Search Shoe

Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro Review

Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro
Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro
Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro
Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro
8.9
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$174.99
Type:
High Top
Release Date:
4/2018
Ranking:
Traction
8.9
Cushion
9.3
Materials
9.1
Support
9.2
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
100%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

12 likes
White / Black / Varsity Red
White / Black / Varsity Red
from StockX
$208.00
15 likes
Black / White / Varsity Purple / Cany
Black / White / Varsity Purple / Cany
from StockX
$215.00
16 likes
Wolf Grey / White / University Blue
Wolf Grey / White / University Blue
from StockX
$250.00
12 likes
Black / White / Varsity Maize
Black / White / Varsity Maize
from StockX
$250.00
17 likes
White / Black / Varsity Purple
White / Black / Varsity Purple
from StockX
$265.00
20 likes
Black / Metallic Gold
Black / Metallic Gold
from StockX
$275.00
7 likes
Midnight Navy / White / Varsity Red
Midnight Navy / White / Varsity Red
from StockX
$298.00
21 likes
White / Del Sol / Varsity Purple
White / Del Sol / Varsity Purple
from StockX
$320.00

Summary of 6 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Nice leather materials
Very durable
Cons:
Very heavy
Fit can be problematic

Performance of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

The performance retro of the original Kobe 1 Protro turns out to be very divisive. Some reviewers love the retro materials and sturdy feel of an old-school basketball sneaker, while others complain that these are too heavy and bulky compared to current performance sneakers. Traction and cushioning perform very well and the support is absolutely amazing because of the solid materials used. The fit is more problematic as the leather doesn't conform to your feet as well as modern textile materials do. If you like old-school basketball sneakers then you will love the Kobe 1 Protro, but if you are looking for a minimal and fast shoe then this isn't for you.
See all 6 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

The 8.9 average overall rating ranks #6 of 126 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
At $175, I wouldn't really recommend the Kobe Protro for on-court use. This is a great performer, but there are cheaper shoes that perform just as well. If you are a big Kobe fan or you like the old school materials, then go ahead and buy these!
Watch the video
8.8
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
The Kobe 1 Protro feels and plays like the OG which is a good thing! From traction to containment and balanced cushioning - it does everything right and gets a first-team rating from me!
8.4
The Sole Brothers
April 30, 2018
The Kobe 1 Protro is a decent big-man shoe. But for me, it was way too clunky and heavy. I feel like this is more of a lifestyle sneaker.
Watch the video
8.5
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 30, 2018
At the end of the day, the Kobe 1 Protro still feels like a throwback sneaker. The materials feel heavy and restrictive compared to current basketball shoe models.
Watch the video
9.4
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 26, 2018
I miss shoes that are built like this. Nike reduced a bit of bulk from the original and created a shoe that I didn't want to take off again.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.5
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
It may be an opinion clouded in sentiment, but there is no denying it: the Protro is a great, great, great performer.

Traction of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

The 8.9 average traction rating ranks #37 of 126 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
Herringbone traction pattern always works. Whether I played on clean or dusty courts, I had no problems after a short break-in period.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
The traction takes a little to break in but Nike did an awesome job with this multi-directional herringbone pattern.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
April 30, 2018
The traction wasn't as good as I hoped it would be.
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 30, 2018
The outsole isn't as tacky as I would have liked it to be.
Watch the video
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 26, 2018
It’s the tackiest of tractions it grips the court — any court — like nobody’s business.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
The Kobe 1 Protro sticks like glue to any floor.

Cushion of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

The 9.3 average cushion rating ranks #18 of 126 shoes overall
9.5
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
Full-length Zoom is my favorite cushioning setup and it feels amazing in the Kobe Protro.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed the full-length Zoom cushioning which provides a great blend of fun, impact protection, and court feel.
9.0
The Sole Brothers
April 30, 2018
The cushioning feels very responsive and fast.
Watch the video
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 30, 2018
This is a very versatile cushioning setup which is very responsive, fast, with decent impact protection. Perfect for explosive wing players.
Watch the video
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 26, 2018
The full-length Zoom Air here is low-to-the-ground, ultra responsive and has some nice feedback.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.5
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Nike Zoom Ari cushioning like it was originally designed to be: low, fast, speedy and responsive.

Materials of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

The 9.1 average materials rating ranks #12 of 126 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
Super-nice, old-school, real leather.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
The leather and suede are a little stiffer than the original and need some time to break in.
9.0
The Sole Brothers
April 30, 2018
The leather is very soft and feels great on foot.
Watch the video
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 26, 2018
I had forgotten just how nice leather is to play in!
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.5
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
This is it: leather, suede, and leather, and more suede. Takes a while to break-in but then it feels great.

Support of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

The 9.2 average support rating ranks #5 of 126 shoes overall
8.5
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
I experienced slight heel slippage even when cranking down the laces. No side-to-side movement on the footbed, great torsional stability, and the lateral outriggers protect your ankles from rolling.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
The ankle is very flexible and provides you with a wide range of motion but not a ton of support. The outsole is very wide and flat which helps to prevent ankle sprains.
9.0
The Sole Brothers
April 30, 2018
Your feet are going nowhere in these shoes!
Watch the video
10.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 30, 2018
If you feel like basketball shoes are too flimsy these days, then you will enjoy the Kobe 1 Protro because the materials are tough enough for even the most explosive players.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 26, 2018
Tthe forefoot stability is some of the best around — maybe even of all-time.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.5
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Wide base, large outrigger, lateral support from foam teeth on the lateral side of the midsole and the sturdy leather provide all the support you need.

Fit of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

The 8.3 average fit rating ranks #80 of 126 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
Hugs my feet nicely and the leather feels comfortable after breaking it in.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
No heel slip. No movement side to side. Well done Nike!
7.0
The Sole Brothers
April 30, 2018
I felt the fit was bulky and cumbersome.
Watch the video
7.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 30, 2018
Even though I spent a ton of time trying to lace the Kobe 1 Proto as tight as possible, I didn't feel locked-in because the leather didn't conform to my feet.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 26, 2018
Once the leather is broken-in the fit was great and almost provided the mobility of a low-cut.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
In the beginning, the shoe will feel bulky and disconnected because the leather takes a while to conform to your feet. Fit becomes much better after playing in the Kobe 1 Protro for a few days.

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100% average outdoor rating ranks #14 of 126 shoes overall
good
The Sole Brothers
April 30, 2018
Outdoor use should be good because of the hard and thick rubber.
Watch the video
good
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 30, 2018
The Kobe 1 Protro should last a long time, even outdoors.
Watch the video
good
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
The rubber is thick and hard enough to hoop in outdoors

Width of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

slightly narrow
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
Slightly narrow in the forefoot but loosens up over time.
Watch the video
slightly wide
The Sole Brothers
April 30, 2018
The Kobe 1 Proto runs wide.
Watch the video
slightly wide
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 30, 2018
The leather doesn't create this second skin feeling and will stretch out over time.
Watch the video
regularly wide
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 26, 2018
If you don’t have a drastically wide foot then the leather should break in around your foot.
Watch the Video|Read the article
regularly wide
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
There is a little bit of dead space in the forefoot in the beginning.

Size of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

true to size
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
Runs true to size.
Watch the video
½ size large
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
I went down half a size and they fit me just fine.
true to size
The Sole Brothers
April 30, 2018
Runs true to size.
Watch the video
½ size large
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
April 30, 2018
I should have gone down half a size.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
April 26, 2018
I’d recommend true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Length-wise, stay true to size.
White / Opti Yellow / Digital Pink / Blue Fury
Nike Kyrie 6
White / Opti Yellow / Digital Pink / Blue Fury
52 likes
White / Black / University Red
Nike Lebron 17
White / Black / University Red
35 likes
Light Cream / Sail/Electric Green / Flash Crimson
Nike Kyrie 6
Light Cream / Sail/Electric Green / Flash Crimson
31 likes
 Particle Grey / White /Light Smoke Grey / Black
Nike Lebron 17 Low
Particle Grey / White /Light Smoke Grey / Black
25 likes
White
Under Armour Curry 7
White
25 likes
Multi-Color / Racer Blue / Smoke Grey
Nike KD 13
Multi-Color / Racer Blue / Smoke Grey
24 likes