Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike KD Trey 5 VIII

Add to Favourites
8.2
A very affordable sneaker with great traction and impact protection
based on 2 expert reviews
based on 2 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Best for outdoor use or those looking for a good deal

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $89.99
Nike
Buy Now
StockX
from $60.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
8.5
Cushion
9.0
Materials
9.0
Support
6.5
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
100%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
4/2020
Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
26 likes
Black / Illusion Green / Racer Blue / Clear
Black / Illusion Green / Racer Blue / Clear
from Nike
$55.97
$90
47 likes
Light Solar Flare Heather / Laser Crimson / Black
Light Solar Flare Heather / Laser Crimson / Black
in 3 shops
$76.97
$90
35 likes
Black / University Red / White
Black / University Red / White
from DICK's
$89.99
33 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from DICK's
$89.99
19 likes
White / Total Orange / Wolf Grey / Pure Platinum
White / Total Orange / Wolf Grey / Pure Platinum
from StockX
$89.00
24 likes
Blue Void / Racer Blue / Red Crush / White
Blue Void / Racer Blue / Red Crush / White
from StockX
$90.00
44 likes
White / Royal Tint
White / Royal Tint
from StockX
$94.00
37 likes
Black / Aurora Green / Smoke Grey / White
Black / Aurora Green / Smoke Grey / White
No stores found
28 likes
Pure Platinum / Metallic Silver / Wolf Grey / Metallic Gold
Pure Platinum / Metallic Silver / Wolf Grey / Metallic Gold
No stores found

Nike KD Trey 5 VIII Review

Pros:
Great traction on all surfaces
Good impact protection
Cons:
Lateral stability isn't great
Cushion can feel mushy

Performance of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

The traction on the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII is great and works well on clean and dusty courts. It is durable enough for outdoor use as well. The Nike Renew foam cushion setup is comfortable and has good impact protection, but is somewhat mushy and could be more responsive. The materials are an upgrade from the last Trey 5 and use a thin comfortable knit. They are surprisingly premium considering the cost of the shoe. These fit similar to most KD shoes - slightly narrow and a bit long. The support is okay and sometimes your foot will slide over the footbed on hard lateral movements. Overall this is a great budget shoe that performs as well as much more expensive shoes!
See all 2 reviews

Reviews of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

The 8.2 average overall rating ranks #140 of 183 shoes overall
8.4
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
For only $90 retail, this is a really nice shoe. The cushion setup is great and traction works really well. Overall, the KD Trey 5 VIII doesn't feel like a budget model at all - I'd highly recommend picking these up if you're interested in them.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
July 22, 2020
For $90 this has to be one of the best budget shoes I have tried. The KD Trey 5 VII is super light and minimal and you feel very quick playing in these. This shoe doesn't feel cheap and the only downside for me was the support. Overall, a great shoe for the price and should work well for players who want to hoop outdoors.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

The 8.5 average traction rating ranks #94 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
The modified herringbone traction on the KD Trey 5 VIII is great on clean courts and you should be good on dustier courts as well because these don't pick up a lot of dust.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
July 22, 2020
I only played outdoors in these but the traction worked well because similar to other budget shoes these use very hard rubber. The performance should be good indoors looking at the traction pattern and it worked well when I tried them on my wood floors at home.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

The 9.0 average cushion rating ranks #44 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
The cushion here uses dual-density Renew foam and it's very mushy, plush, and comfortable! There is not a lot of court feel but the impact protection is great which really helps if you want to use these outdoors. Overall a very comfortable cushion setup.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 22, 2020
The full-length Nike Renew cushioning is really good but does bottom out a bit. The impact protection is great and you still have really good court feel. If you like a responsive, low-to-the-ground cushion setup with some impact protection and a little bounce these will be perfect for you.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

The 9.0 average materials rating ranks #19 of 183 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
The materials are different from the last Trey 5 and feature a very nice knit for the upper which feels surprisingly premium considering the price point. There are various overlays around the shoe to help with durability too. Overall really nice materials!
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 22, 2020
The materials feature a thin knit material on the upper which feels very minimal on foot. It conforms to your foot nicely and there is a little bit of stretch in the knit. They are really comfortable on foot and feel okay around the ankle and tongue. The materials are surprisingly nice for $90!
Watch the video

Support of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

The 6.5 average support rating ranks #181 of 183 shoes overall
7.0
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
I think the support is an upgrade over the last Trey 5. The internal heel counter held in my heel well and I didn't have too much heel slippage. Due to the upper materials used, I could definitely feel my foot rolling over the footbed a bit. Otherwise torsional rigidity and stability are fine.
Watch the video
6.0
The Sole Brothers
July 22, 2020
The support and lockdown wasn't that great for me because I could feel my foot wanting to slide out of the side of the shoe. There isn't a ton of caging to help with lateral movements and I definitely felt it. Ankle support wasn't great because this shoe doesn't come up very high, but lateral stability was pretty good and I didn't have any issues there.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

The 8.0 average fit rating ranks #141 of 183 shoes overall
8.0
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
There is a little bit of dead space in the toe as with most KD models but overall the fit is great.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
July 22, 2020
These fit my feet pretty well and they stretch out a bit as you break them in.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100.0% average outdoor rating ranks #12 of 183 shoes overall
good
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
The rubber on this traction pattern is pretty durable and I had no problem with these outdoors.
Watch the video
good
The Sole Brothers
July 22, 2020
These feature really hard durable rubber and should be good for outdoor use.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

slightly narrow
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
These run a bit narrow so I'd recommend going up half a size or trying on in stores.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
July 22, 2020
I'd recommend going up half or even a whole size on these. It would be best to try them on before buying.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

true to size
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
Go true to size if you have narrow feet, otherwise going up half a size might be a good idea.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
July 22, 2020
True to size worked for me, but I have a pretty narrow foot.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Black / Illusion Green / Racer Blue / Clear
Black / Illusion Green / Racer Blue / Clear
from Nike
$55.97
$90
Light Solar Flare Heather / Laser Crimson / Black
Light Solar Flare Heather / Laser Crimson / Black
in 3 shops
$76.97
$90
Black / University Red / White
Black / University Red / White
from DICK's
$89.99
White / Black
White / Black
from DICK's
$89.99
Black / Illusion Green / Racer Blue / Clear
$55.97
on Nike