Search Shoe

BrandBlack Rare Metal Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$109.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
10/2016
# of Reviews:
4
Traction
7.5
Cushion
9.0
Materials
8.8
Support
8.5
Fit
9.0
Outdoor
0%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of BrandBlack Rare Metal:

Black / Blue
Black / Blue
No stores found
Black / White
Black / White
No stores found
Blue
Blue
No stores found

PROS:

  • Nice Materials
  • Comfortable Cushioning

CONS:

  • Inconsistent Traction

Summary of 4 Expert Reviews:

The BrandBlack Rare Metal works well across all categories - except the traction. Especially on dusty courts, you will need to wipe hard and often to get the stopping power you need. The new Jetlon EVL foam cushioning is on par with Adidas' Bounce cushioning and provides comfort, impact protection while still being responsive and low-to-the-ground. As always with BrandBlack, materials are premium and do a great job. Overall, if it wasn't for the lacking traction, this could have been the perfect budget sneaker for guards with slightly wider feet.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the BrandBlack Rare Metal:

The 8.6 average overall rating ranks #58 of 116 shoes overall
8.2
The Sole Brothers
January 26, 2018
I was really disappointed by the traction - otherwise this is a great shoe. If you play on clean courts, then the BrandBlack Rare Metal is a great choice.
Watch the video
8.6
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
If you are looking for a highly cushioned, low profile and low-cut rocket for your feet, especially on clean courts, then the Rare Metal is your pick.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
The Rare Metal gives you premium materials, great cushioning, and damn near great traction.
8.4
Schwollo
December 27, 2017
The Rare Metal is a shoe that does nearly everything well. If the traction was more consistent and more aggressive, I wouldn’t hesitate to put this into my rotation maybe even into my top 5.

Traction of the BrandBlack Rare Metal:

The 7.5 average traction rating ranks #98 of 116 shoes overall
5.0
The Sole Brothers
January 26, 2018
On dusty courts, the traction is absolutely horrible, and you need to wipe extremely hard to get a few good stops.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
On clean floors, you are great, but the rubber attracts a lot of dust.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
Good, not great. The blade traction does its job well.
7.0
Schwollo
December 27, 2017
Personally, I don’t like how the traction plays because I prefer more bite and consistency.

Cushion of the BrandBlack Rare Metal:

The 9.0 average cushion rating ranks #35 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 26, 2018
Really, really nice premium cushioning that feels similar to Adidas' Bounce cushioning.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
Jetlon EVL has a bouncier, livelier feeling, and provides great court feel.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
The Jetlon EVL felt more responsive and slightly bouncier without the instability, which in this case, is super comfy.
9.0
Schwollo
December 27, 2017
BB calls this Jetlon EVL or Plus and I really like it a lot.

Materials of the BrandBlack Rare Metal:

The 8.8 average materials rating ranks #41 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 26, 2018
The upper is freaking nice!
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
One thing Brandblack has never skimped on is materials.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
The Jacquard upper on the Rare Metal feels great on foot.
8.0
Schwollo
December 27, 2017
I personally don’t mind the slightly stiffer upper but I know lots of people want a sock-like upper.

Support of the BrandBlack Rare Metal:

The 8.5 average support rating ranks #68 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 26, 2018
Nasty outrigger and supportive upper material make you feel very secure.
Watch the video
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
Support isn’t overbearing, just enough to where you don’t have to worry.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
Everything you need, and nothing that you don’t.
9.0
Schwollo
December 27, 2017
Stability is excellent thanks to a flat outsole, forefoot outrigger and a stable heel that easily passes my heel test.

Fit of the BrandBlack Rare Metal:

The 9.0 average fit rating ranks #29 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 26, 2018
The fit is absolutely amazing - no dead space at all!
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
Spot on, in every way.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
The shoe sculpts around your foot very well.
9.0
Schwollo
December 27, 2017
The fit in the midfoot is also fantastic and my wide feet filled the forefoot just fine.

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 0% average outdoor rating ranks #111 of 116 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
January 26, 2018
Outdoor use is probably not very good.
Watch the video

Width of the BrandBlack Rare Metal:

regularly wide
The Sole Brothers
January 26, 2018
Perfect for my feet.
Watch the video
slightly wide
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
Even with a wide-foot base like myself, going true to size fit well without any restriction.
slightly wide
Schwollo
December 27, 2017
The Brandblack Rare Metal is a little wide.

Size of the BrandBlack Rare Metal:

½ size large
The Sole Brothers
January 26, 2018
Go down half a size.
Watch the video
true to size
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
The length is perfect.
true to size
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 27, 2017
The shoe fits perfectly true to size.
½ size large
Schwollo
December 27, 2017
These run a little long lengthwise.