Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Harden Vol. 5

Released 1/2021, Low Top, James Harden, 
Add to Favourites
6.9
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
6.8
USER RATING
28 ratings
James Harden's 5th signature shoe is a disappointing basketball shoe

Best Suitable For:

Only recommended for players who hoop outdoors and need a responsive shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $129.99
StockX
from $45.00
Buy Now
GOAT
from $55.00
KicksCrew
from $65.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (4)
User Ratings (28)
Traction
6.8
Cushion
6.8
Materials
6.8
Support
7.5
Fit
7.3
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas Harden Vol. 5
Adidas Harden Vol. 5
Jordan Luka 2
Jordan Luka 2
Li-Ning Wade Shadow 5
Li-Ning Wade Shadow 5
Adidas D.O.N. Issue 5
Adidas D.O.N. Issue 5
Puma Court Rider
Puma Court Rider
Nike Precision 6
Nike Precision 6
Add shoe
Expert Rating6.98.3(1.4)8.0(1.1)8.1(1.2)8.2(1.3)7.9(1.0)
User Rating6.88.6(1.8)NA7.6(0.8)8.1(1.3)8.5(1.7)
Best Price$129.99
$78.97
$130
$119
$130
$65
$120
$70.97
$100
$75
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight490g - 510g390g - 410gNANA410g - 420gNA
 Show More
12 likes
Team Navy / Cloud White / Vivid Red
Team Navy / Cloud White / Vivid Red
from 3 Resellers
$45.00
25 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
from 3 Resellers
$50.00
21 likes
Team Power Red / Team Maroon / Solar Red
Team Power Red / Team Maroon / Solar Red
from 2 Resellers
$52.00
27 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Team Dark Grey
Core Black / Cloud White / Team Dark Grey
from 3 Resellers
$65.00
22 likes
Royal Blue / Team Navy / Blue
Royal Blue / Team Navy / Blue
from 2 Resellers
$67.00
43 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Core Black / Cloud White / Royal Blue
from 3 Resellers
$85.00
22 likes
Team Light Blue / Crew Navy / Cloud White
Team Light Blue / Crew Navy / Cloud White
from 3 Resellers
$87.00
58 likes
Solar Red / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Solar Red / Cloud White / Royal Blue
from 3 Resellers
$103.00
39 likes
Icey Pink / Cloud White / Glow Pink
Icey Pink / Cloud White / Glow Pink
from 3 Resellers
$114.00
80 likes
Crystal White / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Crystal White / Cloud White / Royal Blue
from 3 Resellers
$120.00
42 likes
Sky Tint / Cloud White / Screaming Pink
Sky Tint / Cloud White / Screaming Pink
from 3 Resellers
$125.00
47 likes
Acid Orange / Chalk White / Screaming Orange
Acid Orange / Chalk White / Screaming Orange
from 3 Resellers
$129.00
54 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
from 3 Resellers
$140.00
19 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Solar Red
Cloud White / Core Black / Solar Red
from 3 Resellers
$141.00
69 likes
Clear Mint / Crew Yellow / Clear Mint
Clear Mint / Crew Yellow / Clear Mint
from 3 Resellers
$150.00
43 likes
Solar Yellow / Crew Yellow / Hi-Res Yellow
Solar Yellow / Crew Yellow / Hi-Res Yellow
from 3 Resellers
$165.00
40 likes
Vivid Red / Bold Gold / Royal Blue
Vivid Red / Bold Gold / Royal Blue
No stores found

Adidas Harden Vol. 5 Review

Pros:
Good lateral stability
Cons:
Bad traction
Awful heel slippage

Performance of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The bite of the Harden Vol. 5 is poor and doesn't grip well on dusty or even clean courts. Outdoors, the traction performs a little better and doesn't wear down too quickly. The combination of Boost and Lightstrike provides a responsive cushion setup with good court feel. However, reviewers complained about the rigid midsole that didn't flex well. The materials feel very plasticky and hard which is disappointing in a $130 signature sneaker. The support is good laterally, but reviewers had a lot of issues with heel slippage despite the thick Achilles pillows. Overall the Harden Vol. 5 is disappointing and wasn't recommended by any of the reviewers.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

Expert Rating: 6.9 (ranks #295 of 295)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.6
February 1, 2021
The Harden Volume 5 uses "new tech" for the sake of using "new tech". At $130 these aren't super expensive, but they don't do anything better than their predecessors and that is generous. I don't recommend these.
 More details
7.0
February 3, 2021
I really wanted to like the Harden Volume 5, but I'm super disappointed with the performance of these. I'll probably never ball in them again, and I don't recommend them.
 More details
6.6
January 23, 2021
The Harden Vol. 5 retails for $130 and considering the problems I had, these are a no go. I highly recommend staying away from this shoe unless you are a big Harden fan.
 More details
6.5
The Harden Vol. 5 comes in at $130 which isn't bad for a signature shoe but is too much considering the performance of these. Unless you're a diehard Harden fan I can't see anyone hooping in these.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

User Rating: 6.8 (ranks #271 of 295)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
8
6 - Subpar
8
5 - Poor
6
6.0
October 19, 2022
I buy this shoes here in Chile one year ago, the worst things about them is It weight. It feels todo heavy and uncomfortable, My feet sometimes hurt after or during a Game. The things i like are the desing, and the outdoor performace beacuse they work very well even after hours of playing
 More details
6.4
October 28, 2023
Really disappointed in these. Got them for retail when they came out. Wore them 3 times and they were a disappointment. I got blisters, my foot hurt a lot, traction is awful. Only great thing is cushion. Do not buy these if you care about your feet.
 More details
6.8
August 23, 2022
A very bulky and heavy shoe.Its a great shoe for playing outdoors but not great overall.Both the traction and the cushion ain't outstanding.I wouldn't recommend this shoe.
 More details
8.0
January 19, 2022
Very good shoe. Traction is very good after breaking in , some times need to wipe. Cushion is very bad. Very stiff
 More details
10.0
March 12, 2022
Best shoe ever created nothing will ever be wrong with it or the beard that comes with it.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

Expert Traction Rating: 6.8 (ranks #285 of 295)
User Traction Rating: 6.5 (ranks #270 of 295)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
6
5 - Poor
11
8.0
February 1, 2021
The traction is good on clean courts or after wiping but doesn't keep the dirt away well.
 More details
7.0
February 3, 2021
The traction was a little weird and reminded me a lot of the Jordan 31. It's really good on side-to-side movements, but I had some slipping issues with linear moves. I only got to try these outdoors.
 More details
5.0
January 23, 2021
The traction is absolutely terrible. On the cleanest courts I could find, I would slide to a stop, and on courts with average dust it was awful.
 More details
7.0
The traction took a while to break in and was disappointing even then. On clean courts it was okay, but with any dust, I had a lot of grip issues.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

Expert Cushion Rating: 6.8 (ranks #288 of 295)
User Cushion Rating: 6.7 (ranks #264 of 295)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
7
5 - Poor
10
6.0
February 1, 2021
The drop-in Boost insole was a big problem for me. There was a ton of slope around the heel that didn't let my foot sit properly in the shoe and caused a ton of heel slip. Even worse was the stiff shank on the bottom of the insole. It never broke in and was super stiff.
 More details
7.0
February 3, 2021
There is no exposed midsole cushion at all, but there are Boost and Lightstrike drop-in soles. There is some slight compression in the heel, but everywhere else you don't feel anything. I think the drop in insole was just too thin.
 More details
7.0
January 23, 2021
This cushion setup is pretty similar to the Pro Boost and I got a lot of court feel and responsiveness, but the impact protection was definitely lacking. I also don't like how hard it is to flex this shoe.
 More details
7.0
With the combination of Boost and Lightstrike, I expected this cushion to be great. Unfortunately, it is bottom-heavy and rigid. Pretty comfortable and responsive, but just doesn't flex well.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

Expert Materials Rating: 6.8 (ranks #293 of 295)
User Materials Rating: 6.8 (ranks #268 of 295)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
9
6 - Subpar
7
5 - Poor
8
8.0
February 1, 2021
These materials feel like a throwback to 2010 or 2012 and aren't premium to the touch at all. I didn't have any issues with pinching or hot spots though.
 More details
6.0
February 3, 2021
The materials are pretty bad. The upper is super fused and glued down which provides a super-stiff feeling - not cozy or comfortable at all.
 More details
7.0
January 23, 2021
The upper is very plasticky and doesn't feel great to the touch or very premium. It offers a lot of containment because of how rigid it is, but I'm not a huge fan of the materials.
 More details
6.0
The materials are just not good. They are very hard, not flexible, and not breathable. They do not feel very premium and overall are disappointing.
 More details

Support of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

Expert Support Rating: 7.5 (ranks #271 of 295)
User Support Rating: 7.0 (ranks #266 of 295)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
7
5 - Poor
8
9.0
February 1, 2021
I had no issues with support and stability. These were just a wide as the Volume 3 in the forefoot and wider in the heel.
 More details
7.0
February 3, 2021
Lateral containment is really really good in these, but heel lockdown is terrible. Even with the nice Achilles pads, my foot wanted to pop out the whole time. I had no issues with lateral stability.
 More details
6.0
January 23, 2021
The support in the Vol. 5 was not good. The Achilles pillows felt nice, but didn't do their job very well and I had a ton of heel slippage. I could easily slide my foot out of the shoe even with the laces cranked down. These did have decent lateral support though.
 More details
8.0
The lateral stability is good with a very wide base. I did have heel slippage even with the thick Achilles cushion pillows, so I had to tie down the laces a lot.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.3 (ranks #281 of 295)
User Fit Rating: 7.0 (ranks #264 of 295)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
6
5 - Poor
7
7.0
February 1, 2021
The Volume 5 is a lot bigger than normal sized shoes and was hard to feel nimble in. I did like the lack of headspace in the forefoot and there wasn't any side to side movement on the footbed. Again heel slippage was an issue.
 More details
8.0
February 3, 2021
These run super long, so I went down half a size. The toe box is really snug and the overall fit is okay.
 More details
8.0
January 23, 2021
The fit is pretty good and the materials conform nicely to your feet. The overall fit was decent.
 More details
6.0
The Harden Vol. 5 a little long in the toe, but not enough that I had to go down half a size. Overall they just weren't comfortable and I had a lot of pain in my midfoot to the point where I had to stop playing in them.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

User Durability Rating: 7.6 (ranks #245 of 295)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
5

Outdoor of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #10 of 295)
User Outdoor Rating: 76.1 (ranks #74 of 295)
Good (100%)
18
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
4
good
February 3, 2021
Durability was good outdoors.
 More details
good
These held up better outdoors than they did indoors and the slipping wasn't as bad.
 More details

Width of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

very narrow
3
slightly narrow
4
regular
12
slightly wide
11
very wide
0
regularly wide
February 3, 2021
These were normal width wise.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 23, 2021
If you have wide feet be cautious with these because it is a bit tight in the midfoot area.
 More details

Size of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

very small
4
slightly small
2
true to size
12
slightly long
13
very long
1
true to size
February 1, 2021
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
February 3, 2021
Go down half a size from your Adidas size.
 More details
½ size large
January 23, 2021
These run a half size big.
 More details
½ size large
True to size worked, but if you like a snug fit go down half a size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: