Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Lebron 16

Released 9/2018, Mid Top, Lebron James, 
Add to Favourites
8.9
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
11 ratings
Provides balanced cushioning, traction that works on all surfaces, and premium BattleKnit upper

Best Suitable For:

Especially recommended for explosive and powerful wing players.

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $184.99
StockX
from $138.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
9.1
Cushion
9.0
Materials
9.0
Support
8.7
Fit
8.4
Outdoor
83%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
26 likes
White / Varsity Royal / Varsity Red
White / Varsity Royal / Varsity Red
from StockX
$138.00
75 likes
White / Hot Lava / Silver
White / Hot Lava / Silver
from StockX
$159.00
58 likes
Black/Black
Black/Black
from StockX
$167.00
46 likes
Black / Hot Lava / Flat Silver
Black / Hot Lava / Flat Silver
from StockX
$167.00
79 likes
Atomic Violet / Bicycle Yellow Half Blue
Atomic Violet / Bicycle Yellow Half Blue
from StockX
$187.00
92 likes
White/Multi Color/Hyper Grape Volt
White/Multi Color/Hyper Grape Volt
from StockX
$198.00
76 likes
Black/White
Black/White
from StockX
$208.00
89 likes
Wolf Grey / White
Wolf Grey / White
from StockX
$251.00
89 likes
Black/Metallic/Silver White
Black/Metallic/Silver White
from StockX
$281.00
48 likes
 White/Black/Metallic Gold
White/Black/Metallic Gold
No stores found

Nike Lebron 16 Review

Pros:
Premium materials
Traction works well even on dusty courts
Cons:
Expensive retail price

Performance of the Nike Lebron 16:

All sneaker critics agree: The Lebron 16 is a huge improvement over the XV and one of the best shoes of Lebron's signature line in a long time. The traction works on all surfaces, the cushioning is a little more versatile but still very comfortable, and stability is much-improved thanks to the use of tiny lateral outriggers on the outsole. The Battleknit 2.0 looks and feels very premium and provides great lockdown and containment. Overall, the Lebron 16 is an outstanding performance hoops shoe that is especially recommended for explosive and powerful wing players.
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Lebron 16:

Expert Rating: 8.9 (ranks #21 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The LeBron 16 will suit any play style or move — be it slashing, cutting, shooters, defense, rebounding.
 More details
9.3
October 2, 2018
I really, really like the Lebron 16. The price is expensive but justified by the amazing tech and ultra-premium feel.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
The Lebron 16 is an outstanding performer!
 More details
9.0
September 26, 2018
The Lebron 16 is an upgrade in every aspect! They look better, they feel better, and they perform better!
 More details
8.8
October 1, 2018
Everything I didn't like about the Lebron 15 was fixed! Better traction, better stability, and containment. This is the best Lebron to come out in years!
 More details
8.8
October 1, 2018
The cushioning setup is super fun to play in, the traction worked on every court and the Battleknit 2.0 is super comfortable. The Lebron 16 is a very versatile shoe, but explosive and fast wing players will particularly love this hoops shoe.
 More details
8.8
October 18, 2018
Awesone impact protection, really good traction, but the court feel is minimal and the Lebron 16 is pretty heavy.
 More details
8.0
January 6, 2019
Cushioning and traction are awesome but the fit and support were a bit of a letdown for me.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Lebron 16:

User Rating: 8.9 (ranks #59 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
November 9, 2021
My first Lebron shoes, bought them for outdoor use. First impression - horrific court feel, boots-like. High ride, gotta get used to it. Incredible cushioning setup for outdoor use - the impact protection is godly and the bounciness is enjoyable. Nice lateral stability. Gorgeous looking, premium feeling. Cons - excessive cushioning for indoor play (I'm >100kg). my right toenail became arch enemies with those shoes, I have to tape it heavily otherwise it gets black after one training (pressure)
 More details
9.8
December 31, 2021
This shoe is nuts. Initially very stiff, the cushioning breaks in after a while and feels like an air mattress beneath your feet. Supreme bounce without sacrificing mobility and court feel, this cushion is best utilised by larger, powerful humans like Bron himself. Traction is epic, nice thick grooves do the job at the highest level. Battleknit is super flexible and my foot feels like it can breath in it. The perfect shoe for a big, explosive athlete like the man this shoe was made for.
 More details
8.0
November 4, 2021
Pretty okay pair of shoes. I primarily use these for inside basketball, but they hold up well outside too. If i'm being honest, i expected more for the expensive price. The shoes really aren't anything special, and do not provide a very "premium" feel. Accounting for price or not, I'd choose Dame 5's over these any day of the week. For outside and inside use. TL;DR - Too expensive, feels average, Dame 5's are better in every way
 More details
9.0
November 6, 2021
This review is for outdoor use only. Using these outdoors was great. They are some of the most comfortable shoes I've worn. The materials were phenomenal. The traction was good for the outdoors. Unfortunately, they did not last long. They lasted about 3-4 months before one of the air max things popped. For Lebrons, they weren't very heavy.
 More details
8.6
October 24, 2021
Great pick for any big man or explosive player. The traction was pretty nice on clean courts but on dusty courts it was alright. The cushion is the best part. The impact protection is pretty nice as well. Overall this is a great shoe.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Lebron 16:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.1 (ranks #42 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 9.1 (ranks #52 of 205)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Lebron 16 features gripping, thick traction that needs no wiping, and no breaking in.
 More details
8.5
October 2, 2018
Not amazing - but pretty damn nice. Dust doesn't seem to be a problem.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
The traction on the Lebron 16 is really nice! Even on dusty courts, you will have to wipe only very occasionally.
 More details
8.0
September 26, 2018
Super hard rubber and deep grooves work well, but don't expect a lot of squeaking or insane grip.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
The best traction of a Lebron since the X.
 More details
10.0
October 1, 2018
The Lebron 16 held up extremely well even on the worst courts.
 More details
9.0
October 18, 2018
The traction is really good!
 More details
9.0
January 6, 2019
The wavy herringbone traction pattern was super impressive.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Lebron 16:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #58 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 8.9 (ranks #82 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The LeBron 16 has a stiffer overall setup that still provides serious impact protection but feels quicker and smoother from the jump.
 More details
8.0
October 2, 2018
The cushioning of the Lebron 16 is high up off-the-ground and provides insane impact protection and bounce. The responsiveness is okay, but the court feel is minimal.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
Lower ride and not as bouncy as the Lebron 15. This cushioning is still made for bigger and heavier players and I would have liked more responsiveness.
 More details
9.0
September 26, 2018
The cushioning is a little more responsive and less bouncy than the cushioning of the Lebron 15. This setup works a lot better for guards like me.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
The high-off-the-ground Zoom cushioning provides the perfect balance of impact protection and responsiveness.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
The cushioning isn't as crazy bouncy as it was in the predecessor. This time we get a more versatile and responsive setup.
 More details
9.0
October 18, 2018
The court feel isn't great I love the impact protection!
 More details
9.0
January 6, 2019
The Zoom Max cushioning is super comfortable and provides a ton of impact protection. The cushioning is pretty high off the ground which means you lose a little court feel.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Lebron 16:

Expert Materials Rating: 9.0 (ranks #32 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 9.2 (ranks #26 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
It isn’t the most premium of materials, but it’s nicer than most and performs well.
 More details
10.0
October 2, 2018
The Battleknit 2.0 is pretty soft and pliable from the start.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
Battleknit 2.0 is really, really nice. This version is thicker and stronger which fixes the containment issues of the Lebron 15.
 More details
9.0
September 26, 2018
Battleknit 2.0 feels a lot stronger and more durable than the Battleknit used in the Lebron 15.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
I really like the use of the thicker and less stretchy Battleknit 2.0
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
The materials are a standout feature of this shoe.
 More details
9.0
October 18, 2018
The upper is a bit more rigid and supportive compared to the Lebron 15.
 More details
8.0
January 6, 2019
The materials are super comfortable, soft, and wrap around your feet very nicely.
 More details

Support of the Nike Lebron 16:

Expert Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #78 of 205)
User Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #54 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Battleknit 2.0 is tighter and less stretchy which improves lateral containment. The wide and stable base, as well as the added outriggers, provide stability on lateral cuts.
 More details
10.0
October 2, 2018
The support is amazing! Materials don't stretch at all and the lateral stability problems of the Lebron 15 are a thing of the past.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
Zero heel slippage, no side-to-side movement, and the tiny outriggers improve lateral stability a lot!
 More details
9.0
September 26, 2018
The support and lockdown are much improved compared to the Lebron 15.
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
Stability is drastically improved compared to the Lebron 15 by adding a tiny outrigger.
 More details
8.0
October 18, 2018
Lockdown is pretty good but the ankle support is only average.
 More details
7.0
January 6, 2019
The dead space and the fact that the cushioning is pretty high off the ground negatively impacted the stability for me.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Lebron 16:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.4 (ranks #103 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #125 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
After my fourth wear everything about the shoe just formed around my foot when laced tight and there is now no movement at all.
 More details
10.0
October 2, 2018
The Lebron 16 fits like a glove!
 More details
9.0
October 1, 2018
The one-bootie upper is easy to put on thanks to the flexible tongue and the additional lower eyelets provide a lot of flexibility to get the perfect fit for your feet.
 More details
9.0
September 26, 2018
Nice and comfortable fit after a short break-in period.
 More details
8.0
October 1, 2018
Í did have a little heel slip in the beginning that was fixed by using the lower eyelet and breaking in the midsole.
 More details
7.0
October 1, 2018
I went down half a size but the fit was still sloppy for me. I tried to adjust the lacing but couldn't get rid of the dead space in the toe box.
 More details
7.0
January 6, 2019
The fit is perfect for wide-footers, but I experienced a lot of dead space in the toe box and midfoot.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Lebron 16:

User Durability Rating: 8.7 (ranks #81 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Lebron 16:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 83.3 (ranks #42 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 77.8 (ranks #47 of 205)
Good (100%)
8
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
1
As far as outdoors goes, you should actually be good for a few months.
 More details
good
October 2, 2018
Thick and heavy rubber that should work well outdoors.
 More details
good
October 1, 2018
The outsole will probably hold up well outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Nike Lebron 16:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
4
regular
7
slightly wide
6
very wide
0
slightly narrow
October 2, 2018
The fit is rather narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
October 1, 2018
As a wide-footer, I didn't have any issues with the fit.
 More details
slightly narrow
September 26, 2018
Maybe slightly too narrow for wide-footers.
 More details
regularly wide
October 1, 2018
No dead-space at all for my fat feet.
 More details
slightly wide
October 1, 2018
The toebox and forefoot was a little too roomy for me.
 More details
slightly wide
January 6, 2019
I had to wear an additional pair of socks with my slightly narrow feet.
 More details

Size of the Nike Lebron 16:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
13
slightly long
4
very long
1
true to size
Go true to size.
 More details
½ size large
October 2, 2018
We went own half a size for a really snug and tight fit.
 More details
true to size
October 1, 2018
Runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
September 26, 2018
I went true to size.
 More details
½ size large
October 1, 2018
I went true to size but I feel narrow-footers can go down half a size.
 More details
runs large
October 1, 2018
I went down half a size and it still felt roomy.
 More details
true to size
October 18, 2018
They fit true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: