Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Harden Stepback 2

Released 1/2021, Low Top, James Harden, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
2 reviews
8.0
USER RATING
19 ratings
The budget model Harden Stepback 2 is arguably better than the signature Volume 5.

Best Suitable For:

Best for guards or wings who want court feel and don't need a lot of compression.

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $79.99
StockX
from $93.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (2)
User Ratings (19)
Traction
8.5
Cushion
7.5
Materials
9.0
Support
8.0
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas Harden Stepback 2
Adidas Harden Stepback 2
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 9
Under Armour Curry 9
Li-Ning Wade 808 2
Li-Ning Wade 808 2
Jordan Luka 1
Jordan Luka 1
Puma Clyde Hardwood
Puma Clyde Hardwood
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.38.9(0.6)8.9(0.6)8.8(0.5)8.5(0.2)8.7(0.4)
User Rating8.09.0(1.0)9.2(1.2)9.2(1.2)9.2(1.2)8.6(0.6)
Best Price$79.99
$159.99
$109.99
$160
$119
$109.99
$99.99
$120
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight400g - 420gNA320g - 330g400g - 420g360g - 380g460g - 480g
 Show More
61 likes
Core Black / Yellow / Acid Mint
Core Black / Yellow / Acid Mint
from StockX
$93.00
37 likes
Hi-Res Yellow / Crew Yellow / Royal Blue
Hi-Res Yellow / Crew Yellow / Royal Blue
from StockX
$136.00
29 likes
Solar Red / Yellow / Acid Mint
Solar Red / Yellow / Acid Mint
from StockX
$180.00
43 likes
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Cloud White
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Cloud White
No stores found

Adidas Harden Stepback 2 Review

Pros:
Great fit
Nice materials for the price.
Cons:
Minimal impact protection
Some heel slippage

Performance of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

The traction on the Harden Stepback 2 is pretty similar to the Volume 5, but performs better. The outsole is durable enough for outdoor use as well. The cushion setup features Bounce and has great responsiveness and court feel. There isn't much impact protection or compression though. The materials are really nice for a budget line shoe and feel great on foot. The fit runs slightly large and it is recommended to go a half size down. The overall fit is great partially due to the half bootie construction. The support performs well for the most part. The lateral containment and stability are solid, but reviewers had some issues with heel slippage when breaking these in. Overall the Harden Stepback 2 is a great performer, especially for the price!
See all 2 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #145 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.4
January 23, 2021
The Harden Stepback 2 retails for $80 and I would definitely recommend it. You get solid all-around basketball shoes that perform better than the much more expensive Harden Vol. 5.
 More details
8.2
January 23, 2021
For only $80 retail, the Harden Stepback 2 is a great performer. They are a little bottom heavy and I had some heel slippage issues, but other than that, I really like this shoe!
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

User Rating: 8.0 (ranks #187 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.8
November 20, 2022
I loved it, I played in this shoe only outdoor's for 10 straight months and they were amazing, the traction is pretty good, the cushion is the only real downside, the impact protection was bad, support is decent like I had very few issues with the support of the shoe but is not great either, materials and fit especially for that price were both amazing, really comfortable and really good court feel, the durability is awesome, hold it up pretty well for 10 months only on outdoors.
 More details
6.8
March 13, 2022
The most notable problem are the piss poor laces which are so thin they are an absolute pain to tie. This would be fine if the fit wasnt so damn loose around the heel. Everywhere else its a great fit for people with wider feet such as mine. It is also unable to be used indoors at a high level after much outdoor use. The rubber will quickly be pealed off and worn down.
 More details
8.4
July 17, 2022
Its a very good shoe especially for dunking.Its also a responsive shoe but not for fast players cause its a bit bulky and heavy.I liked that shoe and i would recommend it for both harden fans and players who are not fast but want a shoe in a good price.The only negatives are that it is a heavy shoe and i experienced some heel slippage.
 More details
8.8
October 25, 2021
This shoe is a budget shoe that has one of the best performance in the harden line. It has great traction, materials and fit. This shoe is likely to be for Guards to play on, however it's a narrow shoe so if you have a regular feet or flat feet you should add at least half a size or one. Overall, for a $65 shoe, it's amazing!
 More details
5.5
June 25, 2022
I don’t remember wearing shoes that are so uncomfortable. They gave me blisters and my soles hurt like hell. They were very heavy and the durability was small. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone, there are a lot of other better shoes you can wear for the same price.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #117 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 8.3 (ranks #152 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 23, 2021
I'm pretty sure the Stepback 2 uses the exact same traction pattern as the disappointing Harden Vol. 5. Here the traction was actually really good. Great bite on clean courts, and a little wiping required on dust.
 More details
8.0
January 23, 2021
The traction is pretty good. I slipped out a few times but overall the bite was really good.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.5 (ranks #201 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 7.2 (ranks #185 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
1
8.0
January 23, 2021
The cushion features full-length Bounce and is a little firmer compared to other shoes using Bounce. You get a lot of court feel and responsiveness, as well as decent impact protection and bounce out of this setup.
 More details
7.0
January 23, 2021
The Bounce cushioning midsole is really thin and not as soft as usual. The court feel is really good, but there is not a lot of impact protection or compression.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

Expert Materials Rating: 9.0 (ranks #14 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #151 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
1
9.0
January 23, 2021
The full textile upper was pretty nice, especially for the price. The materials are soft to the touch and conform nicely to your feet. I liked these materials a lot better than the materials of the Volume 5.
 More details
9.0
January 23, 2021
For an $80 shoe, the materials are really nice. The look is pretty premium and the materials feel great on foot.
 More details

Support of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

Expert Support Rating: 8.0 (ranks #179 of 233)
User Support Rating: 7.5 (ranks #196 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
1
8.0
January 23, 2021
The support is pretty good. The external heel counter helped lock down my heel and the lateral containment is decent. It has pretty much everything you want support wise.
 More details
8.0
January 23, 2021
I had absolutely zero issues with lateral containment which was kind of surprising. Lateral stability was nice even without an outrigger. One thing I struggled with a little was heel slippage when I was breaking these in.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #88 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 7.7 (ranks #187 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
3
8.0
January 23, 2021
This shoe is pretty narrow in the midfoot and forefoot area similar to other Harden models. The materials broke in well and loosened up a bit after some use. There is no dead space in the toe box and overall the fit is good.
 More details
9.0
January 23, 2021
The Harden Stepback 2 fit me like a glove and with no dead space in the toe box. The half bootie construction makes the overall fit really nice.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

User Durability Rating: 8.4 (ranks #128 of 233)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
2

Outdoor of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #6 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 71.1 (ranks #75 of 233)
Good (100%)
12
Fair (50%)
5
Bad (0%)
3
good
January 23, 2021
The durability of the rubber was insanely good.
 More details

Width of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

very narrow
2
slightly narrow
6
regular
8
slightly wide
5
very wide
0
slightly narrow
January 23, 2021
If you're a wide footer you could do true to size or a half size down depending on how wide your foot is.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 23, 2021
If you have wide feet I'd suggest going up half a size or maybe even a full size.
 More details

Size of the Adidas Harden Stepback 2:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
12
slightly long
7
very long
0
½ size large
January 23, 2021
I recommend going down a half size.
 More details
true to size
January 23, 2021
I went true to my Adidas size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: