Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Kyrie 8

Released 12/2021, High Top, Kyrie Irving, 
Add to Favourites
8.5
EXPERT RATING
7 reviews
9.0
USER RATING
18 ratings
The Nike Kyrie 8 is a welcome improvement in the Kyrie lineup.

Best Suitable For:

Best for players looking for a shoe with no real weaknesses.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $139.99
Nike
Buy Now
Foot Locker
Eastbay
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.3
Cushion
9.0
Materials
8.6
Support
8.3
Fit
8.4
Outdoor
38%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
39 likes
Black / White / Multi-Color
Black / White / Multi-Color
in 7 shops
$114.97
$140
26 likes
White / Black / University Red
White / Black / University Red
from DICK's
$129.99
$140
98 likes
Aluminum / Black / Sail
Aluminum / Black / Sail
in 4 shops
$130.00
$140
41 likes
"Future Past"
"Future Past"
in 6 shops
$130.00
$140
36 likes
Rattan / Wheat / Saturn Gold / Dark Purple Dust
Rattan / Wheat / Saturn Gold / Dark Purple Dust
from Nike
$130.00
$140
38 likes
Sea Glass / Metallic Gold / Clear Emerald / Dynamic Turquoise
Sea Glass / Metallic Gold / Clear Emerald / Dynamic Turquoise
in 4 shops
$130.00
$140
10 likes
White / University Red / University Gold / Light Photo Blue
White / University Red / University Gold / Light Photo Blue
in 6 shops
$130.00
$140
16 likes
Black / University Red / Dark Smoke Grey / Black
Black / University Red / Dark Smoke Grey / Black
in 4 shops
$130.00
$140
23 likes
Valentine's Day
Valentine's Day
in 7 shops
$130.00
$140
2 likes
White / White
White / White
in 5 shops
$130.00
$140
17 likes
Black / Iron Grey / Pink Prime / White
Black / Iron Grey / Pink Prime / White
in 6 shops
$130.00
$140
35 likes
White / Iron Grey / Light Marine
White / Iron Grey / Light Marine
from StockX
$127.00

Nike Kyrie 8 Review

Pros:
Consistent traction
Amazing forefoot Zoom Strobel
Cons:
Materials could feel more premium

Performance of the Nike Kyrie 8:

As controversial as Kyrie Irving is, his signature basketball shoe continues to be a quality performer. The traction is what you come to expect from the Kyrie lineup. It performs well, similarly to the previous models. For the Kyrie 8, Nike implemented a forefoot Zoom Strobel that adds a new dimension of bounce while still remaining low to the ground. The materials used feel comfortable while providing quality performance. They're also thin and breathable. The lacing system helps to provide a fit that won't cause issues for most people. Reviewers also agree that the lateral containment and lockdown provided are excellent. When it comes down to it, the Nike Kyrie 8 is an excellent shoe that caters to many different playstyles.
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Kyrie 8:

Expert Rating: 8.5 (ranks #83 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.8
December 25, 2021
The Nike Kyrie 8 is an overall great feeling shoe. It provides balance with the weight while still remaining a quality performer. Cushioning and materials are the standouts for me.
 More details
8.8
January 22, 2022
The Nike Kyrie 8 is one of the better options from Nike this year. They give you solid traction if you keep them clean, and the underfoot cushion performs well.
 More details
8.6
January 18, 2022
I love the Nike Kyrie 8. They are the most comfortable and functional Kyrie model to date. The traction is one of the only aspects that doesn't improve from last year, but the rest of the shoe is excellent.
 More details
8.6
January 22, 2022
The Nike Kyrie 8 performs well for players that want nimble footwork, control, traction and stability. Be aware that the shoe may not be the best for more explosive players.
 More details
8.4
November 25, 2021
I really enjoyed playing in the Nike Kyrie 8. The cushioning setup is the best in the entire Kyrie lineup, and the traction performs well as always.
 More details
8.4
February 22, 2022
The Nike Kyrie 8 is a solid pickup for the price. The only downside is the break-in time needed for the traction to get going. Everything else about the shoe is awesome.
 More details
8.1
March 7, 2022
The Nike Kyrie 8 is my favourite Kyrie of all time. They are my favourite Kyrie model to play in. It should be a fantastic shoe for guards and players that don't need much torsional rigidity.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Kyrie 8:

User Rating: 9.0 (ranks #40 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
November 21, 2021
This shoe is pretty average like any other hoop shoe it has good traction inside a gymnasium. It is pretty fair on outside courts but wouldn’t recommend. Size and wideness okay. Overall it’s a good shoe to hoop in and just walk around in. Definitely recommend for people who have trouble deciding what shoes to get. A little expensive but very worth it!
 More details
9.5
February 16, 2022
Really comfortable, the most comfortable of the Kyrie line and maybe the most comfortable shoe on the market right now. Even though materials might not feel “premium” they are very soft and no break in is needed. Also there is a lot of padding which makes them so comfortable to have on foot. Cushioning is great as well, as is lockdown and support.
 More details
9.0
January 2, 2022
I almost like everything about this shoe, especially this aluminum camo blue colorway. The only one thing I was disappointed by is the quality control of Nike. Doesn't seem really durable, may be it is by design by Nike so customer have to buy new one again.
 More details
8.8
November 24, 2021
Nice basketball kicks, great to play outdoor and inside. The design is cool and shoe is great. It has great confort and lasted me 2 years. ARe these shoes the reason why Kyrie plays so well?
 More details
9.0
April 6, 2022
Shoe is really great. Traction takes time to break in but once it is the Traction is great.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Kyrie 8:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.3 (ranks #119 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #57 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
December 25, 2021
At first, the traction did not have a good bite. After breaking them in, it started to perform a lot better, though.
 More details
8.5
January 22, 2022
The grip on the outsole is good. It grips well, especially on clean courts.
 More details
8.0
January 18, 2022
The traction performed well but wasn't quite as good as the Kyrie 6 or 7 for me. It worked everywhere and in all directions.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
These shoes are going to give you a lot of grip when turning corners and changing directions.
 More details
9.0
November 25, 2021
The traction was amazing on a clean court after an initial break-in period. It also handles dust very well.
 More details
8.0
February 22, 2022
The traction on this shoe is solid. It starts poorly but breaks in nicely afterwards.
 More details
8.5
March 7, 2022
The traction pattern goes in every direction, and I really enjoyed it. After spending about an hour breaking them in, the performance became awesome.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Kyrie 8:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #41 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 8.9 (ranks #75 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
19
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 25, 2021
The cushioning setup is one of my favourite parts of the shoe. It feels softer than the older Kyrie models, and the forefoot Zoom Strobel unit feels very bouncy.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The cushion feels bouncy, smooth, and responsive. It felt the best in the forefoot area of the shoe.
 More details
9.0
January 18, 2022
The cushion feels like injected Phylon. It's soft and allows you to feel the Zoom unit/Zoom Strobel in the heel and forefoot, respectively. These are easily the best features of the shoe.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The Kyrie 8 has one of the better setups Nike has released in terms of cushion and responsiveness.
 More details
9.0
November 25, 2021
The Kyrie 8 uses a Zoom Strobel in the forefoot that feels bouncy. It also has a heel Zoom unit that provides extra impact protection. I love the setup.
 More details
9.0
February 22, 2022
The Air Zoom Strobel in the forefoot feels great as you sit right on top of it.
 More details
9.0
March 7, 2022
The cushioning setup is responsive, low to the ground, and provides solid impact protection. This setup makes this shoe the best cushioned in the Kyrie lineup.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Kyrie 8:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #62 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #66 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.0
December 25, 2021
I enjoyed playing with these materials a lot. They don't feel cheap while still being thin and comfortable.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The materials give the shoe a comfy and premium feel. It's thin, light, and durable as well.
 More details
9.0
January 18, 2022
For a performance shoe, these are very comfortable. Definitely an improvement from the previous year's models.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The Kyrie 8 has the most padded tongue I've seen on any shoe. The fit of the materials makes it so that the shoe feels plush.
 More details
8.0
November 25, 2021
The materials feel like a softer version of the materials used on the Kyrie 6.
 More details
9.0
February 22, 2022
The materials used on this shoe are probably the best materials to appear on a Kyrie shoe in years. I have no complaints about the materials at all.
 More details
7.5
March 7, 2022
I enjoyed the materials on the back half of the shoe more than the forefoot.
 More details

Support of the Nike Kyrie 8:

Expert Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #122 of 205)
User Support Rating: 8.9 (ranks #71 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 25, 2021
I had no issues at all with the support and lockdown. It has phenomenal lateral containment.
 More details
8.5
January 22, 2022
The standard support features on the shoe provide solid support. The only problem is that some lateral movements caused my foot to slide on the footbed.
 More details
9.0
January 18, 2022
The lacing setup compresses the upper around your foot to provide support and lockdown. They do a good job of closing in around your foot.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The lacing system used on this shoe makes the lockdown very good.
 More details
8.0
November 25, 2021
I had no issues with heel containment, and the lockdown is excellent.
 More details
8.0
February 22, 2022
I had zero issues with the support on the Kyrie 8.
 More details
7.5
March 7, 2022
Some aspects of the shoe provide great support, like the lacing setup, but there is no torsional rigidity.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Kyrie 8:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.4 (ranks #96 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 9.2 (ranks #23 of 205)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 25, 2021
Kyrie's usually fit me well, and these are no exception. The length was perfect.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
After breaking them in, the shoe fits better and better.
 More details
8.0
January 18, 2022
From heel to forefoot, it is a snug fit.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
If you have a narrow or medium-width foot, these shoes are going to fit you fantastic.
 More details
8.0
November 25, 2021
They fit consistently with all of the previous Kyrie's.
 More details
8.0
February 22, 2022
The fit of the shoe starts out snug because of the narrower forefoot area, but I didn't have any issues.
 More details
8.0
March 7, 2022
The fit isn't my favourite, but it wasn't bad once I got the right size.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Kyrie 8:

User Durability Rating: 8.8 (ranks #68 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Kyrie 8:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 37.5 (ranks #106 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 46.4 (ranks #118 of 205)
Good (100%)
4
Fair (50%)
8
Bad (0%)
6
no
December 25, 2021
I don't think the rubber is going to hold up outdoors.
 More details
no
January 22, 2022
If you mainly play outdoors, these shoes may not be the best.
 More details
good
January 18, 2022
I got the EP version, so the rubber compound on the outsole is thicker. Keep that in mind.
 More details
fair
March 7, 2022
I think you could get away with using this shoe outdoors. The rubber is firm, and the grooves are not shallow.
 More details

Width of the Nike Kyrie 8:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
11
regular
9
slightly wide
4
very wide
0
slightly narrow
December 25, 2021
They are on the narrower side when it comes to width.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 22, 2022
If you have a wide foot, I recommend going up half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
January 18, 2022
The width on my EP version was perfect.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 22, 2022
If you have a wider foot, you better be going up a half size in these.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 22, 2022
This shoe fits slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 7, 2022
If you're a wide-footer, I would recommend going up half a size at least.
 More details

Size of the Nike Kyrie 8:

very small
0
slightly small
4
true to size
17
slightly long
3
very long
1
true to size
December 25, 2021
True to size fits me perfectly, but I enjoy a snug fit. If you don't enjoy a snug fit, you may want to go up half a size.
 More details
true to size
January 22, 2022
I went true to size, and the shot fits me perfectly well.
 More details
true to size
January 18, 2022
I went true to size, and it was fine.
 More details
true to size
January 22, 2022
True to size if you have a narrow or medium-width foot.
 More details
true to size
November 25, 2021
I would say go true to size or go with the same size as your previous Kyrie models.
 More details
true to size
February 22, 2022
I went true to size and I felt pretty good.
 More details
½ size small
March 7, 2022
I had to go up half a size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: