Search Shoe

Nike Lebron 14 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$174.99
Type:
High Top
Release Date:
1/2017
# of Reviews:
7
Traction
7.4
Cushion
8.7
Materials
8.0
Support
7.7
Fit
7.4
Outdoor
50%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Lebron 14:

Anthracite / Anthracite
Anthracite / Anthracite
No stores found
Black / White / Ice
Black / White / Ice
No stores found
Black / Black / University Red
Black / Black / University Red
No stores found
White / Black / University Red
White / Black / University Red
No stores found
University Red / Black / White
University Red / Black / White
No stores found
Matte Silver / White Glow
Matte Silver / White Glow
No stores found
Black / Black / Glass Blue
Black / Black / Glass Blue
No stores found
White / Metallic Gold / Black
White / Metallic Gold / Black
No stores found
White / Metallic Silver / Ice Blue
White / Metallic Silver / Ice Blue
No stores found
Blue Fury / Metallic Silver / Equator Blue
Blue Fury / Metallic Silver / Equator Blue
No stores found
Black / Volt / Cool Grey
Black / Volt / Cool Grey
No stores found

PROS:

  • Impact protection
  • Comfortable fit

CONS:

  • Slight heel slippage

Summary of 7 Expert Reviews:

The Nike Lebron 14 receives mixed reviews. Bigger, heavier players with wide feet and the need for a lot of impact protection will like the Hex Zoom cushioning setup. Unfortunately, a lot of reviewers commented on heel slippage and excessive movement during cuts and stops. Definitely not recommended for players with narrow feet.
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Lebron 14:

The 7.9 average overall rating ranks #99 of 116 shoes overall
7.2
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
As a guard, I did not enjoy the shoe. But for big guys this should be a great shoe.
Watch the video
7.4
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I consider the Lebron XIV one of the most comfortable but under performing Lebrons I’ve ever worn. Great cushioning and soft materials can only cover flaws to a certain extent.
7.8
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The overall court feel, transition, cushioning, and clean-floor traction make the LeBron 14 feel fast and smooth to play in.
8.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
I value impact protection heavily, therefore, they are one of the best sneakers available right now.
Watch the video
8.2
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The LeBron 14 isn’t perfect, but no shoe is. Impact protection and overall mobility are great, traction wasn't bad either.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.3
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
Ultimately, the things I like about the 14 overshadow those that I don’t. Because of that, I thoroughly enjoyed playing in it.
8.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
An improvement over the last year, but I didn't like the clunkiness of the transition and the $175 price tag is pretty steep.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Lebron 14:

The 7.4 average traction rating ranks #100 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
On a clean court it was good, but it picks up a good amount of dust quickly.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Traction on clean floors works well. However, on a dusty court you need to wipe constantly.
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Depending on the floor, great. Or not great. Good, maybe?
8.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
It's good, not great.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
It gets the job done for sure, it just could have been better.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
Clean court? All good. Dusty court? You’ll need to swipe.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The traction is pretty standard.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Lebron 14:

The 8.7 average cushion rating ranks #52 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
It wasn't amazing but felt okay
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Cushioning is the highlight of the XIV.
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Zoom, broken into the smaller units, is bouncy, responsive, and cushions every landing and step perfectly.
10.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
The cushioning is absolutely beastly and the impact protection is top of the line.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Hex Zoom Air returns, and it is freaking awesome.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
Pod-based Zoom is back and feels better than ever.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The cushioning is pretty good, but to be honest I am not a big fan of the Hex Zoom setup.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Lebron 14:

The 8.0 average materials rating ranks #94 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Materials do the job, but they could have been a little more premium.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I’m not a materials snob so the materials work fine and feel soft but for $175 I expect better.
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Overall, the materials get the job done in a nice package, but they just don’t feel like $175 materials.
8.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Overall, materials are good.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I like the materials. I just don’t like having to pay $175 for this type of material.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Materials are an upgrade over the previous year.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Lebron 14:

The 7.7 average support rating ranks #105 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
It's a pretty supportive shoe
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Support isn’t great either.
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Overall, this is probably the least supportive LeBron signature ever.
8.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Support is good but still gives you a lot of flexibility.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
This is one area that definitely could have been better overall.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
Thanks to the shoe’s heel padding and the aforementioned strap, my feet were locked tight,
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Ankle strap provides additional layer of support.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Lebron 14:

The 7.4 average fit rating ranks #108 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Lockdown wasn't great and there was a little bit of heel slippage.
Watch the video
6.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
It didn’t work for me at all. Movement on cuts inside the shoe, heel slip, you name it I had it.
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Very questionable.
7.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Lockdown is the weakest part of the shoe and the laces come undone easily
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The LeBron 14 utilizes a one-piece bootie construction comprised of soft/flimsy materials.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
I was able to get a secure fit if I pulled the laces tight enough, and I found the strap to be very functional in adding a layer of security. But it all came at the price of comfort.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
A little bit of heel slippage for narrower feet.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 50% average outdoor rating ranks #51 of 116 shoes overall
fair
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
We didn't test it, but outdoor use should be okay because the rubber is pretty hard.
Watch the video
fair
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Traction was adequate outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Lebron 14:

very wide
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
If you have a narrow foot you are going to swim in it
Watch the video
slightly wide
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The width is generous on the XIV
slightly wide
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
They are a bit roomy.
Watch the video
slightly wide
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Going true to size might work out well for wide footers
Watch the Video|Read the article
slightly wide
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
A little bit of dead space on the upper.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Lebron 14:

true to size
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Go true to size
Watch the video
true to size
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
These run very true to size.
true to size
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Length-wise, true to size was the way to go
true to size
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
I'd say they fit true to size.
Watch the video
½ size large
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
In order to maintain the best containment while playing in them I’d personally recommend going down 1/2 size.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
I also found the fit to be very true-to-size.
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
True to size.
Watch the video