Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike PG 4

Released 1/2020, Low Top, Paul George, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
8.6
USER RATING
34 ratings
Paul George's 4th signature sneaker is one of the most affordable signature sneakers

Best Suitable For:

Super comfortable and well-cushioned basketball shoes

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $109.99
DICK's
$31.93
$110
Buy Now
StockX
from $60.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (6)
User Ratings (34)
Traction
8.3
Cushion
9.4
Materials
8.2
Support
7.3
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike PG 4
Nike PG 4
Under Armour Anatomix Spawn 3
Under Armour Anatomix Spawn 3
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2
Nike Cosmic Unity
Nike Cosmic Unity
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.39.0(0.7)8.8(0.5)8.8(0.5)8.6(0.3)8.8(0.5)
User Rating8.68.9(0.3)9.2(0.6)9.7(1.1)NA8.7(0.1)
Best Price
$31.93
$110
$99.99
$169.99
$225
$169.99
$149.99
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight380g - 400g340g - 360g410g - 430g360g - 370g380g - 400g400g - 410g
 Show More
119 likes
Black / Light Smoke Grey / White
Black / Light Smoke Grey / White
from DICK's
$31.93
$110
19 likes
Wolf Grey / Cool Grey / Anthracite
Wolf Grey / Cool Grey / Anthracite
from DICK's
$109.99
10 likes
White / University Red / University Red
White / University Red / University Red
from DICK's
$109.99
63 likes
White / University Red / Obsidian
White / University Red / Obsidian
from StockX
$60.00
77 likes
Black / University Red / White
Black / University Red / White
from StockX
$67.00
65 likes
Light Cream / Terra Blush / Racer Blue / Total Orange
Light Cream / Terra Blush / Racer Blue / Total Orange
from StockX
$67.00
68 likes
Black / Black / Black
Black / Black / Black
from StockX
$69.00
24 likes
Black / Wolf Grey / Blue Fury / White
Black / Wolf Grey / Blue Fury / White
from StockX
$79.00
112 likes
White / Pure Platinum / Black
White / Pure Platinum / Black
from StockX
$86.00
49 likes
Crimson / White / Green
Crimson / White / Green
from StockX
$94.00
137 likes
Regency Purple / Regency Purple
Regency Purple / Regency Purple
from StockX
$120.00
58 likes
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
from StockX
$120.00
168 likes
Barely Volt / Total Orange / Volt / Photo Blue
Barely Volt / Total Orange / Volt / Photo Blue
from StockX
$150.00
153 likes
Gatorade White GX
Gatorade White GX
from StockX
$190.00
86 likes
Football Grey / Laser Blue / Lt Smoke Grey
Football Grey / Laser Blue / Lt Smoke Grey
No stores found
43 likes
Black / White / Wolf Grey / Blue Fury
Black / White / Wolf Grey / Blue Fury
No stores found
14 likes
College Navy / White / White
College Navy / White / White
No stores found
13 likes
University Gold / White / White
University Gold / White / White
No stores found
23 likes
University Blue / White / White
University Blue / White / White
No stores found
10 likes
Pro Green / White / White
Pro Green / White / White
No stores found
20 likes
University Red / White / Black
University Red / White / Black
No stores found
11 likes
Game Royal / White / Black
Game Royal / White / Black
No stores found
8 likes
White / Black / Wolf Grey
White / Black / Wolf Grey
No stores found
12 likes
Black / White / Pure Platinum
Black / White / Pure Platinum
No stores found
10 likes
Team Orange / White / White
Team Orange / White / White
No stores found
34 likes
String / Sail / Cool Grey / Natural
String / Sail / Cool Grey / Natural
No stores found
8 likes
Field Purple / White / White
Field Purple / White / White
No stores found
42 likes
Black / Rush Blue / University Red / Metallic Silver
Black / Rush Blue / University Red / Metallic Silver
No stores found
9 likes
White / Game Royal / Game Royal
White / Game Royal / Game Royal
No stores found
23 likes
White / White / Black
White / White / Black
No stores found
9 likes
White / College Navy / College Navy
White / College Navy / College Navy
No stores found

Nike PG 4 Review

Pros:
Super comfortable cushioning
Affordable signature sneaker
Cons:
Lateral support could be better
Sizing is tricky

Performance of the Nike PG 4:

The 4th edition of Paul George's signature sneaker changes things up a little. A Nike Air strobel board that sits directly under your feet replaces the Nike Zoom Air cushioning. This setup gives you a softer and super comfortable, cloud-like feeling. The circular traction pattern works well in all directions and keeps performing solidly even on dusty courts. The biggest weaknesses of the PG4 are the support and lockdown: most critics reported sliding out off the footbed on sharp lateral cuts and some experienced mild heel slippage. Overall, the PG4 is a solid performer that works best for lighter players who don't rely on explosive lateral cuts.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike PG 4:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #150 of 229)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.8
February 4, 2020
I love the performance of the PG4. This is one of my favorite shoes to play in right now! Probably the most comfortable basketball shoe you can get right now.
 More details
8.6
March 18, 2020
The cushioning is perfect, the traction is beastly, and material, fit, and support are all above-average. If you need new shoes, I recommend the PG4!
 More details
Overall, the Nike PG 4 was very solid, but not as well rounded as I would have liked. The cushion is super comfortable but the containment and support are lacking a little.
 More details
8.2
April 30, 2020
The PG4 is a good solid shoe with no major flaws at a fair price, but it isn’t something that I’d say wow, I want to hoop in these today.
 More details
8.0
Traction and cushioning are really good but materials and especially support are a little disappointing.
 More details
8.0
February 4, 2020
For $110, this is a really good shoe. I like the traction, the cushioning is amazing, and for a signature sneaker, the PG4 is super affordable!
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike PG 4:

User Rating: 8.6 (ranks #116 of 229)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
20
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
March 16, 2022
I’ve played with this shoe for a couple of months now and I can say they’re a great affordable option. Traction is great on clean courts but they do slip a bit on dusty surfaces. The cushion is definitely the best part of these shoes, it’s everything you could ever ask for. The only small weakness I could find were the materials, not that premium, but expected given the price. Outdoor use is fine with these, they are gonna get damaged over time but not destroyed. Overall, I recommend them a lot.
 More details
9.4
January 14, 2022
The Nike PG 4 was an amazing shoe! It is great for guards and forwards. It is an all-around shoe that has a bit of everything for everyone. The traction was pretty solid, but durability was a big issue. Do not use these outdoors. The cushion was absolutely amazing and it was very very soft! The support was okay with enough lateral coverage. The material was a little cheap, but it wasn’t too bad for the cheap price tag. This shoe was one of my favourites, and it is an amazing shoe for its price.
 More details
8.8
April 18, 2022
Amazing Shoe, probably the best cushioning I’ve ever had. However, order 1/2 size up (heel cushioning pushes foot up) The outsole isn’t very grippy, but very durable despite soft rubber. I used it outside almost every day for 2 1/2 yrs, but it held up, with only a little wear and tear. If it gets dirty, is washable, so can be used for other activities. Great shoe, with great durability, cushioning, and price (if still available). Solid 9
 More details
9.2
March 12, 2022
This is a great shoe but it’s not as good as it could be. I got a size 14 because I knew this shoe would be smaller than it said it was, and I was right but if they could make the shoe to the size a bit better I think a lot of people would appreciate that that. But overall this is a great shoe. Lots of grip, great to hoop in and looks really good.
 More details
8.2
February 23, 2022
This shoe is a great budget option, my favorite part was the cushion and fit. The cushion was top tier and it felt like i was walking on a cloud. Materials and support are ok but definitely not deal breakers. The traction was decent when you play on a clean court, although the durability is poor and i definitely do not recommend for outdoor use.
 More details

Traction of the Nike PG 4:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.3 (ranks #145 of 229)
User Traction Rating: 8.4 (ranks #137 of 229)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
15
8 - Good
19
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
February 4, 2020
The circle traction pattern doesn't seem very durable but works really well on clean courts. On dusty courts, you will need to wipe from time to time but the traction still performed very well.
 More details
9.0
March 18, 2020
Even though I played on dusty courts, the traction held up very well! Close to being a 10/10 traction.
 More details
Traction was reliable and consistent, even on the dirtiest courts.
 More details
8.0
April 30, 2020
The PG4 traction pattern performed well, but I thought the PG2 and PG3 were a little bit sharper.
 More details
8.0
The traction is pretty solid giving you grip in all directions. The translucent parts of the outsole felt a little more slippy and you will have to wipe from time to time.
 More details
8.0
February 4, 2020
The traction is really good on clean courts and still performs well on dirtier courts. Probably just below the top tier when it comes to traction.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike PG 4:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.4 (ranks #25 of 229)
User Cushion Rating: 9.4 (ranks #36 of 229)
10 - Amazing
27
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
10.0
February 4, 2020
The Nike Air strobel brings the comfort level of this shoe to the maximum. The cushioning is super soft, but therefore, less responsive than the cushioning in the PG3. This is probably my favorite cushioning setup of all time!!
 More details
10.0
March 18, 2020
The full-length Air Strobel feels like pillows under your feet. It's comfortable, responsive, and I loved the impact protection. Perfection!
 More details
The full-length Nike Air cushioning feels soft and pillowy under foot.
 More details
8.0
April 30, 2020
The Airsole unit combined and soft foam feel comfortable but don’t have the spring of Zoom. It works fine and my feet never hurt, but I enjoy a little bit firmer setup more.
 More details
10.0
The cushioning is madly comfortable! The full-length Air is super soft and plush.
 More details
9.0
February 4, 2020
The Air strobel unit is very plush and comfortable. You don't get the springy feeling you would get from a Zoom unit, but this cushioning setup is super soft and comfortable.
 More details

Materials of the Nike PG 4:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.2 (ranks #120 of 229)
User Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #148 of 229)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
20
7 - Average
8
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
February 4, 2020
The materials are soft, thin, and ventilated. On-foot the materials feel fine, but they look a little cheap.
 More details
8.0
March 18, 2020
The Mesh shroud and internal nylon bootie construction hug your feet and are really comfortable. The breathability could be a little better overall.
 More details
Materials are pretty standard for today’s modern textile/knit builds.
 More details
8.0
April 30, 2020
It’s mesh and synthetics and it works fine. No pinching Or anything
 More details
7.0
The quality of the synthetic and Mesh materials feels a little subpar. However, they are thin, flexible, and breathable and get the job done.
 More details
8.0
February 4, 2020
The upper is made from Mesh which doesn't feel great to the touch but it gets the job done.
 More details

Support of the Nike PG 4:

Expert Support Rating: 7.3 (ranks #212 of 229)
User Support Rating: 8.1 (ranks #162 of 229)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
15
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
0
8.0
February 4, 2020
I didn't have any issues with lateral moves even though the upper isn't super strong and there is almost no outrigger.
 More details
8.0
March 18, 2020
For a low-top, the containment is really good. The outrigger gives you lateral stability and the heel is locked in nicely too.
 More details
The shoe feels soft overall and doesn't provide as much torsional or lateral support as the previous PG models.
 More details
8.0
April 30, 2020
A very solid and wide base gives you plenty of support and stability.
 More details
6.0
The support and lockdown are below average: your feet are not contained well enough on lateral cuts and there is a little bit of heel slippage.
 More details
7.0
February 4, 2020
The support is the weakest part of the PG4. You can feel your foot slightly moving of the footbed on lateral cuts. I would recommend playing with the shroud zipped up as it improves support noticeably.
 More details

Fit of the Nike PG 4:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #180 of 229)
User Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #140 of 229)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
17
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
1
8.0
March 18, 2020
The fit holds you tightly in-place and feels super comfortable.
 More details
After the break-in period, the PG4 fit comfortably but a little too sloppy for my liking.
 More details
9.0
April 30, 2020
There is no movement inside the shoe or any heel slip thanks to a nice amount of padding.
 More details
8.0
A very plush and comfortable fit.
 More details
8.0
February 4, 2020
I didn't feel any pinching pain and the fit of the one-bootie upper was almost 1:1.
 More details

Durability of the Nike PG 4:

User Durability Rating: 8.2 (ranks #142 of 229)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike PG 4:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #145 of 229)
User Outdoor Rating: 52.3 (ranks #105 of 229)
Good (100%)
6
Fair (50%)
12
Bad (0%)
6
no
February 4, 2020
Outdoor use is not recommended as the rubber is super soft.
 More details
fair
The traction was solid playing outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Nike PG 4:

very narrow
4
slightly narrow
13
regular
20
slightly wide
2
very wide
0
slightly narrow
February 4, 2020
Runs slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 18, 2020
If you go true to size the shoe feels really narrow and is hard to get on.
 More details
regularly wide
Regular
 More details
slightly narrow
April 30, 2020
The insole is super thick and there's not a lot of room in the toe area.
 More details
regularly wide
February 4, 2020
The materials loosen up over time.
 More details

Size of the Nike PG 4:

very small
13
slightly small
19
true to size
6
slightly long
2
very long
0
½ size small
February 4, 2020
I went true to size, but the fit is really short. I would suggest going up half a size.
 More details
½ size small
March 18, 2020
We recommend going up half a size.
 More details
½ size small
They run 1/2 size short lengthwise.
 More details
runs small
April 30, 2020
Go up at least half a size as these run small.
 More details
runs small
I went up a full size.
 More details
½ size small
February 4, 2020
I went up half a size and I was perfectly fine as a slightly wide footer.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: