Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas D.O.N Issue #2

Released 8/2020, Low Top, Donovan Mitchell, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
8.4
USER RATING
15 ratings
A solid budget shoe and an improvement over the D.O.N. Issue #1

Best Suitable For:

Players looking for a very supportive shoe with good impact protection

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $99.99
DICK's
$59.98
$100
Buy Now
Finishline
$90.00
$100
StockX
from $50.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
7.8
Cushion
8.3
Materials
8.0
Support
8.8
Fit
7.0
Outdoor
0%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
18 likes
Grey Three / Cloud White / Grey
Grey Three / Cloud White / Grey
from DICK's
$59.98
$100
11 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Gold Metallic
Cloud White / Core Black / Gold Metallic
from DICK's
$59.98
$100
15 likes
Scarlet / Team Navy / Gold Metallic
Scarlet / Team Navy / Gold Metallic
from DICK's
$79.98
$100
20 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Sky Tint
Core Black / Cloud White / Sky Tint
from Finishline
$90.00
$100
14 likes
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Cloud White
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Cloud White
from DICK's
$99.99
27 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Core Black
Cloud White / Core Black / Core Black
from DICK's
$109.99
24 likes
Core Black / Signal Pink / Cloud White
Core Black / Signal Pink / Cloud White
from DICK's
$109.99
15 likes
Collegiate Royal / Cloud White / Collegiate Royal
Collegiate Royal / Cloud White / Collegiate Royal
from StockX
$50.00
16 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Sky Tint
Cloud White / Core Black / Sky Tint
from StockX
$63.00
38 likes
Power Pink / Core Black / Power Pink
Power Pink / Core Black / Power Pink
from StockX
$65.00
16 likes
Core Black / Scarlet / Gold Metallic
Core Black / Scarlet / Gold Metallic
from StockX
$70.00
21 likes
Solar Gold / Core Black / Solar Gold
Solar Gold / Core Black / Solar Gold
from StockX
$74.00
11 likes
Cloud White / Royal Blue / Cloud White
Cloud White / Royal Blue / Cloud White
from StockX
$75.00
24 likes
Grey Five / Crew Yellow / Solar Red
Grey Five / Crew Yellow / Solar Red
from StockX
$78.00
18 likes
Power Red / Cloud White / Silver Metallic
Power Red / Cloud White / Silver Metallic
from StockX
$79.00
24 likes
Collegiate Navy / Cloud White / Collegiate Navy
Collegiate Navy / Cloud White / Collegiate Navy
from StockX
$79.00
13 likes
Royal Blue / Cloud White / Vivid Red
Royal Blue / Cloud White / Vivid Red
from StockX
$79.00
12 likes
"Pharrell_Williams" - Core Black / Core Black / Core Black
"Pharrell_Williams" - Core Black / Core Black / Core Black
from StockX
$80.00
33 likes
Solar Yellow / Solar Red / Core Black
Solar Yellow / Solar Red / Core Black
from StockX
$83.00
49 likes
Signal Cyan / Core Black / Signal Cyan
Signal Cyan / Core Black / Signal Cyan
from StockX
$85.00
26 likes
Signal Orange / Solar Gold / Signal Pink
Signal Orange / Solar Gold / Signal Pink
from StockX
$90.00
40 likes
Core Black / Scarlet / Silver Metallic
Core Black / Scarlet / Silver Metallic
from StockX
$96.00
42 likes
Solar Gold / Core Black / Solar Gold
Solar Gold / Core Black / Solar Gold
from StockX
$98.00
19 likes
Solar Red / Gold Metallic / Solar Yellow
Solar Red / Gold Metallic / Solar Yellow
from StockX
$99.00
16 likes
Cloud White / Solar Red / Cloud White
Cloud White / Solar Red / Cloud White
from StockX
$100.00
15 likes
Purple Tint / Cream White / Silver Metallic
Purple Tint / Cream White / Silver Metallic
from StockX
$100.00
32 likes
Core Black / Team Power Red / Cloud White
Core Black / Team Power Red / Cloud White
from StockX
$110.00
111 likes
Glory Mint / Signal Green / Solar Red
Glory Mint / Signal Green / Solar Red
from StockX
$111.00
41 likes
Cream White / Semi Solar Pink / Dark Green
Cream White / Semi Solar Pink / Dark Green
from StockX
$170.00
24 likes
Cloud White / Orbit Grey / Metal Grey
Cloud White / Orbit Grey / Metal Grey
No stores found
35 likes
Cloud White / Gold Metallic / Core Black
Cloud White / Gold Metallic / Core Black
No stores found
19 likes
Cloud White / Scarlet / Cloud White
Cloud White / Scarlet / Cloud White
No stores found

Adidas D.O.N Issue #2 Review

Pros:
Very supportive
Solid cushioning
Cons:
Inconsistent traction
Bulky and heavy

Performance of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

Reviewers found that the traction is somewhat inconsistent and doesn't bite well on all surfaces. The outsole isn't very durable either. The cushion setup is bouncy and responsive with good impact protection. The court feel isn't great though. The materials are durable and thick, but kind of bulky. Overall, they are comfortable with good padding but don't conform to your feet very well. The support is great and the highlight of the shoe. You will feel very locked in with these! Overall the Don Issue #2 is a solid budget performer with great support and good traction.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #130 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The D.O.N. Issue #2 definitely has some improvements over the #1, but some aspects were worse such as the traction. You're getting solid lockdown and support with these and a responsive cushioning setup. For the price of $100, you're getting a pretty good performance hoop shoe.
 More details
The Adidas D.O.N. Issue 2 is a surprise hit indoors for me. They are a great bang for your buck shoe at only $100!
 More details
8.0
September 14, 2020
I had fun playing in these while I could tolerate the pain in the forefoot, but eventually I just had to switch shoes. These were solid for the price and are a good pickup if you don't have the same fit issue as me.
 More details
7.6
August 29, 2020
It is kind of hard for me to recommend the D.O.N. Issue #2 as I didn't really enjoy playing in these. The cushioning was good, materials were a little too thick, and they are pretty heavy. If you don't mind bigger and bulkier shoes and want something that is really supportive with pretty nice cushioning than you should give these a try. They definitely weren't for me though.
 More details

User Reviews of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

User Rating: 8.4 (ranks #128 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.8
March 23, 2022
Absolutely amazing hoop shoe in my opinion. Great cushion and traction, specially on indoor courts. They definitely add a few inches and are pretty heavy, so stay away from them if you are looking for court feel. I played outdoors with these only a few times, they performed well but durability can be a small issue, but nothing crazy compared to other shoes. The Mitchell’s signature shoes are bouncy, supportive, and have great traction. Would recommend them specially to forwards and bigs.
 More details
8.6
January 31, 2022
I like the D.O.N. Issue #2, there’s some pretty good pros, but there’s also cons that make it so I can’t recommend it to everyone. One, they’re more heavier than usual. Two, they’re pretty bulky. If you’re a guard that wants a light and minimal shoe, this isn’t for you. It gets the job done.
 More details
9.3
March 12, 2022
It was just overall perfect I loved the feel and my first game playing with it I scored 73 points with 10 rebounds and 7 assists. This shoe is very good but if I could change one thing it would be to make it a little bit bigger. Overall this shoe is great
 More details
7.8
February 22, 2022
The traction is good laterally, but i did have some issues going forward. Materials are stiff and bulky and the fit is very bad. If you like a snug fit in the toe box you're ok but if you don't stay away from this shoe.
 More details
7.0
December 27, 2021
These shoes are uncomfortable to play in.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.8 (ranks #162 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 8.1 (ranks #137 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
The traction is very inconsistent depending on the type of surface you're playing on. Some surfaces the shoe was biting the floor really well and some I was slipping and sliding. The inconsistencies could be due to the translucent outsole, so hopefully, the solid colorways perform better.
 More details
The traction indoors is awesome and much better than in the D.O.N. Issue 1. They don't pick up much dust so you don't need to wipe much.
 More details
8.0
September 14, 2020
The spiderweb inspired traction was pretty good for the most part. I got a really nice bite on clean courts, but make sure you wipe on dusty courts because I slipped sometimes.
 More details
7.0
August 29, 2020
This traction pretty mediocre. The bite was good, but you slide out a bit on hard movements. I only tested these on an outdoor court, but I've been able to figure out how shoes will do indoors based on outdoor performance. I don't think performance will be great on these indoors.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.3 (ranks #126 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 8.9 (ranks #78 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
Adidas slimmed down the Bounce in the midsole, so these are a lot less bulky compared to the #1s. The feel is bouncy and responsive and very similar to last year. You get decent court feel as well.
 More details
This cushion setup uses Bounce, but it's not as plush and rubbery as we are used to. The focus here is on mobility and court feel similar to the Kyrie line.
 More details
9.0
September 14, 2020
The Bounce cushioning in this shoe was really nice. You get a lot of impact protection in the heel and solid court feel in the forefoot. I think Bounce is underrated and it was really nice in the D.O.N Issue 2.
 More details
9.0
August 29, 2020
I really like the cushioning here. They're using a full length Bounce cushioning and it has a good amount of compression in the heel. It feels nice and bouncy. Court feel isn't the best, but impact protection was really good. Cushion overall was pretty dang nice.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #139 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #114 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The materials on the #2s have been improved over the #1s and the mesh feels a lot more soft and flexible. They feel pretty thick and durable with reinforced areas in high wear areas. The padded tongue is also really nice. If you like a shoe that gives you a cozy, snug, and padded feel then these are it.
 More details
Made of lightweight textiles and synthetic overlays. Nothing stands out, but they do well performance-wise.
 More details
8.0
September 14, 2020
The mesh upper is well contained and very supportive. It felt good on foot, but was pretty thick which isn't for everyone. These materials are pretty good for the price point.
 More details
7.0
August 29, 2020
The materials are okay. These have a mesh upper and a cheap-feeling synthetic on the inside of the foot. The materials are also pretty thick and a bit bulky. The padding around the ankle and tongue does feel really nice though.
 More details

Support of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

Expert Support Rating: 8.8 (ranks #59 of 205)
User Support Rating: 8.9 (ranks #76 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The support here was made for Donovan Mitchell's hard cuts and quick pull up jumpers, so these get the job done in that aspect. The lacing system is simple and works really well. The base of the shoe is wide, so there is good lateral stability here.
 More details
Great torsional and heel support and the flat and wide base provide a lot of stability.
 More details
9.0
September 14, 2020
I thought the support was one of the better features of the shoe. I had no instabilities on lateral movements or sliding on the footbed. The setup really has everything you want.
 More details
9.0
August 29, 2020
I had no issues with the support and it was one of the strong points of the shoe. The shoe feels supportive like a tank. No issues with lateral containment and lateral stability since these have a wide base.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.0 (ranks #194 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #140 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
1
These have a snug fit with good lockdown. Lace them all the way up to prevent the heel from feeling floppy.
 More details
6.0
September 14, 2020
The fit was pretty weird for me. The forefoot area was really tight and pretty painful for me on lateral movements. There was always constant pressure in the forefoot. Other than that the fit was pretty good everywhere else.
 More details
6.0
August 29, 2020
These fit kind of weird on me. They were snug on the top of the toe box, but then got roomy on the top farther down my foot. It was also kind of tight on the lateral side of my feet. I could never get the fit the way I wanted it and I got some needles playing in these.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

User Durability Rating: 8.5 (ranks #98 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #170 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 45.0 (ranks #119 of 205)
Good (100%)
2
Fair (50%)
5
Bad (0%)
6
They picked up a lot of dust outdoors and don't have very thick grooves. I don't think these would last very long outdoors.
 More details
The bite is not great outdoors.
 More details
no
August 29, 2020
These weren't great outdoors and durability wasn't good. They also don't have the deepest grooves.
 More details

Width of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
7
regular
8
slightly wide
3
very wide
0
slightly narrow
Wide footers should go up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
September 14, 2020
Wide footers should go up half a size or maybe stay away from this shoe.
 More details
regularly wide
August 29, 2020
The width on these was normal.
 More details

Size of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #2:

very small
0
slightly small
4
true to size
11
slightly long
4
very long
0
true to size
These run true to size, but were a little long in the front. It wasn't enough where I had to go a half size down.
 More details
true to size
These fit true to size, but on the snug side.
 More details
true to size
September 14, 2020
True to size is the way to go for these.
 More details
½ size large
August 29, 2020
These were a little long so I'd recommend going down half a size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: