Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro

Released 4/2018, High Top, Kobe Bryant, 
Add to Favourites
8.9
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
2 ratings
Very supportive leather upper, great traction, and responsive Zoom Air cushioning.

Best Suitable For:

Perfect if you like old-school basketball sneakers

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $174.99
StockX
from $210.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.9
Cushion
9.3
Materials
9.1
Support
9.2
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
45 likes
Black / White / Varsity Purple / Cany
Black / White / Varsity Purple / Cany
from StockX
$210.00
32 likes
White / Black / Varsity Red
White / Black / Varsity Red
from StockX
$272.00
33 likes
Wolf Grey / White / University Blue
Wolf Grey / White / University Blue
from StockX
$324.00
31 likes
Black / White / Varsity Maize
Black / White / Varsity Maize
from StockX
$333.00
47 likes
Black / Metallic Gold
Black / Metallic Gold
from StockX
$352.00
38 likes
White / Black / Varsity Purple
White / Black / Varsity Purple
from StockX
$387.00
48 likes
White / Del Sol / Varsity Purple
White / Del Sol / Varsity Purple
from StockX
$431.00
21 likes
Midnight Navy / White / Varsity Red
Midnight Navy / White / Varsity Red
from StockX
$471.00

Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro Review

Pros:
Nice leather materials
Very durable
Cons:
Very heavy
Fit can be problematic

Performance of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

The performance retro of the original Kobe 1 Protro turns out to be very divisive. Some reviewers love the retro materials and sturdy feel of an old-school basketball sneaker, while others complain that these are too heavy and bulky compared to current performance sneakers. Traction and cushioning perform very well and the support is absolutely amazing because of the solid materials used. The fit is more problematic as the leather doesn't conform to your feet as well as modern textile materials do. If you like old-school basketball sneakers then you will love the Kobe 1 Protro, but if you are looking for a minimal and fast shoe then this isn't for you.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

Expert Rating: 8.9 (ranks #24 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
It may be an opinion clouded in sentiment, but there is no denying it: the Protro is a great, great, great performer.
 More details
I miss shoes that are built like this. Nike reduced a bit of bulk from the original and created a shoe that I didn't want to take off again.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
At $175, I wouldn't really recommend the Kobe Protro for on-court use. This is a great performer, but there are cheaper shoes that perform just as well. If you are a big Kobe fan or you like the old school materials, then go ahead and buy these!
 More details
8.8
August 8, 2018
The Kobe 1 Protro feels and plays like the OG which is a good thing! From traction to containment and balanced cushioning - it does everything right and gets a first-team rating from me!
 More details
8.5
April 30, 2018
At the end of the day, the Kobe 1 Protro still feels like a throwback sneaker. The materials feel heavy and restrictive compared to current basketball shoe models.
 More details
8.4
April 30, 2018
The Kobe 1 Protro is a decent big-man shoe. But for me, it was way too clunky and heavy. I feel like this is more of a lifestyle sneaker.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

User Rating: 8.9 (ranks #61 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
November 6, 2021
Just my kinda shoes, but it's heavy and not very breathable due to the material use, but loves it in terms of traction, cushion and kobe.
 More details
7.8
March 30, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.9 (ranks #68 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 9.5 (ranks #26 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
The Kobe 1 Protro sticks like glue to any floor.
 More details
It’s the tackiest of tractions it grips the court — any court — like nobody’s business.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
Herringbone traction pattern always works. Whether I played on clean or dusty courts, I had no problems after a short break-in period.
 More details
9.0
August 8, 2018
The traction takes a little to break in but Nike did an awesome job with this multi-directional herringbone pattern.
 More details
8.0
April 30, 2018
The outsole isn't as tacky as I would have liked it to be.
 More details
8.0
April 30, 2018
The traction wasn't as good as I hoped it would be.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.3 (ranks #28 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #67 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Nike Zoom Ari cushioning like it was originally designed to be: low, fast, speedy and responsive.
 More details
The full-length Zoom Air here is low-to-the-ground, ultra responsive and has some nice feedback.
 More details
9.5
October 1, 2018
Full-length Zoom is my favorite cushioning setup and it feels amazing in the Kobe Protro.
 More details
9.0
August 8, 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed the full-length Zoom cushioning which provides a great blend of fun, impact protection, and court feel.
 More details
9.0
April 30, 2018
This is a very versatile cushioning setup which is very responsive, fast, with decent impact protection. Perfect for explosive wing players.
 More details
9.0
April 30, 2018
The cushioning feels very responsive and fast.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

Expert Materials Rating: 9.1 (ranks #8 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 7.5 (ranks #157 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
This is it: leather, suede, and leather, and more suede. Takes a while to break-in but then it feels great.
 More details
I had forgotten just how nice leather is to play in!
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
Super-nice, old-school, real leather.
 More details
8.0
August 8, 2018
The leather and suede are a little stiffer than the original and need some time to break in.
 More details
9.0
April 30, 2018
The leather is very soft and feels great on foot.
 More details

Support of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

Expert Support Rating: 9.2 (ranks #7 of 205)
User Support Rating: 9.5 (ranks #14 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Wide base, large outrigger, lateral support from foam teeth on the lateral side of the midsole and the sturdy leather provide all the support you need.
 More details
Tthe forefoot stability is some of the best around — maybe even of all-time.
 More details
8.5
October 1, 2018
I experienced slight heel slippage even when cranking down the laces. No side-to-side movement on the footbed, great torsional stability, and the lateral outriggers protect your ankles from rolling.
 More details
9.0
August 8, 2018
The ankle is very flexible and provides you with a wide range of motion but not a ton of support. The outsole is very wide and flat which helps to prevent ankle sprains.
 More details
10.0
April 30, 2018
If you feel like basketball shoes are too flimsy these days, then you will enjoy the Kobe 1 Protro because the materials are tough enough for even the most explosive players.
 More details
9.0
April 30, 2018
Your feet are going nowhere in these shoes!
 More details

Fit of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #124 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 9.0 (ranks #50 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
In the beginning, the shoe will feel bulky and disconnected because the leather takes a while to conform to your feet. Fit becomes much better after playing in the Kobe 1 Protro for a few days.
 More details
Once the leather is broken-in the fit was great and almost provided the mobility of a low-cut.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
Hugs my feet nicely and the leather feels comfortable after breaking it in.
 More details
9.0
August 8, 2018
No heel slip. No movement side to side. Well done Nike!
 More details
7.0
April 30, 2018
Even though I spent a ton of time trying to lace the Kobe 1 Proto as tight as possible, I didn't feel locked-in because the leather didn't conform to my feet.
 More details
7.0
April 30, 2018
I felt the fit was bulky and cumbersome.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

User Durability Rating: 10.0 (ranks #14 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #30 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #108 of 205)
Good (100%)
3
Fair (50%)
1
Bad (0%)
0
good
The rubber is thick and hard enough to hoop in outdoors
 More details
good
April 30, 2018
The Kobe 1 Protro should last a long time, even outdoors.
 More details
good
April 30, 2018
Outdoor use should be good because of the hard and thick rubber.
 More details

Width of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
2
regular
3
slightly wide
2
very wide
0
regularly wide
There is a little bit of dead space in the forefoot in the beginning.
 More details
regularly wide
If you don’t have a drastically wide foot then the leather should break in around your foot.
 More details
slightly narrow
October 1, 2018
Slightly narrow in the forefoot but loosens up over time.
 More details
slightly wide
April 30, 2018
The leather doesn't create this second skin feeling and will stretch out over time.
 More details
slightly wide
April 30, 2018
The Kobe 1 Proto runs wide.
 More details

Size of the Nike Zoom Kobe 1 Protro:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
6
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
Length-wise, stay true to size.
 More details
true to size
I’d recommend true to size.
 More details
true to size
October 1, 2018
Runs true to size.
 More details
½ size large
August 8, 2018
I went down half a size and they fit me just fine.
 More details
½ size large
April 30, 2018
I should have gone down half a size.
 More details
true to size
April 30, 2018
Runs true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: