Search Shoe

Nike Zoom Freak 2 Review

Nike Zoom Freak 2
Nike Zoom Freak 2
Nike Zoom Freak 2
Nike Zoom Freak 2
8.5
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$119.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
8/2020
Ranking:
Traction
8.7
Cushion
7.3
Materials
7.7
Support
8.0
Fit
9.0
Outdoor
75%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Zoom Freak 2:

73 likes
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
in 6 shops
$119.99
3 likes
Vintage Green / Pistachio Frost / Camellia
Vintage Green / Pistachio Frost / Camellia
in 5 shops
$119.99
32 likes
"NAIJA"
"NAIJA"
in 3 shops
$129.99
8 likes
White Cement
White Cement
from StockX
$161.00

Summary of 3 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Overall improvement from the previous model
Great fit and support
Cons:
Minimal impact protection
Poor ventilation

Performance of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

The traction of the Zoom Freak 2 is improved and works great on clean courts. Some wiping will be necessary if you play on dusty courts and the outsole is also durable enough to play outdoors. The cushioning is minimal with full length foam and Zoom Air in the forefoot, but provides great court feel for players. The upper materials are nothing to write home about, but they provide a comfortable fit and the TPU on the outer front of the shoe helps with support as well. Overall, the Zoom Freak 2 is a clear improvement over the Zoom Freak 1 and is an affordable shoe with no glaring weaknesses.
See all 3 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

The 8.5 average overall rating ranks #72 of 138 shoes overall
8.4
The Sole Brothers
August 21, 2020
The Nike Zoom Freak 2 feels extremely light and minimal on foot and I really like it. It is one of those shoes you can put on and just focus on playing ball regardless of position. It isn't clunky or heavy on foot and just feels smooth. The only downside was that there isn't a lot of impact protection provided from this cushion setup. This shoe performs really well for the price!
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
August 7, 2020
For $120, I think you're getting a fantastic shoe with the Nike Zoom Freak 2. It's a perfect shoe for guards because you'll feel quick and responsive on your feet. If you are looking for a lot of impact protection this isn't the shoe for you. If you want to pick up a pair, I think you won't be disappointed!
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 4, 2020
For $120, the Zoom Freak 2s is an affordable signature sneaker that offers a good amount of tech. It doesn't really have a weak point and should be good for all types of hoopers whether you are a guard or a big man. Definitely an upgrade over the Zoom Freak 1s!
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

The 8.7 average traction rating ranks #57 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
August 21, 2020
The traction on these is really really good. I only got to try them outdoors, but even on a dusty outdoor court they were great. They had a nice squeak and bite on my wood floors inside, so I feel like it'll have good performance on an indoor court.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
August 7, 2020
The traction on the Zoom Freak 2 is really, really good. If you're playing on clean courts you'll stop on a dime, if you are playing on dusty courts you will have to wipe consistently.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 4, 2020
The traction is pretty good on the Zoom Freak 2. They grip the floor really, really well, but I did slip a bit on dusty courts. Overall, the traction is definitely better than the Zoom Freak 1.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

The 7.3 average cushion rating ranks #123 of 138 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
August 21, 2020
As far as the cushioning goes, it is not that nice. The soft foam Nike uses isn't that soft and the heel is pretty stiff. There isn't that much impact protection and this cushion setup feels like the PG 1. Really good court feel though and the shoe feels really responsive. The cushion was a bit of a letdown.
Watch the video
7.0
RicheeKim
August 7, 2020
I found the cushioning to be pretty firm and I think the foam in the Zoom Freak 1 might have been a bit nicer. There is good court feel and responsiveness, but the impact protection is very minimal.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 4, 2020
The Zoom Air in the forefoot has good responsiveness bringing in the feelings of a Kobe sneaker and is an upgrade over the Freak 1 which had the Zoom Air in the heel. The shoe also has good absorption for impact protection.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

The 7.7 average materials rating ranks #118 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
August 21, 2020
I really like the materials used here. The upper is very thin, minimal, and super soft. There is some fuse around the toe box for added durability as well. My favorite part about the shoe is the oversized tongue which feels really nice on foot. The padding around the ankle is good too. My only issue was that the ventilation wasn't great and these were hot to play in.
Watch the video
7.0
RicheeKim
August 7, 2020
The materials on the Zoom Freak 2 feature an all mesh upper with some hits of synthetic leather. These aren't the nicest materials, but overall they get the job done.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 4, 2020
The materials on these aren't the greatest-feeling, but they get the job done and are an improvement over the Zoom Freak 1s. The ventilation is poor and my feet were pretty steaming after hooping in these.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

The 8.0 average support rating ranks #103 of 138 shoes overall
8.0
The Sole Brothers
August 21, 2020
I had no issues with the support at all. The rubberized plastic keep you locked in for lateral movements and overall containment. The internal heel counter is great too. Lateral stability is good because of the crazy outrigger on these that comes out pretty wide. This is a low so keep in mind there isn't any ankle support.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
August 7, 2020
I think the support is really good in the Zoom Freak 2. There is an internal heel counter that locks you in perfectly and there was no side to side movement on the footbed. These have you covered on lateral movements as well with outriggers for extra support. Solid torsional rigidity and stability too.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 4, 2020
The decoupled outsole gives you more flexibility when making movements which is really good. What I really like is that the lateral outrigger and the wing support your foot when making lateral movements. The support is one of the stronger aspects of this shoe.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

The 9.0 average fit rating ranks #12 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
August 21, 2020
The fit was incredible for me and it fit very similar to the Zoom Freak 1. The shoe stretches out a little bit as you break it in. These are also very easy to put on because the tongue opens up a lot.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
August 7, 2020
The fit on this shoe is really nice besides some minor rubbing on the side of my foot. Everything hugs your foot very well like a burrito and you feel comfortable and locked in.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 75% average outdoor rating ranks #32 of 138 shoes overall
fair
The Sole Brothers
August 21, 2020
The traction works well outdoors, but the nubs on the medial side of outsole aren't the most durable.
Watch the video
good
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 4, 2020
The rubber outsole is firm and the grooves are thick enough so that it is pretty good for outdoor use.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
August 21, 2020
I'd suggest going up half a size or even a full size because it is a snug fit.
Watch the video
very narrow
RicheeKim
August 7, 2020
If you have really wide feet you may want to avoid this shoe or try it on in stores.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

true to size
The Sole Brothers
August 21, 2020
I went true to size and my foot was snug which is how I like my shoes.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
August 7, 2020
I have a slightly wide foot so I decided to go up a half size and am glad that I did. True to size should be fine if you don't have wide feet.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
August 4, 2020
These run true to size, but were a little long in the toe for me. If you like a very snug fit I would go down half a size.
Watch the video
Deals from $119.99:
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
in 6 shops
$119.99
Vintage Green / Pistachio Frost / Camellia
Vintage Green / Pistachio Frost / Camellia
in 5 shops
$119.99
"NAIJA"
"NAIJA"
in 3 shops
$129.99
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
$119.99
on DICK's
White / Metallic Gold / Black
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
White / Metallic Gold / Black
46 likes
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
Nike Zoom Freak 2
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
38 likes
Court Purple / Black / University Gold
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
Court Purple / Black / University Gold
32 likes
Glory Mint / Signal Green / Solar Red
Adidas D.O.N Issue #2
Glory Mint / Signal Green / Solar Red
28 likes
White / Black / Flash Crimson / White
Nike Renew Elevate
White / Black / Flash Crimson / White
26 likes
Forest Green / Metallic Red Bronze / Speed Yellow
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
Forest Green / Metallic Red Bronze / Speed Yellow
24 likes