Search Shoe

Adidas DON Issue 1 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$99.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
7/2019
# of Reviews:
6
Traction
7.3
Cushion
8.7
Materials
8.5
Support
8.6
Fit
8.4
Outdoor
100%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Adidas DON Issue 1:

-40%
Core Black / Team Solar Green / Silver Metallic
$60.00
from Finishline
4 more shops
-25%
Red / Power Red / Gold Metallic
$75.00
from Finishline
1 more shops
-10%
Blue / Red / Cloud White
$89.97
from DICK's
Shock Yellow / Core Black / Active Red
$99.99
from DICK's
1 more shops
White / Black / Gold Metallic
$99.99
from DICK's
3 more shops
Active Purple / Cloud White / Glow Blue
$99.99
from DICK's
1 more shops
Core Black / Solar Red / Solar Red
Core Black / Solar Red / Solar Red
No stores found
Core Black / Glory Blue / Shock Yellow
Core Black / Glory Blue / Shock Yellow
No stores found

PROS:

  • Affordable price
  • High-quality materials

CONS:

  • Inconsistent traction
  • Heavy and bulky for a low-top

Summary of 6 Expert Reviews:

Donovan Mitchell first signature sneaker is a divisive shoe among shoe critics. Some really like the traction, but others complain that they are slipping a lot - even on clean courts. The Bounce cushioning is responsive and offers a lot of court feel, but impact protection is only decent. Materials feel pretty premium in-hand and on-foot, especially considering the very affordable retail price of only $100. The shoe also provides a lot of support and stability, but this comes at the expense of added bulk and weight.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

The 8.4 average overall rating ranks #75 of 116 shoes overall
8.5
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 9, 2019
At $99, this shoe provides a ton of performance! I'd say this is the best under $100 sneaker currently on the market. The DON issue 1 is a very versatile shoe and should work for all players!
Watch the video
8.0
PureKicks
August 15, 2019
The DON Issue 1 is a very comfortable and supportive shoe that works perfectly for explosive basketball players.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
July 23, 2019
I will keep this shoe because of the good-looking Spiderman collaboration but I think there are better performers, even at $100.
Watch the video
8.7
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
July 21, 2019
I actually loved the D.O.N. Issue 1 with the exception of the traction.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 20, 2019
I am pretty satisfied with the performance of the DON issue #1. My favorite aspects are the traction, the super-responsive cushioning and the awesome price point of $100.
Watch the video
8.2
The Sole Brothers
July 9, 2019
I didn't like the DON Issue 1 too much. It's heavy and chunky and the traction is too inconsistent.
Watch the video

Traction of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

The 7.3 average traction rating ranks #102 of 116 shoes overall
7.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 9, 2019
The web-herringbone pattern and the soft rubber should provide great traction, but the traction pattern is rather shallow and dense which led to some slipping and sliding on dustier courts. If you play on dusty courts, you will have to wipe a lot.
Watch the video
7.0
PureKicks
August 15, 2019
The traction did its thing, but the herringbone pattern will require some wiping on dustier courts.
Watch the video
7.0
RicheeKim
July 23, 2019
The traction of the DON Issue #1 was really inconsistent. Often times, I was sliding a little when trying to stop - herringbone shouldn't do that!
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
July 21, 2019
Even though everybody else seems to love the traction, I just had too much slipping.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 20, 2019
The traction is superb and grips the floor really, really well. It's also really squeaky!
Watch the video
7.0
The Sole Brothers
July 9, 2019
The traction is fine but a little inconsistent - even on clean courts.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

The 8.7 average cushion rating ranks #57 of 116 shoes overall
10.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 9, 2019
The full-length Bounce insole is hands-down my favorite feature of this sneaker. In my opinion, this is the most versatile cushioning on the market: it's responsive, comfortable and provides court feel and impact protection.
Watch the video
8.0
PureKicks
August 15, 2019
The thick cushioning is really plush and bouncy, but also a little bulky.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
July 23, 2019
A lot of court feel and responsiveness but only decent impact protection. Works best for guards looking for a responsive shoe.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
July 21, 2019
I found the D.O.N. Issue 1 to be one of the most comfortable iterations of Bounce I’ve experienced.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 20, 2019
Super bouncy, responsive and you still get court feel.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
July 9, 2019
Court feel is great, impact protection is good, but you don't get a lot of bounce.
Watch the video

Materials of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

The 8.5 average materials rating ranks #54 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 9, 2019
The materials are fine but not spectacular.
Watch the video
8.0
PureKicks
August 15, 2019
Breathable, flexible and lightweight Mesh.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
July 23, 2019
Materials feel really good in-hand and on-foot, especially for this price.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
July 21, 2019
I found the textile and mesh build to be perfectly fine.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 20, 2019
The materials aren't bad, but the breathability is problematic.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 9, 2019
The mesh upper materials feel really premium.
Watch the video

Support of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

The 8.6 average support rating ranks #57 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 9, 2019
The base is absolutely massive and provides a lot of stability. The thick padding on the inner lining really locks your feet into place and prevents heel slippage and lateral sliding.
Watch the video
9.0
PureKicks
August 15, 2019
The insane double outrigger, internal TPU heel counter, the lacing system, and ankle padding deliver a lot of support and stability.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
July 23, 2019
The support was perfectly fine. No side-to-side movement, forefoot containment was good, but I had a little bit of heel slippage during the break-in period.
Watch the video
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
July 21, 2019
Support, like in many of Adidas’ current basketball line, is very good.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 20, 2019
Very wide base provides a lot of stability and the heavily padded Achilles pillows keep your feet locked down.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
July 9, 2019
Lateral containment is great but the heel slippage is pretty bad in the beginning.
Watch the video

Fit of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

The 8.4 average fit rating ranks #70 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
PureKicks
August 15, 2019
The padding around the ankle is very comfortable and helps with support & lockdown.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
July 23, 2019
The materials hugged my feet nicely.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
July 21, 2019
The fit/lockdown is amazing.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 20, 2019
I didn't have any issues with the fit, but it wasn't extraordinarily comfortable.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 9, 2019
For me, the fit was great and easy to put on.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100% average outdoor rating ranks #6 of 116 shoes overall
good
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
July 21, 2019
I will say that I enjoyed the shoe a lot outdoors. No slipping or anything!
Watch the Video|Read the article

Width of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

regularly wide
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 9, 2019
The width was perfect in my Adidas size.
Watch the video
regularly wide
PureKicks
August 15, 2019
Regular
Watch the video
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
July 23, 2019
A little bit narrow in the forefoot.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
July 9, 2019
Really snug in the toe area.
Watch the video

Size of the Adidas DON Issue 1:

runs large
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 9, 2019
The fit is pretty long even if you go down half a size like I am used to from Adidas shoes.
Watch the video
true to size
PureKicks
August 15, 2019
True to size.
Watch the video
½ size large
RicheeKim
July 23, 2019
I would recommend going down half a size.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
July 21, 2019
Fits true to size
Watch the Video|Read the article
½ size large
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 20, 2019
Runs a tad long.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
July 9, 2019
Go true to your Adidas size.
Watch the video
Deals from $60.00:
-40%
Core Black / Team Solar Green / Silver Metallic
$60.00
from Finishline
-25%
Red / Power Red / Gold Metallic
$75.00
from Finishline
-10%
Blue / Red / Cloud White
$89.97
from DICK's
Shock Yellow / Core Black / Active Red
$99.99
from DICK's
White / Black / Gold Metallic
$99.99
from DICK's
Active Purple / Cloud White / Glow Blue
$99.99
from DICK's