Search Shoe

Puma RS Dreamer

Puma RS Dreamer
Puma RS Dreamer
Puma RS Dreamer
Puma RS Dreamer
Add to Favourites
8.4
J. Cole's first signature sneaker is a solid performer and fun to play in.
based on 3 expert reviews
based on 3 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Great for guards or big guys that need a supportive shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $124.99
Champs Sports
$99.99
$125
Buy Now
Eastbay
Foot Locker

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
9.2
Cushion
7.3
Materials
8.3
Support
8.7
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
83%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
9/2020
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
53 likes
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
in 3 shops
$99.99
$125
27 likes
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
in 3 shops
$99.99
$125
8 likes
Puma White / Steel Gray
Puma White / Steel Gray
in 3 shops
$99.99
$125
4 likes
Fiery Red / Puma Black
Fiery Red / Puma Black
in 3 shops
$125.00
40 likes
Purple Heart
Purple Heart
No stores found
29 likes
Puma White / Puma Black
Puma White / Puma Black
No stores found
41 likes
Flame Scarlet / Electric Blue
Flame Scarlet / Electric Blue
No stores found

Puma RS Dreamer Review

Pros:
Great traction indoors and outdoors
Very supportive
Cons:
Minimal impact protection
Pretty heavy

Performance of the Puma RS Dreamer:

How does the first collaboration between Puma and hip hop legend J.Cole perform on the hardwood? The traction on this shoe was one of the highlights and it worked well indoors and outdoors. The rubber should be durable enough for outdoor use. The cushion lacked impact protection and wasn't super comfortable, but provided a responsive setup with a nice court feel. The materials performed well and are pretty nice considering the affordable price tag. The fit was good and provided a locked-in feeling without being uncomfortable. They ran a little long in the toe area. Another strong point of the shoe is the support. Reviewers had no issues with lateral containment or stability. For $120 the RS Dreamer is a really good performer and fun to play in.
See all 3 reviews

Reviews of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 8.4 average overall rating ranks #99 of 171 shoes overall
8.7
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 6, 2020
The RS Dreamer is one of the best looking hoop shoes of 2020. If PUMA can improve their cushion setup then they will be a serious contender to Nike, Jordan, and Adidas. You will be satisfied if you pick up the RS Dreamer!
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.2
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
The RS Dreamer is a solid all-around shoe. The great traction and support make for a shoe that almost anyone can play in. My only issues were that they are pretty heavy and the cushion setup isn't great.
Watch the video
8.2
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
For $120, I'd say go get a pair of the RS Dreamer because these are really fun to play in. Overall these are a solid pair of shoes if you like feeling light on your feet.
Watch the video

Traction of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 9.2 average traction rating ranks #27 of 171 shoes overall
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 6, 2020
The traction from PUMA has been consistently good lately and this is the case for the RS dreamer as well.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
This traction looks like a leaf and features pretty hard rubber. I only played outdoors in these, but the grip and bite was insane. They also had good bite on my wood floors indoors.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
This traction pattern reminds me of a leaf and the traction is insane on clean courts. You'll have to consistently wipe to maintain traction on dust.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 7.3 average cushion rating ranks #152 of 171 shoes overall
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 6, 2020
The ProFoam was pretty firm compared to most other cushion setups and it lacked bounce. The cushion felt somewhat dead on foot.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
These have really nice court feel, but the cushion didn't feel great. There wasn't much impact protection outdoors and my feet hurt after playing. This setup is very responsive and low to the ground.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
I really liked the subtle bounce in the forefoot cushion on these. Impact protection isn't the best and this is a more responsive setup. For what it is I really enjoyed it.
Watch the video

Materials of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 8.3 average materials rating ranks #82 of 171 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 6, 2020
These materials are nice! The mix of old and new style materials throughout the upper performs well and didn't require any break-in time.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
The knit feels pretty nice, but not as nice as the Clyde Hardwood. It is thin and conforms well to your foot. The materials aren't the most premium, but they get the job done.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
On this colorway, the mesh is pretty nice and there are some nice synthetic hits around the upper. Performance-wise the materials do what they need to and held up well.
Watch the video

Support of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 8.7 average support rating ranks #67 of 171 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 6, 2020
The support is similar to the Clyde Hardwood. This shoe has all the standard support features you've come to expect and does the job well.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
Lateral containment is never going to be an issue and the base of the shoe is pretty wide. You feel stable and supported in this shoe.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
I think the support has everything you want and nothing you don't. No side to side movement on the foot bed and the base was wide enough for lateral movements. Support wasn't over the top or too minimal and has everything I want in a shoe.
Watch the video

Fit of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 8.3 average fit rating ranks #102 of 171 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 6, 2020
The lockdown was solid for me when I was playing, but the materials did stretch out a little. After a couple of games, I had to tighten the laces, and then everything was great.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
Ran a little long and there was a little dead space in the toe box. They are easy to put on and fit well overall.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
There is a little bit of dead space in the toe box area but the fit was good everywhere else.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 83.3% average outdoor rating ranks #33 of 171 shoes overall
good
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 6, 2020
The traction was solid outdoors.
Watch the Video|Read the article
good
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
These have high abrasion rubber and worked well for me outdoors.
Watch the video
fair
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
I had some solid wear after playing in these for a week and a half.
Watch the video

Width of the Puma RS Dreamer:

slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
Wide footers may want to go up half a size.
Watch the video
regularly wide
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
I have slightly wide feet and had no issues going true to size.
Watch the video

Size of the Puma RS Dreamer:

true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 6, 2020
These fit true to size for me. Go down half a size if you want a really snug fit.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
I went true to size and it worked well for me.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
True to size worked well for me.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
in 3 shops
$99.99
$125
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
in 3 shops
$99.99
$125
Puma White / Steel Gray
Puma White / Steel Gray
in 3 shops
$99.99
$125
Fiery Red / Puma Black
Fiery Red / Puma Black
in 3 shops
$125.00
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
$99.99
on Champs Sports