Search Shoe

Adidas Harden Vol. 5

Adidas Harden Vol. 5
Adidas Harden Vol. 5
Adidas Harden Vol. 5
Adidas Harden Vol. 5
Adidas Harden Vol. 5
Add to Favourites
6.9
James Harden's 5th signature shoe is a disappointing basketball shoe
based on 4 expert reviews
based on 4 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Only recommended for players who hoop outdoors and need a responsive shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $129.99
Adidas
Buy Now
Foot Locker
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
6.8
Cushion
6.8
Materials
6.8
Support
7.5
Fit
7.3
Outdoor
100%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
1/2021
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
31 likes
Solar Red / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Solar Red / Cloud White / Royal Blue
from Adidas
$130.00
38 likes
Crystal White / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Crystal White / Cloud White / Royal Blue
in 7 shops
$130.00
15 likes
Icey Pink / Cloud White / Glow Pink
Icey Pink / Cloud White / Glow Pink
from Adidas
$130.00
27 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
in 4 shops
$130.00
9 likes
Solar Yellow / Crew Yellow / Hi-Res Yellow
Solar Yellow / Crew Yellow / Hi-Res Yellow
from Adidas
$130.00
13 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Core Black / Cloud White / Royal Blue
in 7 shops
$130.00
18 likes
Clear Mint / Crew Yellow / Clear Mint
Clear Mint / Crew Yellow / Clear Mint
in 3 shops
$130.00
8 likes
Vivid Red / Bold Gold / Royal Blue
Vivid Red / Bold Gold / Royal Blue
from Adidas
$130.00
9 likes
Acid Orange / Chalk White / Screaming Orange
Acid Orange / Chalk White / Screaming Orange
from Adidas
$130.00

Adidas Harden Vol. 5 Review

Pros:
Good lateral stability
Cons:
Bad traction
Awful heel slippage

Performance of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The bite of the Harden Vol. 5 is poor and doesn't grip well on dusty or even clean courts. Outdoors, the traction performs a little better and doesn't wear down too quickly. The combination of Boost and Lightstrike provides a responsive cushion setup with good court feel. However, reviewers complained about the rigid midsole that didn't flex well. The materials feel very plasticky and hard which is disappointing in a $130 signature sneaker. The support is good laterally, but reviewers had a lot of issues with heel slippage despite the thick Achilles pillows. Overall the Harden Vol. 5 is disappointing and wasn't recommended by any of the reviewers.
See all 4 reviews

Reviews of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 6.9 average overall rating ranks #164 of 165 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
I really wanted to like the Harden Volume 5, but I'm super disappointed with the performance of these. I'll probably never ball in them again, and I don't recommend them.
Watch the video
7.6
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
The Harden Volume 5 uses "new tech" for the sake of using "new tech". At $130 these aren't super expensive, but they don't do anything better than their predecessors and that is generous. I don't recommend these.
6.6
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The Harden Vol. 5 retails for $130 and considering the problems I had, these are a no go. I highly recommend staying away from this shoe unless you are a big Harden fan.
Watch the video
6.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
The Harden Vol. 5 comes in at $130 which isn't bad for a signature shoe but is too much considering the performance of these. Unless you're a diehard Harden fan I can't see anyone hooping in these.
Watch the video

Traction of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 6.8 average traction rating ranks #155 of 165 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
The traction was a little weird and reminded me a lot of the Jordan 31. It's really good on side-to-side movements, but I had some slipping issues with linear moves. I only got to try these outdoors.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
The traction is good on clean courts or after wiping but doesn't keep the dirt away well.
5.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The traction is absolutely terrible. On the cleanest courts I could find, I would slide to a stop, and on courts with average dust it was awful.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
The traction took a while to break in and was disappointing even then. On clean courts it was okay, but with any dust, I had a lot of grip issues.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 6.8 average cushion rating ranks #158 of 165 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
There is no exposed midsole cushion at all, but there are Boost and Lightstrike drop-in soles. There is some slight compression in the heel, but everywhere else you don't feel anything. I think the drop in insole was just too thin.
Watch the video
6.0
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
The drop-in Boost insole was a big problem for me. There was a ton of slope around the heel that didn't let my foot sit properly in the shoe and caused a ton of heel slip. Even worse was the stiff shank on the bottom of the insole. It never broke in and was super stiff.
7.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
This cushion setup is pretty similar to the Pro Boost and I got a lot of court feel and responsiveness, but the impact protection was definitely lacking. I also don't like how hard it is to flex this shoe.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
With the combination of Boost and Lightstrike, I expected this cushion to be great. Unfortunately, it is bottom-heavy and rigid. Pretty comfortable and responsive, but just doesn't flex well.
Watch the video

Materials of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 6.8 average materials rating ranks #163 of 165 shoes overall
6.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
The materials are pretty bad. The upper is super fused and glued down which provides a super-stiff feeling - not cozy or comfortable at all.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
These materials feel like a throwback to 2010 or 2012 and aren't premium to the touch at all. I didn't have any issues with pinching or hot spots though.
7.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The upper is very plasticky and doesn't feel great to the touch or very premium. It offers a lot of containment because of how rigid it is, but I'm not a huge fan of the materials.
Watch the video
6.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
The materials are just not good. They are very hard, not flexible, and not breathable. They do not feel very premium and overall are disappointing.
Watch the video

Support of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 7.5 average support rating ranks #149 of 165 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
Lateral containment is really really good in these, but heel lockdown is terrible. Even with the nice Achilles pads, my foot wanted to pop out the whole time. I had no issues with lateral stability.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
I had no issues with support and stability. These were just a wide as the Volume 3 in the forefoot and wider in the heel.
6.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The support in the Vol. 5 was not good. The Achilles pillows felt nice, but didn't do their job very well and I had a ton of heel slippage. I could easily slide my foot out of the shoe even with the laces cranked down. These did have decent lateral support though.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
The lateral stability is good with a very wide base. I did have heel slippage even with the thick Achilles cushion pillows, so I had to tie down the laces a lot.
Watch the video

Fit of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

The 7.3 average fit rating ranks #151 of 165 shoes overall
8.0
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
These run super long, so I went down half a size. The toe box is really snug and the overall fit is okay.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
The Volume 5 is a lot bigger than normal sized shoes and was hard to feel nimble in. I did like the lack of headspace in the forefoot and there wasn't any side to side movement on the footbed. Again heel slippage was an issue.
8.0
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
The fit is pretty good and the materials conform nicely to your feet. The overall fit was decent.
Watch the video
6.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
The Harden Vol. 5 a little long in the toe, but not enough that I had to go down half a size. Overall they just weren't comfortable and I had a lot of pain in my midfoot to the point where I had to stop playing in them.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100.0% average outdoor rating ranks #2 of 165 shoes overall
good
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
Durability was good outdoors.
Watch the video
good
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
These held up better outdoors than they did indoors and the slipping wasn't as bad.
Watch the video

Width of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

regularly wide
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
These were normal width wise.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
If you have wide feet be cautious with these because it is a bit tight in the midfoot area.
Watch the video

Size of the Adidas Harden Vol. 5:

true to size
The Sole Brothers
February 3, 2021
Go down half a size from your Adidas size.
Watch the video
true to size
Schwollo
February 1, 2021
I went true to size.
½ size large
RicheeKim
January 23, 2021
These run a half size big.
Watch the video
½ size large
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
December 25, 2020
True to size worked, but if you like a snug fit go down half a size.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Solar Red / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Solar Red / Cloud White / Royal Blue
from Adidas
$130.00
Crystal White / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Crystal White / Cloud White / Royal Blue
in 7 shops
$130.00
Icey Pink / Cloud White / Glow Pink
Icey Pink / Cloud White / Glow Pink
from Adidas
$130.00
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
in 4 shops
$130.00
Solar Yellow / Crew Yellow / Hi-Res Yellow
Solar Yellow / Crew Yellow / Hi-Res Yellow
from Adidas
$130.00
Core Black / Cloud White / Royal Blue
Core Black / Cloud White / Royal Blue
in 7 shops
$130.00
Clear Mint / Crew Yellow / Clear Mint
Clear Mint / Crew Yellow / Clear Mint
in 3 shops
$130.00
Vivid Red / Bold Gold / Royal Blue
Vivid Red / Bold Gold / Royal Blue
from Adidas
$130.00
Acid Orange / Chalk White / Screaming Orange
Acid Orange / Chalk White / Screaming Orange
from Adidas
$130.00
Solar Red / Cloud White / Royal Blue
$130.00
on Adidas