Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike KD Trey 5 VIII

Released 4/2020, Mid Top, Kevin Durant, 
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
2 reviews
8.5
USER RATING
18 ratings
A very affordable sneaker with great traction and impact protection

Best Suitable For:

Best for outdoor use or those looking for a good deal

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $89.99
StockX
from $66.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (2)
User Ratings (18)
Traction
8.5
Cushion
9.0
Materials
9.0
Support
6.5
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike KD Trey 5 VIII
Nike KD Trey 5 VIII
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Run
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Run
Jordan Why Not Zero.4
Jordan Why Not Zero.4
Nike KD 14
Nike KD 14
New Balance Kawhi 1
New Balance Kawhi 1
New Balance TWO WXY
New Balance TWO WXY
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.28.1(0.1)8.3(0.1)8.9(0.7)8.5(0.3)8.9(0.7)
User Rating8.58.5(0.0)8.9(0.4)9.2(0.7)8.5(0.0)8.6(0.1)
Best Price$89.99
$65.96
$175
$99.99
$130
$65.42
$150
$139.99
$160
$119.99
$140
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight300g - 320g370g - 390g370g - 380g380g - 400g450g - 470g350g - 370g
 Show More
36 likes
Blue Void / Racer Blue / Red Crush / White
Blue Void / Racer Blue / Red Crush / White
from StockX
$66.00
63 likes
Black / Aurora Green / Smoke Grey / White
Black / Aurora Green / Smoke Grey / White
from StockX
$78.00
44 likes
Black / Illusion Green / Racer Blue / Clear
Black / Illusion Green / Racer Blue / Clear
from StockX
$88.00
78 likes
White / Royal Tint
White / Royal Tint
from StockX
$96.00
68 likes
Light Solar Flare Heather / Laser Crimson / Black
Light Solar Flare Heather / Laser Crimson / Black
from StockX
$98.00
49 likes
Black / University Red / White
Black / University Red / White
from StockX
$101.00
56 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from StockX
$115.00
49 likes
Pure Platinum / Metallic Silver / Wolf Grey / Metallic Gold
Pure Platinum / Metallic Silver / Wolf Grey / Metallic Gold
from StockX
$116.00
30 likes
White / Total Orange / Wolf Grey / Pure Platinum
White / Total Orange / Wolf Grey / Pure Platinum
from StockX
$122.00

Nike KD Trey 5 VIII Review

Pros:
Great traction on all surfaces
Good impact protection
Cons:
Lateral stability isn't great
Cushion can feel mushy

Performance of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

The traction on the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII is great and works well on clean and dusty courts. It is durable enough for outdoor use as well. The Nike Renew foam cushion setup is comfortable and has good impact protection, but is somewhat mushy and could be more responsive. The materials are an upgrade from the last Trey 5 and use a thin comfortable knit. They are surprisingly premium considering the cost of the shoe. These fit similar to most KD shoes - slightly narrow and a bit long. The support is okay and sometimes your foot will slide over the footbed on hard lateral movements. Overall this is a great budget shoe that performs as well as much more expensive shoes!
See all 2 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #171 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.4
July 22, 2020
For only $90 retail, this is a really nice shoe. The cushion setup is great and traction works really well. Overall, the KD Trey 5 VIII doesn't feel like a budget model at all - I'd highly recommend picking these up if you're interested in them.
 More details
8.0
July 22, 2020
For $90 this has to be one of the best budget shoes I have tried. The KD Trey 5 VII is super light and minimal and you feel very quick playing in these. This shoe doesn't feel cheap and the only downside for me was the support. Overall, a great shoe for the price and should work well for players who want to hoop outdoors.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

User Rating: 8.5 (ranks #140 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.7
October 19, 2022
Shoe traction was incredible, squeeky and sticky. Cushion very soft and I would say bouncy. Upper materials was very good quality, but it does not support your foot. It is easy to break your ankle, but shoe overall I would say the best I got, everyone should love this shoe, so comfortable, I am coming back to this shoe everytime
 More details
9.4
March 12, 2022
This is a great shoe but it needs improvements like the cushion could be more comfortable and and the material could be a bit more breathable. But on the upside this shoe plays very well and I would not sleep on purchasing this shoe. It has great grip and it locks you in when you are hooping. So overall I would buy this shoe
 More details
7.8
December 12, 2021
I've had this shoe for a long time and mostly have played with it outdoors. It gives you a great bang for your buck and great longevity.
 More details
8.9
May 16, 2022
I wear this shoe to hoop outdoors, and it's one of the best I've ever played in.
 More details
5.5
November 23, 2022
You be looking like you running in scocks and they dont reapond
 More details

Traction of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #124 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #114 of 233)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.0
July 22, 2020
The modified herringbone traction on the KD Trey 5 VIII is great on clean courts and you should be good on dustier courts as well because these don't pick up a lot of dust.
 More details
8.0
July 22, 2020
I only played outdoors in these but the traction worked well because similar to other budget shoes these use very hard rubber. The performance should be good indoors looking at the traction pattern and it worked well when I tried them on my wood floors at home.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #57 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 8.5 (ranks #121 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
July 22, 2020
The cushion here uses dual-density Renew foam and it's very mushy, plush, and comfortable! There is not a lot of court feel but the impact protection is great which really helps if you want to use these outdoors. Overall a very comfortable cushion setup.
 More details
9.0
July 22, 2020
The full-length Nike Renew cushioning is really good but does bottom out a bit. The impact protection is great and you still have really good court feel. If you like a responsive, low-to-the-ground cushion setup with some impact protection and a little bounce these will be perfect for you.
 More details

Materials of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

Expert Materials Rating: 9.0 (ranks #20 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #142 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
July 22, 2020
The materials are different from the last Trey 5 and feature a very nice knit for the upper which feels surprisingly premium considering the price point. There are various overlays around the shoe to help with durability too. Overall really nice materials!
 More details
9.0
July 22, 2020
The materials feature a thin knit material on the upper which feels very minimal on foot. It conforms to your foot nicely and there is a little bit of stretch in the knit. They are really comfortable on foot and feel okay around the ankle and tongue. The materials are surprisingly nice for $90!
 More details

Support of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

Expert Support Rating: 6.5 (ranks #231 of 233)
User Support Rating: 8.1 (ranks #165 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
1
7.0
July 22, 2020
I think the support is an upgrade over the last Trey 5. The internal heel counter held in my heel well and I didn't have too much heel slippage. Due to the upper materials used, I could definitely feel my foot rolling over the footbed a bit. Otherwise torsional rigidity and stability are fine.
 More details
6.0
July 22, 2020
The support and lockdown wasn't that great for me because I could feel my foot wanting to slide out of the side of the shoe. There isn't a ton of caging to help with lateral movements and I definitely felt it. Ankle support wasn't great because this shoe doesn't come up very high, but lateral stability was pretty good and I didn't have any issues there.
 More details

Fit of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #181 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #86 of 233)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
July 22, 2020
There is a little bit of dead space in the toe as with most KD models but overall the fit is great.
 More details
8.0
July 22, 2020
These fit my feet pretty well and they stretch out a bit as you break them in.
 More details

Durability of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

User Durability Rating: 9.4 (ranks #27 of 233)
10 - Amazing
10
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #14 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 91.2 (ranks #30 of 233)
Good (100%)
16
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
0
good
July 22, 2020
The rubber on this traction pattern is pretty durable and I had no problem with these outdoors.
 More details
good
July 22, 2020
These feature really hard durable rubber and should be good for outdoor use.
 More details

Width of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
7
regular
11
slightly wide
1
very wide
1
slightly narrow
July 22, 2020
These run a bit narrow so I'd recommend going up half a size or trying on in stores.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 22, 2020
I'd recommend going up half or even a whole size on these. It would be best to try them on before buying.
 More details

Size of the Nike KD Trey 5 VIII:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
14
slightly long
5
very long
1
true to size
July 22, 2020
Go true to size if you have narrow feet, otherwise going up half a size might be a good idea.
 More details
true to size
July 22, 2020
True to size worked for me, but I have a pretty narrow foot.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: