Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Under Armour Embiid 1

Released 9/2020, Mid Top, Joel Embiid, 
Add to Favourites
8.1
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
8.5
USER RATING
9 ratings
Joel Embiid's first signature shoe is a solid all around performer.

Best Suitable For:

Great for any position or player looking for a responsive shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $119.99
StockX
from $74.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (5)
User Ratings (9)
Traction
7.8
Cushion
8.6
Materials
7.8
Support
8.4
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Under Armour Embiid 1
Under Armour Embiid 1
Nike KD 13
Nike KD 13
Jordan Why Not Zero.4
Jordan Why Not Zero.4
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Run
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Run
Nike KD 14
Nike KD 14
New Balance TWO WXY
New Balance TWO WXY
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.18.8(0.7)8.3(0.2)8.1(0.0)8.9(0.8)8.9(0.8)
User Rating8.59.0(0.5)9.1(0.6)8.8(0.3)9.3(0.8)8.7(0.2)
Best Price$119.99
$159.99
$99.99
$130
$78.72
$175
$78.72
$150
$99.99
$140
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight410g - 430g370g - 380g370g - 380g370g - 390g380g - 400g350g - 370g
 Show More
37 likes
Blue / White
Blue / White
from StockX
$74.00
55 likes
Black / Steel / Black
Black / Steel / Black
from StockX
$85.00
26 likes
White / Metallic Gold / Metallic Gold
White / Metallic Gold / Metallic Gold
from StockX
$87.00
30 likes
Navy / White / Red
Navy / White / Red
from StockX
$96.00
38 likes
Steel / Mod Gray / Equator Blue
Steel / Mod Gray / Equator Blue
from StockX
$105.00
40 likes
Versa Red / Versa Red / Halo Grey
Versa Red / Versa Red / Halo Grey
from StockX
$130.00
27 likes
White/ Pink Surge / White
White/ Pink Surge / White
from StockX
$241.00
43 likes
Mechanic Blue / Black / Pitch Grey
Mechanic Blue / Black / Pitch Grey
No stores found
21 likes
Versa Red / Black / Metallic Gold
Versa Red / Black / Metallic Gold
No stores found

Under Armour Embiid 1 Review

Pros:
Great ventilation
Balanced cushion setup
Cons:
Slightly heavy shoe
Materials could be more premium

Performance of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

Usually, signature sneakers are reserved for flashy guards or forwards. Very rarely does a huge 7-foot center like Joel Embiid get his own shoe. Did Under Armour make the right decision? The traction on the Embiid 1 performs well on clean courts, but some reviewers had issues on dusty courts. The outsole isn't too durable for outdoor use. The cushion setup is responsive and comfortable. It also offers good court feel for players who are quick on their feet. The materials aren't the nicest, but they perform very well on court and are very breathable. As you would expect from a shoe for a 280 lbs center, the support is great and none of the reviewers had any issues there. Overall, Joel Embiid's first signature shoe is solid all around and doesn't have any big weaknesses.
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

Expert Rating: 8.1 (ranks #179 of 229)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
Overall, I think Under Armour did very well with the Embiid 1. The traction and the cushion were high points of the shoe and everything else is solid all-around. Any player and position can wear these and they're good for outdoor use too.
 More details
8.2
October 2, 2020
I really enjoyed playing in the Embiid 1! It's a really supportive and responsive shoe that you never have to worry about. Solid all around and will be loosely in my rotation.
 More details
8.0
The Embiid 1 is a solid shoe especially for the price of $120. Every aspect of these performed pretty well and they were ready to go out of the box. Any position or player can play in these.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The use of Micro G and HOVR provided a great cushioning setup that provided plenty of impact protection while still being bouncy. The traction played well after breaking in, and the materials feel nice when playing. Although, I do wish they were a bit more premium. Overall, the Embiid 1 is built well for performance basketball.
 More details
7.8
October 4, 2020
The Embiid 1 retailed for $120, but I can't recommend them because of the traction issues I had. If you play on really clean courts then you should be fine, but otherwise, you'll probably have issues.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

User Rating: 8.5 (ranks #136 of 229)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
February 9, 2022
I didn’t really like this shoe. The cushion was pretty subpar, all response and little compression. The materials were pretty solid, nice and durable while being supportive and relatively minimal. Traction was well above average, on both dusty and clean courts. It’s a pretty decent performance shoe, but it just wasn’t for me. Made my feel hurt like a b****.
 More details
8.6
April 14, 2022
It was a great show to hoop in. My opinion might be a bit unpopular but I said what I said. The biggest let down was the cushion in my opinion.
 More details
9.0
November 28, 2021
The micro G on the forefoot is really nice, but the HOVR on the heel has a lack of compression.
 More details
9.9
March 11, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.0
January 12, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.8 (ranks #185 of 229)
User Traction Rating: 8.1 (ranks #156 of 229)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
9.0
This traction pattern looked a lot like the Nike Kobe 9 but didn't perform as well as those. It was still grippy on the court, but I had a little slipping in the center of the forefoot. It wasn't too much of an issue because the rest of the outsole worked just fine.
 More details
8.0
October 2, 2020
The traction and bite was great after a little break-in on an outdoor court. I didn't get to try them indoors, but I've found that the outdoor traction performance usually correlates to indoor performance.
 More details
8.0
This unique outsole pattern offers decent grip and traction. It's not top-tier but performs well overall.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The traction is made of a thick rubber material but is pretty pliable. It does take some time to break in before they start to really bite.
 More details
6.0
October 4, 2020
The traction pattern wasn't great for me. It was really inconsistent on somewhat clean and dirty courts. I was sliding to a stop most of the time even when I was wiping consistently.
 More details

Cushion of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.6 (ranks #110 of 229)
User Cushion Rating: 8.2 (ranks #139 of 229)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The full-length Micro G and HOVR heel puck provide a balanced ride which is very comfortable and stable at the same time.
 More details
8.0
October 2, 2020
The court feel is really good and the impact protection is okay. For the most part, they felt great with good compression and responsiveness.
 More details
9.0
I really enjoyed the very responsive and comfortable cushioning, plus I got a decent amount of court feel.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The HOVR puck used in the heel feels very good compared to the HOVR used in the Curry shoes, and the Micro G cushioning in the rest of the shoe is bouncy and plush.
 More details
9.0
October 4, 2020
The cushion was pretty good and I really liked it. It has a good mix of court feel, impact protection, and bounce. Way better than the Micro G in the Curry 7.
 More details

Materials of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.8 (ranks #184 of 229)
User Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #86 of 229)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.0
These materials are pretty basic, but they perform well. They are breathable and didn't require any break-in time.
 More details
8.0
October 2, 2020
The materials aren't great for $120, but they get the job done. On foot they felt awesome - I have no complaints about the performance.
 More details
8.0
The materials are pretty light and very breathable which I didn't expect. They don't feel the most premium, but they get the job done performance-wise. They also didn't require any break-in time.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The mesh upper has a honeycomb net for extra reinforcement. It feels very soft and comfortable.
 More details
8.0
October 4, 2020
The open-holed mesh wasn't the most premium, but performance-wise it gets the job done really well. Offers good ventilation as well.
 More details

Support of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #126 of 229)
User Support Rating: 8.8 (ranks #100 of 229)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The support is similar to other models from Under Armour over the past few years. Supportive enough for a 7-foot center, but still quick enough for a guard type player.
 More details
9.0
October 2, 2020
I had no issues with the support and lockdown. Joel Embiid needs a lot of support and I got a lot of it with this shoe. However - you won't get any ankle support with these even though they're a Mid.
 More details
8.0
The TPU wing adds a lot of support and stability while keeping my foot on the footbed. The mid-cut is nice and kept my foot locked in.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The heel is well padded, and the internal heel plate also does a good job of containing your foot. It uses plastic wings that come up the side of the footbed to keep you locked in laterally.
 More details
8.0
October 4, 2020
The support is perfectly fine and has everything that I want from a basketball sneaker. I experienced no side to side movement on the footbed and I felt really contained.
 More details

Fit of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.2 (ranks #146 of 229)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #78 of 229)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The lockdown is awesome - I have no complaints! The lacing system works well and kept my foot in place on the footbed at all times.
 More details
8.0
October 2, 2020
The fit was pretty good, but not as good as some of the Curry models. They did stretch out a little after breaking in so keep that in mind.
 More details
8.0
The shoe was okay comfort-wise, fit well, and got the job done. There is a little dead space in the toe box, but not enough to go down half a size.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The fit is a bit loose if you don't go down half a size with a regular-sized foot.
 More details
8.0
October 4, 2020
The lacing system worked well and helped customize how tight I wanted the shoe to be. There is a little dead space in the toe box. The fit overall was really good.
 More details

Durability of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

User Durability Rating: 9.0 (ranks #50 of 229)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #100 of 229)
User Outdoor Rating: 81.3 (ranks #44 of 229)
Good (100%)
7
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
2
good
Outdoors these had great grip. The rubber did start to fray somewhat, but that is expected.
 More details
no
October 2, 2020
They performed well outdoors, but the outsole had the worst durability out of all of the shoes I've tested recently. I'd stay away from them for outdoor use.
 More details
good
The thick rubber held up well outdoors.
 More details
no
May 6, 2021
The rubber is tearing away and doesn't seem to be durable enough for outdoor wear.
 More details

Width of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
0
regular
6
slightly wide
7
very wide
0
regularly wide
October 2, 2020
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
slightly wide
These are catered more towards wide footers.
 More details
slightly wide
May 6, 2021
Good fit for wide feet.
 More details
regularly wide
October 4, 2020
Wide footers should be good going true to size.
 More details

Size of the Under Armour Embiid 1:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
9
slightly long
3
very long
0
true to size
True to size fit perfectly.
 More details
true to size
October 2, 2020
True to size fit me well similar to other Under Armour models.
 More details
true to size
True to size worked well.
 More details
½ size large
May 6, 2021
If you have a regular-sized foot, you can go half a size down, but if you have a wide foot, true to size should work.
 More details
true to size
October 4, 2020
These fit true to size for me.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: