Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Jordan Why Not Zero.4

Released 1/2021, Mid Top, Russell Westbrook, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
3 reviews
9.1
USER RATING
11 ratings
Russell Westbrook's fourth signature shoe is a pretty good all-around performer.

Best Suitable For:

Great for players who like forefoot Zoom and don't make a lot of lateral moves.

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $129.99
DICK's
$99.99
$130
Buy Now
StockX
from $72.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (3)
User Ratings (11)
Traction
7.7
Cushion
9.0
Materials
8.3
Support
8.3
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Jordan Why Not Zero.4
Jordan Why Not Zero.4
Nike KD 13
Nike KD 13
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Run
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Run
Nike KD 14
Nike KD 14
New Balance TWO WXY
New Balance TWO WXY
Jordan Zion 2
Jordan Zion 2
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.38.8(0.5)8.1(0.2)8.9(0.6)8.9(0.6)8.3(0.0)
User Rating9.19.0(0.1)8.8(0.3)9.3(0.2)8.7(0.4)8.8(0.3)
Best Price
$99.99
$130
$159.99
$78.72
$175
$78.72
$150
$99.99
$140
$119.97
$140
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight370g - 380g370g - 380g370g - 390g380g - 400g350g - 370g400g - 420g
 Show More
31 likes
"Shattered Backboard" - Pale Ivory / Black / Alpha Orange
"Shattered Backboard" - Pale Ivory / Black / Alpha Orange
from DICK's
$99.99
$130
85 likes
Green Abyss / Racer Blue / Photo Blue
Green Abyss / Racer Blue / Photo Blue
from DICK's
$129.99
27 likes
Light Blue / Lavender
Light Blue / Lavender
from StockX
$72.00
14 likes
Blue Void / University Red / White
Blue Void / University Red / White
from StockX
$76.00
61 likes
Black / Metallic Gold / White
Black / Metallic Gold / White
from StockX
$79.00
38 likes
White / Multi-Color / Multi-Color
White / Multi-Color / Multi-Color
from StockX
$79.00
66 likes
Photon Dust / Volt / University Red / Black
Photon Dust / Volt / University Red / Black
from StockX
$109.00
35 likes
Black / University Red / Volt
Black / University Red / Volt
from StockX
$114.00
41 likes
White / Pink / Green / Blue
White / Pink / Green / Blue
No stores found
27 likes
"Bred"
"Bred"
No stores found

Jordan Why Not Zero.4 Review

Pros:
Solid support
Bouncy forefoot cushioning
Cons:
Inconsistent traction
Materials could be more premium

Performance of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

The traction on Russell Westbrook's 4th signature shoe is decent on linear moves but has trouble on lateral movements. Overall it is pretty inconsistent especially on dust. The cushion features super bouncy double-stacked Zoom units in the forefoot. The court feel isn't great but still good enough. The wild mix of different materials doesn't feel very premium to the touch but they conform to your feet well and get the job done performance-wise. Go true to size and you should get a comfortable fit with minimal dead space in the toe box. The support is great all-around and has you covered for lateral stability and containment. Overall the Why Not Zero.4 is a solid performer, with the only downside being the inconsistent traction.
See all 3 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #144 of 229)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
January 23, 2021
The Why Not Zero.4 is a solid performer. I especially liked the double-stacked Zoom units!
 More details
8.4
February 3, 2021
For $130, I wouldn't recommend the Why Not Zero.4 just because of the inconsistent traction. It was just enough to cause me to not enjoy playing in the shoe. If you are a very linear player who doesn't make a lot of lateral movements you can probably get away with these.
 More details
8.0
September 29, 2021
The Jordan Why Not Zero.4 does the job done, and it does it well. The materials and cushion excel, but the lack of a consistent laced-up fit leads to inconsistent support. If you can lace it up properly, the performance shouldn't be an issue.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

User Rating: 9.1 (ranks #44 of 229)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.4
October 25, 2021
My colorway had plastic outsole and performed amazingly in clean courts and it was average in dusty courts. Forefoot double stacked zoom was really bouncy and responsive. If you are a player who plays on his/her toes, this must be your go-to cushioning setup. Support was really nice and fit is pretty good, too. I don't recommend outdoor usage because traction pattern can rip off easily. Materials changes due to colorway, mine's felt high quality on foot and gets the job done, too.
 More details
9.5
January 20, 2022
It has good traction on clean surfaces (lateral and linear) and it even got better after breaking it in, unfortunately i have not tested it on dusty surfaces but i think it will be around average in dusty settings. I really had no problems on other things and I also had the XDR/PF version which has more durable rubber. It has no durability problems for me and I also like the double stacked zoom in the forefoot but the heel part was a bit lacking. Overall it was a great shoe for me.
 More details
8.2
November 8, 2021
This shoe has a very nice bite on outdoor courts. Unfortunately I didn’t get to try these on an indoor court. However after a while I noticed seeing the traction getting very torn and dirty, materials were very bad. Anyways the cushion was very good, it was a comfy shoe just walking in it. I would recommend this shoe. Because even though the materials were bad, it didn’t really change the performance.
 More details
9.0
May 22, 2022
Best basketball shoe in my collection until the outsole blew out while training on a dusty af court.
 More details
9.0
July 26, 2022
The white collorway is bad for outdoor and gets dirty so fucking fast
 More details

Traction of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.7 (ranks #193 of 229)
User Traction Rating: 8.7 (ranks #117 of 229)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 23, 2021
The traction wasn't terrible, but on hard lateral movements I would slide out a little. The stop was good otherwise.
 More details
7.0
February 3, 2021
Honestly, the traction is pretty inconsistent. Linear movements are really good, but lateral movements suffer a little bit. Overall the traction just isn't that good.
 More details
8.0
September 29, 2021
Using a data-informed tread pattern for traction provides plenty of grip when playing.
 More details

Cushion of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #51 of 229)
User Cushion Rating: 9.3 (ranks #41 of 229)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 23, 2021
The cushion is one of my favorite parts of the shoe. I didn't think the double stacked Zoom would do anything, but this forefoot unit is insanely bouncy. The heel is okay with some decent compression.
 More details
9.0
February 3, 2021
The double-stacked Zoom unit in the forefoot feels really really nice. If you like Zoom in the forefoot this definitely has you covered. The court feel isn't amazing, but still good enough.
 More details
9.0
September 29, 2021
The double-stacked Zoom in the forefoot feels bouncy. It provided just what you'd want out of your shoe's cushioning.
 More details

Materials of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.3 (ranks #98 of 229)
User Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #85 of 229)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 23, 2021
The material quality felt a little cheap in hand but did well performance-wise. The synthetics are thin, soft, and conformed to my foot really well.
 More details
8.0
February 3, 2021
There are a bunch of different materials with mixed quality. Overall, the materials aren't the most premium, but in terms of performance these get the job done just fine.
 More details
9.0
September 29, 2021
The materials on the shoe are fantastic for looks and performance.
 More details

Support of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

Expert Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #141 of 229)
User Support Rating: 9.4 (ranks #21 of 229)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 23, 2021
I had absolutely zero issues with lateral containment. The materials are really supportive, especially along the sidewall. Lateral stability was decent, but the base is not wide and misses an outrigger.
 More details
9.0
February 3, 2021
I had no issues with the support in this shoe. Lateral stability and containment was nice and I experienced no side to side movement on the footbed.
 More details
7.0
September 29, 2021
The Why Not Zero.4's support is let down by the fit of the shoe.
 More details

Fit of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #125 of 229)
User Fit Rating: 9.1 (ranks #35 of 229)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 23, 2021
The toe box is nice and snug without a lot of dead space. The materials didn't stretch out a lot so the fit you start with shouldn't change too much. For me, this was a great fit.
 More details
9.0
February 3, 2021
The fit is excellent, and the materials wrap around my foot really well. There is minimal dead space in the toe box which was nice.
 More details
7.0
September 29, 2021
The shoe ran a little big for me and the laces loosened throughout my time playing.
 More details

Durability of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

User Durability Rating: 7.8 (ranks #173 of 229)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1

Outdoor of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #141 of 229)
User Outdoor Rating: 40.9 (ranks #138 of 229)
Good (100%)
3
Fair (50%)
4
Bad (0%)
6
no
January 23, 2021
Durability is really bad.
 More details
fair
September 29, 2021
It performs outdoors, but the rubber is malleable.
 More details

Width of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
2
regular
7
slightly wide
4
very wide
0
regularly wide
January 23, 2021
Width is normal to slightly narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
February 3, 2021
I have slightly wide feet and true to size worked for me. Go up half a size if you have really wide feet.
 More details

Size of the Jordan Why Not Zero.4:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
9
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
January 23, 2021
True to size should do well.
 More details
true to size
February 3, 2021
I suggest going true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: