Adidas DON Issue 1

Released 7/2019, Low Top, Donovan Mitchell, 
Add to Favourites
8.4
EXPERT RATING
7 reviews
8.1
USER RATING
11 ratings
Donovan Mitchell's first signature sneaker is very affordable at only $100 retail price

Best Suitable For:

Recommended for explosive guards looking for a supportive and responsive low-top

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $99.99
StockX
from $60.00
GOAT
from $62.00
KicksCrew
from $89.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (7)
User Ratings (11)
Traction
7.4
Cushion
8.6
Materials
8.4
Support
8.6
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas DON Issue 1
Adidas DON Issue 1
Jordan Why Not Zero.6
Jordan Why Not Zero.6
Jordan Zion 3
Jordan Zion 3
Jordan Tatum 2
Jordan Tatum 2
Adidas Dame 8
Adidas Dame 8
Jordan Luka 2
Jordan Luka 2
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.47.9(0.5)8.0(0.4)7.8(0.6)7.9(0.5)8.3(0.1)
User Rating8.18.6(0.5)8.0(0.1)6.6(1.5)8.6(0.5)8.6(0.5)
Best Price$99.99
$99.99
$140
$65.97
$140
$124.99
$130
$70
$130
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight430g - 440g380g - 390gNANA390g - 410g390g - 410g
 Show More
50 likes
Core Black / Solar Red / Solar Red
Core Black / Solar Red / Solar Red
from 3 Resellers
$60.00
58 likes
 Grey Three / Core Black / Glory Purple
Grey Three / Core Black / Glory Purple
from 3 Resellers
$60.00
66 likes
Core Black / Glory Blue / Shock Yellow
Core Black / Glory Blue / Shock Yellow
from 3 Resellers
$62.00
44 likes
Collegiate Navy / Collegiate Green / Team College Gold
Collegiate Navy / Collegiate Green / Team College Gold
from 3 Resellers
$62.00
44 likes
Core Black / Tech Indigo / Tech Purple
Core Black / Tech Indigo / Tech Purple
from 2 Resellers
$67.00
45 likes
Shock Yellow / Core Black / Active Red
Shock Yellow / Core Black / Active Red
from 2 Resellers
$84.00
60 likes
Red / Power Red / Gold Metallic
Red / Power Red / Gold Metallic
from 3 Resellers
$87.00
45 likes
Light Blue / Gold Metallic / Cloud White
Light Blue / Gold Metallic / Cloud White
from 3 Resellers
$100.00
56 likes
Core Black / Team Solar Green / Silver Metallic
Core Black / Team Solar Green / Silver Metallic
from 3 Resellers
$110.00
76 likes
Active Purple / Cloud White / Glow Blue
Active Purple / Cloud White / Glow Blue
from StockX
$110.00
41 likes
Core Black / Core Black / Solid Grey
Core Black / Core Black / Solid Grey
from 3 Resellers
$120.00
95 likes
Blue / Red / Cloud White
Blue / Red / Cloud White
from 2 Resellers
$136.00
53 likes
White / Black / Gold Metallic
White / Black / Gold Metallic
No stores found

Adidas DON Issue 1 Review

Pros:
Affordable price
High-quality materials
Cons:
Inconsistent traction
Heavy and bulky for a low-top

Performance of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

Donovan Mitchell's first signature sneaker is a divisive shoe among shoe critics. Some really like the traction, but others complain that they are slipping a lot - even on clean courts. The Bounce cushioning is responsive and offers a lot of court feel, but impact protection is only decent. Materials feel pretty premium in-hand and on-foot, especially considering the very affordable retail price of only $100. The shoe also provides a lot of support and stability, but this comes at the expense of added bulk and weight.
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

Expert Rating: 8.4 (ranks #159 of 305)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
I am pretty satisfied with the performance of the DON issue #1. My favorite aspects are the traction, the super-responsive cushioning and the awesome price point of $100.
 More details
I actually loved the D.O.N. Issue 1 with the exception of the traction.
 More details
8.5
September 9, 2019
At $99, this shoe provides a ton of performance! I'd say this is the best under $100 sneaker currently on the market. The DON issue 1 is a very versatile shoe and should work for all players!
 More details
8.2
July 9, 2019
I didn't like the DON Issue 1 too much. It's heavy and chunky and the traction is too inconsistent.
 More details
8.2
May 7, 2021
The Adidas DON Issue #1 is a great shoe for anyone who is looking for a quick, responsive and supportive performer. It has plenty of court feel and the traction was consistent. My only gripe is that they could've made the cushion a bit bouncier.
 More details
8.0
July 23, 2019
I will keep this shoe because of the good-looking Spiderman collaboration but I think there are better performers, even at $100.
 More details
8.0
August 15, 2019
The DON Issue 1 is a very comfortable and supportive shoe that works perfectly for explosive basketball players.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

User Rating: 8.1 (ranks #242 of 305)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.6
February 1, 2023
My main -but most important- issue for this shoe is the traction. On a clean court, it’s pretty ok, if you wipe every 3-4 mins you’ll be fine. On dusty courts though…I can’t even run. It’s too inconsistent and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone who plays regularly on not-so-good floors. But, for outdoor use it’s great! Cushion is comfy, fit is slightly wide and support is pretty good too! I just feel like it’s just a little too heavy for a guard. That’s my take on Spida’s first signature sneaker
 More details
7.5
October 13, 2023
The first pair of Adidas that I had, I can't say much about it since I wore it two sizes larger than I used to because it was my first pair of Adidas, the cushioning and traction didn't give me problems but due to the poor fit that I did sprain my ankle once or twice, the durability for outdoors is good although the upper materials were damaged in several areas. Despite the low shaft, I recommend it for any position and type of court, at the time you could get it for 37 euros, which was crazy co
 More details
9.2
December 24, 2021
My experience with this shoe has been amazing. It is durable, the traction is still there after years of usage on outdoors and indoors courts. The cushion isn't otherworldly but they get the job done really well, they provide great court feel and some impact protection. The fit is really great. I also really like the way it looks and this colorway glows in the dark, so pretty dope.
 More details
7.8
November 23, 2021
I wouldn't recommend this shoe, mainly because the traction was really bad, even on clean courts. Everything else about this shoe is alright.
 More details
7.4
January 18, 2022
Traction is overall the only issue, but even after two years and lots of use, the traction does not seem improved.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.4 (ranks #277 of 305)
User Traction Rating: 7.3 (ranks #274 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
1
The traction is superb and grips the floor really, really well. It's also really squeaky!
 More details
Even though everybody else seems to love the traction, I just had too much slipping.
 More details
7.0
September 9, 2019
The web-herringbone pattern and the soft rubber should provide great traction, but the traction pattern is rather shallow and dense which led to some slipping and sliding on dustier courts. If you play on dusty courts, you will have to wipe a lot.
 More details
7.0
July 9, 2019
The traction is fine but a little inconsistent - even on clean courts.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
Traction gripped well in moist and dusty conditions. The grip is there, but isn't too drastic.
 More details
7.0
July 23, 2019
The traction of the DON Issue #1 was really inconsistent. Often times, I was sliding a little when trying to stop - herringbone shouldn't do that!
 More details
7.0
August 15, 2019
The traction did its thing, but the herringbone pattern will require some wiping on dustier courts.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.6 (ranks #144 of 305)
User Cushion Rating: 8.2 (ranks #192 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Super bouncy, responsive and you still get court feel.
 More details
I found the D.O.N. Issue 1 to be one of the most comfortable iterations of Bounce I’ve experienced.
 More details
10.0
September 9, 2019
The full-length Bounce insole is hands-down my favorite feature of this sneaker. In my opinion, this is the most versatile cushioning on the market: it's responsive, comfortable and provides court feel and impact protection.
 More details
8.0
July 9, 2019
Court feel is great, impact protection is good, but you don't get a lot of bounce.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
Court feel and responsiveness are awesome with the full-length Bounce cushion. It had decent impact protection, but could've felt bouncier.
 More details
8.0
July 23, 2019
A lot of court feel and responsiveness but only decent impact protection. Works best for guards looking for a responsive shoe.
 More details
8.0
August 15, 2019
The thick cushioning is really plush and bouncy, but also a little bulky.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.4 (ranks #103 of 305)
User Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #191 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
The materials aren't bad, but the breathability is problematic.
 More details
I found the textile and mesh build to be perfectly fine.
 More details
8.0
September 9, 2019
The materials are fine but not spectacular.
 More details
9.0
July 9, 2019
The mesh upper materials feel really premium.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
It's made up of a mesh upper that looks and feels durable. I didn't feel a lot of stretching in the upper. Performed nicely.
 More details
9.0
July 23, 2019
Materials feel really good in-hand and on-foot, especially for this price.
 More details
8.0
August 15, 2019
Breathable, flexible and lightweight Mesh.
 More details

Support of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

Expert Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #125 of 305)
User Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #179 of 305)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Very wide base provides a lot of stability and the heavily padded Achilles pillows keep your feet locked down.
 More details
Support, like in many of Adidas’ current basketball line, is very good.
 More details
9.0
September 9, 2019
The base is absolutely massive and provides a lot of stability. The thick padding on the inner lining really locks your feet into place and prevents heel slippage and lateral sliding.
 More details
8.0
July 9, 2019
Lateral containment is great but the heel slippage is pretty bad in the beginning.
 More details
9.0
May 7, 2021
The ample pillows around the heel area coupled with a solid lacing setup provide excellent support around the back of your foot. There is also a wide base and decent outrigger that provides solid stability.
 More details
8.0
July 23, 2019
The support was perfectly fine. No side-to-side movement, forefoot containment was good, but I had a little bit of heel slippage during the break-in period.
 More details
9.0
August 15, 2019
The insane double outrigger, internal TPU heel counter, the lacing system, and ankle padding deliver a lot of support and stability.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #162 of 305)
User Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #177 of 305)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
I didn't have any issues with the fit, but it wasn't extraordinarily comfortable.
 More details
The fit/lockdown is amazing.
 More details
9.0
July 9, 2019
For me, the fit was great and easy to put on.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
The lockdown was better than expected.
 More details
8.0
July 23, 2019
The materials hugged my feet nicely.
 More details
8.0
August 15, 2019
The padding around the ankle is very comfortable and helps with support & lockdown.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

User Durability Rating: 8.7 (ranks #116 of 305)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #27 of 305)
User Outdoor Rating: 95.0 (ranks #29 of 305)
Good (100%)
10
Fair (50%)
1
Bad (0%)
0
I will say that I enjoyed the shoe a lot outdoors. No slipping or anything!
 More details

Width of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
5
regular
6
slightly wide
5
very wide
0
regularly wide
September 9, 2019
The width was perfect in my Adidas size.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 9, 2019
Really snug in the toe area.
 More details
slightly wide
May 7, 2021
It is fairly wide shoe, so you may be able to go true to size if your feet are wide. I would still suggest trying them on first.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 23, 2019
A little bit narrow in the forefoot.
 More details
regularly wide
August 15, 2019
Regular
 More details

Size of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
8
slightly long
8
very long
1
½ size large
Runs a tad long.
 More details
true to size
Fits true to size
 More details
runs large
September 9, 2019
The fit is pretty long even if you go down half a size like I am used to from Adidas shoes.
 More details
true to size
July 9, 2019
Go true to your Adidas size.
 More details
true to size
May 7, 2021
I would suggest going down half a size if you have a regular shaped foot.
 More details
½ size large
July 23, 2019
I would recommend going down half a size.
 More details
true to size
August 15, 2019
True to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: