Search Shoe

Nike Lebron 16 Review

Nike Lebron 16
Nike Lebron 16
Nike Lebron 16
Nike Lebron 16
Deals from $149.99
8.9
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$184.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
9/2018
Ranking:
Traction
9.1
Cushion
9.0
Materials
9.0
Support
8.7
Fit
8.4
Outdoor
83%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Lebron 16:

Black/Black
Black/Black
in 2 shops
$149.99
$185
White / Hot Lava / Silver
White / Hot Lava / Silver
in 2 shops
$149.99
$185
Black/White
Black/White
No stores found
Wolf Grey / White
Wolf Grey / White
No stores found
Atomic Violet / Bicycle Yellow Half Blue
Atomic Violet / Bicycle Yellow Half Blue
No stores found
 White/Black/Metallic Gold
White/Black/Metallic Gold
No stores found
White/Multi Color/Hyper Grape Volt
White/Multi Color/Hyper Grape Volt
No stores found
Black/Metallic/Silver White
Black/Metallic/Silver White
No stores found

Summary of 8 Expert Reviews:

Pros:

Premium materials
Traction works well even on dusty courts

CONS:

Expensive retail price

Performance of the Nike Lebron 16:

All sneaker critics agree: The Lebron 16 is a huge improvement over the XV and one of the best shoes of Lebron's signature line in a long time. The traction works on all surfaces, the cushioning is a little more versatile but still very comfortable, and stability is much-improved thanks to the use of tiny lateral outriggers on the outsole. The Battleknit 2.0 looks and feels very premium and provides great lockdown and containment. Overall, the Lebron 16 is an outstanding performance hoops shoe that is especially recommended for explosive and powerful wing players.
See all 8 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Lebron 16:

The 8.9 average overall rating ranks #11 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
PureKicks
January 6, 2019
Cushioning and traction are awesome but the fit and support were a bit of a letdown for me.
Watch the video
8.8
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
October 18, 2018
Awesone impact protection, really good traction, but the court feel is minimal and the Lebron 16 is pretty heavy.
Watch the video
9.4
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 4, 2018
The LeBron 16 will suit any play style or move — be it slashing, cutting, shooters, defense, rebounding.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.3
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2018
I really, really like the Lebron 16. The price is expensive but justified by the amazing tech and ultra-premium feel.
Watch the video
8.8
Schwollo
October 1, 2018
Everything I didn't like about the Lebron 15 was fixed! Better traction, better stability, and containment. This is the best Lebron to come out in years!
9.0
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
The Lebron 16 is an outstanding performer!
Watch the video
8.8
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
October 1, 2018
The cushioning setup is super fun to play in, the traction worked on every court and the Battleknit 2.0 is super comfortable. The Lebron 16 is a very versatile shoe, but explosive and fast wing players will particularly love this hoops shoe.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
The Lebron 16 is an upgrade in every aspect! They look better, they feel better, and they perform better!
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Lebron 16:

The 9.1 average traction rating ranks #26 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
PureKicks
January 6, 2019
The wavy herringbone traction pattern was super impressive.
Watch the video
9.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
October 18, 2018
The traction is really good!
Watch the video
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 4, 2018
The Lebron 16 features gripping, thick traction that needs no wiping, and no breaking in.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.5
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2018
Not amazing - but pretty damn nice. Dust doesn't seem to be a problem.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
October 1, 2018
The best traction of a Lebron since the X.
9.0
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
The traction on the Lebron 16 is really nice! Even on dusty courts, you will have to wipe only very occasionally.
Watch the video
10.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
October 1, 2018
The Lebron 16 held up extremely well even on the worst courts.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
Super hard rubber and deep grooves work well, but don't expect a lot of squeaking or insane grip.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Lebron 16:

The 9.0 average cushion rating ranks #32 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
PureKicks
January 6, 2019
The Zoom Max cushioning is super comfortable and provides a ton of impact protection. The cushioning is pretty high off the ground which means you lose a little court feel.
Watch the video
9.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
October 18, 2018
The court feel isn't great I love the impact protection!
Watch the video
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 4, 2018
The LeBron 16 has a stiffer overall setup that still provides serious impact protection but feels quicker and smoother from the jump.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2018
The cushioning of the Lebron 16 is high up off-the-ground and provides insane impact protection and bounce. The responsiveness is okay, but the court feel is minimal.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
October 1, 2018
The high-off-the-ground Zoom cushioning provides the perfect balance of impact protection and responsiveness.
9.0
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
Lower ride and not as bouncy as the Lebron 15. This cushioning is still made for bigger and heavier players and I would have liked more responsiveness.
Watch the video
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
October 1, 2018
The cushioning isn't as crazy bouncy as it was in the predecessor. This time we get a more versatile and responsive setup.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
The cushioning is a little more responsive and less bouncy than the cushioning of the Lebron 15. This setup works a lot better for guards like me.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Lebron 16:

The 9.0 average materials rating ranks #22 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
PureKicks
January 6, 2019
The materials are super comfortable, soft, and wrap around your feet very nicely.
Watch the video
9.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
October 18, 2018
The upper is a bit more rigid and supportive compared to the Lebron 15.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 4, 2018
It isn’t the most premium of materials, but it’s nicer than most and performs well.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2018
The Battleknit 2.0 is pretty soft and pliable from the start.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
October 1, 2018
I really like the use of the thicker and less stretchy Battleknit 2.0
9.0
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
Battleknit 2.0 is really, really nice. This version is thicker and stronger which fixes the containment issues of the Lebron 15.
Watch the video
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
October 1, 2018
The materials are a standout feature of this shoe.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
Battleknit 2.0 feels a lot stronger and more durable than the Battleknit used in the Lebron 15.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Lebron 16:

The 8.7 average support rating ranks #48 of 123 shoes overall
7.0
PureKicks
January 6, 2019
The dead space and the fact that the cushioning is pretty high off the ground negatively impacted the stability for me.
Watch the video
8.0
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
October 18, 2018
Lockdown is pretty good but the ankle support is only average.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 4, 2018
Battleknit 2.0 is tighter and less stretchy which improves lateral containment. The wide and stable base, as well as the added outriggers, provide stability on lateral cuts.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2018
The support is amazing! Materials don't stretch at all and the lateral stability problems of the Lebron 15 are a thing of the past.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
October 1, 2018
Stability is drastically improved compared to the Lebron 15 by adding a tiny outrigger.
9.0
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
Zero heel slippage, no side-to-side movement, and the tiny outriggers improve lateral stability a lot!
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
The support and lockdown are much improved compared to the Lebron 15.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Lebron 16:

The 8.4 average fit rating ranks #67 of 123 shoes overall
7.0
PureKicks
January 6, 2019
The fit is perfect for wide-footers, but I experienced a lot of dead space in the toe box and midfoot.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 4, 2018
After my fourth wear everything about the shoe just formed around my foot when laced tight and there is now no movement at all.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2018
The Lebron 16 fits like a glove!
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
October 1, 2018
Í did have a little heel slip in the beginning that was fixed by using the lower eyelet and breaking in the midsole.
9.0
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
The one-bootie upper is easy to put on thanks to the flexible tongue and the additional lower eyelets provide a lot of flexibility to get the perfect fit for your feet.
Watch the video
7.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
October 1, 2018
I went down half a size but the fit was still sloppy for me. I tried to adjust the lacing but couldn't get rid of the dead space in the toe box.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
Nice and comfortable fit after a short break-in period.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 83% average outdoor rating ranks #22 of 123 shoes overall
fair
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 4, 2018
As far as outdoors goes, you should actually be good for a few months.
Watch the Video|Read the article
good
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2018
Thick and heavy rubber that should work well outdoors.
Watch the video
good
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
October 1, 2018
The outsole will probably hold up well outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Lebron 16:

slightly wide
PureKicks
January 6, 2019
I had to wear an additional pair of socks with my slightly narrow feet.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2018
The fit is rather narrow.
Watch the video
regularly wide
Schwollo
October 1, 2018
No dead-space at all for my fat feet.
regularly wide
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
As a wide-footer, I didn't have any issues with the fit.
Watch the video
slightly wide
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
October 1, 2018
The toebox and forefoot was a little too roomy for me.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
Maybe slightly too narrow for wide-footers.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Lebron 16:

true to size
MR FOAMER SIMPSON
October 18, 2018
They fit true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
October 4, 2018
Go true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2018
We went own half a size for a really snug and tight fit.
Watch the video
½ size large
Schwollo
October 1, 2018
I went true to size but I feel narrow-footers can go down half a size.
true to size
RicheeKim
October 1, 2018
Runs true to size.
Watch the video
runs large
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
October 1, 2018
I went down half a size and it still felt roomy.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
I went true to size.
Watch the video
Deals from $149.99:
Black/Black
Black/Black
in 2 shops
$149.99
$185
White / Hot Lava / Silver
White / Hot Lava / Silver
in 2 shops
$149.99
$185