Search Shoe

Nike Kyrie 3 Review

Nike Kyrie 3
Nike Kyrie 3
Nike Kyrie 3
Nike Kyrie 3
7.9
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$119.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
12/2016
Traction
9.2
Cushion
5.9
Materials
7.5
Support
7.9
Fit
9.0
Outdoor
83%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Kyrie 3:

Black / Total Crimson / Dark Grey / White
Black / Total Crimson / Dark Grey / White
No stores found
Black / Deep Royal Blue / Photo Blue
Black / Deep Royal Blue / Photo Blue
No stores found
Aqua / Aqua / Black
Aqua / Aqua / Black
No stores found
Hyper Cobalt / White / Chlorine Blue / Volt
Hyper Cobalt / White / Chlorine Blue / Volt
No stores found
Dark Obsidian / Red / White
Dark Obsidian / Red / White
No stores found
Black / White / Silt Red
Black / White / Silt Red
No stores found
University Red / Black / Team Red
University Red / Black / Team Red
No stores found
Team Red / Total Crimson / White / Pink Blast
Team Red / Total Crimson / White / Pink Blast
No stores found
White / Chrome
White / Chrome
No stores found
Black / White
Black / White
No stores found
Cool Grey / Anthracite / Polarized Blue
Cool Grey / Anthracite / Polarized Blue
No stores found
University Red / University Red / Wolf Grey
University Red / University Red / Wolf Grey
No stores found
Ivory / Pale Grey / Light Bone
Ivory / Pale Grey / Light Bone
No stores found
Black / Black
Black / Black
No stores found
Obsidian / Metallic Gold / Summit White
Obsidian / Metallic Gold / Summit White
No stores found
Black / Team Orange / Concord / Neo Turquoise
Black / Team Orange / Concord / Neo Turquoise
No stores found
Black / Black Varsity Maize / White
Black / Black Varsity Maize / White
No stores found

Summary of 9 Expert Reviews:

Pros:

great court feel
awesome traction

CONS:

stiff toe box
very little cushion

Performance of the Nike Kyrie 3:

Kyrie Irving's third signature sneaker is praised by reviewers for its fair price, good looks, and great traction. This shoe will also hold up pretty well outdoors as the upper and outsole are made of very durable materials. The biggest flaw of this shoe is the very firm and almost completely missing cushion. Overall, the Kyrie 3 is a good choice for light and quick guards who value court feel over impact protection.
See all 9 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Kyrie 3:

The 7.9 average overall rating ranks #103 of 123 shoes overall
8.4
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
If you are a quick guard and you don't need a lot of impact protection then the Kyrie 3 is a great choice.
Watch the video
7.4
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Not the best value out there but a good performer overall...The Kyrie 3 just feels like a quick high cut tennis shoe for players that value lateral quickness over everything else.
7.4
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I did thoroughly enjoy the shoe, particularly the materials and the traction. It's such a minimalistic shoe that Nike almost had everything working in unison -- almost. More cushion is definitely a much-needed necessity and a well thought out execution with support would suffice. This is a shoe for players that cut heavily, need minimalistic cushion, and rely on that court-feel.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.7
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Overall, I like the Kyrie 3 but I am not crazy about it. Not in my top-3 rotation, but a good sneaker with a fair price. Especially quick guards will like the traction and court feel.
Watch the video
7.8
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
The Kyrie 3 is a solid shoe, but I can’t help but feel a bit disappointed. And this admittedly comes from the high expectations I had after liking the first two shoes so much. But from the design, to the cushioning, to the comfort, it’s just not what I’d hoped for.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Decent, affordable shoe, especially if you are a small guard. Personally I didn't really like these shoes but at $120 they are definitely a decent performer.
Watch the video
8.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Surprisingly enough, I enjoyed playing in the Kyrie 3, If cushion is your main need then you should already know what that means for you and the Kyrie 3. But if court feel and traction are your only concerns then these might be your new best friend.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.2
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
I really love to play in them, but I can't play a lot because of the lack of cushioning. Incredibly responsive shoe with excellent traction.
Watch the video
8.3
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Probably my favorite shoe to hoop in right now!
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Kyrie 3:

The 9.2 average traction rating ranks #23 of 123 shoes overall
9.5
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
This traction is beastly!
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Overall traction is very good overall but I feel the Kyrie 2 provided better consistent traction overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The shoe utilizes an aggressive herringbone ... allowing a guard like [Kyrie] to aggressively change directions without losing any time
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
The court feel is absolutely excellent. The traction on these is very, very good, even on outdoor courts.
Watch the video
9.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
The cupped sole of the Kyrie 3 not only has sticky traction ... it has lots of it.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Traction did a pretty good job, however I did have a few slips here and there on a dusty court.
Watch the video
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Near perfection is the simplest way to describe the setup [of traction pattern]
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Incredible, even on a dusty court the traction is amazing.
Watch the video
10.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Traction was by far my favorite part of this shoe. Aggressive Herringbone pattern allowed me to move in any direction
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Kyrie 3:

The 5.9 average cushion rating ranks #121 of 123 shoes overall
7.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
The Kyrie 3 feels like rocks on your feet.
Watch the video
6.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Cushioning is very firm on the Kyrie 3
5.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Um…what cushion?
Watch the Video|Read the article
6.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
It's not an overly cushioned shoe but comfort is decent. Impact-protection practically non-existent.
Watch the video
5.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
I could feel the lack of impact protection in my feet, knees and back after every run.
6.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Very minimal cushioning but very responsive.
Watch the video
5.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Kyrie 3 has no cushion aside from the heel Zoom Air unit.
Watch the Video|Read the article
6.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
I can't feel the zoom unit, the cushion is rock hard and impact protection sucks.
Watch the video
7.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Apart from the little zoom unit in the heel you get nothing. But this setup didn't bother me
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Kyrie 3:

The 7.5 average materials rating ranks #118 of 123 shoes overall
7.5
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
Materials are a huge improvement over the Kyrie 2.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I think the materials are fine and don’t affect playability
7.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The shoe is minimalistic yet effective in the usage of materials and it worked very well.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Materials are good but nothing special. Very unbreathable.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
... and I really love the materials
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Kind of cheap-looking mesh. Very supportive, no stretch.
Watch the video
8.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Nice materials to contain your movements.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Kyrie 3:

The 7.9 average support rating ranks #106 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
The support is crazy good!
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Overall just a solid supportive and stable shoe.
7.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
There is an internal shank plate for torsional support, an internal heel counter to keep your foot locked in place
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
The lockdown is good, but not great.Foot Support is amazing, ankle support is only okay.
Watch the video
7.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
... my ankles felt safe and secure... the collar was a bit uncomfortable
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Support and lockdown is hugging my feet perfectly.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The support features are basic throughout
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Ankle support isn't the best. Lockdown is very good, there is no slipping.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Kyrie 3:

The 9.0 average fit rating ranks #29 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
No heel slippage, no side-to-side movement.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
After a few hours of break in time, you almost forget they are on your feet as the upper softens up.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The lockdown felt great from heel to forefoot and there was no deadspace at all.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
If basketball sneakers were judged solely on fit, this would be among the absolute top tier of sneakers I’ve ever played in
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
First impression was very comfortable and a lot less narrow then the previous Kyrie models.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I felt locked in the entire time without a single issue
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Great fit for narrow feet , no toe room at all.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 83% average outdoor rating ranks #23 of 123 shoes overall
fair
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The outsole and the upper is made of durable material which should work well outdoors.
good
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Yes, they’ll last outdoors.
Watch the Video|Read the article
good
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The rubber is actually really hard so you can play these outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Kyrie 3:

slightly narrow
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
Runs a little bit narrow.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
very wide footers will probably want to go up half a size
slightly narrow
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
For those with super-wide feet, consider 1/2 size up but I do recommend trying these on in store first.
Watch the Video|Read the article
slightly narrow
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Runs a little bit narrow through the middle of the foot. If you have super wide feet these will probably not for you.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
If you have a very wide foot go up half a size.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Wide footers may find them to be a bit on the narrow side so going up 1/2 size may be required for some.
Watch the Video|Read the article
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
A little narrow
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Kyrie 3:

true to size
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I bought my true to size 11 and initially thought I should have gone up half a size. However, after playing in them a few weeks, true to size was the way to go.
true to size
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
true to size
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
January 1, 2017
Definitely true to size
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Take them true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Runs true to size
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Go true to size
Watch the video