Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Harden Vol. 5

Released 1/2021, Low Top, James Harden
Add to Favourites
6.9
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
NA
USER RATING
0 reviews
James Harden's 5th signature shoe is a disappointing basketball shoe

Best Suitable For:

Only recommended for players who hoop outdoors and need a responsive shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 5 shops | Official Retail Price: $129.99
Adidas
$91.00
$130
Buy Now
Finishline
See all 5 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
6.8
Cushion
6.8
Materials
6.8
Support
7.5
Fit
7.3
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
9 likes
Team Power Red / Team Maroon / Solar Red
Team Power Red / Team Maroon / Solar Red
in 3 shops
$91.00
$130
12 likes
Royal Blue / Team Navy / Blue
Royal Blue / Team Navy / Blue
in 3 shops
$91.00
$130
26 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Core Black / Cloud White / Royal Blue
from Finishline
$105.00
$130
53 likes
Crystal White / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Crystal White / Cloud White / Royal Blue
from DICK's
$129.99
38 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
from DICK's
$129.99
15 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Team Dark Grey
Core Black / Cloud White / Team Dark Grey
from Eastbay
$130.00
8 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Solar Red
Cloud White / Core Black / Solar Red
from Eastbay
$130.00
10 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
from Eastbay
$130.00
5 likes
Team Navy / Cloud White / Vivid Red
Team Navy / Cloud White / Vivid Red
from Finishline
$130.00
6 likes
Team Light Blue / Crew Navy / Cloud White
Team Light Blue / Crew Navy / Cloud White
from Adidas
$130.00
44 likes
Solar Red / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Solar Red / Cloud White / Royal Blue
from StockX
$111.00
21 likes
Acid Orange / Chalk White / Screaming Orange
Acid Orange / Chalk White / Screaming Orange
from StockX
$138.00
20 likes
Solar Yellow / Crew Yellow / Hi-Res Yellow
Solar Yellow / Crew Yellow / Hi-Res Yellow
from StockX
$140.00
37 likes
Clear Mint / Crew Yellow / Clear Mint
Clear Mint / Crew Yellow / Clear Mint
from StockX
$145.00
27 likes
Icey Pink / Cloud White / Glow Pink
Icey Pink / Cloud White / Glow Pink
from StockX
$184.00
19 likes
Sky Tint / Cloud White / Screaming Pink
Sky Tint / Cloud White / Screaming Pink
from StockX
$260.00
21 likes
Vivid Red / Bold Gold / Royal Blue
Vivid Red / Bold Gold / Royal Blue
No stores found

Adidas Harden Vol. 5 Review

Pros:
Good lateral stability
Cons:
Bad traction
Awful heel slippage

Performance of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The bite of the Harden Vol. 5 is poor and doesn't grip well on dusty or even clean courts. Outdoors, the traction performs a little better and doesn't wear down too quickly. The combination of Boost and Lightstrike provides a responsive cushion setup with good court feel. However, reviewers complained about the rigid midsole that didn't flex well. The materials feel very plasticky and hard which is disappointing in a $130 signature sneaker. The support is good laterally, but reviewers had a lot of issues with heel slippage despite the thick Achilles pillows. Overall the Harden Vol. 5 is disappointing and wasn't recommended by any of the reviewers.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 6.9 average overall rating ranks #186 of 186 shoes overall
7.6
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
The Harden Volume 5 uses "new tech" for the sake of using "new tech". At $130 these aren't super expensive, but they don't do anything better than their predecessors and that is generous. I don't recommend these.
7.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
I really wanted to like the Harden Volume 5, but I'm super disappointed with the performance of these. I'll probably never ball in them again, and I don't recommend them.
Watch the video
6.6
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The Harden Vol. 5 retails for $130 and considering the problems I had, these are a no go. I highly recommend staying away from this shoe unless you are a big Harden fan.
Watch the video
6.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
The Harden Vol. 5 comes in at $130 which isn't bad for a signature shoe but is too much considering the performance of these. Unless you're a diehard Harden fan I can't see anyone hooping in these.
Watch the video

User Reviews of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

There are 0 user ratings with an average rating of NA

Traction of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 6.8 average traction rating ranks #176 of 186 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
The traction is good on clean courts or after wiping but doesn't keep the dirt away well.
7.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
The traction was a little weird and reminded me a lot of the Jordan 31. It's really good on side-to-side movements, but I had some slipping issues with linear moves. I only got to try these outdoors.
Watch the video
5.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The traction is absolutely terrible. On the cleanest courts I could find, I would slide to a stop, and on courts with average dust it was awful.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
The traction took a while to break in and was disappointing even then. On clean courts it was okay, but with any dust, I had a lot of grip issues.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 6.8 average cushion rating ranks #180 of 186 shoes overall
6.0
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
The drop-in Boost insole was a big problem for me. There was a ton of slope around the heel that didn't let my foot sit properly in the shoe and caused a ton of heel slip. Even worse was the stiff shank on the bottom of the insole. It never broke in and was super stiff.
7.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
There is no exposed midsole cushion at all, but there are Boost and Lightstrike drop-in soles. There is some slight compression in the heel, but everywhere else you don't feel anything. I think the drop in insole was just too thin.
Watch the video
7.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
This cushion setup is pretty similar to the Pro Boost and I got a lot of court feel and responsiveness, but the impact protection was definitely lacking. I also don't like how hard it is to flex this shoe.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
With the combination of Boost and Lightstrike, I expected this cushion to be great. Unfortunately, it is bottom-heavy and rigid. Pretty comfortable and responsive, but just doesn't flex well.
Watch the video

Materials of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 6.8 average materials rating ranks #184 of 186 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
These materials feel like a throwback to 2010 or 2012 and aren't premium to the touch at all. I didn't have any issues with pinching or hot spots though.
6.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
The materials are pretty bad. The upper is super fused and glued down which provides a super-stiff feeling - not cozy or comfortable at all.
Watch the video
7.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The upper is very plasticky and doesn't feel great to the touch or very premium. It offers a lot of containment because of how rigid it is, but I'm not a huge fan of the materials.
Watch the video
6.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
The materials are just not good. They are very hard, not flexible, and not breathable. They do not feel very premium and overall are disappointing.
Watch the video

Support of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 7.5 average support rating ranks #168 of 186 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
I had no issues with support and stability. These were just a wide as the Volume 3 in the forefoot and wider in the heel.
7.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
Lateral containment is really really good in these, but heel lockdown is terrible. Even with the nice Achilles pads, my foot wanted to pop out the whole time. I had no issues with lateral stability.
Watch the video
6.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The support in the Vol. 5 was not good. The Achilles pillows felt nice, but didn't do their job very well and I had a ton of heel slippage. I could easily slide my foot out of the shoe even with the laces cranked down. These did have decent lateral support though.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
The lateral stability is good with a very wide base. I did have heel slippage even with the thick Achilles cushion pillows, so I had to tie down the laces a lot.
Watch the video

Fit of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 7.3 average fit rating ranks #174 of 186 shoes overall
7.0
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
The Volume 5 is a lot bigger than normal sized shoes and was hard to feel nimble in. I did like the lack of headspace in the forefoot and there wasn't any side to side movement on the footbed. Again heel slippage was an issue.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
These run super long, so I went down half a size. The toe box is really snug and the overall fit is okay.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The fit is pretty good and the materials conform nicely to your feet. The overall fit was decent.
Watch the video
6.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
The Harden Vol. 5 a little long in the toe, but not enough that I had to go down half a size. Overall they just weren't comfortable and I had a lot of pain in my midfoot to the point where I had to stop playing in them.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100.0% average outdoor rating ranks #4 of 186 shoes overall
good
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
Durability was good outdoors.
Watch the video
good
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
These held up better outdoors than they did indoors and the slipping wasn't as bad.
Watch the video

Width of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

regularly wide
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
These were normal width wise.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
If you have wide feet be cautious with these because it is a bit tight in the midfoot area.
Watch the video

Size of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

true to size
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
I went true to size.
true to size
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
Go down half a size from your Adidas size.
Watch the video
½ size large
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
These run a half size big.
Watch the video
½ size large
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
True to size worked, but if you like a snug fit go down half a size.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Team Power Red / Team Maroon / Solar Red
Team Power Red / Team Maroon / Solar Red
in 3 shops
$91.00
$130
Royal Blue / Team Navy / Blue
Royal Blue / Team Navy / Blue
in 3 shops
$91.00
$130
Core Black / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Core Black / Cloud White / Royal Blue
from Finishline
$105.00
$130
Crystal White / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Crystal White / Cloud White / Royal Blue
from DICK's
$129.99
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
from DICK's
$129.99
Core Black / Cloud White / Team Dark Grey
Core Black / Cloud White / Team Dark Grey
from Eastbay
$130.00
Cloud White / Core Black / Solar Red
Cloud White / Core Black / Solar Red
from Eastbay
$130.00
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
from Eastbay
$130.00
Team Navy / Cloud White / Vivid Red
Team Navy / Cloud White / Vivid Red
from Finishline
$130.00
Team Light Blue / Crew Navy / Cloud White
Team Light Blue / Crew Navy / Cloud White
from Adidas
$130.00
Team Power Red / Team Maroon / Solar Red
$91.00
on Adidas