Search Shoe

Puma RS Dreamer Review

Puma RS Dreamer
Puma RS Dreamer
Puma RS Dreamer
Puma RS Dreamer
8.2
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$124.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
9/2020
Traction
9.0
Cushion
7.5
Materials
8.0
Support
8.5
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
75%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Puma RS Dreamer:

11 likes
Purple Heart
Purple Heart
from Champs Sports
$125.00
7 likes
Puma White / Puma Black
Puma White / Puma Black
from Champs Sports
$125.00
9 likes
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
Puma Black / Nrgy Red
No stores found
7 likes
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
Fiery Red / Ribbon Red
No stores found

Summary of 2 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Great traction indoors and outdoors
Very supportive
Cons:
Minimal impact protection
Pretty heavy

Performance of the Puma RS Dreamer:

How does the first collaboration between Puma and hip hop legend J.Cole perform on the hardwood? The traction on this shoe was one of the highlights and it worked well indoors and outdoors. The rubber should be durable enough for outdoor use. The cushion lacked impact protection and wasn't super comfortable, but provided a responsive setup with a nice court feel. The materials performed well and are pretty nice considering the affordable price tag. The fit was good and provided a locked-in feeling without being uncomfortable. They ran a little long in the toe area. Another strong point of the shoe is the support. Reviewers had no issues with lateral containment or stability. For $120 the RS Dreamer is a really good performer and fun to play in.
See all 2 reviews

Reviews of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 8.2 average overall rating ranks #102 of 138 shoes overall
8.2
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
The RS Dreamer is a solid all-around shoe. The great traction and support make for a shoe that almost anyone can play in. My only issues were that they are pretty heavy and the cushion setup isn't great.
Watch the video
8.2
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
For $120, I'd say go get a pair of the RS Dreamer because these are really fun to play in. Overall these are a solid pair of shoes if you like feeling light on your feet.
Watch the video

Traction of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 9.0 average traction rating ranks #30 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
This traction looks like a leaf and features pretty hard rubber. I only played outdoors in these, but the grip and bite was insane. They also had good bite on my wood floors indoors.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
This traction pattern reminds me of a leaf and the traction is insane on clean courts. You'll have to consistently wipe to maintain traction on dust.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 7.5 average cushion rating ranks #117 of 138 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
These have really nice court feel, but the cushion didn't feel great. There wasn't much impact protection outdoors and my feet hurt after playing. This setup is very responsive and low to the ground.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
I really liked the subtle bounce in the forefoot cushion on these. Impact protection isn't the best and this is a more responsive setup. For what it is I really enjoyed it.
Watch the video

Materials of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 8.0 average materials rating ranks #93 of 138 shoes overall
8.0
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
The knit feels pretty nice, but not as nice as the Clyde Hardwood. It is thin and conforms well to your foot. The materials aren't the most premium, but they get the job done.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
On this colorway, the mesh is pretty nice and there are some nice synthetic hits around the upper. Performance-wise the materials do what they need to and held up well.
Watch the video

Support of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 8.5 average support rating ranks #65 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
Lateral containment is never going to be an issue and the base of the shoe is pretty wide. You feel stable and supported in this shoe.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
I think the support has everything you want and nothing you don't. No side to side movement on the foot bed and the base was wide enough for lateral movements. Support wasn't over the top or too minimal and has everything I want in a shoe.
Watch the video

Fit of the Puma RS Dreamer:

The 8.0 average fit rating ranks #98 of 138 shoes overall
8.0
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
Ran a little long and there was a little dead space in the toe box. They are easy to put on and fit well overall.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
There is a little bit of dead space in the toe box area but the fit was good everywhere else.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 75% average outdoor rating ranks #31 of 138 shoes overall
good
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
These have high abrasion rubber and worked well for me outdoors.
Watch the video
fair
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
I had some solid wear after playing in these for a week and a half.
Watch the video

Width of the Puma RS Dreamer:

slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
Wide footers may want to go up half a size.
Watch the video
regularly wide
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
I have slightly wide feet and had no issues going true to size.
Watch the video

Size of the Puma RS Dreamer:

true to size
The Sole Brothers
September 15, 2020
I went true to size and it worked well for me.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
September 15, 2020
True to size worked well for me.
Watch the video
Deals from $125:
Purple Heart
Purple Heart
from Champs Sports
$125.00
Puma White / Puma Black
Puma White / Puma Black
from Champs Sports
$125.00
Purple Heart
$125.00
on Champs Sports
White / Metallic Gold / Black
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
White / Metallic Gold / Black
46 likes
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
Nike Zoom Freak 2
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
38 likes
Court Purple / Black / University Gold
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
Court Purple / Black / University Gold
32 likes
Glory Mint / Signal Green / Solar Red
Adidas D.O.N Issue #2
Glory Mint / Signal Green / Solar Red
28 likes
White / Black / Flash Crimson / White
Nike Renew Elevate
White / Black / Flash Crimson / White
26 likes
Forest Green / Metallic Red Bronze / Speed Yellow
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
Forest Green / Metallic Red Bronze / Speed Yellow
24 likes