Search Shoe

Under Armour Embiid 1 Review

Under Armour Embiid 1
Under Armour Embiid 1
Under Armour Embiid 1
Under Armour Embiid 1
6 Shops from $119.99
8.2
Overall Rating:
8.2
based on 
3 expert reviews
Joel Embiid's first signature shoe is a solid all around performer.
Great for any position or player looking for a responsive shoe.
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$119.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
9/2020
Traction
7.7
Cushion
8.7
Materials
7.7
Support
8.7
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
50%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Under Armour Embiid 1:

12 likes
Black / Steel / Black
Black / Steel / Black
in 7 shops
$119.99
3 likes
Versa Red / Versa Red / Halo Grey
Versa Red / Versa Red / Halo Grey
in 7 shops
$119.99

Summary of 3 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Great ventilation
Balanced cushion setup
Cons:
Slightly heavy shoe
Materials could be more premium

Performance of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

Usually, signature sneakers are reserved for flashy guards or forwards. Very rarely does a huge 7-foot center like Joel Embiid get his own shoe. Did Under Armour make the right decision? The traction on the Embiid 1 performs well on clean courts, but some reviewers had issues on dusty courts. The outsole isn't too durable for outdoor use. The cushion setup is responsive and comfortable. It also offers good court feel for players who are quick on their feet. The materials aren't the nicest, but they perform very well on court and are very breathable. As you would expect from a shoe for a 280 lbs center, the support is great and none of the reviewers had any issues there. Overall, Joel Embiid's first signature shoe is solid all around and doesn't have any big weaknesses.
See all 3 reviews

Reviews of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

The 8.2 average overall rating ranks #106 of 142 shoes overall
7.8
RicheeKim
October 4, 2020
The Embiid 1 retailed for $120, but I can't recommend them because of the traction issues I had. If you play on really clean courts then you should be fine, but otherwise, you'll probably have issues.
Watch the video
8.2
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2020
I really enjoyed playing in the Embiid 1! It's a really supportive and responsive shoe that you never have to worry about. Solid all around and will be loosely in my rotation.
Watch the video
8.6
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 30, 2020
Overall, I think Under Armour did very well with the Embiid 1. The traction and the cushion were high points of the shoe and everything else is solid all-around. Any player and position can wear these and they're good for outdoor use too.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Traction of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

The 7.7 average traction rating ranks #118 of 142 shoes overall
6.0
RicheeKim
October 4, 2020
The traction pattern wasn't great for me. It was really inconsistent on somewhat clean and dirty courts. I was sliding to a stop most of the time even when I was wiping consistently.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2020
The traction and bite was great after a little break-in on an outdoor court. I didn't get to try them indoors, but I've found that the outdoor traction performance usually correlates to indoor performance.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 30, 2020
This traction pattern looked a lot like the Nike Kobe 9 but didn't perform as well as those. It was still grippy on the court, but I had a little slipping in the center of the forefoot. It wasn't too much of an issue because the rest of the outsole worked just fine.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Cushion of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

The 8.7 average cushion rating ranks #65 of 142 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
October 4, 2020
The cushion was pretty good and I really liked it. It has a good mix of court feel, impact protection, and bounce. Way better than the Micro G in the Curry 7.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2020
The court feel is really good and the impact protection is okay. For the most part, they felt great with good compression and responsiveness.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 30, 2020
The full-length Micro G and HOVR heel puck provide a balanced ride which is very comfortable and stable at the same time.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Materials of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

The 7.7 average materials rating ranks #119 of 142 shoes overall
8.0
RicheeKim
October 4, 2020
The open-holed mesh wasn't the most premium, but performance-wise it gets the job done really well. Offers good ventilation as well.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2020
The materials aren't great for $120, but they get the job done. On foot they felt awesome - I have no complaints about the performance.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 30, 2020
These materials are pretty basic, but they perform well. They are breathable and didn't require any break-in time.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Support of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

The 8.7 average support rating ranks #55 of 142 shoes overall
8.0
RicheeKim
October 4, 2020
The support is perfectly fine and has everything that I want from a basketball sneaker. I experienced no side to side movement on the footbed and I felt really contained.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2020
I had no issues with the support and lockdown. Joel Embiid needs a lot of support and I got a lot of it with this shoe. However - you won't get any ankle support with these even though they're a Mid.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 30, 2020
The support is similar to other models from Under Armour over the past few years. Supportive enough for a 7-foot center, but still quick enough for a guard type player.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Fit of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

The 8.3 average fit rating ranks #85 of 142 shoes overall
8.0
RicheeKim
October 4, 2020
The lacing system worked well and helped customize how tight I wanted the shoe to be. There is a little dead space in the toe box. The fit overall was really good.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2020
The fit was pretty good, but not as good as some of the Curry models. They did stretch out a little after breaking in so keep that in mind.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 30, 2020
The lockdown is awesome - I have no complaints! The lacing system works well and kept my foot in place on the footbed at all times.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 50% average outdoor rating ranks #53 of 142 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2020
They performed well outdoors, but the outsole had the worst durability out of all of the shoes I've tested recently. I'd stay away from them for outdoor use.
Watch the video
good
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 30, 2020
Outdoors these had great grip. The rubber did start to fray somewhat, but that is expected.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Width of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

regularly wide
RicheeKim
October 4, 2020
Wide footers should be good going true to size.
Watch the video
regularly wide
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2020
Watch the video

Size of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

true to size
RicheeKim
October 4, 2020
These fit true to size for me.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
October 2, 2020
True to size fit me well similar to other Under Armour models.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 30, 2020
True to size fit perfectly.
Watch the Video|Read the article
Deals from $119.99:
Black / Steel / Black
Black / Steel / Black
in 7 shops
$119.99
Versa Red / Versa Red / Halo Grey
Versa Red / Versa Red / Halo Grey
in 7 shops
$119.99
Black / Steel / Black
$119.99
on DICK's

Under Armour Embiid 1 Performance Review