Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Harden Stepback 2

Released 1/2021, Low Top, James Harden
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
2 reviews
8.8
USER RATING
1 reviews
The budget model Harden Stepback 2 is arguably better than the signature Volume 5.

Best Suitable For:

Best for guards or wings who want court feel and don't need a lot of compression.

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $79.99
Finishline
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.5
Cushion
7.5
Materials
9.0
Support
8.0
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
27 likes
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Cloud White
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Cloud White
in 2 shops
$65.00
$80
20 likes
Solar Red / Yellow / Acid Mint
Solar Red / Yellow / Acid Mint
No stores found
23 likes
Hi-Res Yellow / Crew Yellow / Royal Blue
Hi-Res Yellow / Crew Yellow / Royal Blue
No stores found
36 likes
Core Black / Yellow / Acid Mint
Core Black / Yellow / Acid Mint
No stores found

Adidas Harden Stepback 2 Review

Pros:
Great fit
Nice materials for the price.
Cons:
Minimal impact protection
Some heel slippage

Performance of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

The traction on the Harden Stepback 2 is pretty similar to the Volume 5, but performs better. The outsole is durable enough for outdoor use as well. The cushion setup features Bounce and has great responsiveness and court feel. There isn't much impact protection or compression though. The materials are really nice for a budget line shoe and feel great on foot. The fit runs slightly large and it is recommended to go a half size down. The overall fit is great partially due to the half bootie construction. The support performs well for the most part. The lateral containment and stability are solid, but reviewers had some issues with heel slippage when breaking these in. Overall the Harden Stepback 2 is a great performer, especially for the price!
See all 2 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

The 8.3 average overall rating ranks #115 of 186 shoes overall
8.4
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The Harden Stepback 2 retails for $80 and I would definitely recommend it. You get solid all-around basketball shoes that perform better than the much more expensive Harden Vol. 5.
Watch the video
8.2
The Sole Brothers
January 23, 2021
For only $80 retail, the Harden Stepback 2 is a great performer. They are a little bottom heavy and I had some heel slippage issues, but other than that, I really like this shoe!
Watch the video

User Reviews of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

There are 1 user ratings with an average rating of 8.8
8.8
N$PAT-04
Yesterday at 04:52 AM
This shoe is a budget shoe that has one of the best performance in the harden line. It has great traction, materials and fit. This shoe is likely to be for Guards to play on, however it's a narrow shoe so if you have a regular feet or flat feet you should add at least half a size or one. Overall, for a $65 shoe, it's amazing!

Traction of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

The 8.5 average traction rating ranks #91 of 186 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
I'm pretty sure the Stepback 2 uses the exact same traction pattern as the disappointing Harden Vol. 5. Here the traction was actually really good. Great bite on clean courts, and a little wiping required on dust.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 23, 2021
The traction is pretty good. I slipped out a few times but overall the bite was really good.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

The 7.5 average cushion rating ranks #159 of 186 shoes overall
8.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The cushion features full-length Bounce and is a little firmer compared to other shoes using Bounce. You get a lot of court feel and responsiveness, as well as decent impact protection and bounce out of this setup.
Watch the video
7.0
The Sole Brothers
January 23, 2021
The Bounce cushioning midsole is really thin and not as soft as usual. The court feel is really good, but there is not a lot of impact protection or compression.
Watch the video

Materials of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

The 9.0 average materials rating ranks #17 of 186 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The full textile upper was pretty nice, especially for the price. The materials are soft to the touch and conform nicely to your feet. I liked these materials a lot better than the materials of the Volume 5.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 23, 2021
For an $80 shoe, the materials are really nice. The look is pretty premium and the materials feel great on foot.
Watch the video

Support of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

The 8.0 average support rating ranks #142 of 186 shoes overall
8.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The support is pretty good. The external heel counter helped lock down my heel and the lateral containment is decent. It has pretty much everything you want support wise.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 23, 2021
I had absolutely zero issues with lateral containment which was kind of surprising. Lateral stability was nice even without an outrigger. One thing I struggled with a little was heel slippage when I was breaking these in.
Watch the video

Fit of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

The 8.5 average fit rating ranks #74 of 186 shoes overall
8.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
This shoe is pretty narrow in the midfoot and forefoot area similar to other Harden models. The materials broke in well and loosened up a bit after some use. There is no dead space in the toe box and overall the fit is good.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 23, 2021
The Harden Stepback 2 fit me like a glove and with no dead space in the toe box. The half bootie construction makes the overall fit really nice.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100.0% average outdoor rating ranks #5 of 186 shoes overall
good
The Sole Brothers
January 23, 2021
The durability of the rubber was insanely good.
Watch the video

Width of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

slightly narrow
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
If you're a wide footer you could do true to size or a half size down depending on how wide your foot is.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
January 23, 2021
If you have wide feet I'd suggest going up half a size or maybe even a full size.
Watch the video

Size of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

½ size large
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
I recommend going down a half size.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
January 23, 2021
I went true to my Adidas size.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Cloud White
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Cloud White
in 2 shops
$65.00
$80
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Cloud White
$65.00
on Finishline