Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Kyrie 3

Released 12/2016, Mid Top, Kyrie Irving, 
Add to Favourites
7.9
EXPERT RATING
9 reviews
8.2
USER RATING
8 ratings
Amazing traction for a very fair price

Best Suitable For:

Good choice for light and quick guards who value court feel over impact protection

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $119.99
StockX
from $200.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (9)
User Ratings (8)
Traction
9.2
Cushion
5.9
Materials
7.5
Support
7.9
Fit
9.0
Outdoor
83%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Kyrie 3
Nike Kyrie 3
Puma MB.02
Puma MB.02
Nike Air Max Impact 3
Nike Air Max Impact 3
New Balance TWO WXY
New Balance TWO WXY
Nike KD 14
Nike KD 14
Adidas Pro Model 2G
Adidas Pro Model 2G
Add shoe
Expert Rating7.98.7(0.8)8.4(0.5)8.9(1.0)8.9(1.0)8.3(0.4)
User Rating8.28.5(0.3)8.8(0.6)8.6(0.4)9.2(1.0)8.2(0.0)
Best Price$119.99
$135
$76.97
$90
$66.97
$140
$69.27
$150
$75
$100
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight370g - 390gNA340g - 360g350g - 370g380g - 400g390g - 410g
 Show More
29 likes
Black / Team Orange / Concord / Neo Turquoise
Black / Team Orange / Concord / Neo Turquoise
from StockX
$200.00
26 likes
Black / Total Crimson / Dark Grey / White
Black / Total Crimson / Dark Grey / White
from StockX
$213.00
20 likes
Team Red / Total Crimson / White / Pink Blast
Team Red / Total Crimson / White / Pink Blast
from StockX
$230.00
24 likes
Obsidian / Metallic Gold / Summit White
Obsidian / Metallic Gold / Summit White
from StockX
$230.00
15 likes
Black / White / Silt Red
Black / White / Silt Red
from StockX
$250.00
15 likes
University Red / Black / Team Red
University Red / Black / Team Red
from StockX
$299.00
28 likes
Dark Obsidian / Red / White
Dark Obsidian / Red / White
from StockX
$300.00
15 likes
Black / Black
Black / Black
from StockX
$322.00
19 likes
University Red / University Red / Wolf Grey
University Red / University Red / Wolf Grey
from StockX
$342.00
14 likes
Cool Grey / Anthracite / Polarized Blue
Cool Grey / Anthracite / Polarized Blue
from StockX
$360.00
25 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from StockX
$381.00
45 likes
Black / Deep Royal Blue / Photo Blue
Black / Deep Royal Blue / Photo Blue
from StockX
$400.00
22 likes
Black / Black Varsity Maize / White
Black / Black Varsity Maize / White
from StockX
$411.00
30 likes
Aqua / Aqua / Black
Aqua / Aqua / Black
from StockX
$500.00
32 likes
White / Chrome
White / Chrome
from StockX
$550.00
20 likes
Ivory / Pale Grey / Light Bone
Ivory / Pale Grey / Light Bone
from StockX
$550.00
17 likes
Hyper Cobalt / White / Chlorine Blue / Volt
Hyper Cobalt / White / Chlorine Blue / Volt
from StockX
$1000.00

Nike Kyrie 3 Review

Pros:
great court feel
awesome traction
Cons:
stiff toe box
very little cushion

Performance of the Nike Kyrie 3:

Kyrie Irving's third signature sneaker is praised by reviewers for its fair price, good looks, and great traction. This shoe will also hold up pretty well outdoors as the upper and outsole are made of very durable materials. The biggest flaw of this shoe is the very firm and almost completely missing cushion. Overall, the Kyrie 3 is a good choice for light and quick guards who value court feel over impact protection.
See all 9 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Kyrie 3:

Expert Rating: 7.9 (ranks #201 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.4
December 27, 2017
If you are a quick guard and you don't need a lot of impact protection then the Kyrie 3 is a great choice.
 More details
8.3
January 1, 2017
Probably my favorite shoe to hoop in right now!
 More details
8.2
January 1, 2017
I really love to play in them, but I can't play a lot because of the lack of cushioning. Incredibly responsive shoe with excellent traction.
 More details
Surprisingly enough, I enjoyed playing in the Kyrie 3, If cushion is your main need then you should already know what that means for you and the Kyrie 3. But if court feel and traction are your only concerns then these might be your new best friend.
 More details
8.0
Decent, affordable shoe, especially if you are a small guard. Personally I didn't really like these shoes but at $120 they are definitely a decent performer.
 More details
The Kyrie 3 is a solid shoe, but I can’t help but feel a bit disappointed. And this admittedly comes from the high expectations I had after liking the first two shoes so much. But from the design, to the cushioning, to the comfort, it’s just not what I’d hoped for.
 More details
7.7
January 1, 2017
Overall, I like the Kyrie 3 but I am not crazy about it. Not in my top-3 rotation, but a good sneaker with a fair price. Especially quick guards will like the traction and court feel.
 More details
I did thoroughly enjoy the shoe, particularly the materials and the traction. It's such a minimalistic shoe that Nike almost had everything working in unison -- almost. More cushion is definitely a much-needed necessity and a well thought out execution with support would suffice. This is a shoe for players that cut heavily, need minimalistic cushion, and rely on that court-feel.
 More details
7.4
January 1, 2017
Not the best value out there but a good performer overall...The Kyrie 3 just feels like a quick high cut tennis shoe for players that value lateral quickness over everything else.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Kyrie 3:

User Rating: 8.2 (ranks #178 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
6.4
December 7, 2021
Don't get everyone's rave on the traction. I had to wipe a lot on a not so dusty court. I've lost my footing so many times moving forward and sliding at a stop. My busted knees are headed out to the store for new shoes. They look great. And the materials are decent. Other than that the break-in is horrendous and no support.
 More details
8.8
November 26, 2021
My very first Kyrie shoe! Loved playing with it. It has amazing traction and a great lockdown feel. The only downside I had with the shoe was the cushion, my feet would get fatigued towards the end of my games and the next day would see minor blisters on my foot. It's great for quick pick-up games and works well outside.
 More details
8.4
January 23, 2022
I loved these so much, I had to cop the Bruce Lee pair too! The traction works wonders and stops on a DIME! The cushion is pretty lack luster, but very responsive which is good for guards like me. The materials weren’t bad, felt cheep in hand but got the job done on foot. Overall, I loved this shoe a lot!
 More details
8.7
January 13, 2022
Traction. If you value traction over cushion, look no further! The Kyrie 3 has beastly traction and though very very stiff, the cushion does provide responsiveness! Plus the materials are rockstar too!
 More details
7.8
March 19, 2022
Had these shoes a few years back. All in all they felt ok but nothing too fancy.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Kyrie 3:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.2 (ranks #52 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 9.1 (ranks #69 of 233)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
December 27, 2017
This traction is beastly!
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
Traction was by far my favorite part of this shoe. Aggressive Herringbone pattern allowed me to move in any direction
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
Incredible, even on a dusty court the traction is amazing.
 More details
Near perfection is the simplest way to describe the setup [of traction pattern]
 More details
8.0
Traction did a pretty good job, however I did have a few slips here and there on a dusty court.
 More details
The cupped sole of the Kyrie 3 not only has sticky traction ... it has lots of it.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The court feel is absolutely excellent. The traction on these is very, very good, even on outdoor courts.
 More details
The shoe utilizes an aggressive herringbone ... allowing a guard like [Kyrie] to aggressively change directions without losing any time
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Overall traction is very good overall but I feel the Kyrie 2 provided better consistent traction overall
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Kyrie 3:

Expert Cushion Rating: 5.9 (ranks #231 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 6.4 (ranks #202 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
8
5 - Poor
4
7.0
December 27, 2017
The Kyrie 3 feels like rocks on your feet.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
Apart from the little zoom unit in the heel you get nothing. But this setup didn't bother me
 More details
6.0
January 1, 2017
I can't feel the zoom unit, the cushion is rock hard and impact protection sucks.
 More details
The Kyrie 3 has no cushion aside from the heel Zoom Air unit.
 More details
6.0
Very minimal cushioning but very responsive.
 More details
I could feel the lack of impact protection in my feet, knees and back after every run.
 More details
6.0
January 1, 2017
It's not an overly cushioned shoe but comfort is decent. Impact-protection practically non-existent.
 More details
Um…what cushion?
 More details
6.0
January 1, 2017
Cushioning is very firm on the Kyrie 3
 More details

Materials of the Nike Kyrie 3:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.5 (ranks #216 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 8.5 (ranks #107 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.5
December 27, 2017
Materials are a huge improvement over the Kyrie 2.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Nice materials to contain your movements.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
Kind of cheap-looking mesh. Very supportive, no stretch.
 More details
... and I really love the materials
 More details
7.0
Materials are good but nothing special. Very unbreathable.
 More details
The shoe is minimalistic yet effective in the usage of materials and it worked very well.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
I think the materials are fine and don’t affect playability
 More details

Support of the Nike Kyrie 3:

Expert Support Rating: 7.9 (ranks #200 of 233)
User Support Rating: 8.1 (ranks #167 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.0
December 27, 2017
The support is crazy good!
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Ankle support isn't the best. Lockdown is very good, there is no slipping.
 More details
The support features are basic throughout
 More details
9.0
Support and lockdown is hugging my feet perfectly.
 More details
... my ankles felt safe and secure... the collar was a bit uncomfortable
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
The lockdown is good, but not great.Foot Support is amazing, ankle support is only okay.
 More details
There is an internal shank plate for torsional support, an internal heel counter to keep your foot locked in place
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
Overall just a solid supportive and stable shoe.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Kyrie 3:

Expert Fit Rating: 9.0 (ranks #38 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 8.4 (ranks #143 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 27, 2017
No heel slippage, no side-to-side movement.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Great fit for narrow feet , no toe room at all.
 More details
I felt locked in the entire time without a single issue
 More details
8.0
First impression was very comfortable and a lot less narrow then the previous Kyrie models.
 More details
If basketball sneakers were judged solely on fit, this would be among the absolute top tier of sneakers I’ve ever played in
 More details
The lockdown felt great from heel to forefoot and there was no deadspace at all.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
After a few hours of break in time, you almost forget they are on your feet as the upper softens up.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Kyrie 3:

User Durability Rating: 8.7 (ranks #102 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Kyrie 3:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 83.3 (ranks #43 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 83.3 (ranks #42 of 233)
Good (100%)
6
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
0
good
January 1, 2017
The rubber is actually really hard so you can play these outdoors.
 More details
Yes, they’ll last outdoors.
 More details
fair
January 1, 2017
The outsole and the upper is made of durable material which should work well outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Nike Kyrie 3:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
10
regular
5
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
slightly narrow
December 27, 2017
Runs a little bit narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
A little narrow
 More details
slightly narrow
Wide footers may find them to be a bit on the narrow side so going up 1/2 size may be required for some.
 More details
slightly narrow
If you have a very wide foot go up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
Runs a little bit narrow through the middle of the foot. If you have super wide feet these will probably not for you.
 More details
slightly narrow
For those with super-wide feet, consider 1/2 size up but I do recommend trying these on in store first.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
very wide footers will probably want to go up half a size
 More details

Size of the Nike Kyrie 3:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
12
slightly long
1
very long
0
true to size
January 1, 2017
Go true to size
 More details
true to size
Runs true to size
 More details
true to size
Take them true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 1, 2017
Definitely true to size
 More details
true to size
true to size
 More details
true to size
January 1, 2017
I bought my true to size 11 and initially thought I should have gone up half a size. However, after playing in them a few weeks, true to size was the way to go.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: