0%)
0
The traction was solid outdoors.
 More details
fair
September 15, 2020
I had some solid wear after playing in these for a week and a half.
 More details
good
September 15, 2020
These have high abrasion rubber and worked well for me outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Puma RS Dreamer:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
2
regular
4
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
regularly wide
September 15, 2020
I have slightly wide feet and had no issues going true to size.
 More details
slightly narrow
September 15, 2020
Wide footers may want to go up half a size.
 More details

Size of the Puma RS Dreamer:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
6
slightly long
1
very long
0
true to size
These fit true to size for me. Go down half a size if you want a really snug fit.
 More details
true to size
September 15, 2020
True to size worked well for me.
 More details
true to size
September 15, 2020
I went true to size and it worked well for me.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
in 4 shops
$74.99
$125
Puma White / Steel Gray
Puma White / Steel Gray
from Champs Sports
$74.99
$125
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
in 4 shops
$79.99
$125
White / Black
White / Black
in 3 shops
$79.99
$125
Fiery Red / Puma Black
Fiery Red / Puma Black
from Champs Sports
$84.99
$125
Blue / Black
Blue / Black
in 3 shops
$84.99
$125
Yellow / Black
Yellow / Black
in 4 shops
$99.99
$125
Sodalite Blue / Blue Curacao
Sodalite Blue / Blue Curacao
in 3 shops
$125.00
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
$74.99
on Champs Sports