Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Puma MB.01

Released 1/2022, Mid Top, LaMelo Ball, 
Add to Favourites
8.5
EXPERT RATING
10 reviews
9.0
USER RATING
48 ratings
The Puma MB.01 is one of the best debut signature models in a while.

Best Suitable For:

Good fit for players that are looking for a solid overall shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $124.99
StockX
from $173.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (10)
User Ratings (48)
Traction
8.7
Cushion
8.4
Materials
8.1
Support
8.4
Fit
8.6
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Puma MB.01
Puma MB.01
New Balance TWO WXY
New Balance TWO WXY
Nike KD 14
Nike KD 14
Puma MB.02
Puma MB.02
Adidas Pro Model 2G
Adidas Pro Model 2G
Nike Air Max Impact 3
Nike Air Max Impact 3
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.58.9(0.4)8.9(0.4)8.7(0.2)8.3(0.2)8.4(0.1)
User Rating9.08.6(0.4)9.2(0.2)8.5(0.5)8.2(0.8)8.8(0.2)
Best Price$124.99
$66.97
$140
$69.27
$150
$135
$75
$100
$76.97
$90
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight430g - 450g350g - 370g380g - 400gNA390g - 410g340g - 360g
 Show More
50 likes
Green / Red
Green / Red
from StockX
$173.00
74 likes
 Rock Ridge / Red Blast
Rock Ridge / Red Blast
from StockX
$174.00
164 likes
Puma Black / Blue Atoll
Puma Black / Blue Atoll
from StockX
$193.00
225 likes
Red Blast / Fiery Red
Red Blast / Fiery Red
from StockX
$222.00
273 likes
Purple Glimmer / Blue Atoll
Purple Glimmer / Blue Atoll
from StockX
$329.00
413 likes
"Rick and Morty"
"Rick and Morty"
from StockX
$412.00

Puma MB.01 Review

Pros:
Puma's Nitro foam has great balance
The shoe is very comfortable
Cons:
Traction picks up dust easily

Performance of the Puma MB.01:

The Puma MB.01 is LaMelo Ball's debut signature shoe, and it makes a positive first impression. Starting with the traction, reviewers agree that the shoe performs excellently on clean courts. It does pick up dust which can cause inconsistencies if you don't wipe. The cushioning setup finds the right balance between impact protection and responsiveness. Despite the materials being synthetic, they feel comfortable. Reviewers agree that this is one of the more comfortable shoes on the market. The MB.01 is also one of the better shoes for players with slightly wider feet. It's very accommodating in that regard. A wide base and the lacing setup keep you secure and locked down. Puma has a potential hit on their hands with the release of the Puma MB.01.
See all 10 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Rating: 8.5 (ranks #95 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 22, 2022
The Puma MB.01 is a fantastic start to a signature shoe line. Traction and cushion are the highlights, but nothing to point out for negatives on this model.
 More details
The Puma MB.01 is a solid, all-around hoop shoe with nothing to complain about besides the lack of premium materials. It features well-performing traction and cushioning at a reasonable price.
 More details
8.6
January 8, 2022
LaMelo Ball's first signature shoe, the Puma MB.01, is amazing. I love playing in these. This is a versatile option for a number of different playstyles.
 More details
8.5
January 4, 2022
The Puma MB.01 is one of the most comfortable shoes I've worn in a long time. I think these could be one of the best first signature shoes ever.
 More details
8.5
January 22, 2022
LaMelo Ball's Puma MB.01 is an excellent all-around shoe that players who enjoy quick, nimbler movements will enjoy. The shoe offers solid traction, and the materials perform exceptionally.
 More details
8.5
January 26, 2022
Overall, the Puma MB.01 is a pretty damn good shoe. It offers strong traction, cushioning, and upper materials.
 More details
8.4
January 4, 2022
The Puma MB.01 is a shoe that I highly recommend. It has a great balance of everything and is really fun to play in.
 More details
8.3
January 4, 2022
Although they aren't the sleekest, the Puma Melo MB.01 does provide great balance and comfort. The cushion is a perfect balance, and the materials do a great job of keeping your feet feeling nice.
 More details
8.2
January 4, 2022
Puma did a great job of putting together LaMelo Ball's first signature shoe. The shoe is fun to play in and has little to no downsides.
 More details
8.2
February 1, 2022
I think the Puma MB.01 is a fantastic shoe at this price point. They might just be the best budget shoe out right now.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Puma MB.01:

User Rating: 9.0 (ranks #52 of 233)
10 - Amazing
13
9 - Great
29
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
2
9.1
April 18, 2022
The Puma MB.01 is one of my favorite shoes. It looks nice and is a solid performer, although it takes time to break in. The cushion is very comfy, and while I mostly played on a dusty court, the traction was still solid, although it picked up dust pretty quickly. Pretty good lateral containment, but order 1/2 size up, because it is snug, and the laces are a little short. Outside use is ok, it will hold up but will look gross after. It's a good all-around shoe, with nice colors and good pricing.
 More details
8.8
March 29, 2022
I love wearing this shoe. Once broken in it fits really nicely and the materials feel premium. I love the shoes nitro foam, not to mention the overall aesthetics of the shoe. It's truly one of one. It's traction picks up stuff like a vacuum though. It picks up dust so easily but now I just wipe my shoes every dead ball, but makes me feel like a baller. I also can't say it's impact protection is very good just because despite wearing low tops my whole career, I rolled my ankle in these.
 More details
9.2
September 6, 2022
These shoes are absolute fire!The cushioning is perfect for playing game after game without hurting your feet they also keep you close to the ground allowing you be quick and close to the court.The fact that they are mid tops that make your feet feel locked in but are also comfortable and flexible really sold me,I'm a quick PG and defensive playmaker and love the feel of mid tops but also like shoes that are light, supportive and have good court feel.The grip is great on clean courts.
 More details
9.2
January 10, 2022
The Puma MB01 is worth every penny in my opinion. I didn’t have huge expectations for a first model signature shoe costing only $125, Puma has really done an exceptional job with this particular model. It far surpasses anything Adidas has put on the market this year and is superior even to anything Nike and JB offer in this price range. The whole shoe feels very well padded and cushioned inside and out I am more than satisfied with what I got for what I paid.
 More details
9.4
June 29, 2022
When I first wore these shoes and tried them outdoors I was very disappointed but then - as I mostly play indoors - I tried them indoors and they were a masterpiece. They picked up very little dust that I could just wipe off, the cushioning was very comfortable, it's looks were very appealing and much more, however, the only small thing that I don't like about these shoes is that my feet get a little warm and sweaty because of the good cushioning.
 More details

Traction of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.7 (ranks #95 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #136 of 233)
10 - Amazing
15
9 - Great
22
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
3
10.0
January 22, 2022
Puma uses a non-slip rubber compound for traction, and there could not be a more accurate way to describe this shoe.
 More details
The traction isn't the best, and it takes time to break in. It's solid, though.
 More details
10.0
January 8, 2022
The traction performance is amazing. It sticks like glue, but it picks up dust pretty quickly. With wiping, you don't notice it, though.
 More details
8.5
January 4, 2022
It has one of the best tractions on a clean court. However, on dustier courts, it collects a lot of dust. It still performs well, but it will pick up dust.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The traction works similar to Formula 1 style tires, where the rubber gets traction from surface area contact. Overall, the shoe performed exceptionally well.
 More details
8.0
January 26, 2022
The traction doesn't pick up as much dust as expected. In terms of performance, it performed well but didn't grip as hard as I wanted.
 More details
9.0
January 4, 2022
The traction on here was pretty good. You'll have no issues whatsoever. The rubber is tacky, but it does pick up dust easily.
 More details
7.0
January 4, 2022
My experience with traction has been inconsistent. The rubber compound picks up a lot of dust, and the pattern is tight-knit.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The rubber compound picks up dust easily, but it still performs well.
 More details
9.5
February 1, 2022
I barely had to wipe on a clean floor. The traction is really reliable.
 More details

Cushion of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.4 (ranks #126 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 9.3 (ranks #35 of 233)
10 - Amazing
28
9 - Great
15
8 - Good
13
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
9.0
January 22, 2022
The Nitro foam midsole is crazy soft. The comfort is nice and requires almost no break-in time.
 More details
I was surprised by how good the cushion felt in this shoe. It's perfect for high-energy players because it's soft and responsive.
 More details
8.0
January 8, 2022
The full-length Nitro foam feels nice. It provides a bit of compression, but it's still soft.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The foam that Puma used is responsive and lightweight. It feels perfect for most guard play. The impact protection isn't the best, but the court feel is good.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
It's a bottom-heavy feeling shoe, so it doesn't give you a crazy bounce. The shank is also below the foam, which helps the shoe mould better to your foot.
 More details
9.0
January 26, 2022
The Nitro Foam that Puma uses cradles your foot and provides a solid court feel. The best part is that the shoe doesn't compromise on cushioning to deliver that court feel.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The shoe features a full-length Nitro foam setup that provides a good balance of impact protection and responsiveness.
 More details
9.0
January 4, 2022
The nitro foam cushion is legit. They're soft, plush, and accommodating while still providing impact protection and responsiveness.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
Cushion and comfort aren't the mainstays of the shoe. It's not uncomfortable, but it doesn't offer much compression. The shoe does provide a great court feel, though.
 More details
7.5
February 1, 2022
The step-in comfort feels nice straight out of the box. The Nitro foam midsole feels dense to start, but it becomes bouncy after playing in them.
 More details

Materials of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #132 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 8.8 (ranks #73 of 233)
10 - Amazing
15
9 - Great
19
8 - Good
18
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
3
8.0
January 22, 2022
The textile mesh is consistent, light, and breathable.
 More details
The materials are light and breathable. It's stiff to start, but it feels much better after breaking them in.
 More details
8.0
January 8, 2022
The mesh material starts off stiff, but after breaking them in, it starts to feel soft. It also conforms nicely to your feet.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The materials on the upper make the shoe feel like an extension of your leg. It's durable and comfortable.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
It has a full textile upper mixed with some plastic and fuse overlays. The materials are industry standard.
 More details
9.0
January 4, 2022
This shoe is one of the most well-padded performance models. They are very comfortable. The only downside is that they could've been of higher quality.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The padding in the shoe makes this shoe very comfortable. I like the materials.
 More details
7.0
February 1, 2022
The materials feel stiff right from the get-go, but they break in nicely. It's nothing special quality-wise, but it works.
 More details

Support of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #126 of 233)
User Support Rating: 9.1 (ranks #38 of 233)
10 - Amazing
22
9 - Great
18
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 22, 2022
I didn't have any issues with the lateral containment and support when I played in this shoe.
 More details
The foam and lateral cage provide solid support and stability. I experienced minor heel slippage, but tightening my laces removed that issue.
 More details
8.0
January 8, 2022
I had no issues with the support and lockdown. The materials do a great job of providing lateral containment.
 More details
8.9
January 4, 2022
The containment is good, but I have issues with heel slippage.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The foam rising up on the lateral side of the shoe do a good job of absorbing your weight and force to help support you on lateral movements.
 More details
9.0
January 26, 2022
The TPU and rubber that come up on the lateral side of the shoe cover you. The lacing and heel counter also perform well to keep you secure.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
Your heel is locked in and contained. There's no movement on the footbed, and the base is wide enough to prevent your ankle from rolling over.
 More details
9.0
January 4, 2022
For lockdown, I had no issues. It's a sturdy shoe that helps hold you in place.
 More details
8.5
February 1, 2022
The internal heel counter and plastic TPU plate on the side work in-sync to harness your foot on lateral movements. I found the support to be great.
 More details

Fit of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #66 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 9.3 (ranks #19 of 233)
10 - Amazing
30
9 - Great
16
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
10.0
January 22, 2022
The fit is pretty much perfect.
 More details
The fit of the shoe is snug before breaking in later on.
 More details
9.0
January 8, 2022
The length of the shoe is perfect for me. It also has a snug toe box, which is something that I prefer in my basketball shoes.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The combination of the material ultimately allows for a 1-to-1 fit. They do a great job of locking you down.
 More details
8.0
January 26, 2022
The fit conforms to your feet nicely once you dial in the lacing.
 More details
9.0
January 4, 2022
I experienced no pain or stiffness in the mid and forefoot areas. If you have a narrow foot, you may experience extra room in the toe box.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The shoe is going to be one of the best at accommodating a wider group of players. However, it could be a tiny bit tricky for those that prefer a snug fit.
 More details
8.0
January 4, 2022
The materials are excellent for providing a comfortable fit. They feel great.
 More details
8.5
February 1, 2022
This shoe fits me nicely. There isn't much movement once you clamp the laces down.
 More details

Durability of the Puma MB.01:

User Durability Rating: 8.8 (ranks #78 of 233)
10 - Amazing
16
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
3

Outdoor of the Puma MB.01:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #85 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 58.1 (ranks #105 of 233)
Good (100%)
11
Fair (50%)
19
Bad (0%)
6
fair
January 22, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
Durability isn't the best with this shoe.
 More details
fair
January 8, 2022
The nubs are large, and the rubber feels hard.
 More details
fair
January 22, 2022
The shoe performs well outdoors, but the durability isn't the best.
 More details
good
February 1, 2022
I found the compound to be durable as well.
 More details

Width of the Puma MB.01:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
9
regular
40
slightly wide
4
very wide
1
regularly wide
January 22, 2022
The shoe does not feel narrow at all.
 More details
regularly wide
January 8, 2022
If you need a roomier fit, you might want to go up half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
January 4, 2022
If you have slightly wide feet, I would stick with going true to size. They accommodated me nicely.
 More details
regularly wide
January 22, 2022
The MB.01 has a more generous fit profile. If your foot is wider than 2E, I recommend going up half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
January 4, 2022
I would say the shoe caters to wide feet well.
 More details
regularly wide
January 4, 2022
These are going to be a great option for players with wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 1, 2022
The shoe is a little narrow in the forefoot.
 More details

Size of the Puma MB.01:

very small
1
slightly small
3
true to size
46
slightly long
7
very long
0
true to size
January 22, 2022
I suggest going true to size.
 More details
true to size
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 8, 2022
I went true to size, and it fits me extremely well.
 More details
true to size
January 22, 2022
Going true to size will accommodate most.
 More details
½ size large
January 26, 2022
I went down half a size, and it worked for me.
 More details
true to size
January 4, 2022
I have a slightly wide foot and going true to size fits me perfectly.
 More details
true to size
January 4, 2022
The shoe feels big. I would say you'd need to go down half a size. I went down to size and it fits well.
 More details
true to size
January 4, 2022
I went true to size, and it fit very well.
 More details
true to size
February 1, 2022
The MB.01s are true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: