Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Zoom Freak 2

Released 8/2020, Low Top, Giannis Antetokounmpo
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
8.3
USER RATING
9 ratings
An affordable signature sneaker and all-around performer.

Best Suitable For:

A great choice for guards who prefer court feel over impact protection.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $119.99
DICK's
$39.97
$120
Buy Now
Foot Locker
$89.99
$120
Eastbay
$99.99
$120
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.0
Cushion
7.4
Materials
8.0
Support
8.3
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
63%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
168 likes
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
from DICK's
$39.97
$120
50 likes
Vintage Green / Pistachio Frost / Camellia
Vintage Green / Pistachio Frost / Camellia
from DICK's
$43.97
$120
105 likes
Black/Metallic Silver/Dusty Amethyst
Black/Metallic Silver/Dusty Amethyst
from DICK's
$48.97
$120
36 likes
Particle Grey / Black Blue / Beyond Sail
Particle Grey / Black Blue / Beyond Sail
from DICK's
$89.99
$120
37 likes
Bright Mango / Red Pum / Volt / Grand Purple
Bright Mango / Red Pum / Volt / Grand Purple
in 5 shops
$89.99
$120
27 likes
Black / Particle Grey / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
Black / Particle Grey / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
in 3 shops
$95.97
$120
43 likes
White / Bright Mango / Black
White / Bright Mango / Black
from DICK's
$119.99
93 likes
"NAIJA"
"NAIJA"
from DICK's
$129.99
60 likes
Blue / Green / Black
Blue / Green / Black
in 3 shops
$130.00
40 likes
Black / University Red / White
Black / University Red / White
from StockX
$60.00
50 likes
Midnight Navy / Fire Pink / White / Poison Green
Midnight Navy / Fire Pink / White / Poison Green
from StockX
$79.00
49 likes
Bright Crimson / Fire Pink / White / Black
Bright Crimson / Fire Pink / White / Black
from StockX
$80.00
40 likes
Desert Sand / Sail / Camellia / Gym Red
Desert Sand / Sail / Camellia / Gym Red
from StockX
$86.00
110 likes
White Cement
White Cement
from StockX
$131.00

Nike Zoom Freak 2 Review

Pros:
Overall improvement from the previous model
Great fit and support
Cons:
Minimal impact protection
Poor ventilation

Performance of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

The traction of the Zoom Freak 2 is improved and works great on clean courts. Some wiping will be necessary if you play on dusty courts and the outsole is also durable enough to play outdoors. The cushioning is minimal with full length foam and Zoom Air in the forefoot, but provides great court feel for players. The upper materials are nothing to write home about, but they provide a comfortable fit and the TPU on the outer front of the shoe helps with support as well. Overall, the Zoom Freak 2 is a clear improvement over the Zoom Freak 1 and is an affordable shoe with no glaring weaknesses.
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #140 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
For $120, the Zoom Freak 2s is an affordable signature sneaker that offers a good amount of tech. It doesn't really have a weak point and should be good for all types of hoopers whether you are a guard or a big man. Definitely an upgrade over the Zoom Freak 1s!
 More details
8.4
August 21, 2020
The Nike Zoom Freak 2 feels extremely light and minimal on foot and I really like it. It is one of those shoes you can put on and just focus on playing ball regardless of position. It isn't clunky or heavy on foot and just feels smooth. The only downside was that there isn't a lot of impact protection provided from this cushion setup. This shoe performs really well for the price!
 More details
8.2
May 6, 2021
Nike really listened and made positive changes in the Zoom Freak 2. The support is better and your foot feels secure and locked in. The cushion is improved with the forefoot Zoom unit, and the traction grips well on most court conditions.
 More details
8.0
August 7, 2020
For $120, I think you're getting a fantastic shoe with the Nike Zoom Freak 2. It's a perfect shoe for guards because you'll feel quick and responsive on your feet. If you are looking for a lot of impact protection this isn't the shoe for you. If you want to pick up a pair, I think you won't be disappointed!
 More details
7.5
November 25, 2020
The inconsistent traction never allowed me to feel safe in the Nike Zoom Freak 2. There wasn't anything else that was exciting or stood out in this shoe either.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

User Rating: 8.3 (ranks #104 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.8
January 12, 2022
Honestly a surprisingly great shoe. I thought it wasn't going to feel good using it (as it was designed for Giannis, who is a big man, and me being a not so big guard), but it turns out that it is arguably one of the best shoes for a point guard. From good traction, to holding your foot, to you being able to move shifty without uncomfortableness, it had it all.
 More details
8.2
Yesterday at 04:03 AM
This shoe is the definition of “mid”. traction and support are the stars of the shows, but everything is just decent. its like the trailblazers in a shoe. 2 main stars and everything else people forget about, and just falls short of being good. overall the shoe is ight, just not the best.
 More details
9.2
October 27, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.0
December 12, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.0 (ranks #141 of 196)
User Traction Rating: 8.9 (ranks #72 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
The traction is pretty good on the Zoom Freak 2. They grip the floor really, really well, but I did slip a bit on dusty courts. Overall, the traction is definitely better than the Zoom Freak 1.
 More details
9.0
August 21, 2020
The traction on these is really really good. I only got to try them outdoors, but even on a dusty outdoor court they were great. They had a nice squeak and bite on my wood floors inside, so I feel like it'll have good performance on an indoor court.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The decoupled outsole feels fast, and the rubber is very grippy.
 More details
9.0
August 7, 2020
The traction on the Zoom Freak 2 is really, really good. If you're playing on clean courts you'll stop on a dime, if you are playing on dusty courts you will have to wipe consistently.
 More details
6.0
November 25, 2020
The traction is something you need to look out for. Every time planted my feet the outsole would slip out a little.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.4 (ranks #173 of 196)
User Cushion Rating: 7.1 (ranks #119 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
The Zoom Air in the forefoot has good responsiveness bringing in the feelings of a Kobe sneaker and is an upgrade over the Freak 1 which had the Zoom Air in the heel. The shoe also has good absorption for impact protection.
 More details
7.0
August 21, 2020
As far as the cushioning goes, it is not that nice. The soft foam Nike uses isn't that soft and the heel is pretty stiff. There isn't that much impact protection and this cushion setup feels like the PG 1. Really good court feel though and the shoe feels really responsive. The cushion was a bit of a letdown.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The forefoot Zoom unit is bouncy while letting the Zoom Freak 2 still feel low to the ground.
 More details
7.0
August 7, 2020
I found the cushioning to be pretty firm and I think the foam in the Zoom Freak 1 might have been a bit nicer. There is good court feel and responsiveness, but the impact protection is very minimal.
 More details
7.0
November 25, 2020
The cushion won't hurt you, but there isn't that much impact protection here. There is a single Zoom unit in the forefoot and the foam through the rest of the midsole is pretty stiff. Overall, the cushion is pretty disappointing.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #134 of 196)
User Materials Rating: 7.9 (ranks #112 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
The materials on these aren't the greatest-feeling, but they get the job done and are an improvement over the Zoom Freak 1s. The ventilation is poor and my feet were pretty steaming after hooping in these.
 More details
9.0
August 21, 2020
I really like the materials used here. The upper is very thin, minimal, and super soft. There is some fuse around the toe box for added durability as well. My favorite part about the shoe is the oversized tongue which feels really nice on foot. The padding around the ankle is good too. My only issue was that the ventilation wasn't great and these were hot to play in.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The upper is very supportive and needs no break-in time. It feels comfortable and nice on foot.
 More details
7.0
August 7, 2020
The materials on the Zoom Freak 2 feature an all mesh upper with some hits of synthetic leather. These aren't the nicest materials, but overall they get the job done.
 More details
9.0
November 25, 2020
The materials are soft and comfortable and fit nicely around your foot.
 More details

Support of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

Expert Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #123 of 196)
User Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #78 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The decoupled outsole gives you more flexibility when making movements which is really good. What I really like is that the lateral outrigger and the wing support your foot when making lateral movements. The support is one of the stronger aspects of this shoe.
 More details
8.0
August 21, 2020
I had no issues with the support at all. The rubberized plastic keep you locked in for lateral movements and overall containment. The internal heel counter is great too. Lateral stability is good because of the crazy outrigger on these that comes out pretty wide. This is a low so keep in mind there isn't any ankle support.
 More details
9.0
May 6, 2021
The added TPU plates on the lateral side of the shoe keep your foot on the footbed. The upper also does a good job of keeping you locked in.
 More details
8.0
August 7, 2020
I think the support is really good in the Zoom Freak 2. There is an internal heel counter that locks you in perfectly and there was no side to side movement on the footbed. These have you covered on lateral movements as well with outriggers for extra support. Solid torsional rigidity and stability too.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #79 of 196)
User Fit Rating: 8.7 (ranks #72 of 196)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
August 21, 2020
The fit was incredible for me and it fit very similar to the Zoom Freak 1. The shoe stretches out a little bit as you break it in. These are also very easy to put on because the tongue opens up a lot.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The forefoot area feels a little snug as there isn't much space in the toe box, but it does fit well.
 More details
9.0
August 7, 2020
The fit on this shoe is really nice besides some minor rubbing on the side of my foot. Everything hugs your foot very well like a burrito and you feel comfortable and locked in.
 More details
8.0
November 25, 2020
The overall fit was a nice and snug experience, but the pattern on the medial side can cause some issues if you have wide feet.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

User Durability Rating: 7.4 (ranks #117 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1

Outdoor of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 62.5 (ranks #64 of 196)
User Outdoor Rating: 83.3 (ranks #30 of 196)
Good (100%)
8
Fair (50%)
4
Bad (0%)
1
good
The rubber outsole is firm and the grooves are thick enough so that it is pretty good for outdoor use.
 More details
fair
August 21, 2020
The traction works well outdoors, but the nubs on the medial side of outsole aren't the most durable.
 More details
good
May 6, 2021
The rubber is very hard. It should be good for outdoor use.
 More details
no
November 25, 2020
The traction is a little better on the blacktop, but these will wear down pretty quickly.
 More details

Width of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
8
regular
3
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly narrow
August 21, 2020
I'd suggest going up half a size or even a full size because it is a snug fit.
 More details
regularly wide
May 6, 2021
It isn't narrow, but there is not much space in the forefoot. So, wide footers might want to go up half a size.
 More details
very narrow
August 7, 2020
If you have really wide feet you may want to avoid this shoe or try it on in stores.
 More details
slightly narrow
November 25, 2020
Half size up should work for wide footers.
 More details

Size of the Nike Zoom Freak 2:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
12
slightly long
0
very long
0
true to size
These run true to size, but were a little long in the toe for me. If you like a very snug fit I would go down half a size.
 More details
true to size
August 21, 2020
I went true to size and my foot was snug which is how I like my shoes.
 More details
true to size
May 6, 2021
Go true to size if you have a regular foot.
 More details
true to size
August 7, 2020
I have a slightly wide foot so I decided to go up a half size and am glad that I did. True to size should be fine if you don't have wide feet.
 More details
true to size
November 25, 2020
True to size is probably the right call.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
from DICK's
$39.97
$120
Vintage Green / Pistachio Frost / Camellia
Vintage Green / Pistachio Frost / Camellia
from DICK's
$43.97
$120
Black/Metallic Silver/Dusty Amethyst
Black/Metallic Silver/Dusty Amethyst
from DICK's
$48.97
$120
Particle Grey / Black Blue / Beyond Sail
Particle Grey / Black Blue / Beyond Sail
from DICK's
$89.99
$120
Bright Mango / Red Pum / Volt / Grand Purple
Bright Mango / Red Pum / Volt / Grand Purple
in 5 shops
$89.99
$120
Black / Particle Grey / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
Black / Particle Grey / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
in 3 shops
$95.97
$120
White / Bright Mango / Black
White / Bright Mango / Black
from DICK's
$119.99
"NAIJA"
"NAIJA"
from DICK's
$129.99
Blue / Green / Black
Blue / Green / Black
in 3 shops
$130.00
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
$39.97
on DICK's