Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Air Jordan 34

Released 10/2019, High Top, Michael Jordan, 
Add to Favourites
9.0
EXPERT RATING
9 reviews
9.1
USER RATING
13 ratings
The lightest Air Jordan ever is a great all-around performance basketball shoe

Best Suitable For:

A great option if you are looking for a light & stylish shoe with no real weaknesses

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $179.99
StockX
from $137.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
9.2
Cushion
9.6
Materials
8.3
Support
8.8
Fit
9.0
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
51 likes
White / Black / Multi-Color
White / Black / Multi-Color
from StockX
$137.00
197 likes
Black / Dark Smoke Grey / Electric Green / Black
Black / Dark Smoke Grey / Electric Green / Black
from StockX
$165.00
160 likes
White/Black/Red Orbit
White/Black/Red Orbit
from StockX
$180.00
85 likes
Amber Rise/Black/Sail/Metallic Silver
Amber Rise/Black/Sail/Metallic Silver
from StockX
$200.00
121 likes
Black/White/Digital Pink/Metallic Silver
Black/White/Digital Pink/Metallic Silver
from StockX
$211.00
184 likes
Infrared 23 / Black
Infrared 23 / Black
from StockX
$222.00
118 likes
Black/Black/Metallic Silver
Black/Black/Metallic Silver
from StockX
$235.00
211 likes
Blue Void
Blue Void
from StockX
$240.00
163 likes
White / White / Metallic Silver
White / White / Metallic Silver
from StockX
$267.00
188 likes
White / Aurora / Metallic Silver
White / Aurora / Metallic Silver
from StockX
$547.00

Air Jordan 34 Review

Pros:
Super bouncy cushioning
Herringbone traction stops on a dime
Cons:
Expensive retail price

Performance of the Air Jordan 34:

With the XXXIV, Jordan Brand decided to take less inspiration from their retros and instead focus on providing a lightweight, top-notch performer. Did they succeed? The traction of the AJ34 features a herringbone traction pattern that works well in all conditions. The cushioning isn't as plush as in previous models, but it's also much less clunky and provides a fun, well-balanced ride. The materials aren't super-premium, but they are flexible, lightweight and breathable. Even though the AJ34 is much lighter than other Air Jordans, support and stability don't suffer because of the wide and stable base and the Eclipse plate in the midfoot. Overall, the Air Jordan 34 is a great performer and by far the best Air Jordan since the AJ29!
See all 9 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Air Jordan 34:

Expert Rating: 9.0 (ranks #7 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.4
This is the best Air Jordan game shoe since the Air Jordan XX9. They fit well, respond perfectly and the cushioning is amazing.
 More details
9.2
November 13, 2019
The Air Jordan 34 is the highest-rated sneaker in the history of our youtube channel Perfect fit, perfect cushioning and near-perfect traction. It literally does everything well!
 More details
The AJ 34 is a great all-around shoe that’s easy to recommend for anyone willing to pay its $180 price tag.
 More details
9.0
September 26, 2019
I love playing in the AJ 34. This shoe feels like a Ferrari!
 More details
9.0
May 7, 2021
I really liked the Jordan34. It's one of the best Jordan's in the signature line. The forefoot is bouncy, but remains responsive. They did a very good job with materials that are not only lightweight, but also supportive.
 More details
9.0
November 6, 2019
This is the best performing Jordan model in the last few years - definitely worth the $180 price tag! This shoe is super fun to play in and should work for big guys as well as guards.
 More details
8.8
Combining fantastic cushioning, great traction, and a streamlined look - the Air Jordan 34 is worthy of the GOAT.
 More details
8.8
November 16, 2019
The Jordan 34 is easily my favorite basketball sneaker of 2019! This shoe feels like a direct successor to my favorite shoe ever, the AJ 29.
 More details
8.8
October 18, 2019
Finally, a new Jordan that does everything well and gets JB fans excited again! If you are looking for new hoops shoes, these are a safe bet because it performs well in every category, except price.
 More details

User Reviews of the Air Jordan 34:

User Rating: 9.1 (ranks #34 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.9
February 3, 2022
The Air Jordan 34 is a true evolution of what the flight plate and unlocked zoom air tech originated from in the Air Jordan 28. Although the eclipse plate has a break-in period and the forefoot, bottom loaded unlocked zoom air is a bit muted; this shoe is catered to almost any position and foot type. This one of my favorite Air Jordan’s from the 2010 era as this and the Air Jordan 36 have the preferences I love in a basketball shoe
 More details
8.8
October 25, 2021
The shoe is too good. The traction and cushion is amazing. However every once in a while, I found my self slipping. The materials and light and basic but the eyelet holes liked to rip on me. Not very Durable. Support was great, maybe even too good. My ankles did not have the flexibility that I like compared with shoes like the KD14 and it rode a bit high. Near perfect shoe. If that and the KD14 was combined. A perfect shoe.
 More details
9.0
January 23, 2022
I absolutely LOVE this shoe! There is really no flaws at all and it is an amazing performer. The traction, cushion, and support are all Top-Tier. The materials are minimal and pretty well ventilated, and even see through! But they can feel a little cheep in hand, overall they get the job done and get it done pretty well. If you’re willing to pay that hefty price tag, do it!
 More details
9.4
November 6, 2021
This shoe is great, provides awesome traction, cushion, and is lightweight. The shoe it self is super durable, normally i can bend my shoes without too much trouble, but i find myself unable to bend this one at all. However, the zoom window at the front of the shoe will cause trouble for wide footer like myself and cause discomfort thats not very bearable.
 More details
8.4
December 4, 2021
The laces were the worst part of this shoe. You would have to retie them every time after the first game. The loops that the laces go through broke twice for me with this shoe. Are they trying to make me buy new shoes again?
 More details

Traction of the Air Jordan 34:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.2 (ranks #35 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 9.3 (ranks #43 of 205)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
Give it a little break-in time and the herringbone traction pattern will provide a stop-on-a-dime type of grip.
 More details
9.0
November 13, 2019
The AJ34 has low-to-zero dust collection grips the floor really well.
 More details
The traction pattern sticks to a tried and true herringbone-based design which offers a secure and reassuring grip.
 More details
9.0
September 26, 2019
The traction is really good on clean courts. On dusty courts, you just need a slight wipe occasionally.
 More details
9.0
May 7, 2021
After breaking them in, the traction improves a lot. They became grippier the more I played in them.
 More details
10.0
November 6, 2019
The traction is amazing, especially after the break-in period. I didn't really experience any issues even on dusty courts. Probably the best traction on a Jordan model in a long time.
 More details
9.5
On four different courts, dirty and clean, the 34 was sticky stuck.
 More details
9.0
November 16, 2019
I would give the tacky rubber and the herringbone traction pattern and A-. On some courts, I had to wipe from time to time, but usually, I was able to stop on a dime!
 More details
9.0
October 18, 2019
The thin, flexible, and slightly modified herringbone traction pattern works well on all floor conditions.
 More details

Cushion of the Air Jordan 34:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.6 (ranks #11 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 9.5 (ranks #22 of 205)
10 - Amazing
14
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
This is the best Zoom Air experience I've ever had! The 10mm unit in the forefoot is springy and responsive and the 14mm Hex Zoom in the heel provides a lot of impact protection.
 More details
10.0
November 13, 2019
The supersized unlocked Zoom bags in the forefoot and the heel provide you with great responsiveness, court feel, and impact protection.
 More details
The Zoom bags combined with the Eclipse plate is a top-notch system that nails the court feel-to-impact protection ratio.
 More details
9.0
September 26, 2019
The cushioning feels incredible! The entire forefoot feels super bouncy and the heel-to-toe transition is nice and smooth. Heel compression and court feel could have been a little better.
 More details
10.0
May 7, 2021
There is a large Zoom unit in the forefoot complimented by Jordan brands eclipse plate to allow the cushion to expand that feels amazing. It's very responsive and extremely bouncy.
 More details
10.0
November 6, 2019
The Zoom unit in the forefoot is super nice: very bouncy and feels awesome.
 More details
9.5
This is the best unlocked Zoom experience since the AJ28.
 More details
10.0
November 16, 2019
The huge forefoot Zoom unit feels super springy. This is in the top-3 cushion setups that I've ever used!
 More details
9.0
October 18, 2019
The Zoom cushioning isn't as plush as in other shoes, but if you want a very well-balanced and fun overall set up, you’ll really like these.
 More details

Materials of the Air Jordan 34:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.3 (ranks #96 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 8.8 (ranks #63 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The materials are not exactly premium, but they are lightweight, flexible and breathable.
 More details
9.0
November 13, 2019
The overall Mesh construction is super breathable and lightweight but still feels supportive enough for a performance basketball shoe.
 More details
9.0
September 26, 2019
The materials are lightweight and super breathable but don't feel very premium in-hand.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
The materials will vary depending on the colorway, but the mesh is durable and doesn't stretch much after wear.
 More details
8.0
November 6, 2019
The full Mesh upper doesn't feel very premium but works without a flaw and is super lightweight.
 More details
7.0
The materials are nice and get the job done, but they are nothing special.
 More details
8.0
November 16, 2019
The synthetic upper is very well ventilated and super lightweight. But some players might look for a more sturdy upper.
 More details
8.0
October 18, 2019
The upper materials look cheap but play fine. It's strong and flexible but looks somehow unfinished to me.
 More details

Support of the Air Jordan 34:

Expert Support Rating: 8.8 (ranks #61 of 205)
User Support Rating: 8.9 (ranks #77 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
The large heel counter provides exceptional lockdown and the Eclipse plate gives you just enough torsional rigidity. Even though this is the lightest Air Jordan so far, it's also one of the more supportive
 More details
8.0
November 13, 2019
The support features are pretty standard but they come together really nicely with the great lacing system.
 More details
Top-tier heel lockdown while not restricting your movements.
 More details
9.0
September 26, 2019
There is no slippage on lateral cuts or in the heel. Overall, support is incredible!
 More details
9.0
May 7, 2021
The materials do a good job of providing extra support all around the shoe. The TPU plate also is great for stability. One of the best support systems offered on the market.
 More details
9.0
November 6, 2019
No heel slippage, no side-to-side movement on the footbed, and no lateral or linear instabilities. This shoe has you covered!
 More details
9.0
Great lockdown and no side-to-side sliding off of the footbed.
 More details
8.0
November 16, 2019
Your foot sits pretty high on the eclipse plate and the upper materials is very thin and could be a little more supportive.
 More details
9.0
October 18, 2019
The Eclipse plate in the midfoot and the flat and wide base provide a ton of support and stability. The higher cut doesn't add much because the material is really thin and flexible.
 More details

Fit of the Air Jordan 34:

Expert Fit Rating: 9.0 (ranks #21 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #73 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The traditional lacing system allows you to adjust the fit to your feet easily.
 More details
10.0
November 13, 2019
The fit was perfect! The lacing system really conforms to your feet and the elastic padded tongue is super comfortable.
 More details
Once laced, the AJ34 has the perfect balance of support and flexibility, while still being thin and unobtrusive.
 More details
9.0
May 7, 2021
The fit is awesome and like the support, is one of the best available.
 More details
8.0
November 6, 2019
Overall the fit is really good, but there is some dead space in the toe box area, especially if you really crank down the laces in the forefoot.
 More details
9.0
After a few wears, the upper feels like an extension of your foot.
 More details

Durability of the Air Jordan 34:

User Durability Rating: 8.2 (ranks #124 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Air Jordan 34:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #129 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 31.8 (ranks #129 of 205)
Good (100%)
1
Fair (50%)
7
Bad (0%)
7
Because the rubber is pretty thin you may run into some durability issues outdoors.
 More details
fair
November 13, 2019
The grooves aren't super deep and won't last forever.
 More details
fair
September 26, 2019
Probably not the best option for outdoor use, but occasional use should be okay.
 More details
no
I wouldn't use the AJ34 outdoors as the pattern is thin and the rubber is soft.
 More details

Width of the Air Jordan 34:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
7
regular
12
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
regularly wide
Even as a wide-footer I felt like this shoe was made for me.
 More details
regularly wide
November 13, 2019
Regular.
 More details
slightly narrow
September 26, 2019
Pretty snug in the toe area but conforms nicely to wider feet.
 More details
regularly wide
May 7, 2021
If you have a wide foot, you may want to go half a size up.
 More details
regularly wide
November 6, 2019
I didn't have any problems as a slightly wide-footer.
 More details
slightly narrow
October 18, 2019
The shape of your toes will determine if you need to go a half size up.
 More details

Size of the Air Jordan 34:

very small
0
slightly small
3
true to size
17
slightly long
1
very long
0
true to size
I went true to size and that is what I would recommend for most people.
 More details
true to size
November 13, 2019
Go true to size.
 More details
½ size large
September 26, 2019
Runs a little long. You can go down half a size if you have narrow feet, go true to size if you have regular to wide feet.
 More details
true to size
May 7, 2021
I went true to size as a regular footer.
 More details
true to size
November 6, 2019
Go true to size, even if you have slightly wide feet.
 More details
½ size small
I had to go up a half size.
 More details
true to size
November 16, 2019
Most people want to go true to size.
 More details
true to size
October 18, 2019
I had my normal finger width of space at the toe box with true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: