Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Converse G4 Low

Released 5/2020, Low Top, 
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
2 reviews
NA
USER RATING
0 ratings
A unique looking sneaker with responsive React cushioning

Best Suitable For:

Works best for players looking for a responsive and stable shoe

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $109.99
StockX
from $97.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.0
Cushion
8.5
Materials
8.5
Support
8.5
Fit
7.5
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
10 likes
University Gold / Black / Gum
University Gold / Black / Gum
from StockX
$97.00
10 likes
Nightfall Violet / Hyper Magenta
Nightfall Violet / Hyper Magenta
from StockX
$100.00
32 likes
Photon Dust / Amethyst Grey
Photon Dust / Amethyst Grey
from StockX
$157.00
40 likes
Black / Solar Red / Fresh Mint
Black / Solar Red / Fresh Mint
from StockX
$210.00
32 likes
White / Volt / Black
White / Volt / Black
from StockX
$300.00
31 likes
White/University Red/Black
White/University Red/Black
No stores found
13 likes
Lemon Venom / Hyper Magenta / Volt
Lemon Venom / Hyper Magenta / Volt
No stores found
11 likes
Polar Lights
Polar Lights
No stores found
12 likes
Obsidian Mist / Gravel / Gravel
Obsidian Mist / Gravel / Gravel
No stores found
22 likes
Black / Volt / Black
Black / Volt / Black
No stores found

Converse G4 Low Review

Pros:
Stable and rigid build
Responsive cushion setup
Cons:
Could have more impact protection
Hot to play in

Performance of the Converse G4 Low:

The traction on the Converse G4 Low was good and worked well indoors and outdoors. It suffered a little on dust but could be easily wiped off. The cushion setup is very responsive and the React cushion used is more firm than React used in running shoes. The materials are solid and rigid which helps with the shoes overall stability. They are comfortable on foot. Reviewers found the fit to be long and narrow, so sizing up at least half a size is recommended. The support was really good and overall there were no issues with lateral stability or containment. Overall these are a solid pickup at $110 or $120 and cater towards players who need a rigid shoe that is responsive.
See all 2 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Converse G4 Low:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #152 of 211)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.2
August 2, 2020
The Converse G4 are good performers that I enjoyed playing in. Personally they weren't as fluid or smooth as I would have liked, but I feel like all players can play in this shoe.
 More details
8.2
August 2, 2020
For $120 I would say the Converse G4 is a pretty good shoe. You get a unique shoe that performs well overall and I don't think you'll be disappointed unless you need a lot of impact protection.
 More details

User Reviews of the Converse G4 Low:

No user reviews so far

Traction of the Converse G4 Low:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.0 (ranks #154 of 211)
User Traction Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
August 2, 2020
The waffle traction pattern worked well on an outdoor court. There was a good bite when I tried them on my wood floors indoors too. These don't seem like they'll pick up a lot of dust because the grooves are spaced out well.
 More details
8.0
August 2, 2020
This multidirectional traction pattern is actually pretty good. If you guys are playing on clean courts you shouldn't have any problems, but dust might cause you to slide a little bit. They don't pick up that much dust and it is easy to wipe off. Overall I was pretty satisfied with traction.
 More details

Cushion of the Converse G4 Low:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.5 (ranks #110 of 211)
User Cushion Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
August 2, 2020
The cushioning is probably one of my favorite parts of the shoe. They are using a React midsole and a forefoot Zoom unit that feels good. The forefoot is bouncy and the heel has some nice compression. The React used here is definitely stiffer than React in Nike's running shoes. This is a very responsive cushion setup with decent impact protection.
 More details
8.0
August 2, 2020
The React midsole and forefoot Zoom unit don't feel like cushioning from a React lifestyle shoe. It is more firm and you can tell it is more geared towards performance basketball. You get a very light bounce and some impact protection, but a lot of court feel and responsiveness. This cushion is more catered towards guard style players.
 More details

Materials of the Converse G4 Low:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.5 (ranks #75 of 211)
User Materials Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
August 2, 2020
The entire upper is made of a ballistic nylon material that I really like because it is so supportive. It does not stretch at all, but it is thin and conforms to your foot pretty well. Quality overall is okay and feels good on foot.
 More details
9.0
August 2, 2020
The materials used here are really good. The upper is a ballistic mesh material that is very structured and feels nice on foot. This mesh provides great structure and support which is awesome because this is a very low cut sneaker. There are some plastic overlays around high wear areas which will definitely help with durability.
 More details

Support of the Converse G4 Low:

Expert Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #103 of 211)
User Support Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
August 2, 2020
As far as support and lockdown goes, I had no issues. The lateral containment was good and the internal TPU heel counter worked well. Lateral stability was good even with no outrigger because the shoe is pretty wide.
 More details
9.0
August 2, 2020
I had no issues with the support here. I had some heel slippage at first in one shoe, but it went away as I played more. The internal heel counter provides lockdown and there was no side to side movement on the footbed. The base is pretty wide as well which helps with stability. Even though these are low cut, the support was really nice.
 More details

Fit of the Converse G4 Low:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.5 (ranks #189 of 211)
User Fit Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
August 2, 2020
Even going down half a size these still were a little long for me. The lateral side had a plastic fuse piece that was hurting the side of my pinky toe even when my laces were loose. It is snug in the toe box area, but overall I really liked it. These are great if you have a narrow foot.
 More details
7.0
August 2, 2020
These fit slightly long and narrow and caused some pain on the sides of my foot where my pinky toe is. There is no dead space in the toe box area and the tongue fits nicely over your feet.
 More details

Durability of the Converse G4 Low:

User Durability Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Converse G4 Low:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #98 of 211)
User Outdoor Rating: NA 
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
1
Bad (0%)
0
fair
August 2, 2020
Durability seems okay and the rubber is really hard in the middle of the outsole, but the perimeter is fraying.
 More details

Width of the Converse G4 Low:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
1
regular
0
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
very narrow
August 2, 2020
This shoe runs super narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
August 2, 2020
As a slightly wide footer I definitely felt some pain in the forefoot area. I'd say go up half a size.
 More details

Size of the Converse G4 Low:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
1
slightly long
0
very long
1
runs large
August 2, 2020
These were pretty long in the toe so I returned them and went down half a size. If you want a super snug fit I'd say go down a full size.
 More details
true to size
August 2, 2020
These are pretty true to size and maybe a tad bit long.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: