Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Puma MB.01

Released 1/2022, Mid Top, LaMelo Ball
Add to Favourites
8.4
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
9.3
USER RATING
4 ratings
The Puma MB.01 is one of the best debut signature models in a while.

Best Suitable For:

Good fit for players that are looking for a solid overall shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $124.99
StockX
from $162.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.5
Cushion
8.2
Materials
8.3
Support
8.5
Fit
8.4
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
36 likes
Red Blast / Fiery Red
Red Blast / Fiery Red
from StockX
$162.00
27 likes
Puma Black / Blue Atoll
Puma Black / Blue Atoll
No stores found

Puma MB.01 Review

Pros:
Puma's Nitro foam has great balance
The shoe is very comfortable
Cons:
Traction picks up dust easily

Performance of the Puma MB.01:

The Puma MB.01 is LaMelo Ball's debut signature shoe, and it makes a positive first impression. Starting with the traction, reviewers agree that the shoe performs excellently on clean courts. It does pick up dust which can cause inconsistencies if you don't wipe. The cushioning setup finds the right balance between impact protection and responsiveness. Despite the materials being synthetic, they feel comfortable. Reviewers agree that this is one of the more comfortable shoes on the market. The MB.01 is also one of the better shoes for players with slightly wider feet. It's very accommodating in that regard. A wide base and the lacing setup keep you secure and locked down. Puma has a potential hit on their hands with the release of the Puma MB.01.
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Rating: 8.4 (ranks #100 of 196)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
January 8, 2022
LaMelo Ball's first signature shoe, the Puma MB.01, is amazing. I love playing in these. This is a versatile option for a number of different playstyles.
 More details
8.5
January 4, 2022
The Puma MB.01 is one of the most comfortable shoes I've worn in a long time. I think these could be one of the best first signature shoes ever.
 More details
8.4
January 4, 2022
The Puma MB.01 is a shoe that I highly recommend. It has a great balance of everything and is really fun to play in.
 More details
8.3
January 4, 2022
Although they aren't the sleekest, the Puma Melo MB.01 does provide great balance and comfort. The cushion is a perfect balance, and the materials do a great job of keeping your feet feeling nice.
 More details
8.2
January 4, 2022
Puma did a great job of putting together LaMelo Ball's first signature shoe. The shoe is fun to play in and has little to no downsides.
 More details

User Reviews of the Puma MB.01:

User Rating: 9.3 (ranks #8 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.2
January 10, 2022
The Puma MB01 is worth every penny in my opinion. I didn’t have huge expectations for a first model signature shoe costing only $125, Puma has really done an exceptional job with this particular model. It far surpasses anything Adidas has put on the market this year and is superior even to anything Nike and JB offer in this price range. The whole shoe feels very well padded and cushioned inside and out I am more than satisfied with what I got for what I paid.
 More details
10.0
January 11, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.8
January 12, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.2
Friday at 11:50 AM
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #91 of 196)
User Traction Rating: 8.3 (ranks #92 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
January 8, 2022
The traction performance is amazing. It sticks like glue, but it picks up dust pretty quickly. With wiping, you don't notice it, though.
 More details
8.5
January 4, 2022
It has one of the best tractions on a clean court. However, on dustier courts, it collects a lot of dust. It still performs well, but it will pick up dust.
 More details
9.0
January 4, 2022
The traction on here was pretty good. You'll have no issues whatsoever. The rubber is tacky, but it does pick up dust easily.
 More details
7.0
January 4, 2022
My experience with traction has been inconsistent. The rubber compound picks up a lot of dust, and the pattern is tight-knit.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The rubber compound picks up dust easily, but it still performs well.
 More details

Cushion of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.2 (ranks #132 of 196)
User Cushion Rating: 9.5 (ranks #19 of 196)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 8, 2022
The full-length Nitro foam feels nice. It provides a bit of compression, but it's still soft.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The foam that Puma used is responsive and lightweight. It feels perfect for most guard play. The impact protection isn't the best, but the court feel is good.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The shoe features a full-length Nitro foam setup that provides a good balance of impact protection and responsiveness.
 More details
9.0
January 4, 2022
The nitro foam cushion is legit. They're soft, plush, and accommodating while still providing impact protection and responsiveness.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
Cushion and comfort aren't the mainstays of the shoe. It's not uncomfortable, but it doesn't offer much compression. The shoe does provide a great court feel, though.
 More details

Materials of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.3 (ranks #83 of 196)
User Materials Rating: 9.3 (ranks #15 of 196)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 8, 2022
The mesh material starts off stiff, but after breaking them in, it starts to feel soft. It also conforms nicely to your feet.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
It has a full textile upper mixed with some plastic and fuse overlays. The materials are industry standard.
 More details
9.0
January 4, 2022
This shoe is one of the most well-padded performance models. They are very comfortable. The only downside is that they could've been of higher quality.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The padding in the shoe makes this shoe very comfortable. I like the materials.
 More details

Support of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #90 of 196)
User Support Rating: 9.3 (ranks #20 of 196)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 8, 2022
I had no issues with the support and lockdown. The materials do a great job of providing lateral containment.
 More details
8.9
January 4, 2022
The containment is good, but I have issues with heel slippage.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
Your heel is locked in and contained. There's no movement on the footbed, and the base is wide enough to prevent your ankle from rolling over.
 More details
9.0
January 4, 2022
For lockdown, I had no issues. It's a sturdy shoe that helps hold you in place.
 More details

Fit of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.4 (ranks #94 of 196)
User Fit Rating: 9.8 (ranks #3 of 196)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 8, 2022
The length of the shoe is perfect for me. It also has a snug toe box, which is something that I prefer in my basketball shoes.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The combination of the material ultimately allows for a 1-to-1 fit. They do a great job of locking you down.
 More details
9.0
January 4, 2022
I experienced no pain or stiffness in the mid and forefoot areas. If you have a narrow foot, you may experience extra room in the toe box.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The shoe is going to be one of the best at accommodating a wider group of players. However, it could be a tiny bit tricky for those that prefer a snug fit.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The materials are excellent for providing a comfortable fit. They feel great.
 More details

Durability of the Puma MB.01:

User Durability Rating: 9.3 (ranks #12 of 196)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #68 of 196)
User Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #52 of 196)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
4
Bad (0%)
0
fair
January 8, 2022
The nubs are large, and the rubber feels hard.
 More details

Width of the Puma MB.01:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
0
regular
7
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
regularly wide
January 8, 2022
If you need a roomier fit, you might want to go up half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
January 4, 2022
If you have slightly wide feet, I would stick with going true to size. They accommodated me nicely.
 More details
regularly wide
January 4, 2022
I would say the shoe caters to wide feet well.
 More details
regularly wide
January 4, 2022
These are going to be a great option for players with wide feet.
 More details

Size of the Puma MB.01:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
7
slightly long
1
very long
0
true to size
January 8, 2022
I went true to size, and it fits me extremely well.
 More details
true to size
January 4, 2022
I have a slightly wide foot and going true to size fits me perfectly.
 More details
true to size
January 4, 2022
The shoe feels big. I would say you'd need to go down half a size. I went down to size and it fits well.
 More details
true to size
January 4, 2022
I went true to size, and it fit very well.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: